Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 5, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Xu et al (US 11,767,147).
With respect to claim 1, Xu teaches a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to:
obtain a maximum achievable flux linkage of an electrical machine (fig. 1, 114),
obtain a reference torque of the electrical machine based on the maximum achievable flux linkage,
obtain a first set of d and q current values resulting in the reference torque (fig. 7, 704),
obtain a second set of d and q current values resulting in the reference torque (fig. 7, 712/714), and
produce heat in the electrical machine by oscillating the d and q currents between the first and second set of current values (column 16, lines 35-59) while maintaining the reference torque.
With respect to claim 2, Xu teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain the maximum achievable flux linkage based on the angular frequency of (column 7, lines 43-61) the electrical machine.
With respect to claim 4, Xu teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a maximum torque of the electrical machine based on the maximum achievable flux linkage, and crop the reference torque of (column 10, lines 4-35) the electrical machine based on the maximum torque.
With respect to claim 5, Xu teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain the first set of d and q current values as a maximum d current value and a maximum q current value (fig. 7, 704).
With respect to claim 11, Xu teaches vehicle (abstract) comprising the computer system of claim 1.
With respect to claim 12, Xu teaches further comprising: an electrical machine (114), and a heat generation system (124) configured to transmit a request for increased heat generation to the computer system (125).
With respect to claim 13, Xu teaches computer-implemented method, comprising:
obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system, a maximum achievable flux linkage of an electrical machine, obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a reference torque of the electrical machine based on the maximum achievable flux linkage,
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a first set of d and q current values resulting in the reference torque,
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a second set of d and q current values resulting the reference torque, and
producing, by the processing circuitry, heat in the electrical machine by oscillating the d and q currents between the first and second set of current values while maintaining the reference torque.
With respect to claim 14, Xu teaches computer program product comprising program code for (column 2, lines 55-58) performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 13.
With respect to claim 15, Xu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by (column 2, lines 55-58) the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (US 11,767,147).
With respect to claim 6, Xu does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain the second set of d and q current values as a minimum d current value and a minimum q current value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for circuit to use minimum d/q current, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 7, Xu does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a normalized current factor of the electrical machine based on the normalized reference torque. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to circuit to multiple by current factor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 8, Xu does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a cropped normalized current factor based on the normalized reference torque. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to circuit to multiple by current factor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 9, Xu does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: oscillate the d and q currents between the first and second set of current values by a frequency of 10-50 Hz. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to circuit to operate on frequency 10-50 Hz, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 3, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837