DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and the subspecies: FTS 1, FD 1, BCS 1, CP 2, RCI 2, UIS 4, SC 2, and MPS 5 in the reply filed on 09/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patton et al. (US 20190053572).
Regarding Claim 1, Patton teaches a foot support system (200) for an article of footwear (100), comprising: a first footwear component (202H) comprising a foot support bladder or a fluid container (paragraph [0024] teaches “Fluid-filled bladders (e.g., 202H and/or 202F),” wherein the bladder (202H) can clearly act as a foot support bladder or as a fluid container, as the bladder holds fluid); a first fluid line (230H) that extends between a first port (204H) of a manifold (see annotated Fig.) or a sealing connector and a second port (230B) of the manifold or sealing connector, wherein the first port is in fluid communication with the first footwear component (fig. 2A shows the first port (204H) in fluid communication with the first footwear component (202H)), and wherein the second port is in fluid communication with a second footwear component or with an external environment (fig. 2A shows the second port (230B) in fluid communication with the external environment via port (230C) and in communication with a second footwear element (220) via fluid line (222H); a first pressure sensor (260H) configured to measure fluid pressure within the first fluid line (fig. 2A shows the first pressure sensor (260H) being positioned on the first fluid line (230H), therein clearly being configured to measure the fluid pressure within this first fluid line); and a control system (250) for changing fluid pressure in the first footwear component (paragraph [0032] teaches “this pressure sensor 260H (which may be located, for example, within the fluid-filled bladder 202H and/or along fluid line 230H) provides sensed pressure information m fluid-filled bladder 202H to the controller 250 (e.g., via electronic communication line 262H),” therein the control system clearly controls the fluid pressure in the first footwear component), wherein the control system is configured to: (i) receive input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in the first footwear component (paragraph [0047], “As a first step S302 in this process, the controller 250 or input 270 may receive information regarding the desired gas pressure in the fluid-filled bladder being controlled”), (ii) receive, from the first pressure sensor, fluid pressure data as measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line (paragraph [0048] teaches “The controller 250 of this example system and method then takes pressure readings from the fluid-filled bladder (e.g., via pressure sensor 260U or 260F, Step S304),” wherein when the first pressure sensor (260H) is placed on the first fluid line (230H), the fluid pressure data is clearly measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line), (iii) determine an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured in the first fluid line (paragraph [0048], “Based on the pressure reading at Step S304 and the desired bladder pressure information obtained at S302, systems and methods according to at least some aspects of this invention can determine whether pressure needs to be adjusted in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F, and the flowchart of FIG. 3 provides one example process for doing so. More specifically, at Step S306, this example system and method compares the actual measured bladder pressure with the desired bladder pressure stored in memory and determines if a pressure increase is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to place the bladder pressure at the desired level (or within a predetermined range from the desired pressure level).”), and (iv) stop fluid flow through the first fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure is determined to be within a predetermined range of the target pressure (paragraph [0049] teaches “If at Step S306 it is determined that no pressure increase is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to reach the desired pressure level (answer “no”), this example system and method then determine at Step S314 whether a pressure decrease is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to place the bladder pressure at the desired level (or within a predetermined range from the desired pressure level)” and paragraph [0050] teaches “If at Step S314 it is determined that no pressure decrease is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to reach the desired pressure level (answer “no”), then this example system and method consider that the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F is at the desired pressure level (e.g., within a predetermined pressure range of the pressure level received at Step S302). In this event, the solenoid valve 230 or 240 being controlled then may be set to its “pressure maintain” configuration (e.g., the configuration shown in FIG. 2E) at Step S322,” therein the fluid flow is clearly stopped once the desired range is reached).
Regarding Claim 2, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the first footwear component (202H) is the foot support bladder (paragraph [0024] teaches “Fluid-filled bladders (e.g., 202H and/or 202F),” wherein the bladder (202H) can clearly act as a foot support bladder) and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment (fig. 2A shows the second port (230B) in fluid communication with the external environment via port (230C); paragraph [0027] teaches “an external gas outlet port 230C that may be in (or may be placed in) fluid communication with the external environment”).
Regarding Claim 3, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 2, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the control system (250) is configured to move fluid in a direction from the foot support bladder (202H) to the second port (230B) when a decrease in fluid pressure in the foot support bladder is desired (paragraph [0041] teaches “FIG. 2F illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in a “deflation configuration” in which gas is released from the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and gas outlet port 230C/240C),” therein fluid clearly travels from the foot support bladder (202H) towards the second portion (230B) during deflation).
