DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of US Patent No. 12,208,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are directed to substantially similar subject matter. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the referenced US Patent, as follows: the difference between independent Claim 1 of instant application, 18/973515 and Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,208,326 are highlighted in the following table.
Claim 1 of 18/973515
Claim 1 of 12,208,326
A method for virtual automatic aiming, the method comprising:
A method for virtual automatic aiming, the method comprising:
generating a display of one or more virtual controller input options to present on a touchscreen that includes a display of an origin object and a set of potential target objects;
receiving a touch input at a location on a touchscreen, wherein the touch input is associated with an action to be performed by an origin object;
receiving a touch input at a location on the touchscreen, wherein the virtual controller input option at the location is associated with an action to be performed by the origin object;
determining a target object from among the set of potential target objects based on the action and stored preference data that includes historic object targeting patterns;
assigning a weight to each target object within a set of target objects displayed on the touchscreen, wherein the weight is assigned based on an area associated with a location of the each target object;
selecting one of the target objects from among the set of target objects based on the weight;
changing a direction of a facing of the origin object based on a relative location of the selected target object with respect to the origin object; and
changing a direction of a facing of the origin object based on a relative location of the determined target object with respect to the origin object; and
causing the action to be performed by the origin object toward the selected target object.
causing the action to be performed by the origin object toward the determined target object.
Furthermore, at least claims 2, 11-12, 20 of the instant application contain substantially identical claimed subject matter found in claims 1, 10, and 19 of the referenced US Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 is/are directed towards a statutory category they are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1, Yes).
Claim 11 recites, in part, the limitations of […]: receive a […] input at a location […], wherein the […] input is associated with an action to be performed by an origin object; assign a weight to each target object within a set of target objects displayed […], wherein the weight is assigned based on an area associated with a location of the each target object; select one of the target objects from among the set of target objects based on the weight; change a direction of a facing of the origin object based on a relative location of the selected target object with respect to the origin object; and cause the action to be performed by the origin object toward the selected target object. These limitations, individually and in combination, describe or set forth the abstract idea in claim 11 (wherein the limitations are substantially similar to those of independent claim(s) 1 and 20). The Examiner notes that the specific limitations that describe or set forth the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 can be identified either individually or in combination (see p. 54 of 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite limitations that are considered a fundamental economic principle or practice (e.g., relating to commerce and economy), commercial interactions, business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The Examiner notes that certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (see p. 5 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite limitations that can be practically performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. The Examiner notes that “[c]laims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer,” and that “courts have found requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The Examiner also notes that “both product claims (e.g., computer system, computer-readable medium, etc.) and process claims may recite mental processes” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The mere nominal recitation of the additional elements identified below do not take the claims out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite limitations that are directed to a mathematical algorithm (e.g., assigning weight to objects and selecting objects based on weight). The mere nominal recitation of the additional elements identified below do not take the claims out of the mathematical concepts grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mathematical concept.
Therefore, the claims fall under the following enumerated groupings of abstract ideas: mathematical concepts (e.g., mathematical relationships and/or mathematical calculations)), mental processes (e.g., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)), and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)) (Step 2A, Prong 1, Yes).
Claim 11 recites the additional element(s) of A system for virtual automatic aiming, the system comprising: a touchscreen configured to display an origin object and a set of target objects; and a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to: […]; […]; […]; […]; and […] (wherein the limitations are substantially similar to those of independent claim(s) 1 and 20). These additional element(s) are recited at a high level of generality, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation are generic processor(s) and/or generic computer component(s) that perform generic computer functions. The generic processor and/or generic computer component limitation(s) are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The additional element(s) are merely used as tools, in their ordinary capacity, to perform the abstract idea. The additional elements amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception. Merely implementing an abstract idea on generic computers and/or generic computer components does not integrate the judicial exception or amount to significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Using a computer to generate data, compute weights, and selecting data based on said weights amounts to electronic data query and retrieval—some of the most basic functions of a computer. “[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter" (see pp 10-11 of FairWarning IP, LLC. v. Iatric Systems, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The additional elements also amount to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The type of information being manipulated does not impose meaningful limitations or render the idea less abstract. Further, the courts have found that simply limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or add significantly more. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 2, No).
Additionally, the specification makes it clear that the assignment and selecting of target objects based on weights can be implemented on a generic computer.
[0062] …According to some embodiments, the touchscreen is at least a portion of a physical, handheld controller that interfaces with a gaming device like a gaming console, personal computer, tablet, smartphone, thin client device (e.g., USB or HDMI device plugged in to a screen). According to some embodiments, the touchscreen is the predominant feature of the controller, which interfaces with a gaming device like a gaming console, personal computer, tablet, smartphone, thin client device (e.g., USB or HDMI device plugged in to a screen)…
As such, the system, for implementing the abstract idea, may require no more than generic, conventional, and well-known computer devices such as a general purpose computer (as evidenced in Para. 62 above).
