DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0368729) in view of Kitamura et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0232668) and Mitchell et al. (“Associations between obesity and overweight and fall risk, health status and quality of life in older people”, 2014), or, as an alternative to Mitchell et al., in view of Yang et al. (“Relationship between muscle strength and fall episodes among the elderly: the Yilan study”, Taiwan, 2018).
With regards to claim 1, Wilson et al. disclose a radiography system, comprising:
a radiation source (126) for emitting radiation (paragraph [0053], referring to the x-ray source (126); Figure 1);
a first radiation detector (i.e. “detection elements for detecting high energy radiation”) and a second radiation detector (“detection elements for detecting low energy radiation”) that detect radiation which has passed through a subject (paragraph [0057], referring to the detector (130) including detection elements for detecting high energy radiation and detection elements for detecting low energy radiation ; Figure 1, note that the detector (130) is arranged in an irradiation direction of radiation transmitted through a subject; Figure 1); and
at least one processor (“computer”; paragraph [0121]; Figure 14), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
acquire a first radiographic image (i.e. low energy data) and a second radiographic image (i.e. high energy data), the first radiographic image (i.e. low energy data) having been detected by the first radiation detector by transmitting the radiation through the subject, the second radiographic image (i.e. high energy data) having been detected by the second radiation detector by transmitting the radiation through the subject and the first radiation detector, and the second radiographic image having a different energy distribution from the first radiographic image (paragraphs [0018], [0052], [0057], [0104]-[0105],referring to dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA), wherein images are acquired having different energy distributions (i.e. low energy radiation, high energy radiation; paragraph [0120], referring to performing dual energy x-ray absorptiometry scan of a patient using a dual-energy absorptiometry system so as to acquire a plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data; Figures 1, 4, 13)
generate a soft part image representing a soft part region with soft tissue (i.e. lean tissue and/or fat tissue) of the subject from the first radiographic image (i.e. low energy data) and the second radiographic image (i.e. high energy data) (paragraph [0061], referring to the obtained images dividing the body into three components: fat tissue, lean tissue, and bone mineral content, wherein systems that emit dual energies during an imaging or scanning sequences may be utilized to identify a maximum of two of those components at a time (i.e. fat tissue and lean tissue, thereby providing a “soft part image”); paragraph [0113]; Figures 4 and 13);
specify a predetermined part of the subject which is an imaging part of the subject, is included in the first radiographic image and the second radiographic image (paragraphs [0079], [0081], referring to including “one the skeletal muscle pixels” (i.e. predetermined part); paragraph [0113], referring to the image depicting muscle mass in individual limbs (i.e. predetermined part)), and includes a bone part region (paragraph [0071], referring to the scan representation may be of the whole body of the patient “similar to the scan representation in Fig. 4”, wherein Figure 4 includes bone (406; see paragraph [0062]), etc.; paragraph [0120], referring to “The processing operation of operation 1308 may include computer processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of the patient's body composition, the patient's bone mineral density, the patient's muscle mass, and/or the patient's adipose tissue (all objective measurements)”, wherein determining an estimate of the patient’s bone mineral density inherently and necessarily requires the predetermined part (i.e. part to be analyzed) of the subject to include a bone part region in order to have the ability to determine BMD; Figure 4, which includes bone, fat and muscle);
derive a muscle mass and a fat mass of the subject in the predetermined part based on pixel values of the soft part region of the soft part image corresponding to the predetermined part, the muscle mass and the fat mass being derived even in a region overlapping with the bone part region (paragraph [0018], referring to processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of the patient’s muscle mass; paragraphs [0071], [0079], [0081], [0086] referring to determining muscle mass of a patient, wherein lean mass can be measured on a pixel-by-pixel basis; paragraph [0071], referring to measuring fat and lean mass and referring to the scan representation may be of the whole body of the patient “similar to the scan representation in Fig. 4”, wherein Figure 4 includes muscle (404) and fat (402), and bone (406), wherein the image depicts regions (i.e. arms, legs) wherein muscle and fat overlap with the bone part region in the body (see paragraph [0062] for description of Fig. 4); paragraph [0120], referring to “The processing operation of operation 1308 may include computer processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of the patient's body composition, the patient's bone mineral density, the patient's muscle mass, and/or the patient's adipose tissue (all objective measurements)”; Figure 4, which includes bone, fat and muscle); Figures 4, 6A);
