DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 08/19/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1 and 4-5 have been amended. Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 6-8 have been added. Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below (as necessitated by the amendment to claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 20200079379 to Mimura et al. in view of U.S. PGPubs 2018/0194354 to Takeda, further in view U.S. PGPubs 2022/0063406 to Endo.
Regarding claim 1, Mimura et al. teach a vehicle display control device (abstract), comprising: a processor configured to (Fig 1, par 0058):
detect a preceding vehicle located in a traveling lane in which
a host vehicle is traveling (par 0044, “The object recognizing device 16 may perform a sensor fusion process on results of detection using some or all of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the finder 14, thereby allowing recognition of a position, a type, a speed, and the like of an object. The object recognizing device 16 outputs a result of recognition to the automated driving control device 100. The object recognizing device 16 may output results of detection using the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the finder 14 to the automated driving control device 100 as they are”, par 0061, “The recognizer 130 recognizes objects present in the vicinity of the subject vehicle M on the basis of information input from the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the finder 14 through the object recognizing device 16. For example, objects recognized by the recognizer 130 are other vehicles such as bicycles, motorcycles, and four-wheel vehicles. The objects include pedestrians, road marks, road signs, partition lines, electric poles, guard rails, fallen objects, and the like. The recognizer 130 recognizes states such as a position, a speed, an acceleration, and the like of each object. For example, the position of an object is recognized as a position on relative coordinates having a representative point (a center of gravity, a driving shaft center, or the like) of the subject vehicle M as an origin (in other words, a relative position with respect to the subject vehicle M) and is used for control. The position of an object may be represented using a representative point such as a center of gravity, or a corner of the object and may be represented using a represented area. A “state” of an object may include an acceleration, a jerk, or an “action state” (for example, whether or not the object is changing lanes or will change lanes) of the object in a case in which the object is a moving body such as another vehicle “, par 0098, “the HMI controller 174 generates a lane image resembling lanes L1 to L3 included in a road. The HMI controller 174 displays a subject vehicle image and other vehicle images resembling the other vehicles m1 to m5 in the second display 32B superimposed on each running lane of the lane image. In this case, the HMI controller 174 may adjust the sizes of the other vehicle images of the other vehicles m1 to m5 on the basis of relative position relations thereof from the subject vehicle M. The HMI controller 174 may change the shapes of the other vehicle images on the basis of vehicle shapes of the other vehicles m1 to m5 recognized by the object recognizing device 16. For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed”, Figs 7-8, par 0097-0098, “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B in the state of the vicinity of the subject vehicle illustrated in FIG. 7. The time t0, for example, represents a time at which the running form of the subject vehicle M changes from following run to lane changing. In the following description, it is assumed that times t0 to t3 satisfy a relation of t0<t1<t2<t3. At the time t0, it is assumed that the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1, and another vehicle m5 is a vehicle running in a lane L3 adjacent to the left side of the lane L1.” ….detect preceding vehicle m1);
detect a first other traveling vehicle located in a first adjacent lane adjacent to the traveling lane (Figs 7-8, par 0097-0098, “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B in the state of the vicinity of the subject vehicle illustrated in FIG. 7. The time t0, for example, represents a time at which the running form of the subject vehicle M changes from following run to lane changing. In the following description, it is assumed that times t0 to t3 satisfy a relation of t0<t1<t2<t3. At the time t0, it is assumed that the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1, and another vehicle m5 is a vehicle running in a lane L3 adjacent to the left side of the lane L1.” ….detect vehicle m2 at adjacent lane L2);
detect a second other vehicle located in a second adjacent lane adjacent to the traveling lane on an opposite side of the traveling lane from the first adjacent lane (Figs 7-8, par 0097-0098, “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating one example of an image IM1 displayed on the second display 32B in the state of the vicinity of the subject vehicle illustrated in FIG. 7. The time t0, for example, represents a time at which the running form of the subject vehicle M changes from following run to lane changing. In the following description, it is assumed that times t0 to t3 satisfy a relation of t0<t1<t2<t3. At the time t0, it is assumed that the subject vehicle M runs in a lane L1, and another vehicle m1 is a vehicle running ahead that runs in front of the subject vehicle M in the same lane. Other vehicles m2 to m4 are vehicles running in a lane L2 adjacent to the right side of the lane L1, and another vehicle m5 is a vehicle running in a lane L3 adjacent to the left side of the lane L1.” ….detect vehicle m5 at adjacent lane L3);
