DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 15-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burke et al. (U.S. 5899472).
Burke et al. (U.S. 5899472)
In re claim 1, Burke teaches a fluid-based suspension system (fig. 11; roll control system 400; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]) of a vehicle, comprising:
a first fluid suspension device (fig. 11; actuator 412; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]) provided on a first side of the vehicle (left side as shown in fig. 11) and
providing suspension between an axle (wheel axles 22; [Col. 2, ln 40-Col. 3, ln 5]) and a frame of the vehicle (vehicle body 20; [Col. 2, ln 40-Col. 3, ln 5]),
the first fluid suspension device comprising
a first cylinder (housing 416; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]),
a movable first piston (piston 422; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]), and
a first piston rod (rod 424; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]) attached to the first piston,
the movable first piston dividing an internal space of the first cylinder into a first piston rod side chamber and a first piston side chamber (as shown in fig. 11);
a second fluid suspension device (fig. 11; actuator 414; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]) provided on a second side of the vehicle (right side as shown in fig. 11) and
providing suspension between the axle (wheel axles 26; [Col. 2, ln 40-Col. 3, ln 5]) and the frame (vehicle body 20; [Col. 2, ln 40-Col. 3, ln 5]),
the second fluid suspension device comprising
a second cylinder (housing 416; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]),
a movable second piston (piston 422; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]), and
a second piston rod (rod 424; [Col. 7, ln 43-Col. 8, ln 8]) attached to the second piston,
the movable second piston dividing an internal space of the second cylinder into a second piston rod side chamber and a second piston side chamber (as shown in fig. 11);
a fluid connection system (fig. 11; fluid pressure control means 58; [Col. 3, ln 40-ln 62]) comprising
a valve arrangement (solenoid valve 64; [Col. 3, ln 40-ln 62]) configured to selectively set the fluid-based suspension system to one of
a first operating mode and
a second operating mode (fig. 11); wherein,
in the first operating mode (when valve 64 is moved to or in the closed position, as shown in fig. 11),
the fluid connection system is arranged
to fluidly connect the first piston rod side chamber to the second piston side chamber in a first cross-connection (as shown in fig. 11) and
to fluidly connect the first piston side chamber to the second piston rod side chamber in a second cross-connection (as shown in fig. 11),
the first and second cross-connections being fluidly isolated from one another (as shown in fig. 11); and
in the second operating mode (when valve 64 is moved to or in the open position, as shown in fig. 11),
the fluid connection system is arranged to fluidly connect all of
the first piston rod side chamber (as indicated in fig. 11),
the first piston side chamber (as indicated in fig. 11),
the second piston rod side chamber (as indicated in fig. 11), and
the second piston side chamber to one another (as indicated in fig. 11).
In re claim 2, Burke teaches the fluid-based suspension system according to claim 1, wherein
the first and second piston rods are both attached to one of
the axle and
the frame (as shown in fig. 11), and wherein
the first and second cylinders are both attached to another one of
the axle (as shown in fig. 11) and
the frame.
In re claim 4, Burke teaches the fluid-based suspension system according to claim 1, wherein
the valve arrangement comprises a single valve (as shown in fig. 11).
In re claim 5, Burke teaches the fluid-based suspension system according to claim 4, wherein
the single valve is a valve having four connections and two positions (as shown in fig. 11),
the valve being movable between
a first position (valve 64 in closed position, as shown in fig. 11) in which the fluid-based suspension system is set to the first operating mode and
a second position (valve 64 in open position, as indicated in fig. 11) in which the fluid-based suspension system is set to the second operating mode.
In re claim 6, Burke teaches a computer-implemented method for controlling the fluid-based suspension system (fig. 11, fig. 13) according to claim 1 (as explained above), the method comprising:
determining, by processing circuitry of a computer system (electronic control unit; [Col. 3, ln 62-Col. 4, ln 8]), whether a predetermined activation condition for activating the second operating mode is fulfilled (When the solenoid valve 64 is commanded by the electronic control unit to be open (when the electronic control unit determines that ride comfort should be improved); [Col. 3, ln 62-65]);
in response to determining that the activation condition is fulfilled, activating, by the processing circuitry, the second operating mode (as explained above).
In re claim 7, Burke teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein
the fluid-based suspension system is initially operated in the first operating mode (as shown in fig. 11; note: valve 64 is shown in closed position), and wherein
the method comprises:
in response to determining that the activation condition is not fulfilled, continuing to operate, by the processing circuitry, the fluid-based suspension system in the first operating mode (When the solenoid valve 64 is commanded by the electronic control unit to be closed (when the electronic control unit determines that roll stiffness is required)… when the solenoid valve 64 is closed (for example, during cornering), the vehicle experiences a heave motion, the roll control system 10 is operational as shown in FIG. 4, with the solenoid valve 64 in a closed position… Additional sensors (not shown) on the vehicle may also be used to control the operation of the solenoid valve 64 to close the solenoid valve even when the vehicle is travelling in a straight line. This would provide roll stiffness for straight line motion of the vehicle.; [Col. 4, ln 9-46]).
