DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 12/09/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Application: 18/973,777
Reference: USP No. 12,204,101
1. A head-up display apparatus comprising: a display panel configured to display an image; and a reflecting mirror configured to reflect light from the display panel, wherein the optical distance between the reflecting mirror and the display panel ranges from 40 mm to 100 mm, and wherein an internal volume of the head-up display apparatus ranges from 2.80 L to 3.70 L.
1. A head-up display apparatus comprising: a display panel configured to display an image; and a reflecting mirror configured to reflect light from the display panel, wherein an optical distance between the reflecting mirror and the display panel is changed to continuously change a display position of a virtual image from a distant place to an adjacent position, such that a virtual image obtained by being reflected at an upper portion of a windshield is formed farther than a virtual image obtained by being reflected at a lower portion of the windshield when viewed from a viewpoint position of a driver, wherein the optical distance between the reflecting mirror and the display panel ranges from 40 mm to 100 mm, and wherein an internal volume of the head-up display apparatus ranges from 2.80 L to 3.70 L.
Regarding claim 1, there is no difference between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the reference patent. The configuration of the optical distance between the reflecting mirror and the display panel of the reference patent is inclusive of the configuration of the optical distance of the instant application. In addition, it would have been obvious for the optical distance to be continuously changed within the recited range for the purpose of changing the display position of the virtual image. Therefore, there is no subject matter that is patentably distinct between claim 1 and claim 1 of the reference patent.
2. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein transmittance of emission light from the display panel indicates a predetermined transmittance in a range of ±50° of a visual angle in a horizontal direction of the display panel.
3. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein an iodine-based polarizing plate is provided at a light incident surface of the display panel, and a dye-based polarizing plate is provided at a light emission surface of the display panel.
4. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the display panel and an upper end of the reflecting mirror is longer than a distance between the display panel and a lower end of the reflecting mirror.
5. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the display panel and the reflecting mirror, and a distance between the reflecting mirror and the virtual image differs at an upper portion and a lower portion of the virtual image.
6. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reflecting mirror is arranged such that reflected light from the reflecting mirror is not blocked by the display panel.
7. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display panel is arranged so that a center of a display region of the display panel is located at a side lower than a center of the reflecting mirror with respect to a vertical direction.
8. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reflecting mirror is arranged on an optical path between the display panel and a projection surface of the windshield.
9. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display panel is arranged so as to be inclined with respect to an optical axis of the reflecting mirror.
2. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein transmittance of emission light from the display panel indicates a predetermined transmittance in a range of ±50° of a visual angle in a horizontal direction of the display panel.
3. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein an iodine-based polarizing plate is provided at a light incident surface of the display panel, and a dye-based polarizing plate is provided at a light emission surface of the display panel.
4. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the display panel and an upper end of the reflecting mirror is longer than a distance between the display panel and a lower end of the reflecting mirror.
5. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the display panel and the reflecting mirror, and a distance between the reflecting mirror and the virtual image differs at an upper portion and a lower portion of the virtual image.
6. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reflecting mirror is arranged such that reflected light from the reflecting mirror is not blocked by the display panel.
7. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display panel is arranged so that a center of a display region of the display panel is located at a side lower than a center of the reflecting mirror with respect to a vertical direction.
8. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reflecting mirror is arranged on an optical path between the display panel and a projection surface of the windshield.
9. The head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display panel is arranged so as to be inclined with respect to an optical axis of the reflecting mirror.
Regarding claims 2-9, there is no subject matter that is patentable distinct between claims 2-9 of the instant application and claims 2-9 of the reference patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 recites “the optical distance” where there is no prior mention. Appropriate correction is required in order to provide clear antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saburi et al. (USP No. 5,760,931), hereinafter “Saburi”, in view of El-Ghoroury et al. (USPG Pub No. 2017/0176744), hereinafter “El-Ghoroury”.
Regarding claim 1, Saburi discloses a head-up display apparatus (see Fig. 1, Col. 4, Lines 34-35) comprising: a display panel (2) configured to display an image (see Fig. 1, Col. 4, Lines 36-38); and a reflecting mirror (3) configured to reflect light from the display panel (2) (see Fig. 1, Col. 4, Lines 42-44), wherein the optical distance (a) between the reflecting mirror (3) and the display panel (2) ranges (Col. 22, Line 54). Saburi discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify from 40 mm to 100 mm, and wherein an internal volume of the head-up display apparatus ranges from 2.80 L to 3.70 L. In the same field of endeavor, El-Ghoroury discloses and wherein an internal volume of the head-up display apparatus ranges from (Paragraph 81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the head-up display apparatus of Saburi with and wherein an internal volume of the head-up display apparatus ranges from of El-Ghoroury for the purpose of providing a HUD system with volumetric advantages in order to fit into a dashboard of a compact automobile (Paragraph 81). Saburi and El-Ghoroury disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify optical distance ranges from 40 mm to 100 mm and internal volume ranges from 2.80 L to 3.70 L. Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the head-up display apparatus of Saburi and El-Ghoroury with optical distance ranges from 40 mm to 100 mm and internal volume ranges from 2.80 L to 3.70 L for the purpose of providing a compact HUD system for the desired automobile dashboard (Paragraph 25 of El-Ghoroury).
Regarding claim 2, Saburi further discloses wherein transmittance of emission light from the display panel indicates a predetermined transmittance in a range of ±50° of a visual angle in a horizontal direction of the display panel (see Figs. 1, 4, Col. 11, Lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 4, Saburi further discloses wherein a distance between the display panel (2) and an upper end of the reflecting mirror (3) is longer than a distance between the display panel (2) and a lower end of the reflecting mirror (3) (see Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Saburi further discloses wherein a distance between the display panel (2) and the reflecting mirror (3), and a distance between the reflecting mirror (3) and the virtual image differs at an upper portion and a lower portion of the virtual image (see Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 6, Saburi further discloses wherein the reflecting mirror (3) is arranged such that reflected light from the reflecting mirror (3) is not blocked by the display panel (2) (see Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 7, Saburi further discloses wherein the display panel (235) is arranged so that a center of a display region of the display panel is located at a side lower than a center of the reflecting mirror (234) with respect to a vertical direction (see Fig. 56).
Regarding claim 8, Saburi further discloses wherein the reflecting mirror is arranged on an optical path between the display panel and a projection surface of the windshield (see Figs. 1, 4, 56).
Regarding claim 9, Saburi further discloses wherein the display panel is arranged so as to be inclined with respect to an optical axis of the reflecting mirror (see Figs. 1, 4, 56).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saburi (USP No. 5,760,931) in view of El-Ghoroury (USPG Pub No. 2017/0176744) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Larson et al. (USP No. 7,482,996), hereinafter "Larson".
Regarding claim 3, Saburi and El-Ghoroury disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein an iodine-based polarizing plate is provided at a light incident surface of the display panel, and a dye-based polarizing plate is provided at a light emission surface of the display panel. In the same field of endeavor, Larson discloses wherein an iodine-based polarizing plate is provided at a light incident surface of the display panel (54), and a dye-based polarizing plate is provided at a light emission surface of the display panel (Col. 6, Lines 54-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Saburi and El-Ghoroury with wherein an iodine-based polarizing plate is provided at a light incident surface of the display panel, and a dye-based polarizing plate is provided at a light emission surface of the display panel of Larson for the purpose of providing improved optical efficiency while maintaining binocular symmetry for viewing from vantage points (Col. 8, Lines 8-11).
Prior Art Citations
Fujikawa et al. (USPG Pub No. 2003/0214724 – Figs. 2, 7) is being cited herein to show a head-up display apparatus relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/31/2026