DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (US 2020/0150848 A1) in view of Swenson (US 2013/0158772A1) further in view of Schroeder (US 2011/0072773A1).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses A support system for an agricultural machine, the
support system (see at least para. [0005] of Deng which discloses “a system for surveilling an agricultural machine. The system can include the agricultural machine. The agricultural machine can include a work vehicle having a cabin and being coupled to an agricultural implement. The system can also include an imaging system proximate the work vehicle”) comprising:
a plurality of sensors (Fig. 2, 122 with 120 and see at least para. [0029] of Deng which discloses “The imaging system 120 can include at least two imaging devices 122 configured to generate a plurality of images of the agricultural implement 104”) to sense a vicinity (see at least para. [0030] of Deng which discloses “The imaging devices 122 can be cameras mounted rearward R1 of the cabin 102 such that the at least two perspectives include overlapping fields of view 124”) of an agricultural machine (Fig. 1, 101 and see at least para. [0025] of Deng which discloses “an agricultural machine 100. In general, the machine 100 comprises a work vehicle 101 (e.g., a tractor) having a cabin 102, and an agricultural implement 104 configured to be towed behind the work vehicle 101”); and
a display (Fig. 1, 128 and see at least para. [0031] of Deng which discloses “The display system 128 can be configured to display the virtualized 3D view of the agricultural implement 104 for view by an operator within the cabin 102. Generally, the display system 128 can include a display, such as a touchscreen display”) to display, as a first image (see at least para. [0022] of Deng which discloses “a display system within the cabin. The processors may process the images based on preconfigured algorithms configured to generate axonometric views, wireframe plots, or other views automatically. The display system can be configured to display the virtualized 3D view of the agricultural implement”,*The image presented to the operator on the display corresponds to the claimed first image, i.e., an image selected from among a plurality of available images and shown as the default view), an image that is among a plurality of images (see at least para. [0029] of Deng which discloses “a plurality of images of the agricultural implement 104. The plurality of images may be generated from at least two perspectives”) generated from data (see at least para. [0054] of Deng which discloses “generating virtualized 3D views from two or more images or video feeds, user interface wireframes or graphical data, and other suitable data”) sensed by the plurality of sensors and that shows a forward (see at least para. [0028] of Deng which discloses “an operator seated within the cabin may not have a forward view of the implement 104 from within the cabin 102 during normal operation of the work vehicle 101. However, the system 100 can be configured to surveil the implement 104 as described below, to provide the operator a virtualized 3D view of the implement 104 during operation of the work vehicle 101”, *Examiner interprets that the virtualized 3D view will include an image of the forward view) or rearward view (see at least para. [0030] of Deng which discloses “The imaging devices 122 can be cameras mounted rearward R1 of the cabin 102 such that the at least two perspectives include overlapping fields of view 124“, *Examiner interprets the overlapping fields of view to include a forward and rearward view. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a virtualized 3D view generated from cameras mounted rearward of the cabin, and providing a view of the region behind the cabin and around the implement constitutes at least a rearward view of the agricultural machine, since it depicts the region extending behind cabin and includes machine components such as an implement in that region) of the agricultural machine.
Deng may not explicitly disclose wherein when the agricultural machine is located in an
area related to agricultural work, the display displays a predetermined image among the plurality of images as a second image preferentially over the first image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Swenson discloses wherein when the agricultural
machine (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0025] of Swenson which discloses “a tractor, combine, forage harvester, windrower, applicator, truck or any other self-propelled vehicle 12 primarily used for farming or other agricultural purposes. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the vehicle 12 may include a plurality of wheels 14, with at least one wheel being operable to turn, pivot, and/or rotate about a center axis to steer the vehicle 12”) is located in an area related to agricultural work (see at least para. [0026] of Swenson which discloses “Vehicle guidance systems assist operators in following desired routes across a field, such as a route consisting of parallel paths a specified distance apart. The ability to accurately and consistently follow a specific route reduces overlap or underlap of chemicals, seeds, fertilizers, or other applications, improves weed control and seed/plant establishment, reduces overall driving distance, saves fuel and time”, *Swenson teaches determining whether the agricultural machine is located inside a field or within a threshold distance of a field boundary, i.e., located in an area related to agricultural work).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural machine to be located in an area related to agricultural work, as taught in Swenson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operator situational awareness and safety by enabling the system to tailor visual information to conditions that are known to be high risk, such as when the vehicle is inside a field or near a field boundary. See para. [00012] of Swenson for motivation.
