DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 25 November 2025 (RCE) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 25 November 2024 (RCE), with respect to Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive based on Amended claim language for independent Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 which necessitates a new ground of rejection.
The Drawing Objection(s) mailed on 27 August 2025 remain(s) regarding Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, 15 and 19. The Objection(s) was/were not addressed in the RCE filed on 25 November 2025, even with the amendment(s) to Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, 15 and 19. The examiner maintains “The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.” (See MPEP § 608.02(d)).
Status
Based on the RCE filed 25 November 2025, Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12 and 18 remain withdrawn and no new Claims were added. A Non-Final Rejection is being issued in this paper with regards to Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 19-20.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim(s) 1 and 15 (lines 9-10 and 8-10, respectively), “a first set of measurement markings along a first axis and a second set of measurement markings along a second axis”;
Claim(s) 1 (line 8), “a marking portion etched on the light guide” and Claim(s) 8 (line 8) , “a marking portion affixed on the light guide” and Claim(s) 15 (line 8) , “a marking portion etched on the light guide”;
Claim(s) 7 (lines 1-2) , “a plurality of measurement markings formed on the light guide”;
Claim(s) 13 and 19 (line 3, respectively) , “a plurality of measurement markings”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 14, line 1, should read “wherein the first lighting portion ”;
Claim(s) 14, line 6, should read “[a] the first top surface”;
Claim(s) 14, line 7, should read “[a] the first bottom surface”;
Claim(s) 16, line 1, the status identifier should read “(Currently amended) “ based on the amended claim language in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 6454423 B1, see reference in its entirety) in view of Schnell (US 6415521 B1; see reference in its entirety), Hill (US 5673490; see reference in its entirety) and Tsai (US 7997784 B2; see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Suzuki disclose(s): A measurement system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) including
a light guide (Fig. 1: 2) having:
a flat first bottom surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a flat first top surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a light entry side (see annotated Fig. 1 below) between the first bottom surface and the first top surface (Fig. 1);
a marking portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) on the light guide (Fig. 1);
a first lighting portion (Fig. 1: 11) configured to emit light to enter the light guide through the light entry side and illuminate the marking portion (Fig. 1 and col. 3, line 66 through col. 4, line 5).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion; a marking portion etched on the light guide and having measurement markings.
However, Schnell teach(es): a system (Fig. 4) including: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion(Fig. 4: 122); a marking portion etched on the light guide and having measurement markings (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 21-22: 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki with the teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing for accurate measuring (col. 3, lines 24-25).
The combination do(es) not specifically disclose: a first set of measurement markings along a first axis and a second set of measurement markings along a second axis, the first axis is angularly disposed with respect to the second axis.
However, Hill teach(es): a system (Fig. 1) including: a first set of measurement markings along a first axis (Fig. 1: 24 ) and a second set of measurement markings along a second axis (Fig. 1: 30 ) the first axis is angularly disposed with respect to the second axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki and Schnell, with the teachings of Hill, for the purpose of providing alignment features to assist in positioning elements when using the system (col. 1, lines 54-57).
The combination do(es) not specifically disclose: a lighting portion disposed within a gap of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side, and two interior sides of the light guide, the lighting portion connected to a first hook on the light entry side and a second hook on an interior side opposite to the light entry side.
However, Tsai teach(es): a system (Fig. 2) including: a lighting portion disposed within a gap (Fig. 2: 11) of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side (Fig. 2), and two interior sides of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the lighting portion connected to a first hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on the light entry side and a second hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on an interior side opposite to the light entry side (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki, Schnell and Hill, with the teachings of Tsai, for the purpose of providing an improved means so that system can achieve a minimized size (col. 2, lines 23-24).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination further disclose(s): a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki).
The combination does not specifically disclose: a battery configured to power the light source to generate the light; and a power switch electrically connected to the battery for configuring the battery to power the light source.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a battery (Fig. 4: 130) configured to power the light source to generate the light (Fig. 4); and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120) electrically connected to the battery for configuring the battery to power the light source (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination further disclose(s): wherein the first lighting portion includes a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki); and a first cover attached to the first top surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki) and a second cover attached to the first bottom surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki).
The combination does not specifically disclose: a battery electrically connected to the light source and configured to power the light source to generate the light; a power switch electrically connected to the battery for configuring the battery to power the light source; wherein the light source, the battery, and the power switch are located between covers.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a battery (Fig. 4: 130) configured to power the light source to generate the light (Fig. 4); and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120) electrically connected to the battery for configuring the battery to power the light source (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
With respect to Claim 7, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a plurality of measurement markings formed on the light guide
However, Schnell further teach(es): a plurality of measurement markings (Fig. 4: 123) formed on the light guide (col. 3, lines 21-25).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to independent Claim 15, Suzuki disclose(s): A method of manufacturing a measurement system (Fig. 1 and col. 3, line 66 through col. 4, line 5) comprising:
providing a first portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) including
a light guide (Fig. 1; 2) having:
a flat first bottom surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a flat first top surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a light entry side (see annotated Fig. 1 below) between the first bottom surface and the first top surface (Fig. 1); and
a marking portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) on the light guide (Fig. 1);
coupling a first lighting portion (Fig. 1: 11) by the light entry side of the light guide (Fig. 1),
and using the first lighting portion to emit light to enter the light entry side and illuminate the marking portion (Fig. 1 and col. 3, line 66 through col. 4, line 5).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion; a marking portion etched on the light guide and having measurement markings.
