DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for and under examination.
This office action is FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed [ 08/03/2026 ] have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12, 17, and 19-20 have overcome the previous antecedent basis rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the amendments have introduced new issues, as set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Applicant's arguments regarding the interpretation under 112(f) have been considered and are persuasive. The interpretation of the encoder module, syndrome module, error detection module, and communication medium under 112(f) is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the references do not teach a clock gate controller that receives an error signal from the syndrome module, activates the ELP module when the syndrome values are non-zero, generates an error indication signal based on the ELP module, and activates the EMP solver and chien search modules based on the polarity of that signal. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (MPEP 2111). The claim recites activating the ELP module "when" the syndrome values are non-zero. It does not require activating the ELP module "only" when the syndromes are non-zero. Kravtchenko teaches that the syndromes depend only on errors and that the error locator polynomial is produced from the syndromes [Kravtchenko PP 0003, PP 0021]. Therefore, when the syndromes are non-zero, the ELP computation is activated.
The claim also does not require the error signal to be sent directly from the syndrome module to the controller. Weingarten teaches that the syndrome depends only on the error vector, so a non-zero syndrome indicates errors [Weingarten PP 0054]. Weingarten uses this error information for each received data block to control which circuits are clocked and which are gated [Weingarten PP 0064, PP 0071].
Weingarten further teaches that j is the number of errors and the rank of the error locator polynomial, and that j is known before the Chien search begins [Weingarten PP 0055, PP 0067]. The clock gating unit enables or disables the Chien search taps based on whether the rank is below a threshold [Weingarten PP 0065]. The claim does not define "polarity" or state which polarity causes activation. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the enabled or disabled state of Weingarten's gating control reads on this limitation. Applicant's own remarks admit that Weingarten gates the Chien search after the ELP determines the number of errors, which is the claimed sequence.
Applicant argues each reference individually. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references (In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck and Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986)).
Applicant argues the references address different problems. Any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of the invention and addressed by the patent can provide a reason for combining the elements in the manner claimed (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)). Weingarten addresses the same problem of reducing decoder power consumption [Weingarten PP 0050, PP 0077-0078].
Applicant argues hindsight. The motivation to combine comes from Weingarten's teaching of reducing power consumption [Weingarten PP 0077-0078], not from Applicant's disclosure (In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395 (CCPA 1971)).
The "hierarchical," "progressive," and "sequential" control features argued by Applicant are not recited in the claims. Limitations from the specification are not read into the claims (In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).
Claims 19 and 20 remain rejected for the same reasons. Claims 2-18 remain rejected because they depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) [ 1-20 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ Kravtchenko (EP 1370005), hereinafter "Kravtchenko", in view of Weingarten et al. (US 8276051), hereinafter "Weingarten", in further view of Sydir et al. (US 20160211925), hereinafter "Sydir" ].
