DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/09/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 12/09/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the light source" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (US 20040236254 A1) (Hereafter Nichols1).
Regarding claim 6, Nichols1 discloses a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis (figure 1-4 block 12); a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform (figure 1-4 head block 14 platform block 16); a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis (figure 1-4 block 30; and a controller disposed on the handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller (figure 1-4 block 26).
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (US 20130046212 A1) (Hereafter Nichols2).
Regarding claim 6, Nichols2 discloses a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis (figure 1-10 block 22); a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform (figure 1-10 head block 22); a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis (figure 1-10 block 25); and a controller disposed on the handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller (figure 1-10 block 18).
Regarding claim 8, Nichols2 discloses claim 6, Nichols2 also discloses a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device or an ultrasound device (Nichols2 specifically discloses “The groups of possible treatment heads include LED-light-emitting heads, microcurrent-emitting heads, a treatment head having an abrasive or pebbled surface, as well as a bristle brush head. In another version, the handpiece and treatment head are integrated and not exchangeable. In this second version, a combination LED-light-emitting outer ring surrounds a central dual-lobe massage surface. The dual-lobe massage surface may be made from an inert material such as silicone, or it may be metallic in order to provide emission of therapeutic microcurrents”)
Regarding claim 9, Nichols2 discloses claim 6, Nichols2 also discloses a LED light (Nichols2 specifically discloses “The groups of possible treatment heads include LED-light-emitting heads, microcurrent-emitting heads, a treatment head having an abrasive or pebbled surface, as well as a bristle brush head. In another version, the handpiece and treatment head are integrated and not exchangeable. In this second version, a combination LED-light-emitting outer ring surrounds a central dual-lobe massage surface. The dual-lobe massage surface may be made from an inert material such as silicone, or it may be metallic in order to provide emission of therapeutic microcurrents”)
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (US 20130060176 A1) (Hereafter Nichols3).
Regarding claim 6, Nichols3 discloses a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis (figure 1-19 block 18); a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform (figure 1-19 head block 22); a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis (figure 1-19 block 14); and a controller disposed on the handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller (figure 1-19 block 20).
Regarding claim 8, Nichols3 discloses claim 6, Nichols3 also discloses a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device or an ultrasound device (Nichols3 specifically discloses “a variety of treatment heads/surfaces are expected, including sponge, LED light-emitting, micro-current emitting, and others”)
Regarding claim 9, Nichols3 discloses claim 6, Nichols3 also discloses a LED light (Nichols3 specifically discloses “a variety of treatment heads/surfaces are expected, including sponge, LED light-emitting, micro-current emitting, and others”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols1 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Altshuler (US 7220254 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Nichols1 discloses claim 6, Nichols1 doesn’t specifically disclose that the treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device, Altshuler discloses treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device (Altshuler specifically discloses “The treatment source can be a laser or a broadband source, such as LED or lamps” … “The illumination sources can be, for example, light emitting diodes (LED), diode lasers, lamps, or other suitable sources of electromagnetic energy. In some cases, treatment energy, e.g., radiation having one or more wavelengths in a range of about 290 nm to about 20,000,000 nm, can be applied to the subsurface target region in conjunction with monitoring one or more images of this region prior to, during, and/or after application of the treatment energy”). Nichols1 and Altshuler are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Nichols1 illumination disclosed by Altshuler. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to use a well-known treatment system. See also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Case cited as 550 US (2007). In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton.")
Regarding claim 9, Nichols1 discloses claim 6, Nichols 1 doesn’t specifically disclose a LED light, Altshuler discloses a LED light (Altshuler specifically discloses “The treatment source can be a laser or a broadband source, such as LED or lamps” … “The illumination sources can be, for example, light emitting diodes (LED), diode lasers, lamps, or other suitable sources of electromagnetic energy. In some cases, treatment energy, e.g., radiation having one or more wavelengths in a range of about 290 nm to about 20,000,000 nm, can be applied to the subsurface target region in conjunction with monitoring one or more images of this region prior to, during, and/or after application of the treatment energy”). Nichols1 and Altshuler are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Nichols1 illumination disclosed by Altshuler. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to use a well-known treatment system. See also KSR above.
