DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an evaporation device configured to direct a refrigerant through the pressure vessel and at least one fluid direction device configured to direct a drinking fluid around the evaporation device in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the inlet and the outlet” but should instead read “an evaporation coil inlet and an evaporation coil outlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittington (GB 2 343 243) in view of Osawa (JP 2001-294297, see attached English translation).
As to claims 1-2, 6, and 15, Whittington teaches an evaporator comprising:
a pressure vessel 10 comprising an inlet 17 configured to couple to a water source and an outlet 18 configured to fluidly couple to a beverage dispenser (Fig. 1); and
an evaporation device/coil 11 configured to direct a refrigerant through vessel 10; wherein a drinking fluid is directed around the evaporation device 11 to facilitate heat exchange, and the drinking fluid enters the vessel 10 via the inlet and exits the vessel 10 via the outlet 18 for dispensing (Fig. 1).
Whittington does not explicitly teach a fluid direction device as claimed. However, Osawa teaches using a baffle 7/9a-d for directing fluid flow around cooling coils in a pressure vessel to increase heat exchange capabilities (Figs. 1-3). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Whittington to incorporate a baffle as a fluid direction device as claimed and taught by Osawa in order to increase the cooling capacity of the apparatus.
As to claim 3, Whittington does not teach an evaporation coil structure as claimed. However, Osawa teaches using coils 5/6 with three portions arranged concentrically to increase heat transfer (Figs. 1-2). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Whittington to incorporate an evaporation coil as claimed and taught by Osawa in order to increase the cooling capacity of the apparatus.
As to claim 4, Whittington teaches the coil 11 in fluid connection with an evaporation coil inlet and an evaporation coil outlet (page 4, lines 10-15; coil 11 is part of a refrigeration system and therefore necessarily has an inlet and outlet as claimed).
As to claim 5, Osawa teaches the coil 11 having fins 9a-d (Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, Osawa teaches three baffles 9a-d as claimed (Fig. 1).
As to claim 8, the baffles of Osawa include openings to direct the fluid (Fig. 1).
As to claims 9-10, Osawa teaches the baffle having fins 9a-d (Fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Whittington does not include an intermediate fluid between the refrigerant and drinking fluid.
As to claims 12 and 16, Whittington teaches a pump 16.
As to claim 13, Whittington does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor as claimed. However, Official Notice is taken that use of a temperature sensor in an ice bank is a common and typical feature of a refrigeration system that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the apparatus of Whittington for the purpose of monitoring and controlling the system to operate in a desirable manner.
As to claims 17-18, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejections above.
As to claims 19-20, Whittington teaches the evaporator 11 connected to a refrigeration circuit (page 4, lines 10-11) but is otherwise silent regarding the refrigeration components. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the reference by having a condenser and/or a heat pipe, since applicant has not disclosed that having a particular refrigerant cooling configuration solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected result, and it appears that the system would perform equally well with any readily available means of cooling the refrigerant.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittington and Osawa as applied above, and further in view of Fessler (US 4,934,150).
As to claim 14, Whittington does not explicitly teach a vessel cap. However, Fessler teaches use of such a vessel cap (Fig. 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Whittington to use a vessel cap as claimed and taught by Fessler in order to protect the contents of the vessel 10 from outside contamination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed 8/7/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Whittington (GB 2 343 243) and Osawa (JP 2001-294297) as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763