acquire correspondence information for identifying an affection risk or a disease level of the predetermined disease (i.e. “a patient diagnosis of the frailty syndrome” and/or obesity) of the subject, or a fall rate of the subject (paragraphs [0114]-[0115]; Figure 10, wherein Figure 10 depict a three-dimensional coordinate system plot (1000) where lean muscle mass is plotted on the y-axis (1004) while obesity is plotted on the z-axis (1006), and the plot can be used to determine a patient diagnosis of the frailty syndrome, and thus the plot represents the “correspondence information”); and
specify the affection risk or the disease level of the predetermined disease of the subject, or the fall rate of the subject, from the derived muscle mass (i.e. data point H would include derived muscle mass for the particular patient) of the subject in the predetermined part and a correspondence relationship information (i.e. plot depicted in Figure 10 which depicts a plot correlating lean muscle mass (1004 on the y-axis) and obesity (1006 on the z-axis)) (paragraphs [0114]-[0115], referring to the data point H which represents data obtained from a particular patient and can be used to determine if the particular patient has obesity and/or frailty syndrome; Figure 10), wherein:
in a case of specifying the affection risk or the disease level of the predetermined disease of the subject, the correspondence relationship information (i.e. plot depicted in Figure 10) is disease information (i.e. obesity or frailty syndrome) that represents the correlative relationship between the risk or disease level of the predetermined disease (i.e. obesity in the z-axis 1006) and the muscle mass (i.e. lean mass in the y-axis 1004) of the predetermined part (paragraphs [0114]-[0115]; Figure 10, wherein Figure 10 depict a three-dimensional coordinate system plot (1000) where lean muscle mass is plotted on the y-axis (1004) while obesity is plotted on the z-axis (1006), and the plot can be used to determine a patient diagnosis of the frailty syndrome, and thus the plot represents the “correlative relationship”).
However, Wilson et al. do not specifically disclose that the first radiation detector and the second radiation detector are superimposed in an irradiation direction of radiation emitted from the radiation source and that the processor is further configured to acquire the first radiographic image and the second radiographic image by a one-shot radiation from the radiation source.
Further, though Wilson et al. disclose that the correspondence relationship information is information that represents the correlative relationship between obesity and the muscle mass of the predetermined part (paragraphs [0114]-[0115]; Figure 10), Wilson et al. do not specifically disclose that in a case of specifying the fall rate of the subject, the correspondence relationship information is information that represents the correlative relationship between the fall rate for an age of the subject and the muscle mass of the predetermined part.
Kitamura et al. disclose obtaining three radiographic images which are formed by radiation transmitted through a subject and represent degrees of transmission of three patterns of radiations having different energy distributions through the subject (Abstract; paragraph [0012]). The radiographic images may be obtained in a three shot method in which imaging is carried out three times using three patterns of radiations having different energy distributions, or may be obtained in a one shot method in which radiation is applied once to three storage phosphor sheets stacked one on the other via additional filters such as energy separation filters so that radiations having different energy distributions are detected on the three sheets, wherein other means such as flat panel detector (FPD) may be appropriately selected and used for detecting the radiation as an alternative to using the storage phosphor sheet (paragraph [0012], note that stacked flat panel detectors would encompass at least a first radiation detector and second radiation detector that are superimposed in an irradiation direction of radiation emitted from the radiation source).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the radiation detectors of Wilson et al. with radiation detectors comprising of the first radiation detector and the second radiation detector being superimposed in an irradiation direction of radiation emitted from the radiation source, which provides the first radiographic image and the second radiographic image by a one-shot radiation from the radiation source, as taught by Kitamura et al., as the substitution of known radiation detectors for another yields predictable results (i.e. providing radiation images having different energy distributions) to one of ordinary skill in the art and further “stacked” detectors is a known alternative design for a multi-energy scanning system (paragraph [0012]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results are reasonably predictable.
