DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 05/06/2026, wherein claims 1-6 have been examined and are pending. This Action is Final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-082536, retrieved on 11/28/2025.
Response to Amendment/ Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claim 1, filed on 05/06/2026, have been considered but are moot in new ground of rejection. The combination of Ishida and Herrmann discloses all the limitations as cited in independent claim 1. See the following rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al. (US 2016/0332569) hereinafter Ishida, in view of Herrmann et al. (US 2019/0244040) hereinafter Herrmann.
Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses a safety monitoring system of a construction machine, comprising:
a detection device that detects an object in surrounding of the construction machine (Ishida [0038]: a vehicle 100 having obstacle detection sensor 106 which includes cameras to detect presence of obstacles around the vehicle as in [0042], [0048], [0051]; [0042], [0029]: the vehicle includes any moving vehicle and not limited to cars, trucks, vans,… hence can be construction machine);
a display device that displays a captured image of the surroundings of the construction machine (Ishida [0044], [0067], [0088], [0122]-[0123], Figs. 9 and 12-14: at least one display 158 for display captured images, as in [0135], and visual alert to the driver of the vehicle regarding presence of obstacles); and
a control device that controls the detection device and the display device, wherein when the detection device detects the object within a predetermined distance, the control device controls the display device to display a defined edge bordering an outer edge of a display screen of the display device (Ishida [0038], [0045], [0047]-[0048]: a processor 168 processes data signals and determines the position of the obstacle and implement a corresponding driver alert device accordingly, which controls the display to provide view of the road with obstacle for the driver as in [0088], [0124]; Figs. 9A-9D, [0123]: the display 158 includes a border 904 around a periphery of the display 158. The border 904 has a color that changes based on detection of obstacle 216 by the obstacle detection module 180. Hence, if the detection device detects object, the display device is controlled to display an image with a defined edge, i.e. a defined colored border, wherein the image includes the object 216 as in Figs. 9 and 13-14, and the defined edge is on an outer edge of the screen as in Fig. 9A; [0126]-[0127]: the border 904 can be a first predetermined color, such as green, when obstacle is not detected. The border 904 can be a second predetermined color, such as yellow, when an obstacle is detected. The yellow border is a defined edge and is only displayed when an object is detected. Hence, if the detection device detects the object, the control device controls the display device to display an image with a defined edge; [0129]-[0130]: the color of the border 904 is changed to green based on a low driver alert level, e.g. indicative of a large distance between vehicle and the obstacle; [0152]: the color of the border is changed based on distance of the obstacle from the vehicle. The camera feed may have a different color border (e.g. yellow or red, etc.) based on the distance that obstacle is from the vehicle or whether the obstacle is located within a corresponding blond spot on the side of the vehicle or within a proximity indicated by proximity markers 1234 or 1236. Hence, displayed a defined edge (such as yellow or red) bordering an outer edge of a display screen of the display device when the detected object is within a predetermined distance).
Herrmann discloses only when the detection device detects the object within a predetermined danger level, the control device controls the display device to display a defined edge bordering an outer edge of a display screen of the display device (Herrmann [0053], [0061]: detected object distance can be used as additional information to enhance driver’s perception of current object around a vehicle; [0120]: a range of characteristics of object such as distance, velocity,… can be used for object detection and classification; [0204]: display device receives inputs including from distance sensor to control or change the status of the output of the display device in the vehicle, which include color displayed on the display; [0212]: relative movement of the objects and their velocity can be used to classify detected objects into different categories such as dangerous, potentially dangerous,…; [0213]: from all the information, a level of danger attributed with each object can be derived. Depending on the danger level or other important parameters, the perception of objects from the driver can be enhanced by using different signaling means to display on the display device. The overall danger level of the highest danger level can also be displayed by special warning signs, like a colorful border around the whole of the display).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Ishida, and further incorporate having the control device controls the display device to display a defined edge bordering an outer edge of a display screen of the display device only for a specific danger level including highest danger level of detected object, as taught by Herrmann, wherein the specific or highest danger level can be based on the distance that obstacle is from the vehicle or whether the obstacle is located within a corresponding blond spot on the side of the vehicle or within a proximity indicated by proximity markers, hence only when the detection device detects the object within a predetermined distance as in Ishida, to enhance the perception of objects by the driver in dangerous situation (Herrmann [0212]-[0213]).
