DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in IN on 03/21/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202441021737 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 5B is objected because the columns head
FIG. 4B is objected to because the column labeled “Elevation” bears numeral 470A-N, whereas [0043] assigns 470A-N to azimuth and assigns elevation the numeral 480A-N, which appears in no figure.
FIG. 3 is objected to because numerals 345 and 399 appear in the figure without corresponding mention in the description.
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 5B.
FIG. 9 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(m) because the probability density curves are rendered in halftone gray shading rather than by the hatching or line shading contemplated by that subsection. FIG. 9 is further objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l) because the dotted gridlines and screen-capture characters are not sufficiently dense, dark, and well-defined, and because the caption “Mean Position Separation” is overlapped by curve 910 and is not fully legible. FIG. 9 is further objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because the legend entries “class_label,” “2,” “4,” and “6” appear in the figure but are not described anywhere in the specification.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the grammatical omission in . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0012] is objected to for the same defect: “the receiver is configured generate a point cloud”.
The same component is called “a feature extension unit” in the abstract, in [0012], and in claims 3-5; “a feature extraction unit” in claim 1; and “feature extraction block 380” in [0035], [0044], and [0046-0047]. FIG. 3 labels the block “FEATURE EXTRACTION 380.” Applicant should adopt one term consistently throughout the specification, drawings, and claims.
[0011] is objected to for the grammatical error “are computationally intensive to build and train and are therefore are expensive” (the verb “are” is duplicated), and for the omitted comma after “For example” in the following sentence.
[0035] is objected to for the typographical errors “(LO) 318,receiving antenna array 320” (space omitted), “filter 330 Analog to digital convertor (ADC) 340” (comma omitted after 330), “Range Detector350” (space omitted), and “Doppler Detector360” (space omitted).
[0043] is objected to because it does not agree with FIG. 4B. The paragraph states that the table illustrates “the range 450A-N, velocity 460A-N, azimuth 470A-N and elevation 480A-N of each point 410A-410N.” FIG. 4B labels the fourth column “Elevation” and assigns it numeral 470A-N, and no numeral 480 appears in any figure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are objected to for the omitted article in comprising plurality of points and wherein plurality of tracks are generated; these should read “a plurality of.”
Claim 2 is objected to for the mismatch in grammatical number in the set of class comprising two-wheeler, cars and trucks, which should read “the set of classes comprising two-wheelers, cars and trucks.” This defect is grammatical and is not a separate ground of rejection; the scope of the limitation is ascertainable.
Claim 1 is objected to for the recitations in that the receiver is configured to and in that each track representing an object in the plurality of objects. Use of conventional claim language (“wherein each track represents an object”) is suggested.
Claim 1 recites that each point of the point cloud represents a range, a velocity, an angle and a signal to noise ratio (SNR) information, but the closing limitation recites reference data derived from the range, the velocity, the position information and the extended features. Neither the position information nor the extended features has a literal antecedent in claim 1. These recitations are treated as objections rather than as grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). Under MPEP § 2173.05(e), the absence of a literal antecedent renders a claim indefinite only where the scope of the claim is thereby left unclear. Here it is not: [0043] describes the AoA detector 370 as determining the “position of each reflecting point” and as estimating “the azimuth and/or elevation of the reflected signal … as points to form the point cloud,” so a person of ordinary skill would read the position information as referring to the previously recited angle. Likewise, the extended features would be read as the features constituting an extended feature set for each track. Applicant is nonetheless required to conform the terminology and is advised that if the terms are not conformed, the Examiner reserves the right to reinstate this issue as a rejection under § 112(b), particularly as to the position information, since the specification uses “position” to encompass azimuth and elevation together while claim 1 recites an angle in the singular.
Claims 2-5 are objected to because each recites the improper two-word form “where in” in place of “wherein.”
Claims 3-5 are objected to for inconsistent terminology, and conformance is required. Each recites the feature extension unit, whereas claim 1 recites a feature extraction unit and recites no “feature extension unit.”
Claim 4 is objected to because it refers to "each cluster" and depends from Claim 3 which does not include antecedent basis for “each cluster”. Claim 1 also does not include the recitation. The claim should depend from Claim 2 because claim 2 recites "generating three clusters". This is not raised to the level of § 112(b), however the Examiner reserves the right to reinstate this issue as a rejection under § 112(b) if correction is not made.
Claim 6 is objected to because a semicolon is omitted after performing another clustering on a subset of n-D distribution of track points to generate a second set of clusters.
