DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo (US 2023/0332912 A1) in view of Kim (US 2024/0182076 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Buttolo discloses a ride support device (see at least the abstract | Figures 1-4) comprising:
a processor (see at least Figure 2, item 202 | [0022]) configured to:
detect behavior of a visually impaired user who is about to enter a vehicle, and the behavior of the user inside the vehicle, based on an image generated by a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an entrance position of the vehicle, and a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an interior of the vehicle (see at least Figures 1-2, items 102, 208 and 210 | [0025-0027] note detecting behaviors consistent with those of visually impaired travelers entering a vehicle using image data captured by at least an exterior and interior camera | [0035] note guiding the passenger to the entrance of vehicle and to the available passenger seat, while avoiding obstacles and features that may be in the way of passenger | [0037] note the alert may include an audible description of the nature of obstacle, as well as its location relative to passenger, and height, such that when the passenger approaches the entrance, the speaker may alert the passenger of the steps at the entrance so that the passenger may be prepared to travel over the steps for ingress into vehicle | [0039-0040] note when the passenger is predicted to collide with passenger seat, and thus, speaker associated with the seat may emit an audible alert to notify the passenger of the location of the seat relative to the passenger),
determine whether the detected behavior of the user inside the vehicle satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with a feature of the vehicle (see at least [0040]), and
give the user a warning of a collision via a notification device provided on the vehicle, when the collision prediction condition is satisfied (see at least [0040]).
However, Buttolo does not specifically disclose determine whether the detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with the vehicle.
It is known to warn a user of a potential collision with a vehicle. For example, Kim teaches a system that determines whether a detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that a user is predicted to collide with a vehicle (see at least [0010-0011] note wind is provided to the visually impaired user to prevent them from hitting the vehicle | [0021-0022] | [0021-0052] | [0076-0079] | [0114]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kim into Buttolo. This provides the ability to safely board the (visually impaired) passenger on the vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Buttolo discloses a method for supporting a ride (see at least the abstract | Figures 1-4), comprising:
detecting behavior of a visually impaired user who is about to enter a vehicle, and the behavior of the user inside the vehicle, based on an image generated by a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an entrance position of the vehicle, and a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an interior of the vehicle (see at least Figures 1-2, items 102, 208 and 210 | [0025-0027] note detecting behaviors consistent with those of visually impaired travelers entering a vehicle using image data captured by at least an exterior and interior camera | [0035] note guiding the passenger to the entrance of vehicle and to the available passenger seat, while avoiding obstacles and features that may be in the way of passenger | [0037] note the alert may include an audible description of the nature of obstacle, as well as its location relative to passenger, and height, such that when the passenger approaches the entrance, the speaker may alert the passenger of the steps at the entrance so that the passenger may be prepared to travel over the steps for ingress into vehicle | [0039-0040] note when the passenger is predicted to collide with passenger seat, and thus, speaker associated with the seat may emit an audible alert to notify the passenger of the location of the seat relative to the passenger);
determining whether the detected behavior of the user inside the vehicle satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with a feature of the vehicle (see at least [0040]); and
warning the user of a collision via a notification device provided on the vehicle, when the collision prediction condition is satisfied (see at least [0040]).
However, Buttolo does not specifically disclose determine whether the detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with the vehicle.
It is known to warn a user of a potential collision with a vehicle. For example, Kim teaches a system that determines whether a detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that a user is predicted to collide with a vehicle (see at least [0010-0011] note wind is provided to the visually impaired user to prevent them from hitting the vehicle | [0021-0022] | [0021-0052] | [0076-0079] | [0114]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kim into Buttolo. This provides the ability to safely board the (visually impaired) passenger on the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Buttolo discloses a non-transitory recording medium that stores a computer program for supporting a ride, the computer program causing a processor mounted on a vehicle to execute a process (see at least the abstract | Figures 1-4, items 202 and 206 | [0022-0024]) comprising:
detecting behavior of a visually impaired user who is about to enter the vehicle, and the behavior of the user inside the vehicle, based on an image generated by a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an entrance position of the vehicle, and a camera configured to be capable of taking a picture of an interior of the vehicle (see at least Figures 1-2, items 102, 208 and 210 | [0025-0027] note detecting behaviors consistent with those of visually impaired travelers entering a vehicle using image data captured by at least an exterior and interior camera | [0035] note guiding the passenger to the entrance of vehicle and to the available passenger seat, while avoiding obstacles and features that may be in the way of passenger | [0037] note the alert may include an audible description of the nature of obstacle, as well as its location relative to passenger, and height, such that when the passenger approaches the entrance, the speaker may alert the passenger of the steps at the entrance so that the passenger may be prepared to travel over the steps for ingress into vehicle | [0039-0040] note when the passenger is predicted to collide with passenger seat, and thus, speaker associated with the seat may emit an audible alert to notify the passenger of the location of the seat relative to the passenger),
determining whether the detected behavior of the user inside the vehicle satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with a feature of the vehicle; and (see at least [0040]), and
give the user a warning of a collision via a notification device provided on the vehicle, when the collision prediction condition is satisfied (see at least [0040]).
However, Buttolo does not specifically disclose determine whether the detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that the user is predicted to collide with the vehicle.
It is known to warn a user of a potential collision with a vehicle. For example, Kim teaches a system that determines whether a detected behavior satisfies a collision prediction condition that a user is predicted to collide with a vehicle (see at least [0010-0011] note wind is provided to the visually impaired user to prevent them from hitting the vehicle | [0021-0022] | [0021-0052] | [0076-0079] | [0114]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Kim into Buttolo. This provides the ability to safely board the (visually impaired) passenger on the vehicle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo (US 2023/0332912 A1) in view of Kim (US 2024/0182076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Luo (US 2015/0243044 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Buttolo in view of Kim teach wherein the processor predicts a trajectory of a predetermined body part of the user by detecting the body part from each of time-series images generated by the camera (see at least [0012] of Buttolo, note leading foot | [0026-0028] of Buttolo | [0014] of Kim | [0051-0052] of Kim | [0109] note head, legs, torso), determines a collision of the body part with a portion of the body of the vehicle other than an entrance of the vehicle (see at least [0037] of Buttolo, note steps | [0039-0040] of Buttolo | [0010] of Kim, note bumper, roof), based on the predicted trajectory of the body part, and determines whether the collision prediction condition is satisfied (see at least [0026-0028] of Buttolo | [0011-0012] of Kim | [0051-0052] of Kim | [0109] note head, legs, torso).
However, Buttolo in view of Kim do not teach a time to collision, based on the time to collision.
It is known to determine a collision in different ways. For example, Lou teaches a system that determines a time to collision, based on the time to collision (see at least [0003] | [0024] note time to collision | [0025-0026] note helping visually impaired people).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Luo into Buttolo in view of Kim. This provides the ability to analyze Buttolo in view of Kim’s images in sequence, and provide warnings based on time in place of distance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claims 2, 3, and 4, Buttolo (US 2023/0332912 A1), Kim (US 2024/0182076 A1) and Luo (US 2015/0243044 A1) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689