Regarding claim 2, Ishida and Herrmann disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Ishida discloses wherein, the control device controls the display device to display the defined edge on upper and lower outer edges of the screen (Ishida Figs. 9A-9D, [0123]; [0129]-[0130]: the border 904 is defined edge that includes upper and lower outer edges of the screen as in Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 5, Ishida and Herrmann disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Ishida does not explicitly disclose wherein when the detection device does not detect the object within the predetermined distance, the control device controls the display device to display the captured image without the defined edge.
However, Herrmann discloses when the detection device does not detect the object within the predetermined distance, the control device controls the display device to display the captured image without the defined edge (Herrmann [0053], [0061]: detected object distance can be used as additional information to enhance driver’s perception of current object around a vehicle; [0120]: a range of characteristics of object such as distance, velocity,… can be used for object detection and classification; [0204]: display device receives inputs including from distance sensor to control or change the status of the output of the display device in the vehicle, which include color displayed on the display; [0212]: relative movement of the objects and their velocity can be used to classify detected objects into different categories such as dangerous, potentially dangerous,…; [0213]: from all the information, a level of danger attributed with each object can be derived. Depending on the danger level or other important parameters, the perception of objects from the driver can be enhanced by using different signaling means to display on the display device. The overall danger level of the highest danger level can also be displayed by special warning signs, like a colorful border around the whole of the display. Hence, when danger level is not high such as when object is not detected within predetermined distance, colorful border in image is not displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Ishida, and further incorporate having when the detection device does not detect the object within the predetermined distance, the control device controls the display device to display the captured image without the defined edge, as taught by Herrmann, to enhance the perception of objects by the driver in dangerous situation (Herrmann [0212]-[0213]).
2. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al. (US 2016/0332569) hereinafter Ishida, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0351824) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Ishida and Herrmann disclose all the limitations of claim 2.
Ishida discloses the control device controls the display device to display the image of the surroundings on the screen.
Ishida does not explicitly disclose overlay the defined edge on the image of the surroundings.
However, Kim discloses wherein, the control device controls the display device to display the image of the surroundings on the screen, and to overlay the defined edge on the image of the surroundings (Kim Fig. 10d, [0294]-[0295]: overlay areas 377 is displayed overlaid on existing image along an edge of screen 373 which displays a first image 321 of object acquired from a camera 160a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method and system, as disclosed by Ishida and Herrmann, and further incorporate having the control device controls the display device to display the image of the surroundings on the screen, and to overlay the defined edge on the image of the surroundings, as taught by Kim, to emphasize the image to induce driver’s attention (Kim[0294])-[0295]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishida and Herrmann and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Ishida discloses wherein, if the detection device detects the object, the control device controls the display device to add a warning indication to the image of the surroundings (Ishida Figs. 9A-9D, [0123]: the display 158 includes a border 904 around a periphery of the display 158. The border 904 has a color that changes based on detection of obstacle 216 by the obstacle detection module 180, hence add a warning indication to the image of the surroundings; [0148]: flashing an area of the display such as the border when there is obstacle; Fig. 12, [0152], [0154], [0167]: indicator icon 1224, i.e. warning sign, is presented within the display on the right camera image 1220 when obstacles 216 are detected, as compared with no indicator icon displayed on the left camera image 1210 since no object is detected in the left. Hence, if the detection device detects the object, the control device controls the display device to add a warning sign to the image of the surroundings).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claim the feature of the control device applies hysteresis to determine whether the detected object is within the predetermined distance, such that a distance threshold used when the object approaches the construction machine differs from a distance threshold used when the object moves away from the construction machine as cited in claim 6
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486