DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Boulingre et al. (US 5,724,052, Mar. 3, 1998) (hereinafter “Boulingre”).
Regarding claim 12: Boulingre discloses a spiral antenna having at least one spiral arm with a spiral path originated from a feeding point (column 2, lines 1-5 and 22-27); and an EM radiation absorbing layer mounted along a plurality of turnings of said at least one spiral arm of the antenna (absorbing layer 30; column 3, lines 15-19); wherein the EM radiation absorbing layer is disposed in a plurality of concentric regions corresponding to portions of said spiral antenna having equal surface of antenna conductor (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56); wherein any of said plurality of concentric regions has an EM radiation absorption coefficient greater than any other of said plurality of concentric regions it encloses (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56); wherein an amount of the absorbing material disposed in each of said plurality of concentric regions gradually increases as a function of a distance of each of said plurality of concentric regions from said feeding point (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 47-50); wherein said plurality of concentric regions frame a central shape having no EM radiation absorbing layer (column 3, lines 57-60 - "[I]n any case, it is desirable to choose for the central area 31 a material or a thickness allowing the lowest possible absorption so as not to act on the high frequencies."; column 3, lines 23-26 and 36-43); wherein at least one of density and concentration of the absorbing material in said plurality of concentric regions decreases from an outer periphery of said EM radiation absorbing layer to a central point of said EM radiation absorbing layer (column 3, lines 51-57 - the difference in absorption coefficient can be varied either by the thickness of the layer as shown in fig. 3 or by the material properties with the same thickness as shown in fig. 4; where the material is particulate dispersed in a material - column 3, lines 61-63 or column 4, lines 5-6 - where the absorption coefficient would be varied by changing the concentration or density of the particles); and wherein said EM radiation absorbing layer comprises material haying a permeability loss tangent (tan 6 = u"/u') of at least 0.01l for at least some frequencies within a range between 100MHz and 5 GHz (column 4, lines 5-6; claims 7-8; the instant disclosure only identifies a material with these properties as being "ferromagnetic" - pg. 13, lines 17-20; therefore, any ferromagnetic material is considered to have the claimed permeability loss tangent). Boulingre further teaches that this particular arrangement of EM radiation absorbing material is meant to preserve low frequencies and reduce artifacts caused by high frequency reflected EM radiation (column 3, lines 27-43). The existence of such a probe inherently discloses a method of producing the probe comprising steps of “providing” the antenna and applying the absorption layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-4, 7, 9-12, and 13-16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouton (US 2003/003674 A1, Feb. 20, 2003) (hereinafter “Bouton”) in view of Boulingre et al. (US 5,724,052, Mar. 3, 1998) (hereinafter “Boulingre”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13: Bouton discloses an electromagnetic (EM) probe for monitoring at least one biological tissue (abstract), comprising: a spiral antenna ([0074], [0080]); and an EM radiation absorbing layer (shielding) mounted along the antenna for the purpose of reducing artifacts caused by unwanted EM radiation, including reflected EM radiation ([0086]-[0090]). Bouton further discloses an array of such EM probes ([0080]-[0083]).
Bouton is silent on the particular arrangement of the EM absorbing layer relative to the spiral antenna(s).