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that in a case of specifying the fall rate of the subject, the correspondence relationship information is information that represents the correlative relationship between the fall rate for each age and the muscle mass of the predetermined part.
Mitchell et al. disclose a study examining the influence of obesity and overweight on fall risk and factors influencing fall risk in obese and overweight individuals compared to those of a healthy weight (Abstract; pg. 15, “Discussion”). The study demonstrated an association between increasing BMI and risk of falls (i.e. fall rate) (pg. 15, “Discussion”; Tables 1-5, note that, as indicated in the tables, the fall risks/rate is provided for different age groups (i.e. 65-74, 75-84, 85+)). Such information may be useful in identifying high-risk fall groups that could be targeted for prevention efforts at the population level (pg. 13, right column, 1st full paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to, in a case of specifying the fall rate of the subject, modify the correspondence relationship information of the above combined references to include information that represents the correlative relationship between the fall rate for each age and the muscle mass of the predetermined part [wherein the fall rate, as taught by Mithcell et al., is specified based on obesity, which, as disclosed by Wilson et al., is ultimately specified based on the derived muscle mass and the derived bone mineral content, and therefore a correlative relationship in the modification exists between the fall rate (correlated to the obesity as presented in Figure 10 of Wilson et al.) for each age and the muscle mass], as taught by Mitchell et al., in order to identify high-risk fall groups that could be targeted for prevention efforts at the population level (pg. 13, right column, 1st full paragraph).
Alternatively to Mitchell et al.:
Yang et al. disclose a correlation between muscle strength, muscle mass and risk factors of fall episode(s) in an elderly population (Abstract, pg. 2, left column, 3rd paragraph; Conclusion; Tables 1-3, for example, Table 1 correlates muscle mass/strength to number of falls episodes within the past year (i.e. fall rate) and age). Future falls and even fractures can be identified (pg. 2, left column, 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, as an alternative to Mitchell et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in a case of specifying the fall rate of the subject, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the correspondence relationship information of the above combined references include information that represents the correlative relationship between the fall rate for each age and the muscle mass of the predetermined part, as taught by Yang et al., in order to identify future falls and fractures (pg. 2, left column, 2nd paragraph).
With regards to claim 2, Wilson et al. disclose that the at least one processor generates a muscle mass distribution image representing a distribution of the muscle mass based on the derived muscle mass of the predetermined part (paragraph [0104], referring to the images providing visual representations of information, such as lean mass; paragraph [0113], referring to an image that depicts relative differences in muscle mass of individual limbs being presented, wherein such an image corresponds to a muscle mass distribution image).
With regards to claim 3, Wilson et al. disclose that the system further comprises a display unit (822) wherein the at least one processor is configured to display the generated muscle mass distribution image on the display unit (paragraphs [0060], [0100], [0104], referring to displaying of the images, including images providing visual representations of information, such as lean mass; paragraph [0113], referring to presenting/displaying the image that depicts relative differences in muscle mass of individual limbs being presented, wherein such an image corresponds to a muscle mass distribution image; Figure 8).
With regards to claim 5, Wilson et al. disclose that in a case of specifying the affection risk or the disease level of the predetermined disease of the subject, the predetermined disease is sarcopenia (paragraphs [0063], [0096]-[0099], [0103], [0109], referring to the diagnosis of sarcopenia; Figures 8-11), the predetermined part is a part of a limb or a part of a whole body (paragraph [0113], referring to the image depicting muscle mass in individual limbs (i.e. predetermined part); paragraphs [0079], [0081], referring to including “one the skeletal muscle pixels” (i.e. predetermined part)), and the disease information is the disease level of the sarcopenia (paragraph [0109], referring to graphs being used to determine if a patient’s data point (i.e. C,D) is closer to the sarcopenic range defined by curve S, which corresponds to a disease level of sarcopenia; paragraph [0115], referring to patient data point (i.e. I) being scaled to denote severity/level of a condition, such as sarcopenia; Figures 8-11).