Claim 6 is objected to because “the classifier” appears to be a drafting error. Since no antecedent basis exist in the claim for “the classifier”, it should be changed to “a classifier”. This is not raised to the level of § 112(b), however the Examiner reserves the right to reinstate this issue as a rejection under § 112(b) if correction is not made.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"A feature extraction unit" in claim 1.
Prong (A). “Unit” is identified in MPEP § 2181, subsection I(A), among the generic placeholders that may substitute for “means,” and is a nonce term that is not itself the name of structure. See Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The presumption is therefore reachable.
Prong (B). The placeholder is modified by functional language linked by “configured to,” an equivalent of “for” under MPEP § 2181, subsection I(B). Two functions are recited: (i) generating a plurality of tracks from the point cloud, and (ii) generating an extended feature set for each track.
Prong (C). The modifier “feature extraction” states what the element does rather than what it is, and on this record does not appear to identify sufficiently definite structure for performing either recited function. No structure, material, or acts appear elsewhere in the claim.
Accordingly, the presumption against § 112(f) is considered overcome on this record, and a feature extraction unit is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The corresponding structure is processor 230, implemented as described at [0034], programmed to perform the algorithm of FIG. 6, blocks 620 and 630, as described at [0044] and [0047-0049]. That structure is adequate for both recited functions, and the specification clearly links it to them. No rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is made on the ground of missing corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites wherein plurality of tracks are generated by generating three clusters of points from the point cloud when arranged over the RCS and width.
Claim 1 defines the point cloud as comprising plurality of points with each point representing a range, a velocity, an angle and a signal to noise ratio (SNR) information. A point of the point cloud, as claimed, therefore carries no RCS value and no width value. Claim 2 introduces a width and a radar cross section (RCS) only as constituents of the extended feature set, which claim 1 attributes to a track, not to a point. It cannot be determined how points from the point cloud are to be arranged over the RCS and width: the claim does not recite any operation that assigns an RCS or a width to an individual point, nor does it state whether applicant intends the clustering to operate on points, on tracks, or on some intermediate quantity.
The specification does not resolve the ambiguity. FIG. 4B and [0043] list only range, velocity, angle, and SNR for the points 410A-410N. Paragraph [0044] describes RCS and width as features “of the object” derived by the feature extraction block from the primary radar data. The clustering over RCS and width described at [0051-0052] and shown at FIGS. 7A and 8 is expressly performed on tracks: “the track data points are shown arranged over N dimensions with N equal to 2 … The selected features are object/track RCS and the object/track Width” ([0052]).
The claim and the specification therefore describe two different operations, and a person of ordinary skill cannot determine which defines the metes and bounds of claim 2. This rejection is not resolved by amending the specification to conform under objection 10; the ambiguity is internal to the claim, arising from the mismatch between the parameters claim 1 attributes to a point and the parameters over which claim 2 requires points to be arranged. Amendment of claim 2 to recite clustering of tracks over RCS and width, consistent with [0052] and FIG. 8, would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner et al. (“Radar-based Feature Design and Multiclass Classification for Road User Recognition,” arXiv:1905.11256v1) in view of Emadi et al. (US 2023/0350019 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. ('019) teaches:
Scheiner et al. teaches: A radar system comprising: (Pg. 780, Section II and Table I: data acquired with four 77 GHz radar sensors distributed to the lateral sides and front corners of a test vehicle, feeding the classification processing chain of Fig. 1).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: a transmitter transmitting a radar signal; ([0083]: “radar points can be received from a radar system that transmits electromagnetic signals”).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: a receiver receiving a reflected signal that is a reflection of the radar signal from a plurality of objects, ([0083]: “receives the reflected signals from various objects in the environment”).