As per claim 1, Kravtchenko significantly teaches an encoder module configured to (Using Reed-Solomon (RS) terminology, fixed-length (n) codewords are transmitted, each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002])
wherein the message symbol comprises one or more data symbols (each codeword comprising k information symbols [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
a decoder module configured to receive the one or more encoded data symbols from the encoder module (The decoder 100 receives each codeword r(x) 101, and produces a corrected codeword c(x) 151. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]), wherein the decoder module further comprises: at least one syndrome module configured to (A syndrome calculator 110 processes the codeword 101 to produce corresponding syndrome polynomials Si (x) 111. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]):
calculate one or more syndrome values for the received one or more encoded data symbols (A syndrome calculator 110 processes the codeword 101 to produce corresponding syndrome polynomials Si (x) 111. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]), wherein the number of one or more syndrome values is proportional to twice maximum error correction capacity value of the one or more encoded data symbols (An RS decoder can correct up to (n-k)/2 symbols that contain errors in a codeword. [Kravtchenko PP 0002], Each codeword has n-k syndromes that depend only on errors [Kravtchenko PP 0003]);
activate an Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module when the one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (Euclid's algorithm is used, which is a method for finding the greatest common divisor of two polynomials … Both the error locator polynomial Δ(x) and the error evaluator polynomial Ω(x) can be calculated using Euclid's algorithm. [Kravtchenko PP 0021]);
and decode the one or more encoded data symbols based on the activated EMP solver module and the chien search module (For each error that the error locator 130 locates, an error corrector 150 determines the corrected codeword c(x) 151, based on the location 131 and magnitude 141 of this error. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]);
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “A communication system for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising: a transmitter comprising: receive a message signal from one or more data sources: and encode the one or more data symbols using one or more encoding algorithms; a receiver comprising: and generate an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value; at least one clock gate controller configured to: receive the error signal from the at least one syndrome module; generate an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module, wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols; activate an Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module and a chien search module based on determining polarity of the error indication signal; and a communication medium configured to: establish communication sessions between the transmitter and the receiver; and route the data between the transmitter and the receiver using the established communication sessions.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches receive a message signal from one or more data sources (The encoder for BCH and RS codes can be described in terms of a generation matrix G, thus the encoding process comprises a matrix multiplication c=mG, where c is the transmitted codeword and m is the message to be transmitted. [Weingarten PP 0052])
and encode the one or more data symbols using one or more encoding algorithms (The BCH and RS codes are conventional cyclic error correction codes. [Weingarten PP 0052]);
and generate an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (The received vector r comprises the transmitted codeword c and the errors added in the channel i.e. r=c+e. The receiver computes the syndrome vector s using the parity check matrix i.e. s=rHT =cHT +eHT =mGHT +eHT =0+eHT =eHT , or in short s=eHT . [Weingarten PP 0054]);
at least one clock gate controller configured to (Also provided, according to certain embodiments of the present invention, is a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated, as depicted in FIG. 5. [Weingarten PP 0064]): receive the error signal from the at least one syndrome module (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits [Weingarten PP 0064]);
generate an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module (The error locator polynomial can be written as follows, where j (or v) denotes the number of errors in the received vector: Λ(x )=Λ0 +Λ1 x+Λ 2 x 2 +Λj x j [Weingarten PP 0055]), wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols (As described above, j denotes the actual number of errors in the currently decoded data, which is also the rank of the error locator polynomial such that j is known at the time Chien-Search (CS) computation begins. [Weingarten PP 0067]);
activate an Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module and a chien search module based on determining polarity of the error indication signal (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064], If 2 clock domains are provided, the clock gating unit is operative to deactivate, say, all taps from 20 to 59. The clock gating unit typically does so if the rank is known to be less than 20. [Weingarten PP 0065]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “A communication system for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising: a transmitter comprising: a receiver comprising: and a communication medium configured to: establish communication sessions between the transmitter and the receiver; and route the data between the transmitter and the receiver using the established communication sessions.”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches A communication system for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices. [Sydir PP 0014]):
a transmitter comprising (Body-facing electrode 206 and outward-facing electrode 216 are connected to RBC modem 201 . HBC modem 201 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0026]):
a receiver comprising (HBC modem 251 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0029]): and
a communication medium configured to (The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]):
establish communication sessions between the transmitter and the receiver (Communication between the S-host and the HBCSM is triggered when the user touches the HBC pad of the S-host in step 304 … the two devices execute the connection protocol in step 306. [Sydir PP 0033]); and
