DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 12/09/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-12 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception unit”, “acceptance unit” in claims 1-10, and “lock function setting unit” in claims 6-8 use a generic placeholder (“configured to”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to perform the claimed functions of a 35 U.S.C. §112(f) limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “reception unit”, “acceptance unit”, and “lock function setting unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. That is, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the functions in the claims. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2014/0033090 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Yamada discloses an image processing apparatus (fig.1, Printer 1) having a plurality of home screens (figs.3-5) (Note: different user interfaces based on user ID input method), comprising:
a reception unit (fig.1, communication interface unit 15) configured to receive job information about a job based on a job setting set on an information processing apparatus ([0032], [0038], fig.2, and [0045]-[0062]) (Note: the printer receives, from a personal computer (PC) 2, a print job information based on printing settings/conditions through a communication interface unit 15); and
an acceptance unit (fig.1, controller 10) configured to accept, based on a fact that the job information received by the reception unit includes start condition information (fig.2, password) that is information relating to a home screen among the plurality of home screens (figs.3-5) and indicating a condition for starting processing based on the job information, an input of start condition information (figs.3-4, figs.8-9, [0117]-[0120] and [0130]-[0132]) (Note: the controller 10 accepts an input of a password (start condition information) based of the received printing settings/conditions including a password related to either the simple printing conditions change screen 42 (fig.3) or the detailed printing conditions change screen 44 (fig.4)).
Referring to claim 2, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the start condition information included in the job information received by the reception unit and the input of the start condition information accepted by the acceptance unit match, the image processing apparatus starts processing the job based on the job information ([0119]-[0121] and [0131]-[0134]) (Note: the controller 10 determines whether the password set in the security print job to be executed selected on the print job selection screen 43 and the password inputted on the password input screen are identical to each other. When the passwords are identical to each other, the controller 10 executes printing of the security print job to be executed).
Referring to claim 3, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the job information received by the reception unit does not include the start condition information, the image processing apparatus starts processing the job, based on a fact that the job information by the reception unit is received ([0117] and [0122]) (Note: when the controller 10 determines that the input of a password is not required (job information received does not include the start condition information), the controller 10 executes printing of the security print job to be executed).
Referring to claim 4, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the job information received by the reception unit includes password information, the acceptance unit accepts an input of a password set in the job information before the image processing apparatus starts processing the job ([0119]-[0121] and [0131]-[0134]) (Note: the controller 10 determines whether the password set in the security print job to be executed selected on the print job selection screen 43 and the password inputted on the password input screen are identical to each other. When the passwords are identical to each other, the controller 10 executes printing of the security print job to be executed).
Referring to claim 5, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the password of which input has been accepted by the acceptance unit and the password information included in the job information match, the image processing apparatus starts processing the job based on the job information ([0119]-[0121] and [0131]-[0134]) (Note: the controller 10 determines whether the password set in the security print job to be executed selected on the print job selection screen 43 and the password inputted on the password input screen are identical to each other. When the passwords are identical to each other, the controller 10 executes printing of the security print job to be executed).
Referring to claim 10, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising: a display unit (fig.1, operation/display unit 12) configured to display a password input screen for accepting the input of the password, wherein the acceptance unit accepts the input of the password on the password input screen ([0075]-[0076] and [0117]-[0119]) (Note: the controller 10 displays a password input screen 41 for accepting the input of the password).
Referring to claim 11, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 12, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Yamada further a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer of an image processing apparatus having a plurality of home screens to perform claim 1 ([0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Akuzawa (US 2017/0085731 A1).
Referring to claim 9, Yamada discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, a display unit (fig.1, operation/display unit 12) configured to display the plurality of home screens and the home screen corresponding to the start condition information as an input of the start condition information from among the plurality of home screens (figs.4-5).
Yamada fails to disclose a display unit configured to display software keys each for displaying a different one of the plurality of home screens, and wherein the acceptance unit accepts an input of a software key to display the home screen from among the plurality of home screens.
However, in the same field of endeavor of image processing apparatus, Akuzawa discloses a display unit (fig.1, display unit 119) configured to display software keys each for displaying a different one of the plurality of home screens, and wherein the acceptance unit accepts an input of a software key to display the home screen from among the plurality of home screens (figs.3A, 4A, [0056] and [0061]) (Note: Buttons 303 and 304 are arranged in the function selection area 302 for the purpose of activating the main menu screen and a custom menu screen that is generated by the custom menu control module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the image processing apparatus of Yamada with a display unit configured to display software keys each for displaying a different one of the plurality of home screens, and wherein the acceptance unit accepts an input of a software key to display the home screen from among the plurality of home screens as taught by Akuzawa. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve user’s experience by providing a display with personalized environments, quick access and organization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683