Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Element 368 is applied to both “alignment marks” in Paragraph [0090], and to “lock tab receptacle” in Paragraph [0096].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, 16, and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the first member end”, which is likely a typographical error as “a member first end” is recited earlier within the claim. This objection also applies to Claims 14 and 19.
Claim 16 recites “the locking surface” twice when discussing the second pliable member. This is likely a typographical error and is intended to reference the appropriately introduced “second locking surface”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intention.
Claim 20 recites “the guide rail”, which is likely a typographical error as “the guide rail” lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner suggests this instead read as “a guide rail”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sonntag et al. (US 20220003345 A1), herein after referred to as "Sonntag".
Regarding Claim 1, Sonntag teaches a carrier assembly for engaging a hose (FIG. 1a, fastening device (200) and suction hose (36)) comprising: a mount comprising: an inside mount surface, an outside mount surface (FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228) with visible surfaces); a pliable member comprising a member body configured with a member first end, a member second end (Para [0093] in view of FIG. 3d, second fastening element (238), "configured as cable tie elements 240"), wherein when the pliable member is in an engaged position on or with the mount, the first member end is engaged to the member second end (Para [0095] in view of FIGS. 3a and 3d, the recesses (245) engage with the elevations (247) in a connected state on the second fastening interface (210)).
Regarding Claim 9, Sonntag teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the inside mount surface comprises an at least one mount rib (Sonntag, see Annotated Figure 3c), wherein the pliable member comprises a member inner surface, and wherein the member inner surface comprises an at least one member rib (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, the plurality of recesses (245) form ribs between each consecutive arrangement).
Regarding Claim 19, Sonntag teaches a carrier assembly for engaging a hose (FIG. 1a, fastening device (200) and suction hose (36)) comprising: a mount comprising: an inside mount surface, an outside mount surface (FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228) surfaces visible); and a pliable member comprising a member body configured with a member first end, and a member second end (Para [0093] in view of FIG. 3d, second fastening element (238), "configured as cable tie elements 240"), wherein the pliable member is engaged on or with the outside mount surface, and wherein after being engaged on or with the outside mount surface, the first member end is engaged to the member second end (Paras [0093] and [0095] in view of FIGS. 3a and 3d, the recesses (245) engage with the elevations (247) in a connected state on the second fastening interface (210), and wherein the outer surface of the first fastening element (228) has guide tracks (242) for the cable tie elements (240)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of Sylvester (US 10329063 B2), herein after referred to as “Sylvester”.
Regarding Claim 2, Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 1, the mount (FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228)), and a receptacle (FIG. 3d, two fastening element receptacles (236)).
Sonntag does not teach a locking surface configured with a lock tab receptacle, and the pliable member further comprises a lock tab.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Sylvester teaches a locking surface configured with a lock tab receptacle, and the pliable member further comprises a lock tab (Sylvester, FIGS. 9-10, guide pocket (86) and locking tabs (58)).
Sylvester teaches a cable tie strap (50) having locking tabs (58) engaged against a raised member (84) to prevent removal from a buckle (80) (Col. 2, lines 63-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-9). Similarly, Sonntag discloses reusable cable tie elements (240) that are intended to be movable relative to the first fastening element (228) (Para [0028] and [0093]). It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Sylvester such that the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240) include locking tabs (Sylvester, item 58) as to secure the cable tie elements to the first fastening element (228). To receive the locking tabs, the fastening element receptacles (Sonntag, item 236) may abut against the locking tabs (Sylvester, item 58), similar to the raised members of the guide pocket abutting against the locking tabs (Sylvester, items 84 and 86, respectively, in view of FIG. 9). One would be motivated to do this in support of producing a more efficient design, wherein Sonntag teaches that the suction hose (36) is secured to the suction hose receptacle (105) to prevent rotation (Para [0066]), but remarks that the second fastening elements (238, embodied as cable tie elements 240) should be configured to be movable relative to the first fastening element (228) such that it is possible to accommodate a variety of suction hose sizes, and such that the hose may be quickly detached and reconnected at a user’s discretion “without the use of tools” (Paras [0028-0029]). However, as the cable tie elements move “relative to the first fastening elements”, this can result in the suction hose rotating with the cable tie elements relative to the first fastening element (228) (Sonntag, Para [0093]). The cable tie strap (50) disclosed by Sylvester, by comparison, is secured in place relative to the buckle (80) (Sylvester, Col. 2, lines 63-67, and Col. 3, lines 1-9). Someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would be motivated to combine Sonntag in view of Sylvester such that the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240) have rotation mitigated by the inclusion of locking tabs (Sylvester, item 58) into the apparatus, which prevents the suction hose (36) from also rotating. This implementation would not affect the attaching or detaching elements for securing a suction hose (i.e. Sonntag, recesses (245) and elevations (247)), or the ability to accommodate a variety of hose sizes.