With regards to claim 6, Wilson et al. disclose that the at least one processor is configured to generate a bone part image representing a bone part region with a bone tissue of the subject from the first radiographic image and the second radiographic image (paragraphs [0061]-[0062], referring to images dividing the body into three components: “fat tissue, lean (“lipid-free soft tissue”) tissue, and bone mineral content (“BM[I]C”)”; paragraph [0120], referring to “The processing operation of operation 1308…may include computer processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of…”the patient’s bone mineral density, the patient’s muscle mass, and/or the patient’s adipose tissue (all objective measurements)”; paragraphs [0113]-[0114]; Figure 4), and derive a bone mineral content based on a pixel value for each pixel of the bone part region of the bone part image (paragraph [0120], referring to “The processing operation of operation 1308…may include computer processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of…”the patient’s bone mineral density, the patient’s muscle mass, and/or the patient’s adipose tissue (all objective measurements)”; paragraphs [0113]-[0114]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. in view of Kitamura et al. and Mitchell et al. (or Yang et al.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuhrmann et al. (US Pub No. 2011/0113863).
With regards to claim 4, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Wilson et al. disclose that in a case of specifying the affection risk or the disease level of the predetermined disease of the subject, the predetermined part is a lower limb (paragraph [0064], referring to muscle mass measurement in the legs (i.e. lower limb)), the predetermined disease is a condition, such as obesity (paragraphs [0114]-[0115]; Figures 10, 11B), and the disease information is the affection risk of the condition, such as obesity (paragraphs [0114]-[0115], Figures 10, 11B).
However, Wilson et al. do not specifically disclose that the predetermined disease is diabetes.
Fuhrmann et al. discloses diagnostic methods for diabetes and body lean mass, wherein a low body mass is an indicator for an increased predisposition for diabetes and/or obesity (Abstract; paragraph [0082]). Body lean mass can be readily and reliably determined and changes which affect a subject’s risk for developing diseases and disorders associated or caused by excessive body storage fat, such as diabetes or obesity, can be closely monitored and the effectiveness of measures counteracting the said risk can be evaluated (paragraph [0084]). Diabetes can be more reliably and efficiently diagnosed and monitored, and consequently, diabetes care can be improved (paragraph [0078]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the predetermined disease of the above combined references be diabetes, as taught by Fuhrmann et al., in order to provide close monitoring of diabetes and evaluate the effectiveness of measures counteracting the said risk, thereby improving the care of diabetes (paragraphs [0078], [0084]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. in view of Kitamura et al. and Mitchell et al. (or Yang et al.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama (US Pub No. 2009/0314948).
With regards to claim 7, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1.
Kitamura et al. further disclose that the system further comprises a radiation-energy conversion filter that is disposed between the first radiation detector and the second radiation detector (paragraph [0012], referring to the one shot method in which radiation is applied once to three flat panel detectors/sheets stacked one on the other “via additional filters such as energy separation filters” so that radiations having different energy distributions are detected on the three detectors/sheets, wherein such an arrangement of stacked detectors “via” the filters would encompass the filter(s) being disposed between the detectors).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the radiation-energy conversion filter is specifically a filter that absorbs a specific energy component included in the radiation that has passes through the subject.
