DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention and/or species, and corresponding claims is acknowledged. The election has been made without traverse. Non-elected claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
Plasma cleaning an item by contacting the item with plasma; and a computer turns the plasma on and off based on alignment of the plasma generator and item. Plasma cleaning is a dry, chemical-free industrial process that uses ionized gas to remove microscopic organic contaminants, oils, and oxides from material surfaces.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
plasma irradiating portion
driving unit
controlling unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 1-11, it is unclear what irradiate means in the context of the claims; e.g., “irradiating plasma” in claim 1 and “the plasma is irradiated after the irradiation of the plasma is started” in claim 2.
Does irradiating mean generating the plasma or that the plasma is irradiated by something?
In reference to claim 1, the claim limitation “the controlling unit configured to control the plasma irradiating portion…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Applicant intends to claim a specialized programmed controller not to refer to an intended use of a known controller, however, Applicant fails to disclose any specifics regarding the controller structure. The specification fails to disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function. Generally reciting that a controller performs a method is not an algorithm. See MPEP 2181:
For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
To claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function and then to disclose only a general purpose computer as the structure designed to perform that function amounts to pure functional claiming.
Accordingly, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate if the specification discloses no corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor.
Mere reference to a general purpose computer with appropriate programming without providing an explanation of the appropriate programming, or simply reciting “software” without providing detail about the means to accomplish a specific software function, would not be an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In this case there is no disclosure of any algorithm. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250121416 A1)
In reference to claim 1, Huang discloses a cleaning apparatus for cleaning an original with plasma (Fig 7 and relation portions of the specification), comprising:
a stage for holding the original (Fig 7 at element 311 shows a stage for holding the original);
a plasma irradiating portion for irradiating plasma; (Fig 7 at element 4 shows a plasma irradiating portion for irradiating plasma)
a driving unit for adjusting a relative position of the stage and the plasma irradiating portion; and (Fig 7 at element 511 shows a driving unit for adjusting a relative position of the stage and the plasma irradiating portion)
a user controlled controlling unit configured to control the plasma irradiating portion and the driving unit to start an irradiation of the plasma when a pattern portion included in the original and the plasma irradiating portion do not face each other (“the control device controls the plasma cleaning machine to clean the target tool, the plasma cleaning machine is mainly controlled to clean the cleaning plate in the target tool” [P0019]).
Huang explains that: “a start button of the plasma cleaning machine is pressed or a start operation on the plasma cleaning machine is performed on the human-machine interaction module, so that the plasma cleaning machine will send a cleaning start instruction to the control device, and the control device will start to control the plasma cleaning machine to perform the cleaning operation on the target tool in response to the cleaning start instruction.” (P0091) but not indicate the plasma is generated before the item is aligned.
The Huang device is capable of the intended use because a user could activate the plasma before the item is aligned with the plasma generator and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 2-3 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1 and is capable of the recited intended use.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See Oak Ridge DoE presentation 2011 re plasma cleaning attached. https://proceedings.jacow.org/PAC2011/talks/thocs3_talk.pdf
See “Intro to plasma cleaning” A youtube video located by Ben Krasnow (“Applied Science” channel) at URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atVSxvbiPg0 The video shows that plasma cleaning relies on a mix of chemical and physical actions inside a vacuum chamber: Ultraviolet Light: Shortwave UV breaks down tough hydrocarbon and grease bonds. Oxidation: Reactive oxygen species act like a flameless fire, turning organic dirt into volatile gases like carbon dioxide that pump away. Physical Bombardment: Energetic ions act like a microscopic sandblaster to knock loose surface debris.
See plasma cleaning at US 20180019106 A1 and US 5837094 A.
Examiner has utilized USPTO approved search resources, such as EIC or external tools, beyond routine search tools and/or leveraged experts in the field. Examiner has cited and explained the relevance of prior art not used in rejections but pertinent to the claims or disclosure. Examiner has provided detailed search documentation through detailed Search Notes, such as annotated search results that identify which data sets were reviewed. When citing the prior art examiner has used annotations clearly in prior art rejections such as, using item-to-item matching to the prior art, pairing exact claim language to particular language used in the prior art, and/or clearly explaining examiner’s interpretation as to how a citation maps to claim language especially when there is not a one-to-one matching of terms.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744