DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed on 6/15/2026.
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 6/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the concurrently filed claim amendments. Therefore, the previously rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is made using newly discovered reference Poitau et al. (US 2016/0142898), where the merits of the Poitau et al. reference are addressed in the following sections of this Office Action (all of which is incorporated by reference into this section of this Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 18-20 are concurrently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Poitau et al. (US 2016/0142898: hereinafter “Poitau”)
With regards to claim 1, Poitau teaches a method (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the method (method steps) are implemented by circuitry of the network node (including at least one eNB, and/or base station), as addressed in more detail below), comprising:
generating configuration information (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the network node generates configuration information including the particular Zadoff-Chu (ZC) root sequence (among a plurality of ZC root/base sequences) as well as particular cyclic shift (CS) among a plurality of CSs, which is transmitted and implemented by at least one receiving UE (or WTRU), see at least [0155+0169+0174+0176] and [0220-0226] and [0498] and [0550]. The downlink configuration/signaling (addressed above) being conveyed via RRC/Layer3 (or Layer2/MAC-CE or Layer1/PHY).
Additionally but not exclusively [0063+0065+0066] and [0072+0073] addresses that the network devices (and network node), where the Mobile IP home agent of the network devise “may be responsible for IP address management”, where the uplink and downlink signals (between the UE and eNB) are IP compliant packets. Where by technical/engineering definition and IP packet including at least the IP destination address of each intended receiver device (i.e. future downlink transmission including configuration information are contained in the IP packet including the IP destination addressed for each of the intended receiving UEs)) comprising a device address of one or more devices (previously addressed) and sequence configuration information (previously addressed), wherein the sequence configuration information (previously addressed) comprises first quantities of cyclic shift positions that correspond to the one or more devices (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the network node generates configuration information including the particular Zadoff-Chu (ZC) root sequence (among a plurality of ZC root/base sequences) as well as particular cyclic shift (CS) among a plurality of CSs, which is transmitted to and implemented by at least one receiving UE (or WTRU), see at least [0155+0169+0174+0176] and [0220-0226] and [0497+0498] and [0550]. The downlink configuration/signaling (addressed above) being conveyed via RRC/Layer3 (or Layer2/MAC-CE or Layer1/PHY) as addressed in the cited paragraphs above.
Additionally, in [0220] states “The discovery sequence index may then be linked to the device or service identification via higher layer association”, in regards to the particular ZC root sequence and particular CS value of the particular ZC root sequence in the context above. Note that the discovery sequence implements the particular ZC root sequence and particular CS value of the particular ZC root sequence), wherein the first quantities of cyclic shift positions are configured to cyclically shift a first sequence in a sequence set (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), wherein a periodic auto-correlation side lobe amplitude of any second sequence in the sequence set is 0 (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where each root ZC sequence (in the plurality of root ZC sequences) is a Contant Amplitude Zero Autocorrelation (CAZAC) sequence, see [0226]. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and
wherein quantities that are of cyclic shift positions and that correspond to devices completing different services in the one or more devices are different (previously addressed and/or readily apparent; also see at least [0174] and [0220], in regards to the particular ZC and particular CS of the particular ZC being tied/link to the particular ‘service’ or ‘service class’ (among a plurality of different services or different service classes) for UEs); and
sending the configuration information (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 12, Poitau teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the method (method steps) are implemented by circuitry of the network node (including at least eNB and/or base station), as addressed in more detail below), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the functions are implemented by circuitry of the network node (e.g. eNB, and/or base station). Furthermore, see [0580] which states the network node (e.g. base station and/or RNC, etc) may include memory storing program instructions which when executed by at least one processor implement the invention of Poitau in regards to the radio frequency transceiver of the base station (e.g. eNB), RNC, or any host computer); and
one or more processors (previously addressed) coupled to the memory (previously addressed) and configured to execute the instructions (previously addressed) to (addressed below):
generate configuration information (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the network node generates configuration information including the particular Zadoff-Chu (ZC) root sequence (among a plurality of ZC root/base sequences) as well as particular cyclic shift (CS) among a plurality of CSs, which is transmitted and implemented by at least one receiving UE (or WTRU), see at least [0155+0169+0174+0176] and [0220-0226] and [0498] and [0550]. The downlink configuration/signaling (addressed above) being conveyed via RRC/Layer3 (or Layer2/MAC-CE or Layer1/PHY).