identify an intervehicular section between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle (Figs. 7-8, par 0101-0102, “The HMI controller 174 may display an object image representing that the subject vehicle M is following the lock-on vehicle (hereinafter referred to as a lock-on-representing image LO) at a position associated with the lock-on vehicle (for example, near the lock-on vehicle). In the examples illustrated in FIGS. 7 and 8, a U-shaped object image is displayed at the rear end of another vehicle m1 that is a lock-on vehicle as a lock-on-representing image LO” ….identify section F0 between host vehicle M and the preceding vehicle m1);
identify a first adjacent section in the first adjacent lane, the first adjacent section corresponding to the intervehicular section (Fig 6, par 0084-0092, “the target trajectory generator 144 sets a prohibition area RA prohibiting the presence of another vehicle in the adjacent lane L2, and in a case in which not even a part of another vehicle is present in the prohibition area RA, and each time-to-collision (TTC) between the subject vehicle M and the other vehicle m2 and the other vehicle m3 is longer than a threshold, it is determined that lane change can be performed. This determination condition is one example in a case in which a lane change target position TAs is set on a lateral side of the subject vehicle M. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for example, the target trajectory generator 144 projects the subject vehicle M to a lane L2 that is a lane change destination and sets a prohibition area RA having a predetermined margin distance in front of and behind the prohibition area. The prohibition area RA is set as an area extending from one end to the other end of the lane L2 in the horizontal direction (direction Y)”… disclose identify RA area for lane L2 as example, same detection for lane L3);
cause a display to display a preceding-vehicle image imitating the preceding vehicle and a first other-vehicle image imitating the first other vehicle, based on a determination that the first other vehicle is located within the first adjacent section (Figs 7-8, par 0097-0099, “the HMI controller 174 generates an image IM1 including an image resembling a road on the basis of information (for example, a recognition result and a target trajectory) acquired by the second acquirer 172. More specifically, the HMI controller 174 generates a lane image resembling lanes L1 to L3 included in a road. The HMI controller 174 displays a subject vehicle image and other vehicle images resembling the other vehicles m1 to m5 in the second display 32B superimposed on each running lane of the lane image. In this case, the HMI controller 174 may adjust the sizes of the other vehicle images of the other vehicles m1 to m5 on the basis of relative position relations thereof from the subject vehicle M. The HMI controller 174 may change the shapes of the other vehicle images on the basis of vehicle shapes of the other vehicles m1 to m5 recognized by the object recognizing device 16. For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed”).
But Mimura et al. keep silent for teaching identify a first adjacent section in the first adjacent lane and a second adjacent section in the second adjacent lane, the first adjacent section and the second adjacent section corresponding to the intervehicular section.
In related endeavor, Takeda teaches identify a first adjacent section in the first adjacent lane and a second adjacent section in the second adjacent lane, the first adjacent section and the second adjacent section corresponding to the intervehicular section (par 0079-0080, “A peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane L3, and therefore, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets the lane change target position candidate T3 at a space from a frontward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d to a rearward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d on the adjacent lane L3. That is, when a peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets one lane change target position candidate T in the entire detection region DR (in the entire adjacent lane L3) on the adjacent lane”….further disclose first and second sections in two adjacent lanes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Mimura et al. to include identify a first adjacent section in the first adjacent lane and a second adjacent section in the second adjacent lane, the first adjacent section and the second adjacent section corresponding to the intervehicular section as taught by Takeda to detect peripheral vehicles around environment of vehicle to set a virtual vehicle which virtually simulates the peripheral vehicle that satisfies the predetermined condition and generate the control plan of the vehicle to generate the control plan of the vehicle, it is possible to perform further flexible automated driving more safely.
But Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda keep silent for teaching cause the display not to display a second other-vehicle image imitating the second other vehicle based on a determination that the second other vehicle is located outside the second adjacent section.
