DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. application No. 17/917659, filed on 100/7/2022, now US patent No. 12,207,430.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 12/09/2024; and 04/14/2026 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 12/09/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-16 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim(s), or amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim(s) in independent form.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though, the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harper, Jr. [US 6,193,523].
Regarding claim 1, Harper, Jr. discloses an electrical connector (10, figures 1-6) comprising a housing (11, figure 1), at least one electrical conductor (115, figure 5a-5b), and a surface-mount hold down (figure 1) that carries at least one first pre-formed fusible element (S, figures 5a-5b) prior to reflow of the first electrical connector onto a substrate (PBC P1, figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Harper, Jr. further discloses at least one second pre-formed fusible element (a plurality of fusible elements S connected at an end of their corresponding electrical conductors, figures 5a-5b) physically connected to a mounting end of the at least one electrical conductor (figure 5b).
Regarding claim 3, Harper, Jr. further discloses wherein, when the electrical connectors is attached to the substrate, the at least one first pre-formed fusible element and the at least one second pre-formed fusible element are configured to be reflowed onto the substrate during a same or a single reflow operation (a plurality of electrical conductor 115 connected to the PCB P1 through their corresponding fusible elements S, as shown in figures 1 and 5a-5b).
Regarding claim 5, Harper, Jr. discloses wherein a mounting end of the at least one electrical conductor (123, figures 5a-5b) penetrates an apex of the at least one second pre-formed fusible element (S, figures 5a-5b).
Regarding claim 7, Harper, Jr. discloses wherein the surface mount hold down carries at least one, at least two, at least three, at least four, at least five, or at least six of the first pre-formed fusible elements (a plurality of electrical conductor 115 connected to the PCB P1 through their corresponding fusible elements S, as shown in figures 1 and 5a-5b).
Regarding claim 8, Harper, Jr. discloses wherein the surface mount hold down defines a hold down base that defines none (figure 1), at least one, at least two, at least three, at least four, at least five, or at least six dimples, recesses, or holes that can each receive a corresponding one of the at least one first pre-formed fusible element.
Regarding claim 9, Harper, Jr., further discloses the electrical connector comprising magnetic absorbing material (the electrical conductor is formed of a conductive material, see abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Harper, Jr. discloses a method of manufacturing the electrical connector of claim 1, the method comprising:
providing the electrical connector (10, figures 1-6), the at least one electrical conductor (115, figures 1 and 5a-5b), and the surface-mount hold down (an electrical connector housing press down on a PCB P1, figure 1); and
attaching at least one first pre-formed fusible element (S, figure 5b) to either the surface-mount hold down or a hold-down base of the surface-mount hold down prior to reflow of the surface-mount hold down onto a first host substrate (PCB P1, figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Harper, Jr. discloses sizing individual fusible elements (S, figure 5b) to increase a solder mass carried by either the surface-mount hold down or the hold down base of the surface-mount hold down.
Regarding claim 15, Harper, Jr. discloses wherein the attaching the at least one first pre-formed fusible element includes attaching first and second fusible elements to the surface-mount hold down (each of the electrical conductor connected to its corresponding fusible element S, figure 5b) or the hold down base of the surface-mount hold down.
Regarding claim 16, Harper, Jr. discloses positioning the first and the second fusible elements on the surface-mount hold down (col. 3, lines 5-14) or the hold down base of the surface-mount hold down to increase a solder mass carried by the surface-mount hold down or the hold down base of the surface-mount hold down.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper, Jr., in view of Grabbe [US 2005/0130464].
Regarding claim 4, Harper, Jr. discloses wherein the at least one second pre-formed fusible element defines a spherical shaped (S, figure 5b).
Harper, Jr. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one second pre-formed fusible element defines a triangular cross-sectional shape.
Grabbe discloses an electrical connector comprising at least one electrical conductor(s) connecting on a substrate (see abstract and a paragraph 009), wherein each distal end of the at least one electrical conductor is connected a ellipsoidal fusible element (figure 2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use at least one second pre-formed fusible element having a triangular cross-sectional shape, in an electrical connector of Harper, Jr., as suggested by Grabbe, in order to increase the contact area of electrical conductors and minimize mechanical stress on PCB surface. A change in shape or configuration is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper, Jr., in view of Ohashi et al. [JP 2010/052701].
Regarding claim 6, Harper, Jr. discloses the claimed invention except for a heat-dissipation material on the surface mount hold down.
Ohashi et al., disclose an electronic control device (1, figures 1-15) comprising a printed circuit board (1, figures 2 and 4-15) mounted therein, at least one heat dissipation material (17, figures 4-5 and 7) disposed on the printed circuit board surface to connect to a case body (2, figures 4-5 and 7).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a heat dissipation material on a circuit board surface of an electronic device of Harper, Jr., as suggested by Ohashi et al., in order to dissipate heat from a printed circuit board through a connector housing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper, Jr., in view of Zhang et al. [CN 121308272].
Regarding claim 10, Harper, Jr., discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the housing includes graphene.
Zhang et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-17) comprising a housing (111 & 112, figure 4), wherein at least a top housing includes a graphene (1111, figure 4).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a graphene on a housing of an electronic connector of Harper, Jr., as suggested by Zhang et al., in order to improve the strength and light weight of connector housing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper, Jr., in view of Ryczaj et al. [DE102018131010].
Regarding claim 11, The electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the housing includes a nanomaterial that includes nanoparticles.
Harper, Jr. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the housing includes a nanomaterial that includes nanoparticles.
Ryczaj et al., disclose a cable connector (1, figures 1-5) comprising a connector housing (9, figures 1-5), wherein the connector housing is coated by a nanomaterial that includes nanoparticles (10, figures 2-3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a nanomaterial on a housing in electronic device of Harper, Jr. as suggested by Ryczaj et al., in order to improve electrical performance and/or provide environmental protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claim 12 discloses the combination features of “wherein the at least one electrical conductor includes a power conductor that includes a clip positioned on a mating interface of the power conductor.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Korsunsky [US 6,623,284] discloses electrical connector;
Takeuchi [US 2003/0013330] discloses connector and method for manufacturing same;
Zimmerman et al. [US 2012/0034823] disclose electrical connector with improved pedestal for mounting a fusible element; and
Horchler et al. [US 2017/0125946] disclose electrical connector with reduced stack height.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Examiner, 2841/2800