Additionally but not exclusively [0063+0065+0066] and [0072+0073] addresses that the network devices (and network node), where the Mobile IP home agent of the network devise “may be responsible for IP address management”, where the uplink and downlink signals (between the UE and eNB) are IP compliant packets. Where by technical/engineering definition and IP packet including at least the IP destination address of each intended receiver device (i.e. future downlink transmission including configuration information are contained in the IP packet including the IP destination addressed for each of the intended receiving UEs)) comprising a device address of one or more devices (previously addressed) and sequence configuration information (previously addressed), wherein the sequence configuration information (previously addressed) comprises first quantities of cyclic shift positions that correspond to the one or more devices (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the network node generates configuration information including the particular Zadoff-Chu (ZC) root sequence (among a plurality of ZC root/base sequences) as well as particular cyclic shift (CS) among a plurality of CSs, which is transmitted to and implemented by at least one receiving UE (or WTRU), see at least [0155+0169+0174+0176] and [0220-0226] and [0497+0498] and [0550]. The downlink configuration/signaling (addressed above) being conveyed via RRC/Layer3 (or Layer2/MAC-CE or Layer1/PHY) as addressed in the cited paragraphs above.
Additionally, in [0220] states “The discovery sequence index may then be linked to the device or service identification via higher layer association”, in regards to the particular ZC root sequence and particular CS value of the particular ZC root sequence in the context above. Note that the discovery sequence implements the particular ZC root sequence and particular CS value of the particular ZC root sequence), wherein the first quantities of cyclic shift positions are configured to cyclically shift a first sequence in a sequence set (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), wherein a periodic auto-correlation side lobe amplitude of any second sequence in the sequence set is 0 (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where each root ZC sequence (in the plurality of root ZC sequences) is a Contant Amplitude Zero Autocorrelation (CAZAC) sequence, see [0226]. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and
wherein quantities that are of cyclic shift positions and that correspond to devices completing different services in the one or more devices are different (previously addressed and/or readily apparent; also see at least [0174] and [0220], in regards to the particular ZC and particular CS of the particular ZC being tied/link to the particular ‘service’ or ‘service class’ (among a plurality of different services or different service classes) for UEs); and
send the configuration information (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claims 2 and 13, Poitau teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12, as addressed above.
Poitau further teaches wherein quantities that are cyclic shift positions and that correspond to devices jointly completing one service in the one or more devices are the same (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: at least two UEs/WTRUs via the received configurations for the discovery sequence (implementing the ZC root sequence and CS of the ZC root sequence as addressed above) ‘jointly’ perform D2D discovery and D2D communication (with each other), thereby performing the one/same ‘service’. Note that the service or service class was previously addressed. See the previously cited paragraphs above).
With regards to claim 18, Poitau teaches the limitations of claim 12, as addressed above.
Poitau further teaches wherein the apparatus (previously addressed) comprises an integrated circuit (IC) (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: support is for IC is addressed by at least [0046]).
With regards to claim 19, Poitau teaches the limitations of claim 12, as addressed above.
Poitau further teaches wherein the apparatus (previously addressed) comprises a modem (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: previously cited paragraph [0580], already addressed the network node including a radio frequency transceiver, which meets the technical/engineering definition of a modem. Additionally but not exclusively, various paragraph of Poitau address the concept of modulation and demodulation in for transceivers (as well as the network node), e.g. see [0049]. Where the Examiner notes that the term ‘modem’ is an acronym for MOdulator/DEModulator).
With regards to claim 20, Poitau teaches the limitations of claim 12, as addressed above.
Poitau further teaches wherein the apparatus (previously addressed) comprises a coordinator in an ultra-wideband (UWB) system (figs. 1-6 and 13-23: where the network node was previously addressed. Furthermore, coordinator was already addressed in the previously cited paragraph, also note the RAN 105 in the network which perform various coordinating [0074+0075].
Moreover, paragraphs [0003+0053+0075] each address the Bluetooth communication standard/system (which by technical/engineering definition is a UWB standard/system) is applicable to the invention of Poitau).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are allowed.
Claims 3-5 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 8/26/2026