DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0331598).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, White discloses a panel mounting apparatus (602, Fig. 6) and a method for installing, comprising a panel assembly (1000, Fig. 10), comprising a panel material (1006) comprising a first side and a second side, opposite the first side, a substrate material (1002) attached to the second side of the panel material, and a fastening track (104) attached to the second side of the panel material (via 602) to the substrate material (1002) and parallel to a first wall; and a corner bracket (1200) mountable to the fastening track (104), wherein the corner bracket comprises a first end for attachment to the fastening track and a second end for attachment to a second wall, adjacent to a first wall (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 2, White discloses the first end of the corner bracket (1200) comprises first mounting holes (1204) for attachment to the fastening track, and wherein the second end of the corner bracket comprises second mounting holes for attachment to the second wall (1204).
Regarding claim 4, White discloses the corner bracket comprises one or more threaded holes (1204) configured to receive an adjustment bolt (1206) that adjusts an angle of the corner bracket relative to the first wall or to the second wall. The Examiner considers the tightening and loosening of the bolt is capable of affecting the plumbness of the corner bracket that will contribute to adjusting the angle of the corner bracket relative to the first or the second wall.
Regarding claim 6, White discloses the corner bracket (1200) is mounted indirectly to a stud (108) of the second wall, and wherein a wall is between the stud of the second wall and the corner bracket (at least along a diagonal path, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 7, White discloses the corner bracket comprises a metal material (Para [0068]).
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 18, White discloses the panel assembly (1000) comprises a first panel assembly, and wherein the fastening track (104) comprises a first fastening track, the panel mounting apparatus further comprising a wall bracket (106, Fig. 3) comprising a flat surface and a sloped surface (218, 220, Fig. 3) formed along a side of the wall bracket, wherein the sloped surface is configured to receive a second fastening track of a second panel assembly (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, White discloses the wall bracket (106) comprises mounting holes (205, 207, 213, Fig. 3) for attachment to the first wall or to the second wall.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, White discloses the wall bracket comprises one or more threaded holes (205, 207, 213) configured to receive an adjustment bolt (206) that adjusts an angle of the wall bracket relative to the first wall or to the second wall.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, White discloses the wall bracket (106) is directly mounted to a stud (108) of the second wall.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, White discloses the wall bracket (106) is mounted to a stud (108) of the second wall, and wherein a wall is between the stud of the second wall and the wall bracket (Fig. 6). Considered to be at a point along a diagonal line.
Regarding claim 13, White discloses the wall bracket comprises a metal material (Para [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0331598).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, White discloses a t-nut received in the fastening track, wherein the corner bracket (1200) is attached to the fastening track (104) via attachment of a bolt (1206), through a first mounting hole (1204) of the first mounting holes, but does not disclose the attachment bolt being attached to a t-nut received in the fastening track. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fastening system that comprises a nut and bolt combination, where the nut can be any known nut , such as a t-nut, that was suitable for securing the bolt as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, White discloses the corner bracket (1200) being mounted to a stud (108) of the second wall, but not directly. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to have mounted a corner bracket directly to the studs of a wall to assure the that the corner bracket was sufficiently supported and that can be sufficiently support any load that it would be subjected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633