Regarding Claim 3, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sylvester further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein in the engaged position, the lock tab is inserted into the lock tab receptacle (Sylvester, Col. 2, lines 32-34, locking tabs (58) lock the cable tie strap (50) into position; see also Sonntag, Para [0095], the recesses (245) and elevations (247) may connect with each other in a connected state to hold onto a hose).
Regarding Claim 4, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sylvester further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 3, the carrier assembly further comprising: a second pliable member comprising a respective member body, a respective member first end, a respective member second end (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, two cable tie elements (240)), and a respective lock tab, wherein the mount comprises a second locking surface with a respective lock tab receptacle (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, two cable tie elements (240) which share structural features (i.e. recesses (245), elevations (247), and so forth); see also Sylvester, FIGS. 9-10, guide pocket (86) and locking tabs (58)).
Regarding Claim 5, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 4, wherein the second pliable member is in a respective engaged position with the second locking surface (Sylvester, FIGS. 9-10, guide pocket (86) and locking tabs (58)), and wherein the respective member first end is engaged to the respective member second end (Sonntag, Para [0095], recesses (245) and elevations (247)).
Regarding Claim 6, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teach the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 3, and the carrier assembly (Sonntag, FIG. 3a, fastening device (200)).
Sonntag in view of Sylvester does not explicitly teach a second mount comprising: a respective inside mount surface, a respective outside mount surface, and a respective slot or receptacle.
However, pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-B, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to which the claimed invention pertains, to have included a second mount, having an inside mount surface and an outside mount surface, and a respective slot or receptacle, as it has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As evidenced by the lack of criticality within the specification describing that two mounts are required (i.e. “further may include a second mount”, see Paragraph [0015]), the claimed quantity of mounts would be considered an obvious duplication of parts to one having ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the additional mount combined into the invention of Modified Sonntag would perform the same function(s) as those already present, and thus the modification would have predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success, with the same advantageous benefits of the existing mount (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228)) of Modified Sonntag.
Regarding Claim 14, Sonntag teaches a carrier assembly for engaging a hose (FIG. 1a, fastening device (200) and suction hose (36)), comprising: a mount comprising: an inside mount surface, an outside mount surface (FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228) surfaces visible), and a pliable member comprising a member body configured with a member first end and a member second end (FIG. 3d, cable tie elements (240) wherein the first member end is engaged to the member second end (Para [0095] in view of FIGS. 3a and 3d, the recesses (245) engage with the elevations (247) in a connected state on the second fastening interface (210)).
Sonntag does not explicitly teach a locking surface configured with a lock tab receptacle, a lock tab, the pliable member is engaged on or with the locking surface, and the lock tab inserted into the lock tab receptacle.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Sylvester teaches a locking surface configured with a lock tab receptacle (FIGS. 9-10, guide pocket (86)), a lock tab (FIGS. 9-10, locking tabs (58)), the pliable member is engaged on or with the locking surface, and the lock tab inserted into the lock tab receptacle (Col. 2, lines 32-34 in view of FIG. 9, locking tabs (58), inserted into the guide pocket (86) lock the cable tie strap (50) into position).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Sylvester such that the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240) include locking tabs (Sylvester, item 58) for immobilizing the cable tie elements relative to the fastening element receptacles (Sonntag, item 236, see FIG. 3d). One would be motivated to do this in support of producing a more efficient design, wherein Sonntag teaches the suction hose receptacle (105) secures the suction hose (36) against rotation (Para [0066]), but remarks the cable tie elements (240) are intended to move relative to the first fastening element (228) (Para 0093]) to accommodate a variety of suction hose sizes, and such that the hose may be quickly detached and reconnected at a user’s discretion “without the use of tools” (Paras [0028-0029]). Someone who has ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to include locking tabs (Sylvester, item 58) with the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240) to prevent rotation of the suction hose (Sonntag, item 36, see Para [0066]) through the fixing of the cable tie elements relative to the first fastening element (Sonntag, item 228), wherein the capability of the cable tie elements to receive a variety of hose sizes, and the efficiency of attaching and detaching a suction hose, would be unhindered, thus producing a modification with a reasonable expectation for success with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 14, the carrier assembly further comprising a second pliable member comprising a respective member body, a respective member first end, a respective member second end (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, two cable tie elements (240)), and a respective lock tab (Sylvester, FIGS. 9-10, locking tabs (58)).
