DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 12/09/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 12/12/2023 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/09/2024 are acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application. Claims 1-5 are rejected. Claims 6-15 are Objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Neither of the prior arts teach an eight-step process including starting with a ”rubber blanket”, winding it on a “fiber positioning device”, applying a “core of the helical projection, folding the blanket, and covering the elastic cylinder with a mold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Negishi (US 5,080,020) in view of Procida (WO 2021/104914), and further in view of Miao (CN 113338919) and Preen (US 2,668,307).
Regarding claim 1, Negishi in view of Procida discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A traction system for moving a robot and its umbilical cable inside pipelines implemented in a robotic system, the traction system comprising: Negishi, Col. 4, ll. 13-22, Fig. 2 teaches a traction system for moving a device inside pipelines, where a traveling device 10 is movable along an elongated member (pipe) using control cables. a cylindrical anchoring module sized to be inserted inside a pipe; Negishi, Col. 4, ll. 13-22, Col. 5, ll. 11-25, 57-65, Figs. 2, 4a-4b, teaches a cylindrical anchoring module, where anchoring means 18 arranged on the outer circumferential surfaces of support members 14 and 15, which are sized for insertion into a pipe, stating: “Moreover, the anchoring means 18 expanding upon supplying the pressurized fluid are arranged on the outer circumferential surfaces of the support members 14 and 15”.
a central body; Negishi, Col. 4, ll. 60-63, Col. 5, ll. 11-25, teaches a central body including support members 14 and 15, which take the form of column onto which the anchoring mechanisms are mounted.
a cylinder of flexible material anchored and sealed around the central body, forming a toroidal cavity; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 11-25, Figs. 4a-4c, “In making the anchoring means 18, as shown in phantom lines in FIG. 4a or 4b, a tubular member 42 made of a rubber or rubber-like elastic materials is mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the support member 14 or 15 and clamped by a clamp sleeve 44 outwardly provided so that one end of the tubular member [42] is fixed to the support member. Thereafter, the free portion of the tubular member is reversed and a free end thereof is again mounted on the support member 14 or 15 and fixed thereto by another clamp sleeve 45”.
wherein one end of the cylinder is fixed to the central body and an opposite end is free to move axially, wherein the free end has a sliding seal in its attachment and translates during the pressurization of the cavity, keeping a robot, its load and an umbilical connection immobile during anchoring to the internal surface of the pipe; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 11-25, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “clamped by a clamp sleeve 44 outwardly provided so that one end of the tubular member 2 is fixed to the support member. Thereafter, the free portion of the tubular member is reversed and a free end thereof is again mounted on the support member 14 or 15 and fixed thereto by another clamp sleeve 45”, “….. a pressurized fluid is supplied into the anchoring means 18 positioned forwardly through the supply and exhaust pipe 56 to expand the anchoring means 18 so that the anchoring means 18 and hence the support member 15 positioned forwardly are fixed to the pipe as shown in FIG. 5b”.
Negishi does not explicitly disclose:
sliding seal,
However, Miao, Paras. [0002]-[0015], teaches a downhole tubing tool comprising a sealed pressure chamber formed between an outer cylinder and a movable tube. And further teaches utilizing a “sliding seal” as “sliding and sealing cooperation” to accommodate pressure changes and volume expansion.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the folded, fixed clamp traction system of Negishi with the “sliding seal” mechanism as taught by Miao, in order to prevent unsealing failure, and ensuring smooth translation.
and the flexible material of the cylinder is composed of any elastic material; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 11-25, Col. 9, ll. 59-68, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “…. a tubular member 145 made of a rubber or rubber-like elastic material applied to an outer circumference of the support member 115”.
wherein the flexible material of the cylinder is further composed of a reinforcement by fibers aligned longitudinally to its axis capable of coupling with the elastomeric matrix; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 36-46, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “….Moreover, other tubular members may of course be used which include reinforcing cord layers extending in parallel with axial directions and embedded in the tubular members”.
wherein the fibers in the elastomeric element limit the deformation, radially expanding and generating a broad contact surface against the internal surface of the pipe; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 36-46, Col. 7, ll. 53-64, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “….They may be tubular members provided on outer surfaces with reinforcing layers or covers superior in flexibility without restraining movements of the tubular members upon ….. Moreover, other tubular members may of course be used which include reinforcing cord layers extending in parallel with axial directions …”, “…the anchoring means expanded by supplying the pressurized fluid thereinto engage the outer surface of the pipe….”.
when an internal pressure is applied, the cylinder deforms towards the internal wall of the pipe, generating a contact pressure against the same and, with this, a normal force, resulting in a proportional friction force; Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 36-46, Col. 7, ll. 53-64, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “….They First, a pressurized fluid is supplied into the anchoring means 18 ……. to expand the anchoring means 18 so that the anchoring means 18 and hence the support member 15 positioned forwardly are fixed to the pipe as shown in FIG. 5b”.
wherein, additionally, the elastic cylinder must be assembled on a suitable mechanical structure capable of providing the restriction of the fixed end of the cylinder, providing a longitudinal sliding guide for the free end of the cylinder. Negishi, Col. 5, ll. 36-46, Col. 7, ll. 53-64, Figs. 4a-4c, 5b, “….In making the anchoring means 18, as shown in phantom lines in FIG. 4a or 4b, a tubular member 42 made of a rubber or rubber-like elastic materials is mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the support member 14 or 15 and clamped by a clamp sleeve 44 outwardly provided so that one end of the tubular member 2 is fixed to the support member. Thereafter, the free portion of the tubular member is reversed and a free end thereof is again mounted on the support member 14 or 15 and fixed thereto by another clamp sleeve 45”.
