DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,805. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the present claims are broader and similar in scope to that of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,805 with different in wording variations. For example:
Claim 1 of the present invention
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,805
1. An operating room control system comprising:
an operating room control unit configured to control communication and data flow within an operating room;
a conferencing unit configured to communicate with a remote third party server hosting a cloud-based conference, wherein the conferencing unit is in communication with the operating room control unit;
and a memory having software stored thereon configured to run one or more cloud-based video conferencing systems, wherein the memory is accessible by the operating room control unit, thereby providing the cloud-based conferencing unit access to each cloud-based video conference in the memory.
1. An operating room control system for a medical facility comprising: a signal routing unit including a router embedded in an integrated circuit configured to automatically scale and route signals for multiple devices of the operating room in real time, the signals comprising image data, wherein the signal routing unit comprises: a first input configured to receive, from a first medical facility source device, input signals comprising image data of a first image resolution; a first output configured to send, to a destination device, output signals comprising image data from the first medical facility source device at the first image resolution; and a second output configured to send, to a destination device, output signals comprising image data from the first medical facility source device at a second image resolution lower than the first image resolution; wherein the router is configured to automatically connect the first input to the first and second outputs of the signal routing unit and automatically adjust the signal provided to the particular output to match the image resolution of the output, wherein if the first input is connected to the first output, the signal routing unit is configured to route each input signal received by the first input to the first output for sending by the first output as an output signal comprising image data of the first image resolution without modification; and if the first input is connected to the second output, the signal routing unit is configured to dynamically scale the image data of each input signal received by the first input to reduce the resolution to the second image resolution and to automatically route the scaled input signal to the second output for sending by the second output as an output signal comprising image data of the second image resolution; and a user interface operable to dynamically control, based on real time inputs to the user interface, which of the first and second outputs of the signal routing unit is connected to the first input, wherein the first input is connectable to any one of the first or second output, or both the first output and the second output simultaneously.
9. The operating room control system of claim 1, further comprising:
an operating room control unit configured to control communication and data flow within an operating room;
a conferencing unit configured to communicate with a remote third party server hosting a cloud-based conference, wherein the conferencing unit is in communication with the operating room control unit;
and a memory having software stored thereon configured to run one or more cloud-based video conferencing systems, wherein the memory is accessible by the operating room control unit, thereby providing the conferencing unit access to each cloud-based video conference in the memory.
From the above claim comparison, the limitations of claim 1 of present invention are covered/anticipated by claim 9 (claims 1+9) of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,805. Independent claim 17 is the counterpart of method claim 9 and therefore rejected for the same reason addressed. The remaining dependent claims are either directly or indirectly taught by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,805.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghdadi et al (US 2010/0295870) in view of Mink et al (US 2017/0032092).
Consider claims 1 and 17, Baghdadi et al teach an operating room control system and method comprising: an operating room control unit configured to control communication and data flow within an operating room (par. 0005; “This device offers connectivity between medical professionals by enabling real-time interactive consultation across rooms or continents”); a conferencing unit configured to communicate with a remote third party server hosting a This device offers connectivity between medical professionals by enabling real-time interactive consultation across rooms or continents”; par. 0033-0034; “The video connectivity device 10 also provides IP network server access as well as video and audio via local area network (LAN)/internet. A recording station may be coupled to a LAN to record video footage on a standard PC or another machine. Multiple users can access the video/audio stream simultaneously via the Ethernet connection”; “another embodiment of the video connectivity device 10 coupled to a networking system such as a hospital network 5. The networking system may be associated with a station for chief of surgery 27 and at least one clinician 29 and 31. These clinicians may be able to view images or video by means of the video connectivity device. The networking system may be associated with a separate network such as an auditorium network 37 for viewing of images or video by means of the video connectivity device. The network 5 may be connected to a remote location 35 and network router 33 via Ethernet/web transmission”); and a memory having software stored thereon configured to run one or more As shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processors, memory, switches, regulators and other elements may be added to the scalar board to enable video, image or data output signals to be transmitted to the display”).
Baghdadi et al did not explicitly suggest where the video conference is cloud-based. In the same field of endeavor, Mink et al teach telehealth video conferencing system for providing a real-time or near real-time tele-conference with multiple health care providers simultaneously utilizing cloud-based video conference (par. 0100; claim 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baghdadi’s system to provide for cloud-based video conference facility as this arrangement would make available widespread access for medical procedures as taught by Mink.