However, Schnell teach(es): a system (Fig. 4) including: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion(Fig. 4: 122); a marking portion etched on the light guide and having measurement markings (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 21-22: 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki with the teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing for accurate measuring (col. 3, lines 24-25).
The combination do(es) not specifically disclose: a first set of measurement markings along a first axis and a second set of measurement markings along a second axis, the first axis is angularly disposed with respect to the second axis.
However, Hill teach(es): a system (Fig. 1) including: a first set of measurement markings along a first axis (Fig. 1: 24 ) and a second set of measurement markings along a second axis (Fig. 1: 30 ) the first axis is angularly disposed with respect to the second axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki and Schnell, with the teachings of Hill, for the purpose of providing alignment features to assist in positioning elements when using the system (col. 1, lines 54-57).
The combination do(es) not specifically disclose: a lighting portion within a gap of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side, and two interior sides of the light guide, the lighting portion connected to a first hook on the light entry side and a second hook on an interior side opposite to the light entry side.
However, Tsai teach(es): a system (Fig. 2) including: a lighting portion within a gap (Fig. 2: 11) of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side (Fig. 2), and two interior sides of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the lighting portion connected to a first hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on the light entry side and a second hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on an interior side opposite to the light entry side (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki, Schnell and Hill, with the teachings of Tsai, for the purpose of providing an improved means so that system can achieve a minimized size (col. 2, lines 23-24).
With respect to Claim 16, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the method of Claim 15.
The combination further disclose(s): disposing a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki).
The combination above does not specifically disclose(s): disposing a battery, and a power switch and electrically connecting to light source and the battery to the power switch, wherein the power switch is used to power the light source or stop powering the light source.
However, Schnell further teach(es): disposing a battery (Fig. 4. 130) and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120) and electrically connecting to light source and the battery to the power switch (Fig. 4), wherein the power switch is used to power the light source or stop powering the light source (Fig. 4 and col. 1, lines 55-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
With respect to Claim 20, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the method of Claim 15.
The combination above further disclose(s): the first lighting portion includes a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki); attaching a first cover to a first top surface of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki) ; and attaching a second cover to a first bottom surface of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki).
The combination above does not specifically disclose(s): a battery and a power switch, the step of coupling the light portion to the light guide includes;
electrically connecting the battery to the light source and the power switch;
disposing the light source, the battery, and the power switch of the lighting portion on the light guide; wherein the light source, the battery, and the power switch are located between the covers.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a battery (Fig. 4: 130) and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120), the step of coupling the light portion to the light guide includes;
electrically connecting the battery to the light source and the power switch (Fig. 4);
disposing the light source, the battery, and the power switch of the lighting portion on the light guide (Fig. 4);
wherein the light source, the battery, and the power switch are located between the covers. (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai further in view of Scanlon (US 7121700 B1, see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 2.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a charge port electrically connected to the battery, the charge port can be connected to a power source to receive electrical energy for charging the battery.
However, Scanlon teach(es) a system (Fig. 3) including: a charge port (Fig. 3: 22) electrically connected to the battery (Fig. 3) , the charge port can be connected to a power source (Fig. 6: 32) to receive electrical energy for charging the battery (Fig. 6 and col. 8. Lines 45-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai, with the further teachings of Scanlon, for the purpose of providing capability of extending the battery life (col. 5, lines 52-54).
Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the method of Claim 16.
The combination above does not specifically disclose: electrically connecting a charger port to the battery, wherein the charger port can be connected to a power source to receive electrical energy for charging the battery.
However, Scanlon teach(es) a method (Fig. 1) including: electrically connecting a charger port (Fig. 3: 22) to the battery (Fig. 3), wherein the charger port can be connected to a power source (Fig. 6: 32) to receive electrical energy for charging the battery (Fig. 6 and col. 8. Lines 45-50) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined method of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai, with the further teachings of Scanlon, for the purpose of providing capability of extending the battery life (col. 5, lines 52-54).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai further in view of Vasylyev et al. (US 10962701 B2, see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai disclose(s) the method of Claim 15.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the step of providing the ruler portion includes forming the marking portion on the light guide, wherein the marking portion includes a plurality of measurement markings.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a wherein the step of providing the ruler portion includes forming the marking portion on the light guide (Fig. 4) , wherein the marking portion includes a plurality of measurement markings (Fig. 4: 123).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 15.
The combination does not specifically disclose: forming the marking portion on the first bottom surface of the light guide.
However, Vasylyev teach(es) a method (Fig. 17) including: forming the marking portion on the first bottom surface of the light guide (Fig. 17: 414 and col. 52, lines 49-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined method of Suzuki, Schnell, Hill, and Tsai, with the further teachings of Vasylyev, for the purpose of exemplifying marking features (col. 52, lines 49-55).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Schnell and Tsai.