In re claim 8, Burke teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising:
during operation of the fluid-based suspension system in the second operating mode, detecting, by the processing circuitry, that a predetermined deactivation condition is fulfilled (The operation of the solenoid valve 64 is controlled by an electronic control unit (not shown) which, by use of suitable sensors (not shown), determines the correct demand based on vehicle operating conditions, such as the vehicle travelling in a straight line or round a corner. Generally, if the vehicle is travelling in a straight line, the solenoid valve 64 is actuated to an open position to fluidly connect passages 60 and 62, and hence fluidly connect passages 54 and 56; [Col. 3, ln 50-61]); and
in response to detecting that the deactivation condition is fulfilled, controlling, by the processing circuitry, the fluid-based suspension system to assume the first operating mode (The operation of the solenoid valve 64 is controlled by an electronic control unit (not shown) which, by use of suitable sensors (not shown), determines the correct demand based on vehicle operating conditions, such as the vehicle travelling in a straight line or round a corner…If the vehicle is cornering, the solenoid valve 64 is actuated to a closed position to fluidly isolate the passages 60 and 62, and hence fluidly isolate the passages 54 and 56; [Col. 3, ln 50-61]).
In re claim 15, Burke teaches the method according to claim 6, and further teaches wherein
a switch from the first operating mode to the second operating mode is only performed when a first fluid pressure in the first cross-connection does not differ from a second fluid pressure in the second cross-connection by more than a predetermined pressure threshold (as indicated in fig 11 and suggested in [Col. 3, ln 40-62]; note: as shown in fig. 11, the fluid accumulators 66, 68 serve to limit the pressure in fluidly connected passages 56, 54 by a predetermined pressure threshold, as determined via. the spring bias (or via any other suitable arrangement), as suggested via. [Col. 3, ln 40-62], and thus the switching of valve 64 from a closed position to an open position (and vice versa) is only performed when the pressure in 54, 56 does not differ by more than a predetermined threshold).
In re claim 16, Burke teaches a computer system comprising processing circuitry (fig. 13; via. controller 88) configured to perform the method according to claim 6 (as explained above in claim 6).
In re claim 17, Burke teaches a vehicle comprising the fluid-based suspension system according to claim 1 (as indicated in fig. 11 and fig. 13, and explained above in claim 1).
In re claim 18, Burke teaches a vehicle comprising the computer system (as indicated in fig. 11 and fig. 13) according to claim 16 (as explained above).
In re claim 21, Burke teaches a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry (fig. 13, computer code is necessarily present within controller 88), the method of claim 6 (as explained above in claim 6).
In re claim 22, Burke teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry (fig. 13, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer code/instructions is necessarily present within controller 88), cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 6 (as explained above in claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke et al. (U.S. 5899472).
In re claim 3, Burke teaches the fluid-based suspension system according to claim 1, but lacks wherein
the first and second piston rods are both attached to the axle, and wherein
the first and second cylinders are both attached to the frame.
However, Burke teaches wherein
the first and second piston rods are both attached to one of
the axle and
the frame (as shown in fig. 11), and wherein
the first and second cylinders are both attached to another one of
the axle (as shown in fig. 11) and
the frame.
The limitations of the first and second piston rods are both attached to the axle, and wherein the first and second cylinders are both attached to the frame is substantially similar to that as presented in fig. 11 of Burke, with the exception that the hydraulic actuators (412, 414) are installed backwards.
This being the case, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the actuators of Burke backwards, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device (such as the hydraulic actuators) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
In re claim 19, Burke teaches the vehicle according to claim 17, comprising
a first axle and a second axle, wherein the fluid-based suspension system is a first fluid-based suspension system (as explained in claim 1 above) arranged to
provide suspension between the frame of the vehicle and the first axle (as explained in claim 1 above), but lacks wherein
the vehicle further comprises
a second fluid-based suspension system arranged to
provide suspension between the frame and the second axle,
the second fluid-based suspension system being a cross-connected fluid-based suspension system.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the vehicle further comprising a second fluid-based suspension system arranged to provide suspension between the frame and the second axle, the second fluid-based suspension system being a cross-connected fluid-based suspension system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device (in this case, duplication of a fluid-based suspension system, to have a second fluid-based suspension system) involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 9-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke et al. (U.S. 5899472) in view of Van Rooyen et al. (U.S. 20210155228).
In re claim 9, Burke teaches the method according to claim 8, but lacks wherein
the deactivation condition is considered fulfilled when a vehicle speed of the vehicle increases above a speed threshold.
