DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Taylor (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2015/0281823 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Taylor discloses a headphone (e.g., headphone 8) headband (e.g., headband 10), comprising: a cushion assembly (e.g., cushion assembly 12); a slider (e.g., sliders 14 and 16) telescopically coupled to the cushion assembly, the slider comprising a proximal end disposed within the cushion assembly and a distal end extending outward from the cushion assembly (See [0022]); an earphone (e.g., earphones 18 and 20); and a yoke (e.g., yoke 26) coupling the earphone to the distal end of the slider (See [0024]), wherein the slider includes an internal hinge enabling the yoke to pivot relative to a primary axis of the slider (See [0024]).
In regards to claim 2, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the internal hinge is contained within walls of the slider (See [0021]).
In regards to claim 3, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the slider includes an inner wall and an outer wall that collectively form an arcuate slot (See [0022]).
In regards to claim 4, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, further comprising a pivot member (e.g., pivot axis 50) extending from a neck portion of the yoke into the arcuate slot, the pivot member having a set of arcuate protrusions complementing the arcuate slot (See [0023]).
In regards to claim 5, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the pivot member further comprises a set of stops that limit movement of the pivot member relative to the arcuate slot (See [0035]).
In regards to claim 6, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the slider comprises an inner wall section and an outer wall section that collectively define a hinge slot (See [0022]).
In regards to claim 7, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the inner wall section includes a first set of force-fit couplers and the outer wall section includes a second set of complementary force-fit couplers (See [0036]).
In regards to claim 8, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the first set of force-fit couplers and the second set of force-fit couplers enables fastener-free connection between the inner wall section and the outer wall section (See [0036]).
In regards to claim 9, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the first set of force-fit couplers includes a set of slots and wherein the second set of force-fit couplers includes a set of protrusions, wherein each of the slots includes a loading portion and a locking portion, and wherein at least one of the inner wall section or the outer wall section includes a set of stabilizing protrusions that inhibit deflection of the inner wall section relative to the outer wall section (See [0037]).
In regards to claim 10, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the internal hinge includes a bracket coupled with the yoke and housed within walls of the slider (See [0026]).
In regards to claim 11, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the bracket includes an arcuate slot and wherein the slider includes at least one pin engaged with the arcuate slot and configured to move within the arcuate slot, enabling the yoke to pivot relative to the primary axis of the slider, wherein the internal hinge includes a spring coupled with the slider that provides an opening force against the at least one pin (See [0024] and [0026]).
In regards to claim 12, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the bracket includes metal or a composite (See [0003]).
In regards to claim 13, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein in an open position, the bracket is approximately entirely obstructed from view by a user (See [0020]).
In regards to claim 14, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the yoke includes a pivot member at a neck section thereof, the pivot member including a set of pivot pins (See [0030]).
In regards to claim 15, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the internal hinge includes a set of slots receiving the set of pivot pins and enabling rotation of the pivot member relative to the set of pivot pins (See [0030]).
In regards to claim 16, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the set of slots are located in a set of bumper members housed in the slider (See [0032]).
In regards to claim 17, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, further comprising a set of pockets in the slider housing the bumper members (See [0032]).
In regards to claim 18, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein each bumper member includes a set of limiters positioned to contact distinct portions of the pivot member (See [0033]).
In regards to claim 19, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein either: i) the set of limiters provide a damping feel or a tactile feel to a user when placed in contact with one of the portions of the pivot member, or ii) the portions of the pivot member include a set of protrusions positioned to interfere with the set of limiters (See [0026]).
In regards to claim 20, Taylor discloses the headphone headband, wherein the internal hinge has a center of rotation (CoR) that is internal to a body of the slider, or external to a body of the slider (See [0037]).
Conclusion
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693