Regarding Claim 16, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further discloses the carrier assembly of claim 15, wherein the mount (Sonntag, FIG. 3a, first fastening element (228)) comprises a second locking surface with a respective lock tab receptacle (Sylvester, FIGS. 9-10, guide pocket (86); see also Sonntag FIG. 3d, two fastening element receptacles (236) for two cable tie elements (240)), wherein the second pliable member is engaged with the locking surface (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, two cable tie elements (240) engaged with fastening element receptacles (236); see also Sylvester, FIG. 9, guide pocket (86)), and wherein after being engaged with the locking surface, the respective member first end is engaged to the respective member second end (Sonntag, Para [0095] in view of FIGS. 3a and 3d, the recesses (245) engage with the elevations (247) in a connected state on the second fastening interface (210)).
Claim(s) 7-8, and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of Sylvester (US 10329063 B2), and in further view of Nguyen (WO 2022232272 A1), herein after referred to as "Nguyen".
Regarding Claim 7, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teach the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 3, and the mount (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228)).
Additionally, regarding Claim 17, Sonntag in view of Sylvester also teach the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 16, and the mount (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, first fastening element (228)).
For both Claims 7 and 17, Sonntag in view of Sylvester does not explicitly teach a guide rail, and wherein a deadman assembly is coupled with the guide rail.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Nguyen teaches, for both Claims 7 and 17, a guide rail, and wherein a deadman assembly is coupled with the guide rail (Paras [00235] and [00240] in view of FIG. 11B, the deadman assembly, having a frame (1142), may further comprise a “rail/handle portion 1142c”, wherein the frame (1142) “may be used with any deadman assembly (e.g., 215, 915, etc.)”; see also Para [00277] in view of FIG. 14, wherein the blast hose (1404) is coupled with the deadman assembly (1415)).
Nguyen teaches an abrasive blasting system, including a blast hose and a deadman assembly coupled with the blast hose (Abstract). It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Sylvester, and in further view of Nguyen, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200), including the lock tabs and receptacles (Sylvester, items 58 and 86, respectively), are further modified to include a rail and a deadman assembly coupled onto the rail (Nguyen, items 1415 and 1142c, where the blast hose (1404) is described as being coupled to the deadman assembly (1415) and, as observed in FIG. 14, connected to the rail/handle portion (1142c) of the frame (1142)). One would be motivated to do this as to provide additional safety features that can be coupled to the blast hose, wherein the deadman assembly is engaged in promoting a “fast, responsive shutoff system” (Nguyen, Abstract and Para [00296]).
Regarding Claim 8, Sonntag in view of Sylvester, and in further view of Nguyen teach the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 7, wherein the inside mount surface comprises an at least one mount rib (Sonntag, see Annotated Figure 3c).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of Nguyen (WO 2022232272 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 19, and the carrier assembly (FIG. 3a, fastening device (200)).