Van Rooyen teaches an analogous method and further teaches wherein
the deactivation condition is considered fulfilled when a vehicle speed of the vehicle increases above a speed threshold (in one embodiment, a selected transition to ramp mode or dump mode may be prohibited or delayed in sensor values indicate velocity above a threshold, location values indicate obstacles or potential damage may be possible, vehicle status indicator(s) indicate the vehicle is set to an operational mode (e.g., reverse), a door is open or a driver/passenger is present in the vehicle 100, and the like. The validation rules may be specified as default, such as a door ajar sensor prohibited transition to dump mode; [0033])
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Burke, to incorporate the deactivation condition is considered fulfilled when a vehicle speed of the vehicle increases above a speed threshold, as clearly suggested and taught by Van Rooyen, in order to avoid potential damage ([0033]) or for safety reasons, such as vehicle status indicator(s) indicate the vehicle is set to an operational mode (e.g., reverse), a door is open or a driver/passenger is present in the vehicle 100, and the like ([0033]).
In re claim 10, Burke teaches the method according to Claim 6, but lacks further comprising:
detecting, by the processing circuitry, that a dumping condition applies, in which the vehicle is dumping or is preparing to dump a payload carried by a tiltable body of the vehicle, wherein
the activation condition is considered fulfilled when the dumping condition applies.
Van Rooyen teaches an analogous method and further teaches wherein
detecting, by the processing circuitry, that a dumping condition applies, in which the vehicle is dumping or is preparing to dump a payload carried by a tiltable body of the vehicle (as suggested in [0033]), wherein
the activation condition is considered fulfilled when the dumping condition applies (as suggested in [0033]).
Motivation to combine is given in claim 9 above.
In re claim 11, Burke teaches the method according to claim 8, but lacks further teaching wherein
the deactivation condition is considered fulfilled when a dumping condition no longer applies.
Van Rooyen teaches an analogous method and further teaches wherein
the deactivation condition is considered fulfilled when a dumping condition no longer applies (in one embodiment, a selected transition to ramp mode or dump mode may be prohibited or delayed in sensor values indicate velocity above a threshold, location values indicate obstacles or potential damage may be possible, vehicle status indicator(s) indicate the vehicle is set to an operational mode (e.g., reverse); [0033]; Here, the transition to ramp mode or dump mode may be prohibited or delayed if the vehicle is in an operational mode, which indicates that a dumping condition no longer applies.; note: the term “in” in “prohibited or delayed in sensor” seems to be a typographical error and should be read “if”).
Motivation to combine is given in claim 9 above.
In re claim 20, Burke teaches the vehicle according to claim 19, but lacks
a tiltable body, the tiltable body being mounted to the frame such that it is tiltable about a pivot axis located closer to the second axle than to the first axle of the vehicle.
Van Rooyen teaches an analogous method and further teaches
a tiltable body, the tiltable body being mounted to the frame such that it is tiltable about a pivot axis located closer to the second axle than to the first axle of the vehicle (In a third mode, generally referred to as ramp mode, the controller 116 can look to modify the suspension system 110 to a lower value for the portion of the controllable portions 114 corresponding to the rear of the vehicle while raising to a higher value the remaining portion of the controllable portions 114 corresponding to the front of the vehicle; [0037]).
Motivation to combine is given in claim 9 above.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke et al. (U.S. 5899472) in view of Van Rooyen et al. (U.S. 20210155228) and in further view of Jinno et al. (U.S. 20160258118).
In re claim 12, Burke as modified by Van Rooyen teaches the method according to claim 10, and Van Rooyen further teaches:
during operation of the fluid-based suspension system in the second operating mode, detecting, by the processing circuitry,
in response thereto controlling, by the processing circuitry, the fluid-based suspension system to reduce a distance between the axle and the frame before the tiltable body reaches a folded position in which it rests on the frame (as explained above; i.e. ramp mode).
Burke lacks
detecting, by the processing circuitry, that the payload has been dumped.
Jinno teaches an analogous dump truck (fig. 2) and further teaches
detecting, by the processing circuitry, that the payload has been dumped (fig. 5; step S3, load amount = empty or loaded)
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Burke, to incorporate detecting that the payload has been dumped, as clearly suggested and taught by Jinno, in order to improve the accuracy of determination of the road surface condition ([0019]).
In re claim 13, see claim 12 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art of record fails to show or reasonably teach in combination a vehicle method having the recited elements, including wherein
a switch between the first and second operating modes is only performed when a distance between the frame and the axle at the first fluid suspension device does not differ from a distance between the frame and the axle at the second fluid suspension device by more than a predetermined distance threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of O’Donnell (U.S. 20210191413) teaches a vehicle method (abstract. Fig. 1) and further teaches that the distance h between the frame 104 to the ground surface under normal ground conditions reduces (due to machine sinking) to a distance h′ that is less than the distance h. The controller 202 monitoring the distance between the machine frame 104 to the ground, which determination can be made relative to one or more locations around the machine 100, can compare the height h with a desired or predetermined distance such that, when the height h′ differs from the height h by more than a predetermined threshold, the controller 202 may first determine whether the machine is in a special work mode and, if not, deduce that a sinking condition is present ([0022]).
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747