Deng, as modified by Swenson may not explicitly disclose the display displays a
predetermined image among the plurality of images as a second image preferentially over the first image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schroeder discloses the display displays a
predetermined image among the plurality of images as a second image preferentially over the first image (see at least para. [0035] of Schroeder which discloses “The processor 60 can also be configured to prioritize, select, and exclude video cameras 50 for activation, or the images from activated video cameras 50 for display by the graphic display 52 based upon a predetermined command. For example, if an operator is or is not interested in viewing the grain material 26 proximate to the sieves 24, such situation can be programmed by the operator and the processor 60 would automatically select or exclude certain camera activation or image selection for display. The operator can program which video cameras 50 or images will be selected under particular operating conditions” and see at least para. [0037] of Schroeder which discloses “if the farm vehicle 10 is in reverse and the unloader auger 72 is on, the selection of the rear video camera 50 or its images may override the selection of the camera 50 facing the unloading tube 38 or its images, either as a default setting or as set by the operator. Thus, to the extent that a choice has to be made between cameras/images, the processor 60 can choose the correct camera/image to utilize for display” and see at least para. [0065] of Schroeder which discloses “In the event of commands which would result in the simultaneous display of images from rear video camera 50 and the video camera 50 which faces the sieves 24, the images of rear video camera 50 will be given priority over images from the video camera 50 which is facing the sieves 24”, *Schroeder teaches selecting a predetermined second image from among a plurality of available camera images and displaying it preferentially over a default first image on the cab display. Also, Examiner interprets that since a choice is made between images, then this corresponds to which whether a second image will be displayed over a first image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural machine’s display of Deng, as modified by Swenson may to display a predetermined image among the plurality of images as a second image preferentially over the first image, as taught in Schroeder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operator situational awareness and safety by automatically prioritizing the most task relevant camera view when the machine is operating in a field or near a field boundary. See para. [0035] of Schroeder for motivation.
Regarding claim 4, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses wherein the area
includes a work site where a working device coupled to the agricultural machine performs work (see at least para. [0026] of Swenson which discloses “Vehicle guidance systems assist operators in following desired routes across a field, such as a route consisting of parallel paths a specified distance apart. The ability to accurately and consistently follow a specific route reduces overlap or underlap of chemicals, seeds, fertilizers, or other applications, improves weed control and seed/plant establishment, reduces overall driving distance, saves fuel and time”, *Swenson teaches determining whether the agricultural machine is located within a defined work side, i.e., inside a field boundary based on vehicle position data); and when the agricultural machine is located in the work site and a travelling speed (see at least para. [0046] of Swenson which discloses “The speed sensor 28 is conventional and detects or monitors the speed of the vehicle 12. Likewise, the speed/gear actuator 30 is conventional and controls a speed and/or the gears of the vehicle 12 in response to control signals from the control device. Changes in the engine speed may also be made to control ground speed”, *Examiner interprets these to be examples of traveling speed) of the agricultural machine is less than a predetermined speed, the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction (see at least para. [0043] of Swenson which discloses “The display 24 may be used to display various information corresponding to the vehicle 12 and the display system 10, such as maps, positions, and directions”) of the working device (see at least para. [0035] of Schroeder which discloses “The processor 60 can also be configured to prioritize, select, and exclude video cameras 50 for activation, or the images from activated video cameras 50 for display by the graphic display 52 based upon a predetermined command. For example, if an operator is or is not interested in viewing the grain material 26 proximate to the sieves 24, such situation can be programmed by the operator and the processor 60 would automatically select or exclude certain camera activation or image selection for display. The operator can program which video cameras 50 or images will be selected under particular operating conditions” and see at least para. [0037] of Schroeder which discloses “if the farm vehicle 10 is in reverse and the unloader auger 72 is on, the selection of the rear video camera 50 or its images may override the selection of the camera 50 facing the unloading tube 38 or its images, either as a default setting or as set by the operator. Thus, to the extent that a choice has to be made between cameras/images, the processor 60 can choose the correct camera/image to utilize for display” and see at least para. [0065] of Schroeder which discloses “In the event of commands which would result in the simultaneous display of images from rear video camera 50 and the video camera 50 which faces the sieves 24, the images of rear video camera 50 will be given priority over images from the video camera 50 which is facing the sieves 24”, *Schroeder teaches selecting a predetermined second image from among a plurality of available camera images and displaying it preferentially over a default first image on the cab display. Also, Examiner interprets that since a choice is made between images, then this corresponds to which whether a second image will be displayed over a first image).