In related endeavor, Endo teaches cause the display not to display a second other-vehicle image imitating the second other vehicle based on a determination that the second other vehicle is located outside the second adjacent section (par 0049-0051, “The autonomous driving ECU 34 also evaluates importance levels corresponding to the degree to which each surrounding object around the host vehicle affects autonomous driving, based on the relative position, relative speed, and so on of each of the surrounding objects as indicated by the information acquired from the radar system 22 and so on “, par 0064-0065, “as illustrated in the examples of FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, the control section 55 superimposes display of the first preceding vehicle 70 and also superimposes display of other surrounding objects 72 on the third person perspective multi-lane image displayed on the MET 58, with display of the other surrounding objects 72 being incrementally toned-down according to their importance level. Examples of toning down include using fainter display colors, using duller display colors (such as grays), and lowering definition so as to blur the display. After step 112, processing returns to step 104 “, Fig 9, par 0071-0072, “as illustrated in the example of FIG. 9, the control section 55 superimposes display of the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 on the MET 58, and tones down the superimposed display of any other surrounding objects according to their importance level. Note that the example in FIG. 9 illustrates a situation in which no surrounding objects other than the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 are around the host vehicle” …. using duller display colors (such as grays), and lowering definition so as to blur the display to represent the vehicle based on importance level around user’s vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda to include cause the display not to display a second other-vehicle image imitating the second other vehicle based on a determination that the second other vehicle is located outside the second adjacent section as taught by Endo to displays the first preceding vehicle and other surrounding objects with display of the other surrounding objects being incrementally toned-down according to their importance level that influence the behavior of the host vehicle to enable driver viewing the display to pay attention.
Regarding claim 4, Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda and Endo teach all the limitation of claim 1, and further teach wherein the processor is configured to, in response to a determination that a third other vehicle is moving into to the traveling lane between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicles, cause the display the third other vehicle as the preceding-vehicle image imitating the preceding vehicle (Mimura et al.: Figs 14-15, par 0118, “when it is not possible to change lanes into the space between the other vehicle m4 that is a front reference vehicle mB and the other vehicle m5 that is a rear reference vehicle mC and the other vehicles m4 and m5 have moved away from the own vehicle M toward the far side in the screen, the HMI controller 174 continues to display the lock-on expression image LK behind the other vehicle m4 until a new target trajectory is generated by the target trajectory generator 144 and increases the length LA of the first section A by changing the display position of the end of the first section A according to the position of the lock-on vehicle in the X direction”, Takeda: par 0109, “v”, Endo: Fig 8, par 0067-0068, “ in cases in which the second preceding vehicle 74 is changing lanes into the current traveling lane of the host vehicle, i.e. cutting in, the attention of the occupant can be drawn to this display such that the occupant can easily be made aware of this cutting in. Moreover, since surrounding objects other than the second preceding vehicle 74 are not displayed on the HUD 56, the display on the HUD 56 can be suppressed from appearing annoyingly cluttered to the occupant”).
Regarding claim 5, Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda and Endo teach all the limitation of claim 1, and Endo further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: display the first other-vehicle image by animation in response to a determination that the first other vehicle entered the adjacent section from outside the first adjacent section; and hide the first other-vehicle image by animation in response to a determination that the first other vehicle has left the first adjacent section (Figs 6-7, par 0064, “as illustrated in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, in the present exemplary embodiment surrounding objects 72 other than the first preceding vehicle 70 around the host vehicle are displayed toned-down according to their importance level, thereby enabling the display on the MET 58 to be suppressed from appearing annoyingly cluttered to the occupant. This also enables the occupant to be made aware of the importance level of each of the surrounding objects other than the first preceding vehicle around the host vehicle”, par 0067, “as illustrated in the example of FIG. 8, the control section 55 emphatically displays a second preceding vehicle 74 on the HUD 56 according to the importance level set for the second preceding vehicle. Note that examples of emphatic display include display in a particular display color (such as amber), display surrounded by a frame, and flashing display”, par 0070, “At step 122, as illustrated in the example of FIG. 9, the control section 55 superimposes display of a first preceding vehicle 76 traveling ahead in the current traveling lane of host vehicle, and of a second preceding vehicle 78 traveling ahead in a lane other than the current traveling lane of the host vehicle, on the HUD 56. Thus, in cases in which the host vehicle is changing lanes from the current traveling lane of the host vehicle to a lane other than the current traveling lane, the occupant viewing the HUD 56 can easily be made aware of the presence of the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 that are relevant to the lane change. Since surrounding objects other than the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 are not displayed on the HUD 56, the display on the HUD 56 can be suppressed from appearing annoyingly cluttered to the occupant” ….display and animate only vehicle around host vehicle based on important level, so display other vehicle with animation when other vehicle entered the adjacent section from outside the first adjacent section become important related to host vehicle, so no display other vehicle when other vehicle exited the adjacent section to outside the