DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 9, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Specifically, the following reference signs are not illustrated in the drawings:
Reference number 13 denoting the shielding layer
Reference number 171 denoting the third part
Reference number 172 denoting the fourth part
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al (Pat Num 2023/0114286, herein referred to Guo). Guo discloses a cable (Figs 1-5) which is capable of data transmission at a higher data transmission rate (Paragraph 2), while exhibiting improved electromagnetic shielding effect (Paragraph 39). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Guo discloses a cable (Fig 3) comprising a core wire (110, 120), a first shielding layer (131, 132) covering the core wire (110, 120) in a longitudinal manner (Paragraph 27), a second shield layer (top and bottom 150, i.e. cable may comprise two ground shields, Paragraph 37) and an outer sheath (140), wherein the first shielding layer (131, 132) has at least two parts (1311, 1321 & 1312, 1322) spaced apart to form adjacent portions (located at 1311, 1321 & 1312, 1322), the second shielding layer (top and bottom 150) has a plurality of parts (top and bottom 150) covering the adjacent portions (located at 1311, 1321 & 1312, 1322), and a width of each part (top and bottom 150) of the second shielding layer (top and bottom 150) is greater than a distance of the adjacent portions (located at 1311, 1321 & 1312, 1322, Fig 3 shows the top 150 being longer than the overlapping adjacent portions of 131 & 132 on the top and states that the cable may have a second 150 opposite the top 150, Paragraph 36). With respect to claim 3, Guo discloses that the adjacent portions (located at 1311, 1321 & 1312, 1322) define seams (Fig 3). With respect to claim 4, Guo discloses that the first shielding layer (131, 132) includes a first part (131) and a second part (132), the second shielding layer (top and bottom 150) includes a third part (top 150) and a fourth part (bottom 150, not shown), wherein the first part (131) and the second part (132) are arranged symmetrically along a first connecting line (horizontal line, Paragraph 27) and the third part (top 150) and the fourth part (bottom 150) are arranged symmetrically along a second connecting line (vertical line) perpendicular to the first connecting line (horizontal line, Fig 3, Paragraph 37). With respect to claim 5, Guo discloses that the core wire (110, 120) is a twin axial cable (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (Pat Num 2023/0114286) in view of Yonezawa et al (Pub Num 9,384,873, herein referred to as Yonezawa). Guo discloses a cable (Figs 1-5), which is capable of data transmission at a higher data transmission rate (Paragraph 2), while exhibiting improved electromagnetic shielding effect (Paragraph 39), as denoted with respect to claim 1 above. Specifically, with respect to claim 2, Guo discloses that the second shielding layer is made of metal (Paragraph 36) and the first shielding layer (131, 132) includes a base layer (i.e. polypropylene) and a metal layer (i.e. copper or aluminum) on the base layer (i.e. polypropylene), wherein the metal layer (i.e. copper or aluminum) faces outward toward the second shielding layer (top and bottom 150, Paragraph 35).
However, Guo doesn’t necessarily disclose the second shielding layers being made of pure metal or alloy material (claim 2).
Yonezawa teaches a cable (Figs 5A-5B), capable of reducing the occurrence of a skew and reliably supporting high speed transmission signals (Col 2, lines 10-15). Specifically, with respect to claim 2, Yonezawa teaches the cable (40, Fig 5A & 5B) comprises a core wire (11, 42), a shielding layer (top and bottom 45) covering the core wire (11, 42) in a longitudinal manner (Fig 5A), wherein the shielding conductor (top and bottom 45) has a plurality of parts (left and right 45), which may be made of pure metal (i.e. copper, Col 4, lines 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of Guo to comprise the second shielding layers being made of pure metal, such as copper as taught by Yonezawa because Yonezawa teaches that such a configuration provides a cable (Figs 5A-5B), capable of reducing the occurrence of a skew and reliably supporting high speed transmission signals (Col 2, lines 10-15) and since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various cables comprising various layers and/or shieldings.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
August 14, 2026