route the data between the transmitter and the receiver using the established communication sessions (The data transfer from the S-host to the HBCSM proceeds in step 308. [Sydir PP 0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 2, Kravtchenko significantly teaches receive an appended signal from the encoder module associated with the transmitter (fixed-length (n) codewords are transmitted, each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]), wherein the appended signal comprises the message signal and plurality of parity bits (each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols.[Kravtchenko PP 0002]), wherein the plurality of parity bits are generated by the encoder module (n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
convert one or more data symbols present in the appended signal into an input bit stream (Each symbol comprises s bits. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one serializer module configured to: determine number of bits present in the appended signal based on the generated input bit stream; dynamically activate the encoder module in first set of cycle operations based on the determined number of bits; and dynamically deactivate the encoder module in second set of cycle operations, for generating a serialized bit stream, based on the determined number of bits.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches determine number of bits present in the appended signal based on the generated input bit stream (The received vector r comprises the transmitted codeword c and the errors added in the channel i.e. r=c+e. [Weingarten PP 0054]);
dynamically activate the encoder module in first set of cycle operations based on the determined number of bits (As shown, the clock signal (clk) that is fed to each of the registers may be gated depending on j, per each received data block. [Weingarten PP 0071]); and
dynamically deactivate the encoder module in second set of cycle operations, for generating a serialized bit stream, based on the determined number of bits (the clock signal (clk) that is fed to each of the registers may be gated depending on j [Weingarten PP 0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one serializer module configured to:”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one serializer module configured to (HBC modem 201 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer [Sydir PP 0026]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 3, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the first set of cycle operations comprises at least a first cycle and the second set of cycle operations comprises at least remaining cycles excluding the first cycle, wherein the sum of the first set of cycle operations and the second set of cycle operations corresponds to total number of bits present in the input bitstream.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the first set of cycle operations comprises at least a first cycle (In each successive clock (clk signal) the contents of each register … is multiplied … and latched [Weingarten PP 0062]) and the second set of cycle operations comprises at least remaining cycles excluding the first cycle (In each successive clock (clk signal) [Weingarten PP 0062]), wherein the sum of the first set of cycle operations and the second set of cycle operations corresponds to total number of bits present in the input bitstream (Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 4, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one modulator configured to: receive the serialized bit stream from the at least one serializer module; and convert the serialized bit stream into a modulated signal by modulating the serialized bit stream.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches receive the serialized bit stream from the at least one serializer module (The channel or medium through which the message is conveyed from transmitter to receiver … adds errors e(x) to the codeword c(x) [Weingarten PP 0051]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one modulator configured to: and convert the serialized bit stream into a modulated signal by modulating the serialized bit stream.”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches wherein the transmitter further comprises: at least one modulator configured to (HBC modem 201 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0026]): and
convert the serialized bit stream into a modulated signal by modulating the serialized bit stream (The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 00]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 5, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the receiver further comprises: at least one demodulator configured to: receive the modulated signal from the modulator associated with the transmitter, through the communication medium; receive a noise signal and interference signal from surroundings of the BAN; and create an output bitstream by demodulating the modulated signal, the noise signal and the interference signal.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches receive a noise signal and interference signal from surroundings of the BAN (The channel or medium through which the message is conveyed from transmitter to receiver or to the storage medium, adds errors e(x) to the codeword c(x), i.e. r(x)=c(x)+e(x) where r(x) is the received data. Errors may for example stem from various physical processes such as thermal noise, deterioration of storage medium over time and, after many read/write operations, inaccuracies in the transmitter or receiver hardware. [Weingarten PP 0051]); and
create an output bitstream by demodulating the modulated signal, the noise signal and the interference signal (The received vector r comprises the transmitted codeword c and the errors added in the channel i.e. r=c+e. [Weingarten PP 0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “wherein the receiver further comprises: at least one demodulator configured to: receive the modulated signal from the modulator associated with the transmitter, through the communication medium;”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches wherein the receiver further comprises: at least one demodulator configured to (HBC modem 201 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0026]):
receive the modulated signal from the modulator associated with the transmitter, through the communication medium (Electrode 256 is the RBC pad; its outer surface is accessible to be touched by user 208 to connect with the HBCSM that the user is wearing. Touch-responsive electrode 256 and second electrode 266 are connected to HBC modem 251. [Sydir PP 0029]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 6, Kravtchenko significantly teaches wherein the receiver further comprises: at least one de-serializer module configured to (Each symbol comprises s bits. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]):
determine number of bits present in the output bitstream (fixed-length (n) codewords are transmitted, each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
convert the output bitstream into the one or more data symbols based on the generated de-serialized bit stream (The decoder 100 receives each codeword r(x) 101, and produces a corrected codeword c(x) 151. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]).
