DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Drawings
3. Applicant’s Drawings submitted December 9, 2024 are acceptable.
Priority
4. No Foreign Priority has been asserted by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroma et al., US 9,792,822.
Hiroma discloses, e.g. Figs. 1-24 and related text, from Figs. 14 and 15, cols. 6-8, lines 32-41, cols. 6-27 a plurality of communication vehicles, e.g. mobile body 1, a microphone, e.g. 23, having a control portion, e.g. 70, a communication processing device, e.g. 30, a presentation portion, e.g. 80, that determines a movement plan of the vehicles and output display, processing circuitry that comprises an operation input portion, e.g. 90, that may be a display screen that may be performed by a driver (who may be driving a convoy vehicle) and/or passengers, where a storage portion, e.g. 95, a convoy control apparatus, e.g. 72,
Hiroma does not disclose the term service.
However, a service, e.g. a change of speed request, has been common knowledge in the autonomous vehicle art. Official Notice of such is taken. To have provided a service for Hiroma would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as to modify Hiroma to include this system/step with a reasonable expectation of success as the motivation for doing such is to provide a workable vehicle management system/method to avoid collisions.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Also, claim 6 would be allowable if the subject matter of claim 2 were incorporated therein.
Note the Examiner Interview Summary.
8. Pertinent references of interest are noted on the attached PTO-892.
Watanabe, US 2025/0076887, discloses a mobile body in a target area, but does not disclose and form of gesture communication.
Ushio et al., US 2023/0123723, discloses an occupant where a gesture, e.g. face image, as a form of communication in order to determine one’s seat position.
Yuzawa et al., US 2020/0117217, discloses, e.g. Fig. 9, where a delivery system comprises two mobile bodies are joined to each other for the ability of an occupant to enter one of the bodies, but does not disclose any form of gesture communication.
9. Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted December 9, 2024 has been reviewed. Note the attached IDS.
571-272-6789. The examiner can generally be reached on Monday thru Friday from about 10am-6pm EST.
/ANDREW JOSEPH RUDY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
571-272-6789