Regarding claim 10, Nichols1 discloses claim 6, Nichols1 doesn’t specifically disclose a sensor disposed on the head portion, Altshuler discloses a sensor disposed on the head portion (Altshuler specifically discloses “In rare cases, the handpiece can also include a diagnostic sensor (i.e., skin temperature radiometer). The diagnostic sensor in such systems is used to protect the skin from unwanted damage (i.e., due to overheating or over cooling)”). Nichols1 and Altshuler are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Nichols1 the sensor disclosed by Altshuler. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the skin from unwanted damage. See also KSR above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols2 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Altshuler (US 7220254 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Nichols2 discloses claim 6, Nichols2 doesn’t specifically disclose a sensor disposed on the head portion, Altshuler discloses a sensor disposed on the head portion (Altshuler specifically discloses “In rare cases, the handpiece can also include a diagnostic sensor (i.e., skin temperature radiometer). The diagnostic sensor in such systems is used to protect the skin from unwanted damage (i.e., due to overheating or over cooling)”). Nichols2 and Altshuler are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Nichols2 the sensor disclosed by Altshuler. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the skin from unwanted damage. See also KSR above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols3 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Altshuler (US 7220254 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Nichols2 discloses claim 6, Nichols3 doesn’t specifically disclose a sensor disposed on the head portion, Altshuler discloses a sensor disposed on the head portion (Altshuler specifically discloses “In rare cases, the handpiece can also include a diagnostic sensor (i.e., skin temperature radiometer). The diagnostic sensor in such systems is used to protect the skin from unwanted damage (i.e., due to overheating or over cooling)”). Nichols3 and Altshuler are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Nichols3 the sensor disclosed by Altshuler. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the skin from unwanted damage. See also KSR above.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-17 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 11122206 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Present Application
US 11122206 B2
1. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion disposed at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the head portion; and a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module comprising a compartment that is enclosed by a cover and a housing of the head portion, the lens module comprising a camera lens and a light source that are each disposed within the compartment, wherein the camera lens faces away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction
1. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion disposed at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the head portion; and a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module comprising a compartment that is enclosed by a cover and a housing of the head portion, the lens module comprising a camera lens and a light source that are each disposed within the compartment, wherein the camera lens faces away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction
2. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the treatment head is reversibly detachable from the platform
2. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the treatment head is reversibly detachable from the platform
3. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device
3. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device
4. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the light source is a LED light
4. The personal care device of claim 1, wherein the light source is a LED light
5. The personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor disposed on the handle portion and adjacent to the cover
5. The personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor disposed on the handle portion and adjacent to the cover
7. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis; and a controller disposed on the handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller further comprising
a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module extending away from the platform along the second longitudinal in a direction opposite the first direction
6. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis; a controller disposed on the
handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller; and
a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module extending away from the platform along the second longitudinal in a direction opposite the first direction
11. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending from the platform, wherein the treatment head extends away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the platform when the treatment head is coupled to the platform; a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module comprising a camera lens facing away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction; a camera controller button disposed on the handle portion and facing toward the second direction; and an indicator disposed on the handle portion and between the camera controller button and the camera lens
10. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending from the platform, wherein the treatment head extends away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the platform when the treatment head is coupled to the platform; a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module comprising a camera lens facing away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction; a camera controller button disposed on the handle portion and facing toward the second direction; and an indicator disposed on the handle portion and between the camera controller button and the camera lens
12. The personal camera device of claim 11, wherein the indicator is configured to allow a user to aim the camera lens based on feeling the orientation of the indicator relative to the camera controller button
11. The personal camera device of claim 10, wherein the indicator is configured to allow a user to aim the camera lens based on feeling the orientation of the indicator relative to the camera controller button
13. The personal camera device of claim 11, wherein the lens module comprises a compartment that is enclosed by a cover and a housing of the head portion, the camera lens disposed within the compartment
12. The personal camera device of claim 10, wherein the lens module comprises a compartment that is enclosed by a cover and a housing of the head portion, the camera lens disposed within the compartment
14. The personal care device of claim 11, further comprising a sensor disposed on the handle portion
13. The personal care device of claim 10, further comprising a sensor disposed on the handle portion
15. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion at end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending from platform, wherein the treatment head extends away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the platform when the treatment head is coupled to the platform; a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module facing away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction; and a sensor disposed on the head portion, the sensor adapted for measuring a characteristic of a skin
14. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion; a head portion at end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head extending from platform, wherein the treatment head extends away from the platform along a first direction of a longitudinal axis of the platform when the treatment head is coupled to the platform; a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module facing away from the platform along a second direction of the longitudinal axis, the second direction opposite the first direction; and a sensor disposed on the head portion, the sensor adapted for measuring a characteristic of a skin
16. The personal care device of claim 15, wherein the characteristic measured by the sensor is selected from the group consisting of: a moisture content, a pore size, a pore count, a sebum amount, a sebum composition, an elasticity, a fine line count, a fine line branching, a wrinkle count, and a wrinkle depth
15. The personal care device of claim 14, wherein the characteristic measured by the sensor is selected from the group consisting of: a moisture content, a pore size, a pore count, a sebum amount, a sebum composition, an elasticity, a fine line count, a fine line branching, a wrinkle count, and a wrinkle depth
17. The personal care device of claim 15, wherein the device is in contact with the skin when the sensor measures the characteristic of the skin
16. The personal care device of claim 14, wherein the device is in contact with the skin when the sensor measures the characteristic of the skin
18. The personal care device of claim 15, wherein the device is spaced apart from the skin when the sensor measures the characteristic of the skin
17. The personal care device of claim 14, wherein the device is spaced apart from the skin when the sensor measures the characteristic of the skin
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11122206 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of the present application is anticipated by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11122206 B2.
Present Application
US 11122206 B2
6. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis; and a controller disposed on the handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller
6. A personal care device comprising: a handle portion comprising a grip portion that extends along a first longitudinal axis; a head portion positioned at an end of the handle portion, the head portion including a platform; a treatment head coupled to the platform, the treatment head extending away from the platform in a first direction along a second longitudinal axis that is transverse to the first longitudinal axis; a controller disposed on the
handle portion and oriented to face toward the first direction, the controller disposed on a medial plane of the handle portion such that the controller is centered relative to the treatment head when the device is viewed facing the controller;
and a lens module positioned within the head portion, the lens module extending away from the platform along the second longitudinal in a direction opposite the first direction
8. The personal care device of claim 6, wherein the treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device
7. The personal care device of claim 6, wherein the treatment head is selected from the group consisting of a facial brush, a micro current device, a LED light device, and an ultrasound device
9. The personal care device of claim 6, wherein the light source is a LED light
8. The personal care device of claim 6, further comprising a light source, wherein the light source is a LED light
10. The personal care device of claim 6, further comprising a sensor disposed on the head portion
9. The personal care device of claim 6, further comprising a sensor disposed on the head portion
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Straka (US 20170367543 A1) discloses brush encoding device for system to promote optimum performance of handheld cosmetic device.
Gareau (US 20150025343 A1) discloses system and method for optical detection of skin disease.
Carlucci (US 9730758 B2) discloses skin treatment apparatus.
Sherman (US 20170270593 A1) discloses systems and methods for providing customized product recommendations.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634