Nakayama discloses a radiation image capturing system, wherein the system comprises a filter (26) for adjusting the spectrum of the X-rays output from the target (24) and wherein the filter (26) is made of any one of various materials including MO, Rh, aluminum, etc. which is selected to selectively extract characteristic X-rays in combination with the target (24) (Abstract; paragraph [0030]). The filter (26) selectively absorbs X-rays, such as selectively extracting characteristic X-rays and removing X-rays at high energy levels of 20keV or higher, thereby producing an X-ray spectrum for increased radiation image contrast (paragraphs [0030]-[0031]; Figures 1-2, 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the radiation-energy conversion filter of the above combined references be specifically a filter that absorbs a specific energy component included in radiation, as taught by Nakayama, in order to selectively extract desired characteristic X-rays and thus increase radiation image contrast (paragraphs [0030]-[0031]). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the radiation-energy conversion filter of the above combined references with a radiation-energy conversion filter that absorbs a specific energy component included in radiation, as taught by Nakayama, as the substitution of one known radiation-energy conversion filter for another yields predictable results (i.e. providing radiation in a selective range) to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results are reasonably predictable.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. in view of Kitamura et al. and Mitchell et al., or, as an alternative to Mitchell et al., in view of Yang et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US Pub No. 2019/0333238).
With regards to claim 8, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to separate muscle and fat from the soft part image using a difference in energy characteristic between a muscle tissue and a fat tissue; generate a muscle image and a fat image from the soft part image; and derive the muscle mass and the fat mass based on pixel values of the muscle image and the soft part image, respectively.
Nam et al. disclose an automated determination of muscle mass and fat mass from images by performing a thresholding process to an image file to generate a contrasted image, and segmenting pixels of the image (Abstract; paragraph [0037], referring to, in addition to a patient’s total muscle mass, fat tissue mass can also be calculated). Threshold values are changed to detect edges of different types of tissue types, wherein edges are detected so that the tissue types can be segmented (paragraph [0037], referring to muscle and fat mass being determined; paragraph [0081], note that the thresholding separates tissues (i.e. fat, muscle) using a difference in energy characteristics between muscle and fat, wherein the segmentation of the different tissues (i.e. muscle, fat) would result in generating a muscle image and a fat image; Figures 10-11). Muscle mass may be determined based on pixels that are segmented as muscle (paragraph [0083]; paragraph [0037], note that this will also apply for determining the fat mass; Figures 10-11). The invention provides a more accurate method for measuring total body muscle mass (and fat mass, etc., see paragraph [0037]) as a means for more accurately quantifying a function/dysfunction (paragraph [0023]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one processor of the above combined references be further configured to separate muscle and fat from the soft part image using a difference in energy characteristic between a muscle tissue and a fat tissue; generate a muscle image and a fat image from the soft part image; and derive the muscle mass and the fat mass based on pixel values of the muscle image and the soft part image, respectively, as taught by Nam et al., in order to provides a more accurate method for measuring total body muscle mass and fat mass as a means for more accurately quantifying a function/dysfunction (paragraph [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wilson neither discloses nor suggests estimating the muscle mass or fat mass even in a region overlapping with a bone part and at least a feature of estimating a muscle mass and a fat mass from two radiographic images having different energy distributions even in a region overlapping with a bone part.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to paragraph [0071] of Wilson, wherein Wilson discloses measuring fat and lean mass and refers to the scan representation being of the whole body of the patient “similar to the scan representation in Fig. 4”, wherein Figure 4 includes muscle (404) and fat (402), and bone (406), wherein the image depicts regions (i.e. arms, legs) in the body wherein muscle and fat overlap with the bone part region in the body ( further see paragraph [0062] for description of Fig. 4). Examiner notes that claim 1 recites “the muscle mass and the fat mass being derived even in a region overlapping with the bone part region”, wherein the muscle mass and fat mass are derived in regions of the body, such as an arm or leg, wherein fat, muscle and bone overlap with another in the body of the human subject. Further, paragraph [0120] of Wilson discloses “The processing operation of operation 1308 may include computer processing the plurality of dual energy x-ray absorptiometry data to determine an estimate of the patient's body composition, the patient's bone mineral density, the patient's muscle mass, and/or the patient's adipose tissue (all objective measurements)”, and therefore muscle, adipose/fat and bone regions are inherently and necessarily included in the first and second radiographic images in order to allow the determination of bone mineral density, muscle mass and adipose/fat tissue.
The claims therefore remain rejected under the previously applied prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798