Regarding claim 5, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses wherein when
the agricultural machine is located in the area and approaching a predetermined position in the area (see at least para. [0012] of Swenson which discloses “the operating state may be a location of the vehicle relative to a field boundary, and the control device may be configured to switch the display to a perspective view whenever the vehicle is greater than a threshold distance from the boundary and to switch the display to a top view whenever the vehicle is less then the threshold distance from the boundary”, *In Swenson, the field of boundary (or a threshold region around it) is a predetermined position within the work area, and the system determines with the tractor is approaching that position), the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction of the predetermined position (see at least para. [0035] of Schroeder which discloses “The processor 60 can also be configured to prioritize, select, and exclude video cameras 50 for activation, or the images from activated video cameras 50 for display by the graphic display 52 based upon a predetermined command. For example, if an operator is or is not interested in viewing the grain material 26 proximate to the sieves 24, such situation can be programmed by the operator and the processor 60 would automatically select or exclude certain camera activation or image selection for display. The operator can program which video cameras 50 or images will be selected under particular operating conditions” and see at least para. [0037] of Schroeder which discloses “if the farm vehicle 10 is in reverse and the unloader auger 72 is on, the selection of the rear video camera 50 or its images may override the selection of the camera 50 facing the unloading tube 38 or its images, either as a default setting or as set by the operator. Thus, to the extent that a choice has to be made between cameras/images, the processor 60 can choose the correct camera/image to utilize for display” and see at least para. [0065] of Schroeder which discloses “In the event of commands which would result in the simultaneous display of images from rear video camera 50 and the video camera 50 which faces the sieves 24, the images of rear video camera 50 will be given priority over images from the video camera 50 which is facing the sieves 24”, *Schroeder teaches selecting a predetermined second image from among a plurality of available camera images and displaying it preferentially over a default first image on the cab display. Also, Examiner interprets that since a choice is made between images, then this corresponds to which whether a second image will be displayed over a first image).
Regarding claim 6, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses wherein the
plurality of sensors are provided in the agricultural machine to perform sensing in different directions from the agricultural machine (see at least para. [0029] of Deng which discloses “The plurality of images may be generated from at least two perspectives. It is noted that additional imaging devices, including other perspectives and views, are also possible”).
Regarding claim 7, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses further
comprising: a controller (see at least para. [0056] of Deng which discloses “The controller 126 loads the software code or instructions via a direct interface with the computer readable medium or via a wired and/or wireless network. Upon loading and executing such software code or instructions by the controller 126, the controller 126 may perform any of the functionality of the controller 126”) configured or programmed to automatically drive (see at least para. [0018] of Schroeder which discloses “The chassis control module 70 may be connected to an unloader auger 72 which transports grain material 26 to the unloading tube 38, an external light source 74, the threshing cylinder 20, a ground drive 76, which controls the speed and direction of the farm vehicle 10, and other functions 78”) the agricultural machine (see at least para. [0016] of Schroeder which discloses “the farm vehicle 10 includes a vehicle data bus 40 configured to transmit information within the farm vehicle 10 and is also known in the art as a vehicle bus. Essentially, the vehicle data bus 40 is an internal communications network that interconnects components inside a vehicle. The protocol for the vehicle data bus 40 is preferably a controller-area network, which is a vehicle bus standard designed to allow microcontrollers and devices to communicate with each other within a vehicle without a master controller”), wherein the display includes an operation interface that is communicably connected to the controller and is operable to control the agricultural machine remotely via the controller (see at least para. [0048] of Swenson which discloses “the user interface 32 may comprise wired or wireless data transfer elements such as a removable memory including the memory 22, data transceivers, etc., to enable the vehicle operator and other devices or parties to remotely interface with the system 10”).
