Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19 & 20 are objected to because of informalities.
Claims 6 & 10 recite “a visual indicia.” The word “indicia” is plural. Applicant should amend the claims to recite either “visual indicia” or “a visual indicium.”
Claim 11 recites “the visual indicia is comprised of a color-coded indicia.” This language improperly combines plural “indicia” with the singular verb “is” and the singular article “a.” Applicant should amend the limitation to, for example, “wherein the visual indicium is color-coded” or “wherein the visual indicia are color-coded.”
Claims 14 &15 recite “further comprised of.” Because these claims introduce additional device elements, the claims should recite “further comprising.”
Claim 19 recites “via an indicia.” Applicant should amend the limitation to recite either “via indicia” or “via an indicium.”
Claim 20 recites that “the indicia flashes, pulses, or changes color.” If singular treatment is intended, the claim should recite “the indicium flashes, pulses, or changes color.” If plural indicia are intended, the claim should recite “the indicia flash, pulse, or change color.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 9 recites: “a wireless adapter plug in wireless communication with the display screen”; and “a wire establishing a wired communication between the adapter plug and the display screen.”
The claim therefore characterizes the same adapter plug as being in wireless communication with the display screen while also requiring a wire that establishes wired communication between that adapter plug and the display screen. It is unclear whether:
a) the adapter plug is required to maintain both wired and wireless communication with the display screen;
b) the adapter plug is selectively operable in alternative wired and wireless modes;
c) the “wire” relates to a separate wired adapter plug that is not otherwise recited; d) “wireless adapter plug” merely means that the plug is capable of wireless operation even when the recited wire is connected.
The specification does not resolve the ambiguity. Paragraph [0025] describes wire 122 as establishing a wired communication link between adapter plug 120 and display screen 116. Paragraph [0026], however, describes a wireless adapter plug that interfaces with the display “without a physical connection to the body 110 and/or display 116.” Thus, the specification presents the wired and wireless arrangements as potentially different embodiments, whereas claim 9 appears to require both arrangements in the same device.
Because more than one reasonable construction exists, the metes and bounds of claim 9 are unclear. Claims 10–18 depend from claim 9 and do not cure this ambiguity.
Claims 9–18 are therefore indefinite. See MPEP §2173.02, explaining that a rejection is appropriate when claim language is susceptible to more than one reasonable interpretation.
For purposes of applying the prior art below, and without waiving the rejection under §112(b), claims 9-18 are interpreted as requiring a dual-mode adapter plug capable of communicating with the display screen through both a wireless communication interface and a wired communication interface.
This interpretation permits examination under §§102 and 103 because the uncertainty is not so extensive that application of prior art would require undue speculation. See MPEP §2173.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrus (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0035156 A1) in view of Avalos Ponce et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0131887 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andrus Disclosures in Fig. 4, a trailer light diagnostic device comprising a body and an adapter plug in the form of intelligent towing plug adapter (100) and compartment housing (101)(see [0024]); and a display screen and a wire establishing a wired communication between the adapter plug and the display screen, in the form of a PCB located in the towing plug and hard-wired through a communication bus to an onboard computer system and display monitor (see [0005]).
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material (see a trailer connector having a body provided by plastic housing 26, which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material; also See [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by forming the body of the intelligent towing plug from a waterproof plastic material as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide increased durability and reliable operation in outdoor environments because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0036] that trailer connectors are exposed to corrosion, inclement weather, and other conditions affecting electrical-connection reliability, thus protecting the diagnostic electronics and improving the reliability of the trailer light diagnostic device.
Regarding claim 2, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the body is comprised of a reinforced edge (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the body (via is comprised of a bumper (see [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the display screen attaches to the body via a hinge (see [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the body is comprised of a wirecode (via hard-wire communications bus, see [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the display screen is configured to present a visual indicia representing a left turn signal, a right turn signal, a brake light (see [0046 & 0048]), a reverse light, a taillight, or an auxiliary power line (see [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 1, wherein Andrus further disclose that the adapter plug is comprised of a 4-pin adapter plug, a 5-pin adapter plug, a 6-pin adapter plug, or a 7-pin adapter plug. Andrus specifically identifies 7-pin, 7-blade, 6-way round, 4-way round, 5-way flat, and 4-way flat trailer-adapter-plug configurations (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Andrus discloses a trailer light diagnostic device having a body, adapter plug, display screen, and wired communication between the adapter plug and display screen, as discussed regarding claim 1.