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “dynamically activate the decoder module in third set of cycle operations, based on the determined number of bits; dynamically de-deactivate the decoder module in fourth set of cycle operations, for generating a de-serialized bit stream, based on the determined number of bits ;”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches dynamically activate the decoder module in third set of cycle operations, based on the determined number of bits (As shown, the clock signal (clk) that is fed to each of the registers may be gated depending on j, per each received data block. [Weingarten PP 0071]);
dynamically de-deactivate the decoder module in fourth set of cycle operations, for generating a de-serialized bit stream, based on the determined number of bits (the clock signal (clk) that is fed to each of the registers may be gated depending on j [Weingarten PP 0071]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 7, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the third set of cycle operations comprises at least a first cycle and the fourth set of cycle operations comprises at least remaining cycles excluding the first cycle, wherein the sum of the third set of cycle operations and the fourth set of cycle operations corresponds to total number of bits present in the input bitstream.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the third set of cycle operations comprises at least a first cycle and the fourth set of cycle operations comprises at least remaining cycles excluding the first cycle, wherein the sum of the third set of cycle operations and the fourth set of cycle operations corresponds to total number of bits present in the input bitstream (In each successive clock (clk signal) the contents of each register … is multiplied … and latched [Weingarten PP 0062], Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 8, Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “wherein the message signal comprises at least one of an audio signal, a video signal, and an image signal.”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches wherein the message signal comprises at least one of an audio signal, a video signal, and an image signal (Numerous types of data may be stored on an HBCSM and transferred through an HBC interface, including but not limited to wireless pairing information e.g., Bluetooth), text from a document, GPS coordinates, credentials such as account numbers … [Sydir PP 0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 9, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the decoding module further comprises a clock gate decoder configured to deactivate clock operation of the decoder module upon completion of the decoding process.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the decoding module further comprises a clock gate decoder configured to deactivate clock operation of the decoder module upon completion of the decoding process (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 10, Kravtchenko significantly teaches wherein the Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module is configured to (The coefficients of a new error/erasure polynomial are loaded into the registers of a serial Forney's block, and the error/erasure magnitude values are computed. [Kravtchenko PP 0023]):
generate one or more polynomial coefficients based on the activation (Both the error locator polynomial Δ(x) and the error evaluator polynomial Ω(x) can be calculated using Euclid's algorithm. [Kravtchenko PP 0021]), wherein the one or more polynomial coefficient comprises at least one of a lambda coefficient (error locator polynomial Δ(x) [Kravtchenko PP 0021]);
detect location of error present in the one or more data symbols, based on the generated one or more polynomial coefficients (Next, the error locations are computed using a parallel Chien block. [Kravtchenko PP 0022]); and
rectify one or more errors in the one or more data symbols based on the detected location (For each error that the error locator 130 locates, an error corrector 150 determines the corrected codeword c(x) 151, based on the location 131 and magnitude 141 of this error. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]).
