DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker US2003/0015104 in view of Honeyman, et al. US2021/0243954.
Regarding claim 1, Parker teaches an agricultural baler 20c comprising:
a pickup unit (Figure 12) comprising a rotatable reel 80c (¶0035 describes a pickup reel, and Figure 12 shows 80c as a reel) for introducing crop material (Figure 12 shows crop as horizontal lines) into a baling chamber (Figure 12, chamber holding bale 18) of the baler 20c; and
Parker does not teach a variable speed drive system for rotating the reel.
Honeyman, et al. teaches an agricultural machine comprising a pickup unit 28 with a rotatable reel 30; a variable speed drive system 38 for rotating the reel (wherein ¶0030 describes a hydraulic motor 38 38.
Honeyman, et al. further suggests that balers can use reels ¶0025 (“baler use a reel as well”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Parker’s reel to be rotated by Honeyman, et al.’s variable speed drive system as a known means for driving a reel on a baler (Honeyman ¶25).
Regarding claim 2, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the variable speed drive system 38 comprises a hydraulic motor 38 (¶0030 “ The reel drive system includes a hydraulic circuit that in one embodiment includes a hydraulic pump 64, hydraulic motor 38 and a chain-drive 40”) having an output shaft (Figure 4a, output from 38 to the right towards reel 30) that is connected to the reel 30 for rotation of the reel (the “drive” as described in ¶0030).
Regarding claim 3, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the hydraulic motor 38 is fluidly connected to a fluid distributor 52 that is configured (capable of being connected) to be fluidly connected to a pump 64 for driving the baler 20c.
Parker teaches a tractor ¶0024 (“The motor 34 is preferably a 12 volt 1/50 HP reversible DC motor so that it is easily connectable to the tractor electrical system, although it is contemplated that other electric or non-electric motors and actuators could be used”) that is connectable to motor 34.
The combination is silent as to whether the pump is on the tractor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify the combination such that Honeyman, et al.’s pump is held on Parker’s tractor, as a logical location for holding the pump to drive Honeyman, et al.’s motor, thus providing a compact baler for Parker.
Regarding claim 4 , Honeyman, et al. teaches one or more sensors 66/68 for measuring a hydraulic pressure ¶0036 (“The second sensor 68 is configured to measure (directly or indirectly) drive pressure, and may be embodied as a torque sensor (e.g., coupled to the driveline 58), a load cell (e.g., coupled to the motor 38), or a pressure sensor (e.g., pressure transducer) that is coupled between the hydraulic subsystem 52 (or 62 in some embodiments) and the motor 38”) of a fluid within a hydraulic circuit 52 to which the hydraulic motor 38 is connected.
Regarding claim 5, Honeyman, et al. teaches a controller 26/46 for calculating a value indicative of an amount of crop entering the baler at the pickup unit (Figure 12) based on the measured hydraulic pressure (¶0028 “a computing system 26, which is coupled to a control system that monitors various parameters (e.g., pressure, speed) and/or crop features (crop height, density, contour, etc.) and provides for the adjustment of the height of the reel 24 (and/or other parameters, such as reel speed) based on the monitored parameters and/or features as explained further below”; wherein “monitoring various parameters” includes pressure, and ¶0019 “reel speed is measured from a sensor and drive pressure is measured and adjusted to maintain the speed at a desired setpoint (either fixed or varying with forward velocity) to ensure a consistent or near consistent feed of the harvested crop into the machine”; wherein the “feed of harvested crop” is interpreted to be the claimed “indicative of amount of crop entering” since feed of crop directly affects the amount of crop entering a baler).
Regarding claim 6, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the controller 26/46 is configured to adjust a speed (¶0019 the “reel speed is measured….to maintain the speed at a desired setpoint”) of the variable speed drive system 38 as a function of the calculated value (the above described desired setpoint).
Regarding claim 7, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the variable speed drive system 38 comprises an electric motor ¶0034 having an output shaft (Figure 4a, output from 38) that is connected to the reel 80c for rotation of the reel 80c.
Regarding claim 8, Parker teaches that the electric motor 34 is configured to be electrically connected to an electrical port 58/59 on a tractor (¶0024 “motor 34 is preferably a 12 volt 1/50 HP reversible DC motor so that it is easily connectable to the tractor electrical system”).
