The amendment filed 5/8/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pair of ends of the partitioning member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the claim recites “a partitioning member extending between a pair of ends”, the claim does not specify that the ends are part of the partitioning member, and could for example be interpreted as the ends of another element.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "both ends of the partitioning member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the claim recites “a partitioning member extending between a pair of ends”, the claim does not specify that the ends are part of the partitioning member, and could for example be interpreted as the ends of another element.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a partitioning member". IT is unclear whether this limitation is to refer to “a partition member” of claim 1, or is intended to introduce a new and additional partitioning member. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to the partitioning member of claim 1.
Claims 9, 13, 17, and 18 recite the limitation "another end of the container portion". However, no initial “end” of the container portion has yet been recited, such that subsequently referencing “another end” is understood, and therefore it is unclear whether or not an initial “end” of the container portion has been omitted from the claims from which claims 9, 13, 17, and 18 depend.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the pair of ends of the partitioning member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the claim recites “a partitioning member extends between a pair of ends”, the claim does not specify that the ends are part of the partitioning member, and could for example be interpreted as the ends of another element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub no. 2009/0078706 (Ishitoya et al. hereinafter) in view of Us Patent No. 4,600,033 (Baron hereinafter).
In re claim 3, with reference to Fig. 1, Ishitoya et al. discloses: A hydrogen cartridge tank (1) comprising: a single tank body (1) that stores hydrogen (paragraph 0042); the single tank body includes a container portion (5) that stores hydrogen, and a fusible plug (at 21, paragraph 0076) that is configured to open when a predetermined temperature is reached (art recognized function of a “fusible plug valve” paragraph 0076), so as to release the hydrogen in the container portion through a release port (at 37, open to atmosphere, paragraph 0048).
Please note that the claims are directed to apparatus which must be distinguished from the prior art in term of structure rather function [MPEP 2144]. Hence, the functional limitations “that stores hydrogen“ which are narrative in form have not been given any patentable weight. In order to be given patentable weight, a functional recitation must be supported by recitation in the claim of sufficient structure to warrant the presence of the functional language. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Ishitoya et al. fails to disclose a case that houses the single tank body, a partitioning member; and the case includes a control member that includes a surface at a position facing the release port, the fusible plug disposed in the partitioning member into a space defined by the partitioning member and the control member.
However, with reference to Figs. 1 and 4 below, Baron discloses a case (10) for a pressure vessel/tank body, wherein the case houses a single tank body, a partitioning member; and the case includes a control member that includes a surface at a position facing the release port, the fusible plug disposed in the partitioning member into a space (shown below occupied by 27) defined by the partitioning member and the control member (see Figs. 3 and 4 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Due to its curvature, Control Member “faces” release port located along dotted axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Control Member)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Partitioning Member)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a guard for a gas cylinder such as Baron to the tank of Ishitoya et al. for the purposes of protecting the valve/fusible plug of the tank at least during assembly/transport of the tank.
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Ishitoya et al. in view of Baron disclose the claimed invention including wherein the control member is a handle (at 18, see figs. 3 and 4 above) of the hydrogen cartridge tank.
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Ishitoya et al. in view of Baron disclose the claimed invention including wherein the fusible plug is disposed at one end (i.e. 21, as in re claim 3 above) of the container portion and is disposed on a side of the control member (i.e. the inside).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Ishitoya et al. in view of Baron disclose the claimed invention including wherein an opening/closing valve (23), and the opening/closing valve is disposed at another end of the container portion (see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 19, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Ishitoya et al. in view of Baron disclose the claimed invention including wherein an opening/closing valve, and the opening/closing valve is disposed at another end of the container portion (as in re claim 17 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 21 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 2, 8, 10, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5/8/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733