As per claim 11, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the decoder module is configured to disable the syndrome module when the one or more syndrome values corresponds to a zero value.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the decoder module is configured to disable the syndrome module when the one or more syndrome values corresponds to a zero value (When the number of errors which occurs is less than the maximum error correction capability of the error correction code, all the coefficients of the error locator polynomial (Λ(x)) higher than j are equal to zero. [Weingarten PP 00]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 12, Kravtchenko significantly teaches wherein the syndrome module further comprises (A syndrome calculator 110 processes the codeword 101 [Kravtchenko PP 0003]):
a parallel syndrome calculator unit comprising a Galois adder and a constant multiplier (Galois Field (FG) that is chosen for the RS code. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]), wherein the parallel syndrome calculator unit is configured to (A syndrome calculator 110 processes the codeword 101 to produce corresponding syndrome polynomials Si (x) 111. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]):
generate the one or more syndrome values using the Galois adder and the constant multiplier (Galois Field (FG) that is chosen for the RS code. [Kravtchenko PP 0003])
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “receive the deserialized bit stream from the at least one de-serializer module associated with the receiver; store the one or more syndrome values in a flip flop module; an error detection module configured to: receive each of the generated one or more syndrome values from the parallel syndrome calculator unit; perform logical OR operation on each of the one or more syndrome values; and generate an error signal when the generated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value; and a syndrome out module configured to activate upon receiving the error signal from the error detection module, through the clock gate controller.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches store the one or more syndrome values in a flip flop module (an array of registers 300 and an array of multipliers 330 together defining J “taps” [Weingarten PP 0060], “functional units” 335 , each comprising a register and a multiplier. [Weingarten PP0060]);
an error detection module configured to (The receiver computes the syndrome vector s [Weingarten PP 0053]):
receive each of the generated one or more syndrome values from the parallel syndrome calculator unit (The receiver computes the syndrome vector s using the parity check matrix i.e. s=rHT =cHT +eHT =mGHT +eHT =0+eHT =eHT , or in short s=eHT . [Weingarten PP 0054]);
perform logical OR operation on each of the one or more syndrome values (s=rHT =cHT +eHT =mGHT +eHT =0+eHT =eHT , or in short s=eHT . [Weingarten PP 0054]); and
generate an error signal when the generated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (s=eHT [Weingarten PP 00] non zero s indicates error); and
a syndrome out module configured to activate upon receiving the error signal from the error detection module, through the clock gate controller (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “receive the deserialized bit stream from the at least one de-serializer module associated with the receiver;”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches receive the deserialized bit stream from the at least one de-serializer module associated with the receiver (HBC modem 201 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0026]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 13, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the syndrome out module is further configured to: detect a rising edge of the error signal received from the error detection module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the syndrome out module; and set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the syndrome out module; generate a shift terminate signal, based on the enabled clock, when the one or more syndrome values are shifted out serially; detect rising edge of the generated shift terminate signal using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the syndrome out module; and reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the syndrome out module.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the syndrome out module is further configured to: detect a rising edge of the error signal received from the error detection module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the syndrome out module (an array of registers 300 and an array of multipliers 330 together defining J “taps” [Weingarten PP 0060]); and
set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the syndrome out module (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]);
generate a shift terminate signal, based on the enabled clock, when the one or more syndrome values are shifted out serially (In each successive clock (clk signal) the contents of each register … is multiplied … and latched [Weingarten PP 0062], Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]);
detect rising edge of the generated shift terminate signal using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the syndrome out module (In each successive clock (clk signal) the contents of each register … is multiplied … and latched [Weingarten PP 0062], Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]); and
reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the syndrome out module (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 14, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the syndrome out module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules, and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates 4 associated with the syndrome out module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the syndrome out module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules, and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates 4 associated with the syndrome out module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate (gating logic is added to generate the gated clock [Weingarten PP 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 15, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module is further configured to: detect rising edge of the error signal received from the syndrome module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the ELP module; and set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the ELP module; generate an error terminate signal based on the enabled clock; detect rising edge of the error terminate signal, using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the ELP module; and reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the ELP module.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module is further configured to: detect rising edge of the error signal received from the syndrome module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the ELP module (an array of registers 300 [Weingarten PP 0060]); and
