DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 244. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN 212172424 U; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 1, Shi et al. discloses a cover panel (23) for a vehicle stem (21), wherein the cover panel (23) is connected with the vehicle stem (21) and covers the vehicle stem (21); and a shape of an internal surface (fig. 3 shows the internal surface of element 23 with the extending connectors) matches a shape of an external surface of the vehicle stem (the periphery of 21 as well as the mating points to the connectors of 23 match the shape of element 23). (Figs. 2-3, MTD paragraphs 41-58.)
With respect to claim 12, Shi et al. discloses a vehicle (MTD paragraph 2), comprising: a vehicle stem (21); and a cover panel (23), wherein the cover panel (23) is connected with the vehicle stem (21) and covers the vehicle stem (21); and a shape of an internal surface (fig. 3 shows the internal surface of element 23 with the extending connectors) matches a shape of an external surface of the vehicle stem (the periphery of 21 as well as the mating points to the connectors of 23 match the shape of element 23). (Figs. 2-3, MTD paragraphs 41-58.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of den Hertog (US 2019/0337587).
With respect to claims 2-9 and 11, Shi et al. is silent regarding a clamping groove. den Hertog teaches of a first clamping groove (306) extending along an axial direction (fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305) is formed on the external surface of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein a first clip (313) extending along the axial direction of the vehicle component housing (305) is disposed on the cover panel (310); and the first clip (313) is clamped into the first clamping groove (306) when the cover panel (310) is connected with the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the external surface of the vehicle stem is divided by the first clamping groove (306) into a first external surface (Modified fig. 3, below) and a second external surface (Mod. fig. 3), and the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3) protrudes outwards along a radial direction relative to the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3); wherein the vehicle component housing (305) includes: a first stem portion (Mod. fig. 3) with an external surface forming the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3); and a second stem portion (Mod. fig. 3) with an external surface forming the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3), wherein the second stem portion has a periphery protruding from the first stem portion such that a step (fig. 3 shows a step for groove 306) is formed at a connection (fig. 3) between the second stem portion and the first stem portion, and the first clamping groove (306) is disposed at the step (fig. 3); wherein the first clamping groove (306) includes a first side face (Mod. fig. 3) and a second side face (Mod. fig. 3) disposed oppositely, the first side face is connected with the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305), and the second side face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the first clip (313) includes a first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) and a second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) disposed oppositely; the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with an external surface of the cover panel (310), and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with the internal surface of the cover panel (310); wherein when the cover panel (310) is mounted on the vehicle component housing (305), the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) abuts against the second side face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) abuts against the first side face (Mod. fig. 3), the cover panel (310) covers the first external surface; and a shape and a size of the external surface of the cover panel (310) respectively match a shape and a size of the second external surface of the vehicle component housing (305), such that the external surface of the cover panel is in smoothly transitional connection with the second external surface of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the first clamping groove (306) further includes a third side face (Mod. fig. 3) connected between the first side face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second side face (Mod. fig. 3); the first clip further includes a third clip face (Mod. fig. 3) connected between the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3); and when the cover panel (310) is mounted on the vehicle component housing (305), the third side face (Mod. fig. 3) fits to the third clip face (Mod. fig. 3); wherein the external surface of the vehicle component housing (305) further includes at least one second clamping groove (306 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33); at least one second clip (313 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33) is disposed on the internal surface of the cover panel; the at least one second clip (313 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33) matches the at least one second clamping groove (306 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33); and when the cover panel (310) is mounted on the vehicle component housing (305), the at least one second clip (313 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33) is clamped with the at least one second clamping groove (306 on other side of vehicle component, paragraph 33). (Figs. 1-15B, paragraphs 25-46.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in den Hertog into the invention of Shi et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to secure elements on a bicycle. (Paragraphs 32-33.)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third Clip Face)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Clip Face)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Clip Face)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third Side Face)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Side Face)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Side Face)][AltContent: textbox (Second external Surface/Second Stem Portion)][AltContent: textbox (First external Surface/First Stem Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claims 13-20, Shi et al. is silent regarding a clamping groove. den Hertog teaches of a first clamping groove (306) extending along an axial direction (fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305) is formed on the external surface of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein a first clip (313) extending along the axial direction of the vehicle component housing (305) is disposed on the cover panel (310); and the first clip (313) is clamped into the first clamping groove (306) when the cover panel (310) is connected with the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the external surface of the vehicle stem is divided by the first clamping groove (306) into a first external surface (Modified fig. 3, above) and a second external surface (Mod. fig. 3), and the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3) protrudes outwards along a radial direction relative to the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3); wherein the vehicle component housing (305) includes: a first stem portion (Mod. fig. 3) with an external surface forming the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3); and a second stem portion (Mod. fig. 3) with an external surface forming the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3), wherein the second stem portion has a periphery protruding from the first stem portion such that a step (fig. 3 shows a step for groove 306) is formed at a connection (fig. 3) between the second stem portion and the first stem portion, and the first clamping groove (306) is disposed at the step (fig. 3); wherein the first clamping groove (306) includes a first side face (Mod. fig. 3) and a second side face (Mod. fig. 3) disposed oppositely, the first side face is connected with the first external surface (Mod. fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305), and the second side face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with the second external surface (Mod. fig. 3) of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the first clip (313) includes a first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) and a second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) disposed oppositely; the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with an external surface of the cover panel (310), and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) is connected with the internal surface of the cover panel (310); wherein when the cover panel (310) is mounted on the vehicle component housing (305), the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) abuts against the second side face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3) abuts against the first side face (Mod. fig. 3), the cover panel (310) covers the first external surface; and a shape and a size of the external surface of the cover panel (310) respectively match a shape and a size of the second external surface of the vehicle component housing (305), such that the external surface of the cover panel is in smoothly transitional connection with the second external surface of the vehicle component housing (305); wherein the first clamping groove (306) further includes a third side face (Mod. fig. 3) connected between the first side face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second side face (Mod. fig. 3); the first clip further includes a third clip face (Mod. fig. 3) connected between the first clip face (Mod. fig. 3) and the second clip face (Mod. fig. 3); and when the cover panel (310) is mounted on the vehicle component housing (305), the third side face (Mod. fig. 3) fits to the third clip face (Mod. fig. 3). (Figs. 1-15B, paragraphs 25-46.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in den Hertog into the invention of Shi et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to secure elements on a bicycle. (Paragraphs 32-33.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of DE 29708659 U1 (hereinafter ‘DE 659’).
With respect to claim 10, Shi et al. is silent regarding a positioning hole and lug boss. DE 659 teaches of the external surface of the vehicle stem (3) further includes at least one positioning hole (Modified fig. below); at least one positioning lug boss (Modified fig. below) is disposed on the internal surface of the cover panel (1); the at least one positioning lug boss (Modified fig. below) matches the at least one positioning hole (Modified fig. below); and when the cover panel (1) is mounted on the vehicle stem (3), the at least one positioning lug boss (Modified fig. below) is inserted into the at least one positioning hole (Modified fig. below). (Fig. 1, MTD paragraphs 2-18.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in DE 659 into the invention of Shi et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to secure a cover on a bicycle. (MTD paragraphs 2, 6, 11.)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (at least one positioning lug boss)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (at least one positioning hole)]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Talavasek et al. (US 2014/0175768) discloses a similar cover structure on a bicycle. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614