DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 reads in part, “wherein a surface of the first plate away from the first plate is reflective.” It is unclear how the first plate can be away from itself, and whether it is intended to mean a surface of the plate or another surface entirely. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as meaning a surface away from the first plate is reflective.
Claim 4 has no dependent claims to inherit these deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kartashov (US 20200249466 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kartashov discloses an optical micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) unit (Fig. 1, para. 172), comprising: a MEMS tip-tilt actuator; a polymer layer (Fig. 1, transparent deformable lens body 107, para. 119) disposed on at least a portion of the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; and a first plate (Fig. 1, transparent back window 106, para. 172) disposed on the polymer layer oppositely to the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; wherein the MEMS tip-tilt actuator comprises: an outer frame that is fixed (support structure 101); a second plate that is movable (bendable cover member 102); a motion control structure (sidewall 112) between the outer frame and the second plate; and a bending film (piezoelectric actuators 103-105) configured to deform the motion control structure and thereby control a precise position of the second plate.
Regarding claim 3, Kartashov further discloses the outer frame as fixed to an external fixture (Kartashov discloses optical element can be installed in a final application device, para. 120), and the second plate is movable with respect to the outer frame (Fig. 1, para. 24 and 49).
Regarding claim 5, Kartashov further discloses the bending film as comprising a multi-morphic thin film (piezoelectric actuator 103) including a piezoelectric material that is controllable by applying an electric field to generate actuation torque and bend the multi-morphic thin film, and thereby control tipping or tilting motion of the second plate in tip-tilt mode (see Fig. 1, para. 24).
Regarding claim 6, Kartashov further discloses the bending film as comprising: an active outer thin film (piezoelectric actuator 105) connecting (through attachment to the bendable cover member 102 and piezoelectric actuators 103-104, see Fig. 1) the motion control structure and the outer frame; and an inner thin film (103) connecting (through attachment to the bendable cover member 102, see Fig. 1) the motion control structure and the second plate (para. 172).
Regarding claim 7, Kartashov further discloses the active outer thin film as comprising a piezoelectric material (piezoelectric actuator 104) that is controllable by applying an electric field to generate the actuation torque and bend the active outer thin film, and thereby control tipping or tilting motion of the second plate in tip-tilt mode (see Fig. 1, para. 24).
Regarding claim 9, Kartashov further discloses the motion control structure comprises a set of flexurized mechanical connections (Kartashov discloses structure elements may be added; para. 82) configured to release strains and/or constrain unwanted motion of the second plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kartashov (US 20200249466 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the device as previously described above for claim 1 discloses the first plate as transparent (transparent back window 106, para. 173), the polymer layer is also transparent (transparent deformable lens body 107).
The device as previously described above for claim 1 fails to disclose a surface of the second plate facing the first plate is reflective (para. 89).
Kartashov, however, discloses two sides of the second plate may be reflective (Fig. 7, para. 89 and 192).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the second surface of the device as previously described above for claim 1 to have at least the surface facing the first plate as reflective. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce chromatic aberration of the MEMS device (para. 90).
Regarding claim 4, the device as previously described above for claim 2 discloses a surface of the second plate away from the first plate is reflective.
Claims 8, 10-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kartashov (US 20200249466 A1) in view of Ko (US 20210294112 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the device of as previously described for claim 7 discloses all of the claim limitations except for the active outer film further comprising a piezoresistive thin film layer to act as a strain gauge for sensing an amount of deformation of the active outer film, and enabling a determination to be made based thereon regarding how much to tip and/or tilt the second plate in the tip-tilt mode.
Ko, however, teaches a MEMS Device (200, Fig. 2) consisting of piezoresistive thin film layers (piezo films 208) configured to accurately determine the pitch and yaw of the micromirror (para. 17-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the MEMS device of Kartashov to include the piezoresistive thin film layers of Ko. One would have been motivated to include the piezoresistive thin film layers of Ko into the device of Kartashov to gauge the amount of deformation of the second plate.
Regarding claim 10, Kartashov discloses all of the claim limitations except for the MEMS tip-tilt actuator as further comprising: snubbing pads extending from outer corners of the second plate, and aligned with corresponding inner corners of the outer frame, to limit motion of the second plate.
Ko, however, teaches snubbing pads (see Fig. 1, corners of MEMS platform 104) extending from outer corners of the second plate (MEMS platform 104), aligned with corresponding inner corners of the outer frame(MEMS stationary frame 102, see Fig. 1), to limit motion of the second plate (Ko discloses the MEMS platform 104 as rotational coupled to stationary frame 102, reasonably suggesting limited motion of the second plate; para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the MEMS device of Kartashov to include snubbing pads of Ko on the second plate. One would have been motivated to include the snubbing pads of Ko to confine movement of the second plate to desirable ranges.
Regarding independent claim 11, Kartashov discloses an optical micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) unit (Fig. 1, para. 172) comprising: a MEMS tip-tilt actuator; a polymer layer (Fig. 1, transparent deformable lens body 107, para. 119) disposed on at least a portion of the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; and a first plate (Fig. 1, transparent back window 106, para. 172) disposed on the polymer layer oppositely to the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; wherein the MEMS tip-tilt actuator comprises: an outer frame that is fixed (support structure 101); a second plate that is movable (bendable cover member 102); a motion control structure (sidewall 112) between the outer frame and the second plate; and a bending film (piezoelectric actuators 103-105) configured to deform the motion control structure and thereby control a precise position of the second plate.