Boulingre, in the same problem solving area of antennas for electromagnetic radiation, discloses a spiral antenna having at least one spiral arm with a spiral path originated from a feeding point (column 2, lines 1-5 and 22-27); and an EM radiation absorbing layer mounted along a plurality of turnings of said at least one spiral arm of the antenna (absorbing layer 30; column 3, lines 15-19); wherein the EM radiation absorbing layer is disposed in a plurality of concentric regions corresponding to portions of said spiral antenna having equal surface of antenna conductor (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56); wherein any of said plurality of concentric regions has an EM radiation absorption coefficient greater than any other of said plurality of concentric regions it encloses (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56); wherein an amount of the absorbing material disposed in each of said plurality of concentric regions gradually increases as a function of a distance of each of said plurality of concentric regions from said feeding point (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 47-50); wherein at least one of density and concentration of the absorbing material in said plurality of concentric regions decreases from an outer periphery of said EM radiation absorbing layer to a central point of said EM radiation absorbing layer (column 3, lines 51-57 - the difference in absorption coefficient can be varied either by the thickness of the layer as shown in fig. 3 or by the material properties with the same thickness as shown in fig. 4; where the material is particulate dispersed in a material - column 3, lines 61-63 or column 4, lines 5-6 - where the absorption coefficient would be varied by changing the concentration or density of the particles); and wherein said EM radiation absorbing layer comprises material haying a permeability loss tangent (tan 6 = u"/u') of at least 0.01l for at least some frequencies within a range between 100MHz and 5 GHz (column 4, lines 5-6; claims 7-8; the instant disclosure only identifies a material with these properties as being "ferromagnetic" - pg. 13, lines 17-20; therefore, any ferromagnetic material is considered to have the claimed permeability loss tangent). Boulingre further teaches that this particular arrangement of EM radiation absorbing material is meant to preserve low frequencies and reduce artifacts caused by high frequency reflected EM radiation (column 3, lines 27-43).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the absorbing (shielding) layer of Bouton with the absorbing layer of Boulingre in order to achieve the advantages of reducing artifacts from reflected EM radiation in view of the further teachings of Boulingre.
With respect to the limitation “wherein said plurality of concentric regions frame a central shape having no EM radiation absorbing layer;” Boulingre discloses that it is desirable for the central area to have the lowest possible absorption so as not to act on the high frequencies (column 3, lines 57-60). Boulingre further discloses in a second embodiment that the central area may correspond to a hole in the radiation absorption layer (column 3, lines 23-26 and 36-43). It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the EM probe/probe array of Bouton and Boulingre by providing a hole in the radiation absorbing layer at the center as taught by the second embodiment of Boulingre in view of the teachings of Boulingre that the central area should have the lowest possible absorption (where a hole in the absorption layer would provide the lowest possible absorption), and because it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claims 2 and 14: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1 and array configuration of claim 13. Boulingre further discloses wherein the spiral antenna is a wideband antenna (claim 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 15: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1 and array configuration of claim 13. Boulingre further discloses wherein the EM radiation absorbing layer is mounted in a common plane with a conductive element of the antenna (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56 - the conductive element and the absorbing layer share multiple "common planes" (i.e. planes which pass through both elements)).
Regarding claims 4 and 16: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1 and the array configuration of claim 13. Boulingre further discloses wherein the EM radiation absorbing layer is positioned to suppress EM currents (figs. 3-4; column 3, lines 44-56).
Regarding claim 7: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1. Boulingre further discloses wherein said central point coincides with a boresight of said antenna (column 2, lines 22-27; column 2, lines 40-50 - boresight is assumed to be the center of a spiral antenna).
Regarding claim 9: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1. Boulingre further discloses wherein said central point coincides with a geometric center of said antenna (claim 1 - “center of the radiating surface of the antenna”).
Regarding claim 10: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1. Boulingre further discloses wherein the EM radiation absorbing layer is oriented parallel to a surface of the EM antenna (figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 11: While Bouton and Boulingre disclose that many shapes may be suitable for the antenna and EM radiation absorbing layer may be used (Bouton - [0080]; Boulingre - column 2, lines 22-27; column 3, lines 23-60), the specific shape of a star is not disclosed. However, in the absence of any criticality or unexpected result, the shape and/or edge of the EM radiation absorbing layer is considered to be merely a design choice and it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouton and Boulingre as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimshony et al. (US 2009/0062637 A1, Mar. 5, 2009) (hereinafter "Hashimshony").
Regarding claim 8: Bouton and Boulingre disclose the EM probe of claim 1, but are silent on wherein said central point coincides with said feeding point of said antenna.
Hashimshony, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an EM probe comprising a spiral antenna in which the feed may be located in various places, including at the center ([0035], figure 3D - feed is shown at the center).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to position the feed of the antenna of Bouton and Boulingre at the location taught by Hashimshony because, in the absence of any criticality or unexpected result, such an arrangement is merely a design choice. It has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Response to Arguments
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Double patenting rejections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799