In Step 2B, the additional element(s) also do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons set forth with respect to Step 2A Prong 2. The Examiner notes that revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. However, unless an Examiner had previously concluded under revised Step 2A that an additional element was insignificant extra-solution activity, they should reevaluate that conclusion in Step 2B (see 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance). Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2B, No).
Thus, Claims 11, 1, and 20 are rejected as shown above. Additionally, Claims 2-10 and 12-19 also recite limitations that are similar to the abstract ideas identified with respect to Claim 11 above (i.e., certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes). Claims 3-10 and 13-19 do not recite any additional elements other than those recited in Claim 11. However, Claims 2 and 12 recite the additional elements of an “generating a display of one or more virtual controller input options” other than those recited in Claim 11, but amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. Therefore, for the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 11, Claims 2-10 and 12-19 also do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvin et al. (US 2010/0009733 A1) (henceforth, “Garvin”) in view of Prosin et al. (US 2015/0258439 A1) (henceforth, “Prosin”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Garvin teaches a method and system for virtual automatic aiming, comprising:
display an origin object (e.g., game character in Para. 37 and Fig. 3) and a set of target objects (e.g., enemy characters 320 in Fig. 3 and Para. 40); and
a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory (e.g., end user device and memory in Para. 52-53) to:
receive an input at a location on the screen, wherein the input is associated with an action to be performed by an origin object (e.g., moving the game character through the game environment, the display of the game environment may be adjusted to reflect the changes around the game character, including moving the focus area in Para. 37 and Para. 40);
assign a weight to each target object within a set of target objects displayed on the screen, wherein the weight is assigned based on an area associated with a location of the each target object (e.g., distance of each enemy character to the center of the focus area in Para. 40-41);
select one of the target objects from among the set of target objects based on the weight (e.g., the enemy character 320 that is closest to the center of the focus area is selected in Para. 40-42);
change a direction of a facing of the origin object based on a relative location of the selected target object with respect to the origin object (e.g., the aim of the game character may be automatically adjusted toward the selected object (i.e., game character facing enemy) in Para. 46 and Para. 17-18); and
cause the action to be performed by the origin object toward the selected target object (e.g., automatic adjustment of the aim allows the game character to initiate an action directed at the selected object, for example, the game character may begin shooting a firearm at the selected object without having to first manually aim the firearm in Para. 46).
But Garvin although teaching the “automatically adjusting aim toward selected object” (Para. 46), lacks in explicitly teaching a touchscreen for input. In a related disclosure, Prosin teaches dynamically determining and applying a zoom amount when entering a sniper mode (see abstract). More particularly, Prosin teaches a user may control the object and interact with the world through input interface 209 using various types of input devices including keyboard 223, mouse 225, and one or more touch sensors 227 that sense when a user has pressed his or her finger at various locations (e.g., a touchscreen in Para. 28). Prosin states that “Aspects of the disclosure provide convenient, efficient, intuitive, and easy-to-use game mechanics that can be implemented in a video game, such as an MMO or an MMORPG” and “In particular, some aspects of the disclosure may be particularly advantageous when implemented in video games that are executed on and/or provided via touch-enabled devices, such as smartphones, tablet computers, and/or other touchscreen-equipped computing devices, as these aspects may provide features that are particularly convenient, intuitive, and easy-to-use when used on such devices” (Para. 4). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of Garvin to include the touch input features of Prosin in order to provide are more convenient, intuitive, and easy-to-use interface, as beneficially taught by Prosin.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches generating a display of one or more virtual controller input options to present on the touchscreen, wherein the virtual controller input options include a selection of one or more actions to be performed by the origin object (e.g., targeting display 330 in Para. 41-42 and shooting in Para. 46 and Para. 23).
Regarding claim 3, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches generating a display that includes a display of the origin object and the set of target objects (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches storing a list of actions associated with one or more virtual controller input options associated with one or more actions capable of being performed by the origin object, each action associated with an action range (e.g., actions of game character including attack action and depth of enemy object in Para. 35, Para. 48, and Para. 43).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches in the action range is a maximum distance at which the action may be performed (e.g., objects in focus area and depth in Para. 40 and Para. 43).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches identifying a set of valid target objects from the set of target objects displayed on the touchscreen based on the action range (e.g., objects in focus area and depth in Para. 40 and Para. 43).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches the selected target object is selected from the set of valid target objects (e.g., objects in focus area and in Para. 40).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches identifying areas on the touchscreen in relation to the origin object, wherein the weight is assigned to the areas (e.g., one or more objects are detected within the bounds of the defined focus area, the one or more objects may be enemy characters 320 as shown in FIG. 3 and each of the enemy characters 320 may be located at different locations in the game environment but at least partially within the bounds of the focus area as defined by brackets 310 in Para. 40).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Garvin as modified by Prosin teaches each of the areas are cone shaped, wherein a length of a cone corresponds to an action range (e.g., shape and distance of the focus area from game character to enemy in Para. 37, Para. 39, and Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/CHASE E LEICHLITER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715