Consider claim 18, Baghdadi et al teach further comprising: receiving, from a source device, an input signal at a first input of a signal routing unit of an operating room control system, the input signal comprising image data of a first image resolution (par. 0040; “the digital signal may then be transmitted to the adjuster 170 to match the resolution and other attributes of the display”); connecting, by the signal routing unit, the first input to one or more outputs of the signal routing unit, the one or more outputs comprising a first output configured to send, to the conferencing unit, output signals comprising image data of the first image resolution (par. 0040; “the digital signal may then be transmitted to the adjuster 170 to match the resolution and other attributes of the display”; it is implicit that the resolution may be increased, decreased or kept as it is when it is "matched"), and a second output configured to send, to the conferencing unit, output signals comprising image data of a second image resolution lower than the first image resolution (par. 0040; “the digital signal may then be transmitted to the adjuster 170 to match the resolution and other attributes of the display”; it is implicit that the resolution may be increased, decreased or kept as it is when it is "matched"; par. 0095; “For each display, a user may select the primary and secondary inputs. ... A user may set the streaming resolution. Since the maximum resolution for video output streamed out is 1920x1080, it will be down scaled to this resolution if it was set to 1920x1200”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghdadi et al (US 2010/0295870) in view of Mink et al (US 2017/0032092) and further in view of MCardle (2019/0149768).
Consider claim 2, the combination does not explicitly suggest wherein the memory comprises a database configured to store one or more entries, each one or more entries comprising a connection address to an associated cloud-based video conference and providing access to the associated cloud-based video conference from the database, wherein the database is accessible by the operating room control unit. However, Mcardle discloses: wherein the memory comprises a database configured to store one or more entries, the or each entry comprising a connection address to a cloud-based video conference and providing access to the cloud-based video conference from the database, wherein the database is accessible by the operating room control unit (par. 0004-0005; 0077-0078; “A server in the cloud may store scheduled conference call information for the registered codec, and transmit information regarding the scheduled conference call to the registered mobile phone application to allow a user of the mobile phone application to initiate the scheduled conference call stored on the server. This approach is limited to specific videoconferencing components and videoconferencing service providers that are registered with the proprietary cloud-based service”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to provide for: wherein the memory comprises a database configured to store one or more entries, the or each entry comprising a connection address to a cloud-based video conference and providing access to the cloud-based video conference from the database, wherein the database is accessible by the operating room control unit as this arrangement would facilitate connection establishment for conference as taught by Mcardle.
Consider claim 3, the combination teaches wherein activating one of the one or more entries in the database causes the conferencing unit to automatically follow the connection address for the cloud-based video conference, authenticate a user's credentials for joining the cloud-based video conference, and start receiving a data stream from the cloud-based video conference (par. 0043; 0071 of MCardle; “Each videoconferencing room 104A and 104B may allow access to anyone with a login credential (e.g., a login credential of a control application on the smartphone 112), to only users that have an authenticated email address from a specific domain (e.g., john.doe@nike.com where nike.com is the specific domain), to only a predefined list of users, to only a single user for a private office, etc.”; “Optionally, the smartphone may automatically connect to the server 102 to begin controlling the system controller 108A or 108B once the reservation is completed. In other embodiments, the smartphone 112 may wait for activation of a button on a user interface, etc. before connecting to the server 102 to begin controlling the system controller 108A or 108B, etc.”).
Consider claim 4, Baghdadi et al teach wherein the operating room control unit comprises a touchscreen operable by a user for controlling the operating room control system, wherein each one or more entries of the database is accessible through user operation of the touch screen (par. 0043; “The controller 50 is coupled to interfaces 55, 70 and the normalizer 100. The controller 50 determines which input channel signal is to be transmitted to the scalar board. The controller 50 may receive selection and control commands from interfaces 55, 60, 70 and decode the control commands. Based on the command, one or more of the video inputs to the scalar board will be directed to the display. The controller 50 responds to the interfaces 55, 70 (i.e., front panel buttons or user touch screen interface) to control functionality of the video connectivity device 10”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the above double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
July 10, 2026