Scheiner et al. teaches: in that the receiver is configured to generate a point cloud comprising plurality of points with each point representing a range, a velocity, an angle (Pg. 780, Section II.A: “radar sensors deliver targets which are already resolved in range, angle, and radial Doppler velocity“; a constant false alarm rate detector returns only targets exceeding an adaptive amplitude threshold).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: and a signal to noise ratio (SNR) information; ([0083]: “These radar points can include information about the range, angle of arrival (azimuth and/or elevation), doppler, and signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for each detected object”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the road user classification chain of Scheiner et al. on the radar system of Emadi et al. (‘019), whose transmitter and receiver produce a detection list carrying a signal-to-noise ratio value for each point in addition to range, angle and Doppler. One would have been motivated to do so because Scheiner et al. derives every detection through a constant false alarm rate detector operating on an amplitude threshold (Section II.A), so each detection is already characterized relative to the local noise level, and Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches that retaining that ratio as a per-point attribute permits removal of points whose signal-to-noise ratio departs from the cluster median ([0070]: “If the difference between the point’s SNR and the median SNR exceeds a predetermined SNR threshold, the outlier identifier 226 considers the point an outlier and removes it from the cluster”). This directly addresses a deficiency Scheiner et al. identifies in its own data, namely the wrongly detected and clustered measurement artifacts that it was forced to collect into a separate garbage class (Section II.B). There is a reasonable expectation of success because both references process automotive radar detections carrying the same measured quantities of range, azimuth and radial Doppler, and the signal-to-noise value is produced by the same threshold detection stage Scheiner et al. already performs, so its retention as an additional field requires no change to the sensing chain.
Scheiner et al. teaches: a feature extraction unit configured to generate a plurality of tracks from the point cloud (Pg. 780, Section II.A: the data is “clustered in space, time, and Doppler using a DBSCAN” algorithm, after which “each object instance is described by a unique cluster id“, and the labeled cluster sequences are “sampled in time using a window of 150 ms”), and generating an extended feature set for each track, (Pg. 780, Section II.A: “features are extracted from each of the cluster samples“; Pg. 781, Section III.A: a first feature set derived from each cluster sample extracts the maximum, minimum, mean, standard deviation and spread of each of the four basic measurement values; Table II, Pg. 784, ranking the resulting feature set), in that each track representing an object in the plurality of objects; (Pg. 781, Section III.A: “a clustering algorithm associates targets belonging to the same object instance”).
Scheiner et al. teaches: and a classifier classifying the plurality of tracks into a set of classes (Abstract: the selected feature subset is passed to random forest and long short-term memory classifiers to obtain class predictions; Pg. 780, Section II.B: “six classes: car, pedestrian, pedestrian group, bike, truck/bus, and garbage”).
Scheiner et al. teaches: using a reference data derived from the range, the velocity, the position information and the extended features. (Pg. 780, Section II.A: “a classifier is presented with the resulting feature vectors and fits its model parameters accordingly“; Pg. 781, Section III.A: the features are derived from the four basic measurement values of range, angle, velocity and amplitude).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. ('019) and further in view of Schubert et al. (“Clustering of High Resolution Automotive Radar Detections and Subsequent Feature Extraction for Classification of Road Users,” Proc. International Radar Symposium (IRS), 2015).
Regarding Claim 2, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches the radar system according to Claim 1.
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Schubert et al. teaches: where in the extended feature set comprising a width and a radar cross section (RCS) (Section 2: measured target properties including “the radar cross section (RCS)” span the multi-dimensional feature space processed by the clustering algorithm; Section 4 and Fig. 3a: from the clustered detections and object orientation, “physical widths and lengths can be calculated”, a cyclist measuring 0.8 m and a car 2 m in width).
Scheiner et al. teaches: and the set of class comprising two-wheeler, cars and trucks, (Pg. 780, Section II.B: the classes include bike, car and truck/bus).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Schubert et al. teaches: wherein plurality of tracks are generated by generating three clusters of points from the point cloud when arranged over the RCS and width. (Section 3 and Fig. 2b: the detected scattering centres are clustered “to three separated clusters according to their physical origin”, the centroid of each being identified; Section 2: RCS is among the target properties spanning the feature space on which that clustering operates).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radar cross section and cluster width among the per-cluster features of Scheiner et al. and to cluster the detections over those quantities. One would have been motivated to do so because Schubert et al. demonstrates that the width derived from a cluster of high resolution radar detections separates road user types by a wide margin, reporting 0.8 m for a cyclist against 2 m for a car, and states that this object specific size difference is usable for classification, while Scheiner et al. identifies precisely this discrimination as its hardest problem, reporting that trucks are the class on which its classifier performs worst because a truck’s detections may split into two smaller clusters absent height information (Section IV). Supplying an explicit physical width and a radar cross section value would furnish the size and reflectivity evidence that the truck versus car decision in Scheiner et al. lacks. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Schubert et al. computes width and applies RCS-based clustering on high resolution automotive radar detection lists of the same character as those of Scheiner et al., and both quantities derive from measurements already present in the detection list of Scheiner et al., namely position and amplitude.