Sonntag does not explicitly teach a deadman assembly that is coupled with the guide rail.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Nguyen teaches a deadman assembly that is coupled with the guide rail (Paras [00235] and [00240] in view of FIG. 11B, the deadman assembly, having a frame (1142), may further comprise a “rail/handle portion 1142c”, wherein the frame (1142) “may be used with any deadman assembly (e.g., 215, 915, etc.)”; see also Para [00277] in view of FIG. 14, wherein the blast hose (1404) is coupled with the deadman assembly (1415)).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Nguyen, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200) is modified to include a rail and a deadman assembly coupled onto the rail (Nguyen, items 1415 and 1142c, where the blast hose (1404) is described as being coupled to the deadman assembly (1415) and, as observed in FIG. 14, connected to the rail/handle portion (1142c) of the frame (1142)). One would be motivated to do this as to provide additional safety elements that can be coupled to the blast hose, wherein the deadman assembly is engaged in promoting a “fast, responsive shutoff system” (Nguyen, Abstract and Para [00296]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of view of Birli et al. (US 20100155545 A1), herein after referred to as "Birli".
Regarding Claim 10, Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 9, and the pliable member (FIG. 3d, cable tie elements (240)).
Sonntag does not explicitly teach a first clamp is disposed around the pliable member.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Birli teaches a first clamp is disposed around the pliable member (Para [0094] in view of FIGS. 16-17, latch mechanism (414)).
Birli teaches a pipe support system, and in the specific embodiment discussed, teaches an alternative support (400) having a top portion (404) supporting a pipe, wherein a solid strap (410) with slots (412) surrounds the pipe and engages with a latch mechanism (414) (Birli, Abstract and Para [0094] in view of FIGS. 16-17). It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Birli, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200) is modified to include a latch mechanism (Birli, item 414). Here, the latch mechanism, having a protrusion (416) hooking “downward to engage a slot 412 of the strap”, effectively secures the pipe being supported, with the benefit of allowing users to further secure a pipe by “stretching the strap tighter” as to restrict axial movement (Birli, Paras [0018] and [0094]). Someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would be motivated to combine the load-securing benefits of a latch mechanism to the apparatus disclosed by such that the latch mechanism (Birli, item 414) may further secure the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240), and may work in cooperation with the present securing elements (i.e. Sonntag, items 245 and 247) to restrict axial movement of the suction hose (Sonntag, item 36) in the first fastening element (Sonntag, item 228).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view Rorick (US 20130312309 A1), herein after referred to as "Rorick".
Regarding Claim 11, Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 1, and the outside mount surface comprises a receptacle (FIG. 3b, first fastening element (228) and fastening element receptacles (236)).
Sonntag does not explicitly teach an alignment indicator in order to facilitate for a securing member to engage the receptacle.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Rorick discloses an alignment indicator in order to facilitate for a securing member to engage the receptacle (Para [0042] in view of FIGS. 3A-3B and 5, quick detachable accessory mount (10) has a pivoting jaw (24) in order to facilitate a wedge (22) engaging a shaft (58) in the through hole (62)).
Rorick teaches a quick detachable mount for engaging with a rail mounting apparatus (Abstract). When the wedge (22) is “biased to the in-position”, the pivoting jaw (24) of the quick detachable accessory mount (10) is secured to a rail portion. However, when the button (14) is depressed, the wedge (22) is biased from an “in-position” to an “out-position”, resulting in a pivoting jaw (24) disengaging with the rail, and allowing a user to quickly disconnect, or quickly reconnect, a mount (10) (Rorick, Paras [0042-0043]). The pivoting jaw (24) separating from the rail also allows a user to visually observe alignment of the pivoting jaw (24) and stationary jaw (26) relative to the rail they are engaging with (see Rorick, FIGS. 3A-3B). It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Rorick, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200) is modified to include the quick detachable accessory mount (10) elements for fastening a mount to a rail. This can be incorporated to replace the first fastening interface (204), wherein the fastening means (206) is configured for “the rigid and detachable fastening of the fastening device 200” to an external mount (Sonntag, Para [0070]). Someone having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized at the time the invention was made that the capabilities or functions of the combinations were predictable with a reasonable expectation for success. Furthermore, someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would be motivated to make this combination in support of incorporating the quick attachment and detachment benefits of the apparatus disclosed by Rorick to the apparatus of Sonntag, “wherein the quick detachable mount can be operated with one hand for mounting or detaching the mount from a mounting location” (Rorick, Abstract).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of STÅLESEN (WO 2021093978 A1), herein after referred to as "Stalesen".
Regarding Claim 12, Sonntag teaches the carrier assembly of claim 1, the carrier assembly, and the pliable member (FIGS. 3a and 3d, fastening device (200) and cable tie elements (240)).
