DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 introduces “a slit”, and is later referred to as “the slits” in claim 16. This technically creates a lack of antecedent basis. Applicant may find it easier to claim this as “…a plurality of slits” to be more consistent with claims 17 and 18.
Claims 17 and 18 recite “the plurality of slits”. It is assumed that this is a reference to “a plurality of the slits” introduced in claim 16. This technically creates a lack of antecedent basis. Refer to the above bullet for a suggested fix of claims 16-18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tasei at al. JP H06236834 A (hereafter referred to as Tasei).
Figure 1: Examiner annotated Fig. 3 of Tasei pointing out a core and a first extended conductor.
Regarding claim 1, Tasei discloses:
A capacitor element comprising: a capacitor part (Fig. 3; Para. [0003]) including: an anode plate having a core (core – Figure 1 above; para. [0003]) and a porous part on at least one major face of the core (3 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0003]), a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part (Para. [0003]), and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (4 – Fig. 3; Para. [0003]); and a sealing layer that seals the capacitor part (6 – Fig. 3; Para. [0004]), wherein a surface of the sealing layer has a slit (9 – Fig. 3; Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the slit is positioned so as to not contact the cathode layer (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 2, further comprising: a first extended conductor inside the sealing layer and electrically connected to the anode plate (first extended conductor – Figure 1 above), the first extended conductor extending to a surface of the sealing layer (Figure 1 above), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts neither of the cathode layer nor the first extended conductor (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 3, further comprising: a first outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer (7 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the first outer electrode layer electrically connected to the anode plate via the first extended conductor (Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts none of the cathode layer, the first extended conductor, and the first outer electrode layer (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 3, further comprising: a second extended conductor inside the sealing layer and electrically connected to the cathode layer (5 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the second extended conductor extending to a surface of the sealing layer (Figure 1 above), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts neither of the cathode layer nor the second extended conductor (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 5, further comprising: a second outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer (8 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the second outer electrode layer electrically connected to the cathode layer via the second extended conductor (Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts none of the cathode layer, the second extended conductor, and the second outer electrode layer (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 6, further comprising: a first outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer (7 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the first outer electrode layer electrically connected to the anode plate via the first extended conductor (Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts none of the cathode layer, the first extended conductor, and the first outer electrode layer (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 2, further comprising: a second extended conductor inside the sealing layer and electrically connected to the cathode layer (5 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the second extended conductor extending to a surface of the sealing layer (Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts neither of the cathode layer nor the second extended conductor (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 8, further comprising: a second outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer (8 – Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), the second outer electrode layer electrically connected to the cathode layer via the second extended conductor (Figure 1 above; Para. [0004]), wherein the slit is positioned such that the slit contacts none of the cathode layer, the second extended conductor, and the second outer electrode layer (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the cathode layer includes a solid electrolyte layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the slit is perpendicular to the surface of the sealing layer (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Tasei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the cathode layer, the slit overlaps the cathode layer (Figure 1 above).
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taihei et al. JP 6664087 B2 (hereafter referred to as Taihei).
Figure 2: Examiner annotated Fig. 4 of Taihei showing a thickness direction and heights of an anode terminal (13) and a cathode terminal (14).
Regarding claim 1, Taihei discloses:
A capacitor element comprising: a capacitor part (Fig. 4) including: an anode plate (2 – Fig. 4) having a core (Para. [0038] discloses an anode lead implanted from the porous body. The implanted anode lead forms a core) and a porous part on at least one major face of the core (Para. [0038] discloses a porous part that surrounds the anode lead), a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part (3 – Fig. 4; Para. [0054]), and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (15 – Fig. 4; Para. [0054]); and a sealing layer that seals the capacitor part (12 – Fig. 4; Para. [0053]), wherein a surface of the sealing layer has a slit (7b – Fig. 4; Para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Taihei discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, further comprising: an outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer and electrically connected to the anode plate or the cathode layer (13 – Fig. 4; Paras. [0007] and [0053]), wherein, in a plan view seen in a thickness direction of the cathode layer (Figure 2 above), the outer electrode layer includes a first outer electrode layer (13 – Figure 2 above) having a relatively large area (Figure 2 above shows that the height of terminal 13 extends to the anode and is clearly larger than the height of cathode terminal 14. Furthermore, Fig. 6 shows that the widths of 13 and 14 are the same. Therefore, 13 has a relatively large area compared to 14 when viewed in the thickness direction), and a second outer electrode layer (14 – Figure 2 above) having a relatively small area (Figure 2 above shows that the height of terminal 14 extends to the cathode and is clearly smaller than the height of terminal 13. Furthermore, Fig. 6 shows that the widths of 13 and 14 are the same. Therefore, 14 has a relatively small area compared to 13 when viewed in the thickness direction), and wherein the slit is located closer to the first outer electrode layer than to the second outer electrode layer (Figure 2 above shows slit 7b closer to the first outer electrode).
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa US 20200402723 A1 (hereafter referred to as Furukawa).
