DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2-8 and 10-16 recite the limitation "the circuit breaker" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey et al. [US 5,912,604] in view of Choi [US 20220199341].
Claim 1, Harvey discloses a three-phase, medium voltage switchgear [figure 1], comprising: a switchgear housing having an interior compartment [figure 1]; first [14], second [16] and third [18] single-phase vacuum interrupters [30] mounted within the interior compartment [figure 1], each configured to be connected to respective first, second and third single-phase input circuits from a three-phase power distribution grid [figure 1] and to respective first, second and third single-phase outputs connected to a load; first, second and third actuators [24/60] and connected to the respective first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [30], each actuator configured to receive an interrupt signal and in response, actuate the respective single-phase vacuum interrupter connected thereto into an open circuit condition [col. 8 lines 19-27]; a sensing circuit [50/51] operatively connected between first, second and third single-phase outputs and the load, said sensing circuit configured to detect one or more single-phase overcurrents or faults on one or more single-phase circuits of the load [col. 8 lines 23-27]; and a controller [130] connected to each of said first, second and third actuators and sensing circuit, and configured to generate the interrupt signal to a respective actuator connected to the single-phase vacuum interrupter over which a single-phase overcurrent or fault had been detected and actuate the respective single-phase vacuum interrupter into an open circuit condition [col. 8 lines 19-27].
Harvey et al. fails to teach a truck mounted for movement within the interior compartment; first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters mounted within the interior compartment on the truck.
Choi teaches a vacuum circuit breaker [10] comprising a truck mounted [400] for movement within the interior compartment; first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [200] mounted within the interior compartment on the truck [figure 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters of Harvey et al. on a truck as taught by Choi in order to facilitate insertion and removal of the actuators [Choi paragraph 0032].
Claim 2, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each actuator comprises a magnetic actuator [60; figure 5; col. 5 lines 42-45].
Claim 3, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 2 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each magnetic actuator comprises: a fixed core [120]; a plurality of permanent magnets [112/116; figure 6] surrounding the fixed core; and a movable core [108] received within the fixed core [figure 5].
Claim 4, Harvey et al.as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each actuator [24/60] comprises an output shaft [64], and first, second and third connectors [154] interconnecting the output shafts of respective first, second and third actuators to respective first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [figure 8].
Claim 5, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses comprising a relay [30] connected between said first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters and first, second and third single-phase outputs [figure 2].
Claim 6, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said sensing circuit comprises at least one current or potential transformer [50; col. 8 lines 23-27].
Claim 7, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said sensing circuit comprises first, second and third sensing circuits connected to respective first, second and third single-phase outputs [figure 1, each phase has its own sensing circuit].
Claim 8, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 1 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said controller [130] comprises first, second and third controller circuits connected to respective first, second and third actuators [col. 8 lines 9-27; the controller can generate a control signal for each actuator independently of all actuator together].
Claim 9, Harvey discloses a three-phase, medium voltage switchgear [figure 1], comprising: a switchgear housing having an interior compartment [figure 1]; first [14], second [16] and third [18] single-phase vacuum interrupters [30] mounted within the interior compartment [figure 1], each configured to be connected to respective first, second and third single-phase input circuits from a three-phase power distribution grid [figure 1] and to respective first, second and third single-phase outputs to respective first, second and third single-phase loads [26 or 28]; first, second and third actuators [24/60] and connected to the respective first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [30], each actuator configured to receive an interrupt signal and in response, actuate the respective single-phase vacuum interrupter connected thereto into an open circuit condition [col. 8 lines 19-27]; a sensing circuit [50/51] operatively connected between first, second and third single-phase outputs and the load, said sensing circuit configured to detect one or more single-phase overcurrents or faults on one or more single-phase circuits of the the respective first, second and third single-phase loads [col. 8 lines 23-27]; and a controller [130] connected to each of said first, second and third actuators and sensing circuit, and configured to generate the interrupt signal to a respective actuator connected to the single-phase vacuum interrupter over which a single-phase overcurrent or fault had been detected and actuate the respective single-phase vacuum interrupter into an open circuit condition [col. 8 lines 19-27].
Harvey et al. fails to teach a truck mounted for movement within the interior compartment; first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters mounted within the interior compartment on the truck.
Choi teaches a vacuum circuit breaker [10] comprising a truck mounted [400] for movement within the interior compartment; first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [200] mounted within the interior compartment on the truck [figure 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters of Harvey et al. on a truck as taught by Choi in order to facilitate insertion and removal of the actuators [Choi paragraph 0032].
Claim 10, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each actuator comprises a magnetic actuator [60; figure 5; col. 5 lines 42-45].
Claim 11, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 10 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each magnetic actuator comprises: a fixed core [120]; a plurality of permanent magnets [112/116; figure 6] surrounding the fixed core; and a movable core [108] received within the fixed core [figure 5].
Claim 12, Harvey et al.as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that each actuator [24/60] comprises an output shaft [64], and first, second and third connectors [154] interconnecting the output shafts of respective first, second and third actuators to respective first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters [figure 8].
Claim 13, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses comprising a relay [30] connected between said first, second and third single-phase vacuum interrupters and first, second and third single-phase outputs [figure 2].
Claim 14, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said sensing circuit comprises at least one current or potential transformer [50; col. 8 lines 23-27].
Claim 15, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said sensing circuit comprises first, second and third sensing circuits connected to respective first, second and third single-phase outputs [figure 1, each phase has its own sensing circuit].
Claim 16, Harvey et al. as modified discloses the circuit breaker of claim 9 wherein Harvey et al. further discloses that said controller [130] comprises first, second and third controller circuits connected to respective first, second and third actuators [col. 8 lines 9-27; the controller can generate a control signal for each actuator independently of all actuator together].
Claims 17-24, a method of operating a three-phase, medium voltage switchgear is inherent in the product structure of the switchgear of claims 1-8 as described by Harvey et al. in view of Choi above.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837