Sonntag does not explicitly teach a clip body having a clip extension engaged with the pliable member.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Stalesen teaches a clip body having a clip extension engaged with the pliable member (Page 12, lines 2-7 and 23-25 in view of FIG. 4, support device (14) further comprises primary coupling portions (30) having protrusions engaged with the sleeves (24)).
Stalesen teaches a support device (14) for providing support to an abrasive blasting hose. It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Stalesen, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200) is modified to include a primary coupling portion (Stalesen, item 30) having protrusions for engagement with the cable tie elements (Sonntag, item 240). Someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would be motivated to make this combination in support of incorporating the axial movement-limiting benefits the protrusions have between the support device (14) and the hose axis (22) when engaged with the sleeve (24) (Stalesen, Page 9, lines 14-17), wherein the protrusions, engaged with a plurality of recesses (Stalesen, FIG. 4, item 34), could also engage with the plurality of recesses of the cable tie elements (Sonntag, items 245 and 240) to prevent axial movement of the abrasive hose relative to the first fastening element.
Regarding Claim 13, Sonntag in view of Stalesen teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 12, wherein the clip body has a clip extension rib engaged with a grooved surface (Stalesen, Page 12, lines 23-25 in view of FIG. 4, protrusions engaged with recesses (34) in the sleeves (24)) of the pliable member (Sonntag, FIG. 3d, cable tie elements (240)).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonntag (US 20220003345 A1) in view of Sylvester (US 10329063 B2), and in further view of Goss (US 9651169 B1), herein after referred to as "Goss".
Regarding Claim 18, Sonntag in view of Sylvester teach the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Sonntag further teaches the carrier assembly of claim 15, wherein the carrier assembly is configured to allow for freedom of rotational movement between the carrier assembly and the hose positioned therein (Sonntag, Paras [0066] and [0091], wherein the suction hose receptacle (105) secures the suction hose (36) against rotation through “the positive-locking element 107” (i.e. positive-locking), whereas the first fastening element (228) is only “partially engaging around the suction hose (36), with the cable tie elements (240) being connectable to themselves in either a positively locking or non-positively locking fashion) and the hose (Sonntag, FIG. 1a, fastening device (200) and suction hose (36)).
Sonntag in view of Sylvester does not explicitly teach the carrier assembly is configured to prevent or mitigate longitudinal movement between the same.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Goss teaches the carrier assembly is configured to prevent or mitigate longitudinal movement between the same (Goss, Abstract in view of FIG. 2, wherein the ridges (17) are angled to prevent the hose handle (1) from being forced back along the length of the hose (13) during operation).
Goss teaches a hose handle that is easily attached and detached, and has a plurality of grips (12), having ridges (17), to prevent the hose handle from being forced back along the length of the hose (13) (Goss, Abstract and Col. 3, lines 14-19). Similarly, Sonntag teaches that a suction hose may experience rotation when inserted into the first fastening element (228) (Sonntag, Paras [0066] and [0093]), and wherein this rotation is mitigated through usage of the locking tabs, receptacles (Sylvester, items 86 and 58), and through the second fastening elements (Sonntag, Para [0094], cable tie elements 240 may be affixed in a “non-positively and/or positively locking fashion”), but not entirely ceased. It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Sonntag in view of Sylvester, and in further view of Goss, such that the fastening device (Sonntag, item 200), including the lock tabs and receptacles (Sylvester, items 58 and 86, respectively), are further modified to include ridges (Goss, item 17) within the inner mount surface for the mitigation of longitudinal movement of the hose. Someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to make this combination in light of the benefits described by Goss, wherein a more convenient and comfortable user experience is offered due to the hose being unable to translate along its own axis with respect to the hose handle (Goss, Col. 1, lines 23-27, 44-49, and 53-54 ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lessard (US 5522761 A) teaches a radial grip remote control for a blasting machine, having a trigger and a bearing assembly that permits the rotation of a hose during a depressurized state of operation, but seizes the hose against movement when pressurized.
Webber (US 20220090703 A1) teaches a mount and pliable member.
Lasser et al. (US 12636754 B2) teaches a handle assembly for a media blast hose.
/JON M HEGEMIER/Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /ROBERT F NEIBAUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723