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa discloses:
A capacitor element comprising: a capacitor part (Fig. 11b) including: an anode plate (11 – Fig. 11b) having a core (11c – Fig. 11b; Para. [0032]) and a porous part on at least one major face of the core (11a, 11b – Fig. 11b; Para. [0032]), a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part (12a, 12b – Fig. 11b; Para. [0032]), and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (13a, 13b – Fig. 11b; Para. [0032]); and a sealing layer that seals the capacitor part (17a, 17b, 20a, 20c – Fig. 11b), wherein a surface of the sealing layer has a slit (41α, 51α – Fig. 11b; Para. [0173]).
Regarding claim 16, Furukawa discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the surface of the sealing layer has a plurality of the slits (41α, 51α – Fig. 11b).
Regarding claim 18, Furukawa discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 16, wherein the plurality of slits include slits with different depths (41α, 51α – Fig. 11b; slit 51α is clearly deeper than slit 41α as it goes down to the core).
Claim(s) 1, 10, 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. KR 20090131054 A (hereafter referred to as Sung).
Figure 3: Examiner annotated Fig. 13 of Sung showing the thickness direction for a 1st mapping and a 2nd mapping. A step where the outer electrode transitions to overlapping the slit in the thickness direction (2nd mapping) is also shown.
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses:
A capacitor element comprising: a capacitor part (Fig. 10) including: an anode plate having a core (120 – Fig. 10; Para. [0007]) and a porous part on at least one major face of the core (110 – Fig. 10; Paras. [0002] and [0007] disclose a tantalum capacitor. The elements 11 is sintered meaning it is porous), a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part (130 – Fig. 10; Paras. [0007]), and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (130 – Fig. 13; Para. [0007]); and a sealing layer that seals the capacitor part (160 – Fig. 10; Para. [0007]), wherein a surface of the sealing layer has a slit (190 – Fig. 10; Para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Sung discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the slit is located closer to an outer edge portion of the anode plate than to a central portion of the anode plate (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Sung discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the cathode layer (Figure 3 above; 1st mapping), the slit does not overlap the cathode layer (Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 19, Sung discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, further comprising: an outer electrode layer on a surface of the sealing layer and electrically connected to the anode plate or the cathode layer (200, 210 – Fig. 13; Para. [0011]), wherein, in a plan view in a thickness direction of the cathode layer (Figure 3 above; 2nd mapping), the slit is positioned so as to overlap the cathode layer (slit overlaps the cathode in the 2nd mapping of Figure 3 above) and the outer electrode layer (outer electrode overlaps the slit in the 2nd mapping of Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 20, Sung discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 19, wherein the outer electrode layer includes a step at a position overlapping the slit (Figure 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishibayashi JP S63289808 A (hereafter referred to as Shishibayashi) in view of Kobashi US 5005107 A (hereafter referred to as Kobashi).
Figure 4: Examiner annotated Fig. 1b of Shshibayashi after modification with Kobashi. A first slit (7) does overlap with a cathode layer and a second slit (8) does not overlap with a cathode layer.
Regarding claim 1, Shishibayashi discloses:
A capacitor element comprising: a capacitor part (Fig. 1b; Para. [0005]) and a sealing layer that seals the capacitor part (1 -– Fig. 1b; Para. [0006]), wherein a surface of the sealing layer has a slit (7, 8 – Fig. 1b; Para. [0006]). Shishibayashi fails to explicitly disclose that a solid electrolytic capacitor includes an anode plate having a core and a porous part on at least one major face of the core, a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part, and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer.
Kobashi discloses that a solid electrolytic capacitor includes an anode plate (1, 2 – Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 9-47) having a core (1 – Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 9-47) and a porous part on at least one major face of the core (2 – Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 9-47), a dielectric layer on a surface of the porous part (3 – Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 9-47), and a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer (4 – Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 9-47).
Shishibayashi discloses a chip type solid electrolytic capacitor, but is silent on the specific and well-known structure of such a device. Kobashi discloses a specific, well-known structure for a chip type solid electrolytic capacitor (col. 1, lines 9-18 and col. 2, lines 59-61 of Kobashi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the elements from Kobashi as Kobashi discloses a well-known structure for a solid electrolytic capacitor, and specifically a chip type solid electrolytic capacitor.
Regarding claim 16, Shishibayashi as modified by Kobashi further discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 1, wherein the surface of the sealing layer has a plurality of the slits (7, 8 – Fig. 1b; Para. [0006] of Shishibayashi).
Regarding claim 17, Shishibayashi as modified by Kobashi further discloses:
The capacitor element according to Claim 16, wherein the plurality of slits are positioned such that a first slit of the plurality of slits overlaps the cathode layer (7 – Figure 4 above) and a second slit of the plurality of slits does not overlap the cathode layer (8 – Fig. 4 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4059887 A: 26 – Fig. 5
JP H03212920 A: Fig. 3
US 7133276 B2: Fig. 6
US 20130248235 A1: Fig. 6
US 20170250383 A1: Fig. 2A
US 20180047960 A1: Fig. 7
JP 2018142668 A: 12 – Fig. 1
US 20190362904 A1: Fig. 1a
US 11302619 B2: Fig. 1
US 20220189706 A1: Fig. 5; para. [0040]
US 12580136 B2: Figs. 1, 5B, 9, 13
US 3551756 A: 24 – Fig. 1
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847