DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraphs [0026] indicia “706” is used for both the “input shaft” and the “output shaft”..
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 13 – 20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,187,382 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 6 includes the limitation “a rotatable input shaft connectable to an engine of a vehicle”. However, it is unclear whether the “engine” and “vehicle” of line 6 is a the same as the engine recited in line 2 and the snowmobile recited in line 1. It appears Applicant is connecting a snowmobile to an additional snowmobile or vehicle via the “rotatable input shaft” of line 6. Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claim 2, line 5, claims “a laterally movable sheave with an inner belt-engaging surface”. However, it is unclear whether this sheave is part of the driven clutch or some other mechanism (i.e. the drive clutch). Clarification is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the jack shaft" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the drive" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 – 4, 6, 11 and 12 recites the limitation "the roller bearing" throughout. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the inner surface" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the outer surface" in lines 7 – 8 and 11 – 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the belt" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the drive belt" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the belt" in line 15 – 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the roller bearing" in lines 8 – 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the input shaft" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the driven clutch" throughout. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the sheaves" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 11 and 12 recites the limitation "the roller bearing" throughout. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the endless flexible drive belt" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the input shaft" in lines 1 – 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the gear box" in lines 1 – 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the sheaves" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sheaves" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by patent number US 6,907,951 B2 to Schoenfelder.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 7 – 9, Schoenfelder discloses a snowmobile (snowmobile 10), comprising:
[Claim 1] an engine (engine 17), mounted on a chassis (right chassis 362 and left chassis 368);
a drive track (continuous track 114), in contact with the chassis; and
a drive train (drive train 18, See Fig. 3), operatively interconnecting the engine with the drive track for delivering propulsive power to the drive track, the drive train including:
a rotatable input shaft (engine drive shaft 15) connectable to an engine of a vehicle (snowmobile 10);
[Claim 5] wherein the endless flexible drive belt (drive belt 18b) maintains tension when the engine (engine 17) is at idle speed (the drive belt 18b is capable of performing the italicized functional limitation);
[Claim 7] further including a driveshaft (second shaft 43) in contact with the gear box (reduction drive 19 and first housing member 41);
[Claim 8] wherein the driveshaft (second shaft 43) is in contact with one or more sprockets (sprocket 51); and
[Claim 9] wherein the sprockets (sprocket 51) are in contact with the drive track (continuous track 114; Col. 4, Lns. 11 – 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenfelder, in view of patent application publication US 2012/0195536 A1 to Metten et al. (hereinafter referred to as Metten).
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the roller bearing is a needle bearing.
Metten discloses a roller bearing (radial needle bearing 1) that is a needle bearing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Schoenfelder such that it incorporates a needle bearing. Doing so would enable the drive to support greater loads
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenfelder, in view of patent number US 8,919,477 B2 to Conn.
Regarding claim 10, Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile (snowmobile 10) of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the driveshaft includes two or more interior channels, the channels positioned in a substantially longitudinal orientation.
However, Conn discloses a snowmobile comprising a driveshaft (driveshaft 36) including three interior channels (interior portion 90) divided by three internal ribs (98) creating three internal channels (See Figs. 14A, 14B and 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the driveshaft of Schoenfelder, to have the longitudinal channels disclosed by Conn, to strengthen the driveshaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile (snowmobile 10) of claim 1, further comprising:
a rotatable driven clutch (secondary clutch 123) connected to the jack shaft (shaft 157), the driven clutch having a laterally stationary sheave with an inner belt-engaging surface (the clutches inherently have laterally stationary and movable sheaves; See Fig. 7);
a laterally movable sheave with an inner belt-engaging surface (the clutches inherently have laterally stationary and movable sheaves; See Fig. 7); and
an endless flexible drive belt (drive belt 18b) disposed about the drive and driven clutches (See Fig. 7).
However, Schoenfelder does not disclose the belt having an inner drive surface engageable with the outer surface of the roller bearing and a pair of side drive surfaces engageable against the inner belt-engaging surfaces of the sheaves, the size of the drive belt being selected so that when the engine is at an idle speed the inner surface of the belt firmly engages the outer surface of the roller bearing, wherein the roller bearing is configured and arranged to permit the belt-engaging surface of the roller bearing to remain substantially stationary when the input shaft is rotating, thereby permitting the belt and driven clutch to remain substantially stationary when the engine is at an idle speed, wherein the roller bearing includes inner rollers.
Regarding claim 4, Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile of claim 1, but does not discloses the outer belt-engaging surface of the roller bearing is in contact with the inner drive surface of the endless flexible drive belt. Schoenfelder does not disclose a roller bearing as on the clutch.
Regarding claim 6, Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile of claim 1, but does not teach further including a washer positioned over the input shaft, wherein the washer is positioned adjacent to the roller bearing.
Regarding claim 11, Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the roller bearing allows the endless flexible drive belt to engage the sheaves at or below about 2800 RPM.
Regarding claim 12, Schoenfelder discloses the snowmobile of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the roller bearing allows the endless flexible drive belt to engage the sheaves at or below about 3200 RPM.
Conclusion
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611