CTNF 18/973,075 CTNF 87860 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 6, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the display size in a case where the video content is the game is smaller than that the display size in a case where the video content is the still image" in the lone clause of claim 3. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation and further how the sizes of the various cases relate to one another. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US Pub. 2023/0093446), hereinafter Ikeda, in view of Jung et al. (US Pub. 2014/0071043), hereinafter Jung . Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a vehicular video display apparatus, comprising: a display unit mounted on a vehicle and configured to display video content (Fig. 4; Abstract: parameter related to presentation information to be presented in a vehicle interior of a vehicle, at least one of parameters of brightness, blur, area, and transparency is changed on the basis of vibration information. The present technology can be applied as a projection device placed in a vehicle interior of a vehicle ; Paragraph [0057]: FIG. 1, an information processing device 11 is a device that displays (projects) presentation information generated by predetermined processing to a predetermined location using a projector or the like in a vehicle interior of an automobile (hereinafter, also referred to as a vehicle), for example ; Paragraph [0192]: projection image 93 in FIG. 14 is configured of a content image 93A that is projection of content such as a video ); and a controller including a processor and a memory coupled to the processor (Fig. 45; Paragraph [0273]: a central processing unit (CPU) 401, a read-only memory (ROM) 402, and a random access memory (RAM) 403 are connected to each other by a bus 404 ). Ikeda does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to: acquire video information regarding the video content; and control the display unit to adjust a display size of the video content based on the video information. However, Jung teaches a display and control thereof (Abstract; Paragraph [0169]), further comprising wherein the controller is configured to: acquire video information regarding the video content (Fig. 2; Paragraph [00319]: when the display device 100 receives a first signal, the display device 100 may output an alarm signal. The alarm signal may include at least one of an audio signal, a video signal, and a vibration signal. That is, the display device 100 may inform the user that the external device 200 is detected within a communication range. Here, the display device 100 may output a confirm request message about whether to perform pairing with the external device 200 or whether to share content with the external device 200 ); and control the display unit to adjust a display size of the video content based on the video information (Paragraph [0157]: the display unit 121 may display a graphical user interface (GUI) to provide a plurality of pieces of information, which are processed by the display device 100, to a user in a visual and intuitional manner. For example, the display unit 121 may move the plurality of pieces of ID information about external devices included in the external device list from an outer side of a screen to an inner side of the screen and may display the plurality of pieces of ID information. Also, the display unit 121 may change and display a size of an image corresponding to exchanged content according to a transmission rate or a reception rate of the content. Also, the display unit 121 may display a graphic image on the screen, wherein the graphic image indicates transmission of content that is selected by the user ; Paragraph [0295]: the content may include moving picture content (e.g., a TV program image, VOD, a personal image such as UCC, a music video, a Youtube video, or the like), still image content (e.g., a photo, a picture, or the like), text content (e.g., an electronic book (poetry, novels, or the like), a letter, a work file, a web-page, or the like), music content (for example, music, radio broadcasting, or the like), an application (a widget, a game, or the like), and the like ). Jung teaches that this will allow for the user to easily recognize that the content is being transmitted to the external device (Paragraph [0285]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikeda with the features of above as taught by Jung so as to allow for the user to easily recognize that the content as presented by Jung. Regarding claim 2, Ikeda, in view of Jung teaches the vehicular video display apparatus according to claim 1, Jung discloses wherein the video information includes information regarding a type of the video content, the type being one of a game, a moving image other than the game, and a still image (Paragraph [0157]: the display unit 121 may display a graphical user interface (GUI) to provide a plurality of pieces of information, which are processed by the display device 100, to a user in a visual and intuitional manner. For example, the display unit 121 may move the plurality of pieces of ID information about external devices included in the external device list from an outer side of a screen to an inner side of the screen and may display the plurality of pieces of ID information. Also, the display unit 121 may change and display a size of an image corresponding to exchanged content according to a transmission rate or a reception rate of the content. Also, the display unit 121 may display a graphic image on the screen, wherein the graphic image indicates transmission of content that is selected by the user ; Paragraph [0295]: the content may include moving picture content (e.g., a TV program image, VOD, a personal image such as UCC, a music video, a Youtube video, or the like), still image content (e.g., a photo, a picture, or the like), text content (e.g., an electronic book (poetry, novels, or the like), a letter, a work file, a web-page, or the like), music content (for example, music, radio broadcasting, or the like), an application (a widget, a game, or the like), and the like ). Regarding claim 4, Ikeda, in view of Jung teaches the vehicular video display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the video information includes information regarding a number of playbacks of the video content (Paragraph [0150]: Step S18, the information presentation unit 35 determines whether or not the following processing in Step S18 to S21 has been repeated the number of times corresponding to the number of users who are viewing the screen that is the target of processing ). Regarding claim 7, Ikeda, in view of Jung teaches the vehicular video display apparatus according to claim 1, Ikeda discloses wherein the display unit includes a projector configured to project the video content toward a space above an occupant of the vehicle (Fig. 14; Paragraph [0066]: output unit 23 is an output device that presents information to the user. For example, the output unit 23 includes an image displaying display (a liquid crystal display, an organic electro-luminescence (EL) display, or the like), and a projector (projection device) ; Paragraph [0179]: FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating, as an example, the projection image 93 on the ceiling 92 when vibration is not occurring ). Regarding claim 8, Ikeda, in view of Jung teaches the vehicular video display apparatus according to claim 1, Ikeda discloses wherein the display unit includes a screen or a liquid crystal display provided on a ceiling of the vehicle (Fig. 14; Paragraph [0066]: output unit 23 is an output device that presents information to the user. For example, the output unit 23 includes an image displaying display (a liquid crystal display, an organic electro-luminescence (EL) display, or the like), and a projector (projection device) ; Paragraph [0179]: FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating, as an example, the projection image 93 on the ceiling 92 when vibration is not occurring ). Regarding claim 11, Ikeda, in view of Jung teaches the vehicular video display apparatus according to claim 1, Ikeda discloses wherein the video content is selected in response to operation by an occupant of the vehicle (Fig. 4; Paragraph [0063]: graphics display processing unit 22 has a function of receiving input information from the input unit 21 and a function of displaying graphics for the user ; Paragraph [0081]: a projection image from the projector 64 in FIG. 2 is projected to the door glass 101 of the front passenger seat 82 and the dashboard 102 where no projection image is illustrated in FIG. 4. A projection image from the projector 61, 62, or 63 in FIG. 2 is displayed on the rear surface side of the headrests 99 and 100 of the driver's seat 81 and the front passenger seat 82 ; Paragraph [0146]: information presentation unit 35 acquires a captured image from an image sensor as an input unit 21 and detects attributes (a race, an adult or a child, and a seated position) defined in the user property table in FIG. 7 from the sizes or the like of the face, the pupils, and the body of the user who is viewing the screen that is the target of processing on the basis of the acquired captured image. Note that in a case in which detection regarding whether a user is present in each seat in the vehicle interior 91 or the like is performed on the basis of the captured image of the image sensor in Step S14, detection of user's attributes may be performed at that time ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW D SALVUCCI whose telephone number is (571)270-5748. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 7:30-4:00PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, XIAO WU can be reached at (571) 272-7761. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW SALVUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 2 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 3 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 4 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 5 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 6 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 7 Art Unit: 2613 Application/Control Number: 18/973,075 Page 8 Art Unit: 2613