Negishi does not explicitly disclose:
additionally, the elastic cylinder has helical projections on its external surface, which, when expanding, fit into the grooves of the interlocked metal reinforcement of the flexible pipe;
However, Procida, Paras. [0008]-[0022], [0106]-[0051], Figs. 2, teaches unbonded flexible subsea pipes, where a carcass 12 forming the inner bore of the pipe. And teaches that the carcass 12 is manufactured by winding a metallic tape 12a in a helical manner such that the turns interlock with each other, creating a grooved, helical internal profile along the pipe wall, stating: “The unbonded flexible pipe shown in figure 2 comprises a carcass 12 manufactured by winding and folding a metallic tape 12a in such a way that the turns of the tape interlock with each other and thereby limit the displacement between the turns”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the external surface of the elastomeric tubular member 42 of Negishi to include helical projections corresponding to the inner grooves as taught by Procida, in order to maximize the surface contact area and ensure that the device remains immobile.
Negishi and Procida do not explicitly disclose:
Additionally, the elastic cylinder has helical projections …. ,
However, Preen, Paras. Col. 1, ll. 6-9, 15-21, 30-37, 42-46, Col. 2, ll. 19-30, teaches an inflatable elastomeric tool designed for insertion into pipes. And teaches molding “external spiral ribs” onto the periphery of the flexible rubber body. And further teaches that these spiral ribs project from the outer surface to contact and interface with the inner surface of the pipe during inflation and movement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Negishi’s exterior with the spiral ribs as taught by Preen to match the internal grooves taught by Procida, in order to maximize the surface contact area and create an interlock to prevent axial slip, ensuring that the device remains immobile.
Regarding claim 2, Negishi- Procida in view of Miao and Preen disclose the limitations of claim 1. Negishi discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the cylindrical anchoring module has a length compatible with the existing curves and derivations in the pipe. Negishi, Abstract, “The traveling device can move along straight and curved portions of the elongated member by supplying and exhausting the pressurized fluid …”, teaches a traction system with traveling device, which houses the cylindrical anchoring modules.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Negishi- Procida in view of Miao and Preen disclose the limitations of claim 1. Negishi- Procida discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the flexible material of the cylinder is composed of any elastic material, preferably elastomers with high stretching capacity, preferably elastomers resistant to contact with hydrocarbons such as nitrile rubbers and fluoroelastomers. Negishi, Abstract, Col. 5, ll. 12-25, 36-46, Col. 6, ll. 40-45, teaches that the anchoring cylinder (tubular member 42) is formed of “a rubber or rubber-like elastic material”. While Negishi does not use the exact phrase: “high stretching capacity”, it teaches that the rubber material must be “superior in flexibility without restraining movements of the tubular members upon expanding”. Negishi doesn’t explicitly teach the rubber is a hydrocarbons such as nitrile rubbers and fluoroelastomers.
However, Procida, Paras. [0003], [0050], teaches an unbonded flexible subsea pipes utilized in the offshore oil and gas companies to transport petrochemical fluids (hydrocarbons)
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Negishi- Procida in view of Miao and Preen disclose the limitations of claim 1. Negishi- Procida discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the flexible material of the cylinder is further composed, preferably, of reinforcement by fibers aligned longitudinally to its axis capable of coupling with the elastomeric matrix, which may be carbon fibers, glass fibers, polyethylene fibers, aramid fibers or others. Negishi, Col. 4, ll. 23-33, Col. 5, ll. 36-46, anchoring tubular members “… include reinforcing cord layers extending in parallel with axial directions and embedded in the tubular members”, the teaching of cords extending in parallel with axial directions, anticipates fibers aligned longitudinally to the axis and cords. Col. 4, ll. 23-33, explicitly teaches “… made of preferably high tension fibers, for example, aromatic polyamide fibers (trade name, KEVLAR)”, which are known as aramid fibers (i.e., …aramid fibers or others).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Negishi- Procida in view of Miao and Preen disclose the limitations of claim 1. Negishi- Procida discloses:
The system according to claim 1, wherein the robotic system additionally comprises: providing a hydraulic or pneumatic pressure; Negishi, Col. 4, ll. 45-57, teaches utilizing a “pressurized fluid” to operate the device. “A pipe line including a three-way valve connected to an operating pressure source (not shown), for example and, air compressor …”.
and controlling the moment and intensity of application of said pressure. Negishi, Col. 6, ll. 14-31, Col. 8, ll. 18-24, “…including control valve means, for example, three-way values and connected to an operating pressure source”, “…suitable supply and exhaust pipes including three-way valves connected to an operating pressure source are connected to the elastic contractible bodies and the anchoring means to supply and exhaust the pressurized fluid thereinto and therefrom”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Lisboa (US 11,920,722) teaches an intervention drive pig comprising an umbilical, wherein the umbilical is manufactured from a low-density material, wherein the umbilical comprises an external covering of material having a low coefficient of friction.
Kowalewski (US 2020/0251366) teaches a soft robot along with automated methods of design and manufacture.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-15 are pending.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615