set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the ELP module (a clock-scheme … to control which … are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]);
generate an error terminate signal based on the enabled clock (Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]);
detect rising edge of the error terminate signal, using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the ELP module (In each successive clock … decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]); and
reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the ELP module (a clock-scheme … to control which … are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 16, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the ELP module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules, and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates associated with the ELP module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the ELP module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules (an array of registers 300 [Weingarten PP 0060]), and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates associated with the ELP module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate (gating logic is added to generate the gated clock [Weingarten PP 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 17, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the chien search module is configured to: detect rising edge of the error done received from ELP module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the chien search module; and set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the ELP module; generate a chien search terminate signal based on the enabled clock; detect rising edge of the chien search terminate signal, using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the chien search module; and reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the chien search module.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the chien search module is configured to: detect rising edge of the error done received from ELP module, using first set of flip flop modules and first set of logic gates associated with the chien search module (an array of registers 300 [Weingarten PP 0060]); and
set a latch module based on the detected rising edge, to enable the clock associated with the ELP module (a clock-scheme … to control which … are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]);
generate a chien search terminate signal based on the enabled clock (Having iterated over all elements in the field, and identified all errors, decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]);
detect rising edge of the chien search terminate signal, using second set of flip flop modules and second set of logic gates associated with the chien search module (In each successive clock … decoding is complete. [Weingarten PP 0062]); and
reset the latch module based on the detected rising edge, to disable operation of the chien search module (a clock-scheme … to control which … are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 18, Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the chien search module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules, and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates 5 associated with the chien search module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate.”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches wherein the first set of flip flop modules and the second set of flip flop modules associated with the chien search module comprises at least one of D-flip flop modules (an array of registers 300 [Weingarten PP 0060]), and wherein the first set of logic gates and the second set of logic gates 5 associated with the chien search module comprises at least one of a NOT gate, an OR gate, and an AND gate (gating logic is added to generate the gated clock [Weingarten PP 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 19, Kravtchenko significantly teaches encoding, by the encoder module, the one or more data symbols using one or more encoding algorithms (Using Reed-Solomon (RS) terminology, fixed-length (n) codewords are transmitted, each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
calculating, by at least one syndrome module, one or more syndrome values for the received one or more encoded data symbols, wherein the number of one or more syndrome values is proportional to twice maximum error correction capacity value of the one or more encoded data symbols (An RS decoder can correct up to (n-k)/2 symbols that contain errors in a codeword. [Kravtchenko PP 0002], Each codeword has n-k syndromes that depend only on errors [Kravtchenko PP 0003]);
activating, by the at least one clock gate controller, an Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module when the one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (Euclid's algorithm is used, which is a method for finding the greatest common divisor of two polynomials … Both the error locator polynomial Δ(x) and the error evaluator polynomial Ω(x) can be calculated using Euclid's algorithm. [Kravtchenko PP 0021]);
decoding, by the at least one clock gate controller, the one or more encoded data symbols based on the activated EMP solver module and the chien search module (For each error that the error locator 130 locates, an error corrector 150 determines the corrected codeword c(x) 151, based on the location 131 and magnitude 141 of this error. [Kravtchenko PP 0003]).
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “a communication method for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising: receiving, by an encoder module, a message signal from one or more data sources, wherein the message symbol comprises one or more data symbols; generating, by the at least one syndrome module, an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value; receiving, by at least one clock gate controller, the error signal from the at least one syndrome module; generating, by the at least one clock gate controller, an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module, wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols; activating, by the at least one clock gate controller, an Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module and a chien search module based on determining polarity of the error indication signal;”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches receiving, by an encoder module, a message signal from one or more data sources, wherein the message symbol comprises one or more data symbols (The encoder for BCH and RS codes can be described in terms of a generation matrix G, thus the encoding process comprises a matrix multiplication c=mG, where c is the transmitted codeword and m is the message to be transmitted. [Weingarten PP 0052]);