Regarding claim 8, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses wherein the
display (Fig. 1, 128 and see at least para. [0031] of Deng which discloses “The display system 128 can be configured to display the virtualized 3D view of the agricultural implement 104 for view by an operator within the cabin 102. Generally, the display system 128 can include a display, such as a touchscreen display”) is provided in a vicinity of an operator's seat (see at least para. [0028] of Deng which discloses “an operator seated within the cabin” and see at least para. [0041] of Deng which discloses “as display system 128 from within a cabin of the vehicle 101”, i.e., the display will naturally be in the vicinity of the operator’s seat since the display and the seated operator are both in the cabin) of the agricultural machine.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (US 2020/0150848 A1) in view of Swenson (US 2013/0158772A1) further in view of Schroeder (US 2011/0072773A1) further in view of Iwase (JP2021/015341A).
Regarding claim 2, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses wherein the area
includes a region in a vicinity of an agricultural field (see at least para. [0026] of Swenson which discloses “Vehicle guidance systems assist operators in following desired routes across a field, such as a route consisting of parallel paths a specified distance apart. The ability to accurately and consistently follow a specific route reduces overlap or underlap of chemicals, seeds, fertilizers, or other applications, improves weed control and seed/plant establishment, reduces overall driving distance, saves fuel and time”, *Swenson teaches determining whether the agricultural machine is located inside a field or within a threshold distance of a field boundary, i.e., located in an area related to agricultural work such as an agricultural field); and when the agricultural machine (Fig. 1, 101 and see at least para. [0025] of Deng which discloses “an agricultural machine 100. In general, the machine 100 comprises a work vehicle 101 (e.g., a tractor) having a cabin 102, and an agricultural implement 104 configured to be towed behind the work vehicle 101”).
Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder may not explicitly disclose an entry/exit to an
agricultural field; and when the agricultural machine is located in the vicinity of the entry/exit, the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction with a shorter distance between the agricultural machine and the entry/exit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwase discloses an entry/exit to an agricultural
field; and when the agricultural machine is located in the vicinity of the entry/exit, the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction with a shorter distance between the agricultural machine and the entry/exit (see at least the translation of Iwase which discloses “the work vehicle is provided with an entrance / exit status detection unit that detects the status of the entrance / exit in the work area. Based on the detection information of the entrance / exit status detection unit, the exit direction / entry direction correction unit that can correct the exit direction from the work area to the outside of the work area and the approach direction from the outside of the work area to the inside of the work area is provided”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural machine of Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder to be located in the vicinity of the entry/exit, the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction with a shorter distance between the agricultural machine and the entry/exit; as taught in Iwase with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operator situation awareness and safety by automatically presenting the camera view that best shows the most direct path to the field entrance/exit when the machine is operating near that boundary rather than requiring the operator to manually search among multiple views.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (US 2020/0150848 A1) in view of Swenson (US 2013/0158772A1) further in view of Schroeder (US 2011/0072773A1) further in view of Gibbons (US 2010/0087957A1).