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the body is comprised of a fastener.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the body is comprised of a fastener (see plastic housing 26, which constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material; also See [0037]; wherein permanent magnetic elements that magnetically attract and secure the cooperating trailer connectors, thereby functioning as a fastener; See [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by incorporating a magnetic fastener into the body of the intelligent towing plug as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide improved alignment and secure coupling of the cooperating trailer connectors because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0042] that the magnetic guidance system facilitates connection under low-light, no-light, or blind-connection conditions, thus improving the reliability and ease of connecting the trailer light diagnostic device.
Regarding claim 9, Andrus discloses a trailer light diagnostic device comprising a body and adapter plug in the form of intelligent towing plug adapter (100)(see [0024]) and compartment housing (101)(see [0024]); a display screen; and a wireless adapter plug in wireless communication with the display screen, because the PCB within the adapter plug wirelessly communicates trailer-system data to smartphone 106, whose mobile application displays the data (see [0026]). Andrus also discloses a wire establishing wired communication between the adapter plug and the display screen in the form of a hard-wired communication bus extending from PCB 102 to the onboard computer system containing the display (see [0039]).
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material (see a trailer connector having a body provided by plastic housing 26, which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material; also See [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by forming the body of the intelligent towing plug from a waterproof plastic material as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide increased durability and reliable operation in outdoor environments because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0036] that trailer connectors are exposed to corrosion, inclement weather, and other conditions affecting electrical-connection reliability, thus protecting the diagnostic electronics and improving the reliability of the trailer light diagnostic device.
Regarding claim 10, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 9, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the display screen is configured to present a visual indicia representing a left turn signal (see [0046 & 0048]), a right turn signal, a brake light, a reverse light, a taillight, or an auxiliary power line (see [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Andrus discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 10, including visual indicia that identify trailer-circuit conditions on a display screen (see [0027]).
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the visual indicia is comprised of a color-coded indicia.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the visual indicia is comprised of a color-coded indicia (see plastic housing 26, which constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material, also see [0037]; wherein color-coded visual indications in which a light changes to green when the electrical connections are satisfactory and changes to red when a defective connection is detected, see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by incorporating color-coded indicia as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide a clear visual distinction between satisfactory and defective trailer-circuit connections because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0046] that the diagnostic light changes to green when the connections are satisfactory and changes to red when a defective connection is detected, thus enabling faster and more accurate identification of trailer-circuit conditions.
Regarding claim 12, Andrus discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 9, including an adapter-plug body, display screen, and wired and wireless diagnostic communication paths.
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the body is comprised of a magnet.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the body is comprised of a magnet (see plastic housing 26, which constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material, see [0037]; wherein permanent magnetic elements incorporated into the cooperating trailer connectors, including permanent neodymium magnets; see [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by incorporating a magnet into the body of the intelligent towing plug as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide magnetic alignment and retention between the cooperating trailer connectors because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0042] that the magnetic elements align the trailer tow connector with the trailer connector and facilitate connection under low-light or blind-connection conditions, thus improving connection accuracy and reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 9, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the body is comprised of a suction cup (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Andrus discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 9, including the adapter plug, display screen, and wired and wireless diagnostic communications.
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the trailer light diagnostic device is further comprised of a power button.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the trailer light diagnostic device is further comprised of a power button (see plastic housing 26, which constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material, see [0037]; wherein a momentary switch 52 that turns the powered light 50 ON and OFF, thereby teaching a power button under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by incorporating a power button in the form of an ON/OFF switch as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide direct user control over activation of the powered visual component because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0041] that switch 52 turns light 50 ON when needed to enable the user to more easily insert the trailer connector, thus improving convenience and usability of the trailer light diagnostic device.
Regarding claim 15, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 9, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the body is comprised of a wirecode (via corresponding wiring configuration, see [0053]).
Regarding claim 16, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 15, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the wirecode is positioned on the body (via corresponding wiring configuration, see [0053]).
