DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 22 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 December 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9, it appears “allows to elastic bending a first one” should read--allows elastic bending of a first one--
Claim 14, all abbreviated terms should be given the full term in paratheses
Claim 14, it appears “Polypropylen” should read --Polypropylene--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0173478 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Williams teaches a glove holder (20), comprising: a frame (28) that is capable of being attached to an outer side of a containment (25); a support (46, 48, 50, 58) that protrudes from said frame and is operable to carry an arm section of a glovebox glove (G) (via portion 50); at least two finger elements (60) formed at a free end of said support, each of the at least two finger elements being insertable into one finger section of said glovebox glove; a flexible section that allows to elastic bending a first one of the finger elements towards a second one of the finger elements of the at least two finger elements such that a lateral span (S; see annotation above) of the glove holder at a position of the finger elements is reducible (i.e.; the arms 46 of the support are bendable to be flexed between various positions; Para. 0071). Therefore, the span (S) between the fingers can be reduced.
In regards to claim 3, Williams teaches the flexible section is at least partially located on the support (i.e.; the arms 46 of the support are bendable to be flexed between various positions; Para. 0071).
In regards to claim 4, Williams teaches two or more of the at least two finger elements (60) are arranged in a common plane (along the top plane of 58).
In regards to claim 5, Williams teaches at least one of the finger elements (60) is arranged outside the common plane spanned by the two or more finger elements (i.e.; bending one of the arms 46 can move the fingers into different planes).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Williams teaches the at least two finger elements (60) are provided, at least in glove contact regions, with a surface of a material with reduced friction (claim 7); wherein the surface of the material with reduced friction comprises plastic material (claim 8; Para. 0067).
In regards to claim 9, Williams teaches the flexible section has an elongated cross section (the passage 44 can be oval; (Para. 0070); and matches the shape of the arms 46; Para. 0034).
In regards to claim 10, Williams teaches the first finger element (60) has a bending direction oriented towards the second finger element (60) (i.e.; the fingers can bend toward each other via the bending section of arms 46).
In regards to claim 12, Williams teaches the at least two finger elements (60) comprise outer finger elements and inner finger elements, and the outer finger elements are attached to the support at a distance from where the inner finger elements are attached to the support (i.e.; the outer fingers are attached at the outer ends of 58 in Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 13, Williams teaches the first finger element (60) is made of plastic (Para. 0067).
In regards to claim 15, Williams teaches at least two of the finger elements have different geometry (e.g.; the fingers of 62b, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0173478 A1) in view of Fenohr (US Pat. No. 907,137).
In regards to claims 2, 6, 11 and 16, Williams does not teach the flexible section is at least partially located on at least the first finger element of the at least two finger elements (claim 2); the at least one of the finger elements has the flexible section (claim 6); the at least two finger elements comprise at least two of the first finger elements that each have a flexible section that allows bending of each of the first finger elements towards at least one of the other of the first finger elements or the second finger element (claim 11); and wherein two of the outer finger elements have a coinciding springiness (claim 16).
Fenohr teaches a glove holder having at least two finger elements (3), including inner and outer finger elements, wherein flexible sections in the form of elastic pivots and springs (4, 6) are located on the fingers such that the flexible section is at least partially located on at least the first finger element of the at least two finger elements (claim 2); the at least one of the finger elements has the flexible section (claim 6); the at least two finger elements comprise at least two of the first finger elements that each have a flexible section that allows bending of each of the first finger elements towards at least one of the other of the first finger elements or the second finger element (claim 11); and wherein two of the outer finger elements have a coinciding springiness (claim 16). See Page 1, Lines 25-51.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Williams’s glove holder such that the flexible section is at least partially located on at least the first finger element of the at least two finger elements (claim 2); the at least one of the finger elements has the flexible section (claim 6); the at least two finger elements comprise at least two of the first finger elements that each have a flexible section that allows bending of each of the first finger elements towards at least one of the other of the first finger elements or the second finger element (claim 11); and wherein two of the outer finger elements have a coinciding springiness (claim 16). The motivation would be for the purpose of allowing the fingers to be separated as desired, and any may be pulled forward so that a glove placed thereon may be readily cleaned at the bases or roots of and between the fingers as taught by Fenohr (Page 1, Lines 45-51).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0173478 A1) in view of Pitcher (US Pat. No. 4,697,724).
In regards to claim 14, Williams does not teach the plastic comprises at least one of POM, PDM, EPDM (ethylene propylene diene monomer), PP (Polypropylen), Silicon or a POM PTFE blend.
Pitcher teaches a glover holder have finger elements made of polypropylene (Col 2, Lines 56-58).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Williams’s finger element to be made of polypropylene. The motivation would be for the purpose of using resilient high impact plastic as taught by Pitcher (Col 1, Lines 62-66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to the Applicant’s disclosed invention.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631