Claim 3-6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner et al. (“Radar-based Feature Design and Multiclass Classification for Road User Recognition,” arXiv:1905.11256v1) in view of Emadi et al. (US 2023/0350019 A1) and further in view of Jeng et al. (US 2019/0318273 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches the radar system according to Claim 1.
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: where in the feature extension unit is configured to generate the reference data. ([0096]: “K-means clustering module 209 performs K-means clustering on all the input data being considered (e.g., across a single FHWA vehicle class)”; [0098]: “Once each training example has been assigned to one of K clusters by module 209, an averaging module 208 averages feature values of the training examples in each cluster”; the resulting per-cluster vectors are stored as the template library the classifier uses).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the same unit that extracts the per-cluster feature vectors in Scheiner et al. also generate the classifier’s reference data from those vectors, in the manner taught by Jeng et al. (‘273). One would have been motivated to do so because Scheiner et al. obtains its reference data by passing every cluster id to human experts for labeling (Pg. 780, Section II.A) and expressly identifies the cost of that approach, stating that “Acquiring more data is possible in general, but also very expensive and time-consuming” (Pg. 781), and further identifies the class imbalance that results from a manually assembled set as an inherent problem of its dataset (Abstract). Jeng et al. (‘273) addresses both by deriving the reference entries from the population of feature vectors itself and by regenerating them as new object types appear ([0099]: “if there are new clusters, use the new K-mean clustering results to regenerate the VSTL for the affected vehicle classes”). There is a reasonable expectation of success because Jeng et al. (‘273) operates on fixed-length numeric feature vectors per detected vehicle ([0096]: “each input data 203 may be represented as a vector of length 13”), which is the same form as the per-cluster feature vector of Scheiner et al. (Table II, Pg. 784), and Jeng et al. (‘273) states that the clustering step is not algorithm specific ([0096]: “any suitable algorithm may be implemented … to organize input data 203”).
Jeng et al. (‘273) is analogous art. It is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, the classification of vehicles into vehicle classes from sensor-derived object signatures, and it is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the applicant, deriving class-representative reference data from a population of per-object feature vectors without individually labeling each example. The difference in sensing modality does not remove it from consideration, because the teaching relied upon operates on the feature vectors after sensing, not on the raw sensor signal.
Regarding Claim 4, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. (‘019) and further in view of Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches the radar system according to Claim 3.
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: where in the feature extension unit is configured to select a first set of points from each cluster that are within a first distance from its centroid. ([0073]: “Cluster center engine 228 is operable to determine a center of a cluster“; [0066]: “cluster size corrector 224 analyzes each point in a cluster by comparing its distance from the weighted center against a disparity threshold … If the distance is less than the disparity threshold, the point is determined to belong to the original cluster”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to retain from each cluster only those points whose distance from the cluster center falls below a threshold, as taught by Emadi et al. (‘019), when assembling the data used in the system of Scheiner et al. One would have been motivated to do so because Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches that a point beyond that distance is not properly part of the object ([0066]: “the point is considered to be an over-clustered point and is removed from the original cluster”), and Scheiner et al. is acutely sensitive to exactly this contamination, reporting that for small objects such as pedestrians and bikes a few targets more or less can entirely change the values in a feature vector (Pg. 780, Section II.B). There is a reasonable expectation of success because the operation is a distance comparison performed on points already grouped into clusters by Scheiner et al. and for which position values are already computed, and Emadi et al. (‘019) demonstrates it on automotive radar point data of the same kind.
Regarding Claim 5, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. (‘019) and further in view of Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches the radar system according to Claim 4.
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: where in the feature extension unit is configured to select a first set of points from each cluster when the centroids are separated by a threshold. ([0068]: “if the removed points exhibit a sufficient level of similarity, such as a threshold level of similarity, they may be grouped together to form a new cluster, which can be referred to as a second cluster. This second cluster will have its own weighted center”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to condition the point selection of Claim 4 on the separation between cluster centers, as taught by Emadi et al. (‘019). One would have been motivated to do so because Emadi et al. (‘019) forms a second cluster with its own weighted center only when the removed points are sufficiently separated in the clustering dimensions from the retained points ([0068]), which is the condition under which two distinct objects rather than one object and its outliers are present, and this is the failure mode Scheiner et al. reports for its worst-performing class, where a single truck’s detections resolve into two smaller clusters (p. 7, Section IV). There is a reasonable expectation of success because the separation between two cluster centers is computed from the same coordinates and the same distance metric already used for the point-to-center comparison of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6, Scheiner et al. in view of Emadi et al. (‘019) and further in view of Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches the radar system:
Claim 6 is an independent method claim. Its point cloud generation, clustering and per-track feature accumulation steps correspond to limitations addressed in Claim 1. Its second-stage clustering and training data steps have no counterpart in Claim 1 and are addressed in full below.