Kartashov appears silent about the devices that the MEMS device could be used in (para. 111) and thus, fails to explicitly disclose an optical system comprising an imager and a lens group.
However, Ko teaches an optical system (Fig. 5, electronic device 500, para. 29) comprising and imager (Image sensor module 506) and a lens group (Folded zoom camera 504).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to include the MEMS system of Kartashov in the optical system of Ko. One would have been motivated to incorporate the MEMS device of Kartashov in the device of Ko to decrease the total wavefront error (para. 17 of Kartashov).
Regarding claim 12, the device as previously described for claim 11 discloses the first plate as transparent (transparent back window 106, para. 173) and the polymer layer is also transparent (transparent deformable lens body 107).
The device as previously described above for claim 11 fails to disclose a surface of the second plate facing the first plate is reflective (para. 89).
Kartashov, however, discloses two sides of the second plate may be reflective (Fig. 7, para. 89 and 192).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the second surface of the device as previously described above for claim 11 to have at least the surface facing the first plate as reflective. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce chromatic aberration of the MEMS device (para. 90).
Regarding claim 13, the device as previously described for claim 11 would have rendered obvious the outer frame as fixed to an external fixture (Kartashov discloses optical element can be installed in a final application device, para. 120; see Fig. 5 of Ko), and the second plate is movable respect to the outer frame (Fig. 1, para. 24 and 49).
Regarding claim 15, the device as previously described for claim 11 would have rendered obvious the bending film as comprising a multi-morphic thin film (piezoelectric actuator 103) including a piezoelectric material that is controllable by applying an electric field to generate actuation torque and bend the multi-morphic thin film, and thereby control tipping or tilting motion of the second plate in tip-tilt mode (see Fig. 1, para. 24).
Regarding claim 16, the device as previously described for claim 11 would have rendered obvious the bending film as comprising: an active outer thin film (piezoelectric actuator 105) connecting (through attachment to the bendable cover member 102 and piezoelectric actuators 103-104, see Fig. 1) the motion control structure and the outer frame; and an inner thin film (103) connecting (through attachment to the bendable cover member 102, see Fig. 1) the motion control structure and the second plate (para. 172).
Regarding claim 17, the device as previously described for claim 16 would have rendered obvious the active outer thin film comprises a piezoelectric material (piezoelectric actuator 104) that is controllable by applying an electric field to generate actuation torque and bend the active outer thin film, and thereby control tipping or tilting motion of the second plate in tip-tilt mode (see Fig. 1, para. 24).
Regarding claim 18, the device as previously described for claim 17 discloses all claim limitations except for the active outer film further comprising a piezoresistive thin film layer to act as a strain gauge for sensing an amount of deformation of the active outer film, and enabling a determination to be made based thereon regarding how much to tip and/or tilt the second plate in the tip-tilt mode.
Ko, however, teaches a MEMS Device (200, Fig. 2) consisting of piezoresistive thin film layers (piezo films 208) configured to accurately determine the pitch and yaw of the micromirror (para. 17-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device as previously described for claim 17 to include the piezoresistive thin film layers of Ko. One would have been motivated to include the piezoresistive thin film layers of Ko into the device of Kartashov to gauge the amount of deformation of the second plate.
Regarding claim 19, the device as previously described for claim 11 would have rendered obvious the motion control structure as comprising a set of flexurized mechanical connections (Kartashov discloses structure elements may be added; para. 82) configured to release strains and/or constrain unwanted motion of the second plate.
Regarding claim 20, the device as previously described for claim 11 would have rendered obvious the MEMS tip-tilt actuator enables optical image stabilization (OIS) by controlling movement of the second plate in the tip-tilt mode to adjust an angle of light reflected from a reflective surface of the second plate towards the lens group, and thereby move an image on the imager to compensate for shaking of the optical system. Ko teaches how a MEMS device of the optical system may be used as an OIS (para. 25).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom (US 20200341236 A1) in view of Ko (US 20210294112 A1).
Regarding independent claim 11, Nystrom discloses an optical micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) unit (Figs. 2-4, resonant scanning mirror system 200, para. 13) comprising: a MEMS tip-tilt actuator; a polymer layer (adhesive 205) disposed on at least a portion of the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; and a first plate (mirror structure 202) disposed on the polymer layer oppositely to the MEMS tip-tilt actuator; wherein the MEMS tip-tilt actuator comprises: an outer frame that is fixed (substrate 216); a second plate that is movable (frame 204); a motion control structure (mounts 218a-b) between the outer frame and the second plate; and a bending film (piezoelectric actuators 206a-d) configured to deform the motion control structure and thereby control a precise position of the second plate.
Nystrom fails to explicitly disclose an optical system comprising an imager and a lens group.
However, Ko teaches an optical system (Fig. 5, electronic device 500, para. 29) comprising and imager (Image sensor module 506) and a lens group (Folded zoom camera 504).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to include the MEMS system of Nystrom in the optical system of Ko. One would have been motivated to incorporate the MEMS device of Nystrom in the device of Ko to benefit from the response time of piezoelectric actuators.
Regarding claim 14, the device as previously described above would have rendered obvious a surface of the first plate facing away from the second plate as reflective (see Fig. 2).
Contact Information
/Francis F Rivera/ Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/MICHAEL H CALEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871