generating, by the at least one syndrome module, an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (The receiver computes the syndrome vector s … s = eH^T [Weingarten PP 0054]);
receiving, by at least one clock gate controller, the error signal from the at least one syndrome module (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]);
generating, by the at least one clock gate controller, an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module, wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols (The error locator polynomial can be written as follows, where j (or v) denotes the number of errors in the received vector: Λ(x )=Λ0 +Λ1 x+Λ 2 x 2 +Λj x j [Weingarten PP 0055]);
activating, by the at least one clock gate controller, an Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module and a chien search module based on determining polarity of the error indication signal (a clock-scheme associated with circuitry which takes advantage of the known number of errors to control which of several sub-circuits, also termed herein taps, are clocked and which have their clock gated [Weingarten PP 0064]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “a communication method for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising:”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches a communication method for error-proportional energy-saving in encoding and decoding in Body Area Networks (BAN) using Human Body Communication (HBC) comprising (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices. [Sydir PP 0014]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 20, Kravtchenko significantly teaches receive a message signal from one or more data sources, wherein the message symbol comprises one or more data symbols (Using Reed-Solomon (RS) terminology, fixed-length (n) codewords are transmitted, each codeword comprising k information symbols and n-k appended error correcting (parity) symbols. [Kravtchenko PP 0002]);
calculate one or more syndrome values for the received one or more encoded data symbols, wherein the number of one or more syndrome values is proportional to twice maximum error correction capacity value of the one or more encoded data symbols (An RS decoder can correct up to (n-k)/2 symbols that contain errors in a codeword. [Kravtchenko PP 0002], Each codeword has n-k syndromes that depend only on errors [Kravtchenko PP 0003]);
activate an Error Magnitude Polynomial (EMP) solver module and a chien search module based on determining a polarity of the error indication signal (The coefficients of a new error/erasure polynomial are loaded into the registers of a serial Forney's block, and the error/erasure magnitude values are computed. [Kravtchenko PP 0023]); and
decode the one or more encoded data symbols based on the activated EMP solver module and the chien search module (For each error that the error locator 130 locates, an error corrector 150 determines the corrected codeword c(x) 151 [Kravtchenko PP 0003]).
Kravtchenko does not explicitly teach “a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that are executable by a processor to: encode the one or more data symbols using one or more encoding algorithms; generate an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value; receive the error signal from the at least one syndrome module; activate an Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module when the received error signal exceeds a predefined threshold value; generate an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module, wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols;”
However, Weingarten, in an analogous art teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that are executable by a processor to (software components of the present invention including programs and data may, if desired, be implemented in ROM (read only memory) form including CD-ROMs, EPROMs and EEPROMs, or may be stored in any other suitable computer-readable medium [Weingarten PP 0083]):
encode the one or more data symbols using one or more encoding algorithms (the encoding process comprises a matrix multiplication c=mG [Weingarten PP 0052]);
generate an error signal when the calculated one or more syndrome values corresponds to a non-zero value (The receiver computes the syndrome vector s … s = eH^T [Weingarten PP 0054]);
activate an Error Location Polynomial (ELP) module when the received error signal exceeds a predefined threshold value (If 2 clock domains are provided, the clock gating unit is operative to deactivate, say, all taps from 20 to 59. The clock gating unit typically does so if the rank is known to be less than 20. [Weingarten PP 0065]);
generate an error indication signal, based on the activated ELP module, wherein the error indication signal corresponds to number of errors present in the one or more encoded data symbols (where j (or v) denotes the number of errors in the received vector [Weingarten PP 0055]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko to incorporate Weingarten’s teachings of a clock gating scheme, in order to reduce power consumption (Finally the power was reduced by factor of vthr/J [Weingarten PP 0077]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten do not explicitly teach “receive the error signal from the at least one syndrome module;”
However, Sydir, in an analogous art teaches receive the error signal from the at least one syndrome module (HBC modem 251 may include, among other components, a transmission buffer, transmitter, receiver, and receiving buffer. [Sydir PP 0029]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Reed-Solomon decoder system disclosed by Kravtchenko in view of Weingarten to incorporate Sydir’s teachings to include a human body communication medium, in order enable body coupled data transfer between transmitter and receiver (A wearable PSM configured for human body communication (HBC, also known as intra-body communication and body-coupled communication) uses a simple electrode as an interface to host devices … The signals travel between the host device and the PSM over the surface of the user's skin. [Sydir PP 0014]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREEM FUAD ALHWAMDEH/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112