DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 7/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement has been considered and placed in the record on file and is in compliance with USPTO requirements.
Drawings
The Drawings have been considered and placed in the record on file and are in compliance with USPTO requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US 2021/0280126 A1 hereinafter Hung).
In regards to claim 1, Hung discloses an electronic device, having a first region and a second region, and the second region being adjacent to the first region (see figure 4A, electronic device with display areas 240 and 250), the electronic device comprising:
a light sensor, disposed in the first region (see figure 2, light sensor 113);
a first light-emitting element, disposed in the first region (see figure 2, LED 133 in region 111); and
a second light-emitting element, disposed in the second region (see figure 2, LED 132 in region 112),
wherein during the light sensor is driven to receive a light signal, the first light-emitting element is driven by a first driving signal, the second light-emitting element is driven by a second driving signal, and the first region is different from the second region in brightness (see figures 4A and 4B and paragraph 0032, during light sensing period a black image is provided in area 240, therefore the regions have different brightnesses).
In regards to claim 2, as recited in claim 1, Hung further discloses wherein the first light-emitting element is different from the second light-emitting element in brightness (see figures 4A and 4B and paragraph 0032, during light sensing period a black image is provided in area 240 and the normal image is displayed in region 250, therefore the regions have different brightnesses).
In regards to claim 3, as recited in claim 1, Hung further discloses wherein at a time point during the light sensor is driven, the first light-emitting element does not emit a light, and the second light-emitting element emits a light (see figures 4A and 4B and paragraph 0032, during light sensing period a black image is provided in area 240, therefore area 240 is not providing light, while region 250 is displaying the normal image).
In regards to claim 11, as recited in claim 1, Hung further discloses wherein the electronic device further comprising a substrate, wherein the substrate is disposed between the first light-emitting element and the light sensor (see figure 2, substrate 110 above the light sensor 120).
In regards to claim 12, as recited in claim 11, Hung further discloses wherein the second light-emitting element and the first light-emitting element are disposed on the same side of the substrate (see figure 2, LEDs are in the same layer above the substrate 110).
In regards to claim 15, as recited in claim 1, Hung further discloses wherein the light sensor is configured as an image sensing element (see paragraph 0031, the optical sensor 120 performs functions such as photographing).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,198,642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Application 18/973,114
Patent No. 12,198,642
1. An electronic device, having a first region and a second region, and the second region being adjacent to the first region, the electronic device comprising:
a light sensor, disposed in the first region;
a first light-emitting element, disposed in the first region; and
a second light-emitting element, disposed in the second region,
wherein during the light sensor is driven to receive a light signal, the first light-emitting element is driven by a first driving signal, the second light-emitting element is driven by a second driving signal, and
the first region is different from the second region in brightness.
1. An electronic device, having a first region and a second region, and the second region being adjacent to the first region, the electronic device comprising:
a light sensor, disposed in the first region and configured to receive a light signal;
a first light-emitting element, disposed in the first region; and
a second light-emitting element, disposed in the second region,
wherein the first light-emitting element is driven by a first driving signal, and the first driving signal has a first duty cycle, wherein the second light-emitting element is driven by a second driving signal, and the second driving signal has a second duty cycle, wherein the first duty cycle has a first duty ratio, the second duty cycle has a second duty ratio, and the first duty ratio is less than the second duty ratio.
Application 18/973,114
Claim 2
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 11
Claim 13
Claim 15
Patent No. 12,198,642
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 9
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J KOHLMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628