Regarding claim 17, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 15, wherein Andrus further disclose the wirecode is displayed on the display screen (see standard plug type 204 and its corresponding circuit and pin configuration are identified through the mobile-application user interface displayed to the user, see [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Andrus & Avalos Ponce discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 15, wherein Andrus further disclose wherein the wireless adapter plug is comprised of a rechargeable battery (see [0029 & 0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Andrus discloses a trailer light diagnostic device comprising a body and adapter plug in the form of intelligent towing plug adapter (100)(see [0024]) and compartment housing (101)(see [0024]); a display screen in communication with the adapter plug (see [0026]); and a wire establishing wired communication between the adapter plug and display screen in the form of a hard-wired communication bus extending from PCB 102 to the onboard computer system and display monitor (see [0039]). Andrus further discloses that the display screen is operable to show a real-time diagnostic of a trailer circuit via an indicia because, during trailer-monitor mode, the PCB sends a signal to the mobile application or onboard computer that provides a visual light indicator identifying the location of a detected broken circuit or fault (see [0046]).
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material (see a trailer connector having a body provided by plastic housing 26, which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material; also See [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by forming the body of the intelligent towing plug from a waterproof plastic material as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide increased durability and reliable operation in outdoor environments because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0036] that trailer connectors are exposed to corrosion, inclement weather, and other conditions affecting electrical-connection reliability, thus protecting the diagnostic electronics and improving the reliability of the trailer light diagnostic device.
Regarding claim 20, Andrus discloses the trailer light diagnostic device of claim 19, including a display that provides a visual indicator identifying the location of a broken trailer circuit or fault during trailer-monitor mode (see [0046]).
Andrus does not expressly disclose that the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the indicia flashes, pulses, or changes color to indicate a trailer-circuit malfunction.
Avalos Ponce discloses the body is comprised of a waterproof material or that the indicia flashes, pulses, or changes color to indicate a trailer-circuit malfunction (see plastic housing 26, which constitutes a body comprised of a waterproof material (see [0037]; wherein based on the diagnostic result, light 50 changes color to green when the connections are satisfactory and changes color to red, flashes, or provides another distinct visual change when a defective connection is detected, see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Andrus by configuring the indicia to flash or change color when a trailer-circuit malfunction is detected as taught by Avalos Ponce et al., as doing so would provide an immediate and conspicuous visual indication of the malfunction because Avalos Ponce et al. emphasize in paragraph [0046] that the diagnostic light changes to green when the connections are satisfactory and changes to red, flashes, or provides another distinct visual change when a defective connection is detected, thus enabling the user to identify a trailer-circuit malfunction more quickly and accurately.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2016/0121792 A1 to Christopherson et al. disclose a device and system are disclosed for trailer light diagnostics. The device includes, in one embodiment, a housing, and a controller disposed within the housing and configured for wirelessly communicating a status of an electrical wire of a vehicle lighting system with a remote display, where the controller is electrically coupled with the wire. The system includes the device and the remote display configured for performing actions including establishing a wireless data connection with the trailer light diagnostic device, receiving, from the trailer light diagnostic device, data indicative of a electrical status of a wire in the trailer light system, and presenting, in response to the electrical status of the wire, a notification to a user.
U.S. 11,945,269 B2 to Pampattiwar et al. disclose an adapter for use with components of a truck trailer. The adapter may include multiple input terminals corresponding with multiple terminals of a trailer component socket of a trailer, and multiple output terminals configured to electrically connect with corresponding input terminals of a trailer component. The adapter may also include an adapter circuit configured to electrically connect at least four of the input terminals with at least four of the multiple output terminals. The multiple output terminals may include at least two mode selection output terminals configured to provide a mode selection to the trailer component, and the trailer component optionally includes control logic configured to activate and deactivate the trailer component according to the mode selection.
U.S. 11,828,783 B1 to Walker discloses a fifth wheel trailer light testing device is a maintenance device. The fifth wheel trailer light testing device is adapted for use with a trailer. The fifth wheel trailer light testing device comprises the plurality of trailer lights, a plurality of flashing circuits, a plurality of isolation diodes, a plurality of switches, and a wiring harness connector. The plurality of trailer lights, the plurality of flashing circuits, the plurality of isolation diodes, the plurality of switches, and the wiring harness connector are electrically interconnected. The fifth wheel trailer light testing device electrically tests a plurality of trailer lights. The fifth wheel trailer light testing device illuminates the plurality of trailer lights to be sure that each trailer light selected from the plurality of trailer lights is operating. The fifth wheel trailer light testing device is further configured to simultaneously flash all of the plurality of trailer lights.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858