Parker does not teach the electric motor is for driving the baler.
As described above, Honeyman, et al. teaches using an electric motor to drive the reel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Parker’s electric motor to drive the reel, as in Honeyman, et al., to provide controllable rotation for the reel.
Regarding claim 9, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the vehicle includes a sensor 66 for measuring a current draw of the electric motor (¶0035 “ in embodiments that use an electric drive, a current or voltage sensor may be used to detect speed indirectly”).
Regarding claim 10, Honeyman, et al. teaches a controller 26/46 for calculating a value indicative of an amount of crop entering (¶0035 “he first sensor 66 may be embodied as an optical sensor (e.g., disposed in, or integrated with, the motor 38), ultrasonic sensor, or other known types of flowrate sensors”, wherein sensing the flowrate is the same as the claimed “amount of crop” since flow rate is directly related to the amount of crop flowing through the pickup unit towards Parker’s modified baler) at the pickup unit (Figure 12) based on the measured current draw 9.
Regarding claim 11, Honeyman, et al. teaches that the controller 26/46 is configured to adjust a speed (¶0028 “ windrower 10 also comprises a computing system 26, which is coupled to a control system that monitors various parameters (e.g., pressure, speed) and/or crop features (crop height, density, contour, etc.) and provides for the adjustment of the height of the reel 24 (and/or other parameters, such as reel speed) based on the monitored parameters and/or features as explained further below.”) of the variable speed drive system 38 as a function of the calculated value (the above described flow/feed rate).
Regarding claim 14, Parker teaches an agricultural vehicle comprising the agricultural baler 20c of claim 1, wherein the agricultural baler 20c is mounted to a hitch ¶0031 on the agricultural vehicle (tractor ¶0024).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker in view of Honeyman, et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams, et al. US4038810.
Regarding claim 12, Honeyman, et al. of the combination teaches that the variable speed drive system 38 for rotating the reel 30 comprises (i) a motor or shaft (the above described output shaft) that is connected to the reel 30 for rotating the reel 80c.
The combination does not teach a clutch connected to the motor or shaft that is configured for selectively activating and deactivating the motor or shaft.
Williams, et al. teaches that a clutch 161 is known for controlling reel rotation as a safety release if reel loads become excessive (Column 6: 62-65 “Spring 160 and toothed clutch 161 combine to form a safety release mechanism should the auger and reel loads become excessive").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify the combination to include Williams, et al.’s reel clutch to provide a safety release if loads become excessive.
Regarding claim 13, Honeyman, et al. teaches a controller 26/46 for controlling the variable speed drive system 38, wherein the controller 26/46 is configured to deactivate the variable speed drive system 38 when the baler 20c is travelling through a headland (¶0022 “detection of crop height/density changes may be used to infer headlands, where certain embodiments may responsively provide adjustments to reel height and/or reel speed. This data can be used in addition to, or in place of, previously described reel height adjustment methods”) or between windrows.
The combination does not teach the controller is configured to deactivate the variable speed drive system when the baler is travelling through headlands.
Williams, et al. teaches the above described clutch 161 for controlling reel rotation as a safety release.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify the combination’s controller to include Williams, et al.’s clutch such that the clutch is controllable by the controller, and the controller is able to deactivate/disengage the clutch (and thus deactivate the variable speed drive system since a disengaged clutch would not enable a drive system to transmit rotation to the reel) when baler is traveling through headlands, as a means to protect the reel, and provide reel speed adjustment (Honeyman, et al. ¶0022 “detection of crop height/density changes may be used to infer headlands, where certain embodiments may responsively provide adjustments to reel height and/or reel speed”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Todderud, et al. US2021/0274710 teaches a pickup unit 102 with a reel 112 powered by a variable speed drive 120/222 ¶0027, that is a hydraulic motor ¶0029 ("The variable speed motor may be a suitable hydraulic, electric or mechanical motor capable of operating at various output speeds"), including a multiple speed gearbox 224 ¶0029, output shaft 232.
/CATHLEEN R HUTCHINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 7/13/2026