first adjacent section become important related to host vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda and Endo teach all the limitation of claim 5, and Endo further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: display the first other-vehicle image by fade-in animation in response to the determination that the first other vehicle has entered the first adjacent section; and hide the first other-vehicle image by fade-out animation in response to the determination that the first other vehicle has left the first adjacent section (Figs 6-7, par 0064, “as illustrated in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, in the present exemplary embodiment surrounding objects 72 other than the first preceding vehicle 70 around the host vehicle are displayed toned-down according to their importance level, thereby enabling the display on the MET 58 to be suppressed from appearing annoyingly cluttered to the occupant. This also enables the occupant to be made aware of the importance level of each of the surrounding objects other than the first preceding vehicle around the host vehicle”, par 0067, “as illustrated in the example of FIG. 8, the control section 55 emphatically displays a second preceding vehicle 74 on the HUD 56 according to the importance level set for the second preceding vehicle. Note that examples of emphatic display include display in a particular display color (such as amber), display surrounded by a frame, and flashing display”, par 0070, “At step 122, as illustrated in the example of FIG. 9, the control section 55 superimposes display of a first preceding vehicle 76 traveling ahead in the current traveling lane of host vehicle, and of a second preceding vehicle 78 traveling ahead in a lane other than the current traveling lane of the host vehicle, on the HUD 56. Thus, in cases in which the host vehicle is changing lanes from the current traveling lane of the host vehicle to a lane other than the current traveling lane, the occupant viewing the HUD 56 can easily be made aware of the presence of the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 that are relevant to the lane change. Since surrounding objects other than the first preceding vehicle 76 and the second preceding vehicle 78 are not displayed on the HUD 56, the display on the HUD 56 can be suppressed from appearing annoyingly cluttered to the occupant” ….display and animate only vehicle with color change around host vehicle based on change of important level, so display other vehicle with animation through color change when other vehicle entered the adjacent section from outside//exited the first adjacent section become important/not important related to host vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda and Endo teach all the limitation of claim 1, and further teach wherein the first adjacent section and the second adjacent section extend, in a traveling direction of the host vehicle, from a position corresponding to the host vehicle to a position corresponding to the preceding vehicle (Mimura et al.: Fig 6, par 0084-0092, “the target trajectory generator 144 sets a prohibition area RA prohibiting the presence of another vehicle in the adjacent lane L2, and in a case in which not even a part of another vehicle is present in the prohibition area RA, and each time-to-collision (TTC) between the subject vehicle M and the other vehicle m2 and the other vehicle m3 is longer than a threshold, it is determined that lane change can be performed. This determination condition is one example in a case in which a lane change target position TAs is set on a lateral side of the subject vehicle M. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for example, the target trajectory generator 144 projects the subject vehicle M to a lane L2 that is a lane change destination and sets a prohibition area RA having a predetermined margin distance in front of and behind the prohibition area. The prohibition area RA is set as an area extending from one end to the other end of the lane L2 in the horizontal direction (direction Y)”, Takeda: par 0079-0080, “A peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane L3, and therefore, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets the lane change target position candidate T3 at a space from a frontward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d to a rearward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d on the adjacent lane L3. That is, when a peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets one lane change target position candidate T in the entire detection region DR (in the entire adjacent lane L3) on the adjacent lane”).
Regarding claim 8, Mimura et al. as modified by Takeda and Endo teach all the limitation of claim 1, and further teach wherein each of the first adjacent section and the second adjacent section has a length corresponding to a length of the intervehicular section in a traveling direction of the host vehicle (Mimura et al.: Fig 6, par 0084-0092, “the target trajectory generator 144 sets a prohibition area RA prohibiting the presence of another vehicle in the adjacent lane L2, and in a case in which not even a part of another vehicle is present in the prohibition area RA, and each time-to-collision (TTC) between the subject vehicle M and the other vehicle m2 and the other vehicle m3 is longer than a threshold, it is determined that lane change can be performed. This determination condition is one example in a case in which a lane change target position TAs is set on a lateral side of the subject vehicle M. As illustrated in FIG. 6, for example, the target trajectory generator 144 projects the subject vehicle M to a lane L2 that is a lane change destination and sets a prohibition area RA having a predetermined margin distance in front of and behind the prohibition area. The prohibition area RA is set as an area extending from one end to the other end of the lane L2 in the horizontal direction (direction Y)”, Takeda: par 0079-0080, “A peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane L3, and therefore, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets the lane change target position candidate T3 at a space from a frontward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d to a rearward outer edge of the detection region DR with respect to the vehicle proceeding direction d on the adjacent lane L3. That is, when a peripheral vehicle is not present on the adjacent lane, the target position candidate setting part 111 sets one lane change target position candidate T in the entire detection region DR (in the entire adjacent lane L3) on the adjacent lane”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIN . GE
Examiner
Art Unit 2619
/JIN GE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619