With respect to independent Claim 8, Suzuki disclose(s): A measurement system (Fig. 1) obtained by a process including steps of:
providing a first portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) including
a light guide (Fig. 1: 2) having:
a flat first bottom surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a flat first top surface (see annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a light entry side (see annotated Fig. 1 below) between the first bottom surface and the first top surface (Fig. 1); and
a marking portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) on the light guide (Fig. 1);
coupling a first lighting portion (Fig. 1: 11) using the first lighting portion to emit light to enter the light guide through the light entry side and illuminate the marking portion (Fig. 1 and col. 3, line 66 through col. 4, line 5).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion; a marking portion affixed on the light guide and having measurement markings.
However, Schnell teach(es): a system (Fig. 4) including: wherein a first portion is a first ruler portion(Fig. 4: 122); a marking portion affixed on the light guide and having measurement markings (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 21-22: 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki with the teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing for accurate measuring (col. 3, lines 24-25).
The combination do(es) not specifically disclose: a lighting portion disposed within a gap of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side, and two interior sides of the light guide, the lighting portion connected to a first hook on the light entry side and a second hook on an interior side opposite to the light entry side.
However, Tsai teach(es): a system (Fig. 2) including: a lighting portion disposed within a gap (Fig. 2: 11) of the light guide and bordered by the light entry side (Fig. 2), and two interior sides of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the lighting portion connected to a first hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on the light entry side and a second hook (see annotated Fig. 2 below) on an interior side opposite to the light entry side (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Suzuki and Schnell , with the teachings of Tsai, for the purpose of providing an improved means so that system can achieve a minimized size (col. 2, lines 23-24).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 8.
The combination further disclose(s): disposing a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki).
The combination does not specifically disclose: a battery; and a power switch on the lighting portion; and electrically connecting the light source and the battery to the power switch, wherein the power switch is used to power the light source or stop powering the light source.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a battery (Fig. 4: 130) and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120) on the lighting portion (Fig. 4); and electrically connecting the light source and the battery to the power switch(Fig. 4), wherein the power switch is used to power the light source or stop powering the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
With respect to Claim 13, Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 8.
The combination does not specifically disclose: forming the marking portion on the light guide, wherein the marking portion includes a plurality of measurement markings.
However, Schnell further teach(es): forming the marking portion on the light guide, wherein the marking portion includes a plurality of measurement markings. (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 21-25: 123).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 8.
The combination further disclose(s): wherein first lighting portion includes a light source (Fig. 1; 11 of Suzuki);
disposing the light source on the light guide (Fig. 1 of Suzuki);
attaching a first cover to a first top surface of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki); and
attaching a second cover to a first bottom surface of the light guide (see annotated Fig. 1 below of Suzuki).
The combination does not specifically disclose: a battery; and a power switch; electrically connecting the battery to the light source and the power switch; disposing the battery, and the power switch; wherein the light source, the battery, and the power switch are located between covers.
However, Schnell further teach(es): a battery (Fig. 4: 130); and a power switch (Fig. 4: 120); electrically connecting the battery to the light source and the power switch (Fig. 4); disposing the battery, and the power switch (Fig. 4); wherein the light source, the battery, and the power switch are located between covers. (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai with the further teachings of Schnell, for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively activate the light source (col. 1, lines 55-58).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai further in view of Scanlon.
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: electrically connecting a charge port to the battery, wherein the charge port can be connected to a power source to receive electrical energy for charging the battery.
However, Scanlon teach(es) a system (Fig. 3) including: electrically connecting a charge port (Fig. 3: 22) to the battery (Fig. 6), wherein the charge port can be connected to a power source (Fig. 6: 32) to receive electrical energy for charging the battery (Fig. 6 and col. 8. Lines 45-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system of Suzuki, Schnell and Tsai, with the further teachings of Scanlon, for the purpose of providing capability of extending the battery life (col. 5, lines 52-54).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to illuminating systems with measurement systems: Olsen (US 2034529); Schafer (US 5819422).
The following reference(s) relate to illuminating systems: Senter et al. (US 2006/0278718 A1); Chen et al. (US 2006/0104091 A1); Kim et al. (US 2007/008739 A1); Bennet, Jr. (US 6951403 B2); Kim et al. (US 9726810 B2); Chang et al. (US 7360940 B2); Kashima et al. (US 5688035); Tsai et al. (US 8480286 B2); Jang et al. (US 8619229 B2); Chang (US 7671936 B2); Nakamura et al. (US 5453855); Kim (US 7924361 B2); KR 200297622 Y1; Yang (CN 201224270); Zheng (CN 2649351 Y); Herrmann (EP 238126).
The following reference(s) relate to illuminating systems with etching: Cheng (US 2011/0084630 A1); Landers, Jr. et al. (US 6615520 B2); Parker (US 11231530 B1); Liu (US 8242936 B2).
/TC/
10 January 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855