Regarding claim 3, Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder discloses the area
and the display displays, as the second image, an image that is among the plurality of images and that shows a direction (see at least para. [0043] of Swenson which discloses “The display 24 may be used to display various information corresponding to the vehicle 12 and the display system 10, such as maps, positions, and directions”) of the working device (see at least para. [0035] of Schroeder which discloses “The processor 60 can also be configured to prioritize, select, and exclude video cameras 50 for activation, or the images from activated video cameras 50 for display by the graphic display 52 based upon a predetermined command. For example, if an operator is or is not interested in viewing the grain material 26 proximate to the sieves 24, such situation can be programmed by the operator and the processor 60 would automatically select or exclude certain camera activation or image selection for display. The operator can program which video cameras 50 or images will be selected under particular operating conditions” and see at least para. [0037] of Schroeder which discloses “if the farm vehicle 10 is in reverse and the unloader auger 72 is on, the selection of the rear video camera 50 or its images may override the selection of the camera 50 facing the unloading tube 38 or its images, either as a default setting or as set by the operator. Thus, to the extent that a choice has to be made between cameras/images, the processor 60 can choose the correct camera/image to utilize for display” and see at least para. [0065] of Schroeder which discloses “In the event of commands which would result in the simultaneous display of images from rear video camera 50 and the video camera 50 which faces the sieves 24, the images of rear video camera 50 will be given priority over images from the video camera 50 which is facing the sieves 24”, *Schroeder teaches selecting a predetermined second image from among a plurality of available camera images and displaying it preferentially over a default first image on the cab display. Also, Examiner interprets that since a choice is made between images, then this corresponds to which whether a second image will be displayed over a first image) and the working device is to be coupled to the agricultural machine (see at least para. [0005] of Deng which discloses “The agricultural machine can include a work vehicle having a cabin and being coupled to an agricultural implement” and para. [0020] discloses “an agricultural implement being coupled to and towed behind the work vehicle. In this manner, the operator may not have a forward view of the agricultural implement from the cabin during normal operation of the work vehicle”).
Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder may not explicitly disclose a storage place for
a working device; and the agricultural machine is located in the storage place.
However, Gibbons discloses a storage place for a working device; and the agricultural
machine is located in the storage place (see at least para. [0008] of Gibbons which discloses “Barns are located on farms so that the farm equipment such as tractors, combines, or trucks can be readily driven in and out of the facility as needed” and see at least para. [0042] of Gibbons which discloses “the system 21 advantageously may be used to preserve a wide variety of assets 15 including but not limited to one or more automobiles, … construction equipment, engines, … tanks, tractors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the area in which the agricultural machine of Deng, as modified by Swenson and Schroeder is located to be include a storage place for a working device; and the agricultural machine is located in the storage place; as taught in Gibbons with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a practical environment in which agricultural machines and their associated working devices are routinely stored when not in use, thereby giving context to Deng’s location aware display system and enabling a n operator to rely on camera imagery while the machine is positioned in a commonly encountered real-world storage location such as a barn, shed or garage serving as a storage place for agricultural machines and working devices.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koselka (US 2006/0213167 A1) discloses an agricultural robot system and method of harvesting, pruning, thinning, spraying, culling, weeding, measuring and managing of agricultural crops. One approach for automated harvesting of fresh fruits and vegetables, pruning of vines, culling fruit, thinning of growth or fruit buds, selective spraying and or fertilizing, weeding, measuring and managing of agricultural resources is to use a robot comprising a machine-vision system containing cameras such as rugged solid-state digital cameras. The cameras may be utilized to identify and locate the fruit on each tree, points on a vine to prune, weeds around plants. In addition, the cameras may be utilized in measuring agricultural parameters or otherwise aid in managing agricultural resources. Reeve (US 8,768,558B2) discloses a control system for controlling movement of a vehicle comprising a controller having a computer memory for storing or generating a desired path of travel, the controller being adapted to receive position and/or heading signals from one or more sensors, the position and/or heading signals enabling the controller to determine a position and/or heading of the vehicle relative to a desired path of travel, the controller sending control signals to a steering control mechanism in response to the determined position and/or heading of the vehicle, wherein the position and/or heading signals from the one or more sensors include a signal generated by an optical movement sensor configured to scan a surface during travel of the vehicle, the optical movement sensor generating a signal indicative of relative movement along an axis of the vehicle and relative movement across an axis of the vehicle
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662 /D.D.I/February 9, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662