Scheiner et al. teaches: A method of classifying a plurality of detected objects in a radar system comprising: (Abstract and Pg. 780, Fig. 1: a processing chain that classifies individual traffic participants from radar measurement data).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: receiving a reflected signal that is a reflection of a radar signal from a plurality of objects; ([0083]: “receives the reflected signals from various objects in the environment”).
Scheiner et al. teaches: generating a point cloud, from the reflected signal, the point cloud comprising plurality of points with each point representing a range, a velocity, an angle (Pg. 780, Section II.A: “radar sensors deliver targets which are already resolved in range, angle, and radial Doppler velocity”).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Emadi et al. (‘019) teaches: and a signal to noise ratio (SNR) information; ([0083]: “These radar points can include information about the range, angle of arrival (azimuth and/or elevation), doppler, and signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for each detected object”).
The obviousness statement, motivation to combine, and reasonable expectation of success set forth for the corresponding limitations of Claim 1 apply equally here and are incorporated for these limitations.
Scheiner et al. teaches: grouping the plurality of points into clusters and compiling an extended feature list per cluster; (Pg. 780, Section II.A: the data is “clustered in space, time, and Doppler using a DBSCAN” algorithm and “features are extracted from each of the cluster samples”; Table II, Pg. 784).
Scheiner et al. teaches: tracking each cluster and creating an associated feature set history per track; (Pg. 780, Section II.A: “each object instance is described by a unique cluster id” and the cluster sequences are sampled in time using a 150 ms window, yielding successive feature vectors for the same instance that are presented to the long short-term memory classifier).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: collating an n-dimensional (n-D) feature space to form an n-D distribution of track points with each track as point in the space; ([0096]: “For X=10, each input data 203 may be represented as a vector of length 13“, each such vector corresponding to one detected object and all such vectors being considered together as the input population).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: performing another clustering on a subset of n-D distribution of track points to generate a second set of clusters ([0096]: “K-means clustering module 209 performs K-means clustering on all the input data being considered (e.g., across a single FHWA vehicle class)“; [0097]: “The K means clustering resulted in 6 clusters”).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: identifying centroid of each cluster in the second set of cluster; ([0096]: “the initial clustering centers are selected using the average values of the input data 203 per CLRVC code”).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: selecting a subset of samples around the centroid to form a training data per class; ([0098]: “Once each training example has been assigned to one of K clusters by module 209, an averaging module 208 averages feature values of the training examples in each cluster“; [0096]: “Each of the resulting clusters represents a potentially valid vehicle (sub-) class if the vehicle class is unique based on the field observation or the size of the clusters are greater than about 30 training examples”).
Scheiner et al. does not explicitly teach, but Jeng et al. (‘273) teaches: grouping training data per class and providing as learning examples to the classifier classifying the cluster into one of the classes. ([0098]: “The results are stored as VSTL 125“; [0101]: the modules include “a KNN classifier module 135“, which classifies an unknown signature against that stored library).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assemble the per-cluster feature vectors of Scheiner et al. into a common feature space, to cluster that population as taught by Jeng et al. (‘273), and to derive from each resulting cluster the per-class training data supplied to the classifier. One would have been motivated to do so because Jeng et al. (‘273) identifies the specific deficiency this cures, namely that a class represented by a single assumed template does not capture the internal variation of that class, its clustering step having exposed sub-populations within a nominal class that a single entry would misrepresent ([0097]: “Note that certain clusters had vehicle signatures having different CLRVCs”). Scheiner et al. reports the corresponding failure from the classifier side, observing that its truck class is confused with the car class because trucks resolve into differing cluster structures (p. 7, Section IV), so organizing the reference entries by the structure of the measured feature distribution rather than by an assumed one-entry-per-class scheme addresses a problem the primary reference expressly encountered. There is a reasonable expectation of success because the operation is performed entirely on numeric feature vectors of fixed length after sensing is complete, Scheiner et al. produces vectors of exactly that form (Table II, Pg. 784), and Jeng et al. (‘273) states that the clustering step is not algorithm specific ([0096]). The analogous art analysis set forth for Claim 3 with respect to Jeng et al. (‘273) applies equally to Claim 6.
Conclusion
/REMASH R GUYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3648