Regarding Claim 4, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the first footwear component (202H) is the foot support bladder (paragraph [0024] teaches “Fluid-filled bladders (e.g., 202H and/or 202F),” wherein the bladder (202H) can clearly act as a foot support bladder) and the second port (230B) is in fluid communication with the second footwear component (220) (fig. 2A shows the second port (230B) in fluid communication with the second footwear component (220) via structures (222H)).
Regarding Claim 5, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 4, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the control system (250) is configured to move fluid in a direction from the second footwear component (220) to the foot support bladder (202H) when an increase in fluid pressure in the foot support bladder is desired (paragraph [0041], “FIG. 2D illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in an “inflation configuration” in which gas is supplied to the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and fluid lines 230H/240F)” and paragraph [0042] teaches “the solenoid valve 230/240 includes a gas intake port 230A/240A that is in fluid communication with a gas source, such as the gas outlet port 210B of the compressor 210 and/or the gas outlet port 220H/220F of solenoid valve 220 (e.g., via fluid lines 222H/222F),” therein the control system clearly moves fluid in a direction from the second footwear component (220) towards the foot support bladder (202H)).
Regarding Claim 6, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the first footwear component (202H) is the fluid container (paragraph [0024] teaches “Fluid-filled bladders (e.g., 202H and/or 202F),” wherein the bladder (202H) can clearly act as a fluid container, as the bladder holds fluid) and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment (fig. 2A shows the second port (230B) in fluid communication with the external environment via port (230C); paragraph [0027] teaches “an external gas outlet port 230C that may be in (or may be placed in) fluid communication with the external environment”).
Regarding Claim 7, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the first footwear component is the fluid container and the second port is in fluid communication with the second footwear component (220) (fig. 2A shows the second port (230B) in fluid communication with the second footwear component (220) via structures (222H)).
Regarding Claim 9, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the adjusted fluid pressure estimates fluid pressure in the first footwear component (202H) (fig. 2A shows the pressure sensor (260H) positioned on the fluid line (230H), therein the adjusted fluid pressure would clearly be an estimate of the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, as the pressure sensor is not actually in the first footwear component).
Regarding Claim 11, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the control system (250) is configured to receive input data indicating a desire to increase or decrease the fluid pressure in the first footwear component (paragraph [0047], “As a first step S302 in this process, the controller 250 or input 270 may receive information regarding the desired gas pressure in the fluid-filled bladder being controlled,” wherein the desired gas pressure would clearly be an increase or a decrease from the current state), and wherein the first footwear component comprises a foot support bladder (paragraph [0024] teaches “Fluid-filled bladders (e.g., 202H and/or 202F),” wherein the bladder (202H) can clearly act as a foot support bladder).
Regarding Claim 12, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 11, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the control system includes an input button, wherein user interaction with the input button provides input data that indicates the desire to increase or decrease the fluid pressure in the first footwear component (paragraph [0050] teaches “at least until renewed use is detected (e.g., as a result of a signal from a motion detector, a heat sensor, a foot force detector, etc.; input from electronic communication device 280; input via input device 270; physically pushing an “ON” or “wake up” button; and/or in any other desired manner),” wherein the “ON” button is considered the input button, as interaction with the button turns the system on and allows it to react to input data indicating a desired increase or decrease in the fluid pressure).
Regarding Claim 13, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 12, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein when the input data indicates a desire to decrease the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, the control system (250) is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the first footwear component to the external environment (paragraph [0049], “Step S314 whether a pressure decrease is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to place the bladder pressure at the desired level (or within a predetermined range from the desired pressure level). If “yes,” then at Step S316, the controller 250 sets the solenoid valve 230 or 240 to a “deflate” configuration (e.g., the configuration shown in FIG. 2F)” and paragraph [0041] teaches “FIG. 2F illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in a “deflation configuration” in which gas is released from the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and gas outlet port 230C/240C),” therein fluid is clearly moving from the first fluid line (230H) to the external environment).
Regarding Claim 14, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 12, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein when the input data indicates a desire to increase the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, the control system is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the second footwear component to the first footwear component (paragraph [0041], “FIG. 2D illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in an “inflation configuration” in which gas is supplied to the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and fluid lines 230H/240F)” and paragraph [0042] teaches “the solenoid valve 230/240 includes a gas intake port 230A/240A that is in fluid communication with a gas source, such as the gas outlet port 210B of the compressor 210 and/or the gas outlet port 220H/220F of solenoid valve 220 (e.g., via fluid lines 222H/222F),” therein the control system clearly moves fluid in a direction from the second footwear component (220) towards the first footwear component (202H) to increase the fluid pressure in the first footwear component).
Regarding Claim 15, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches a valve stem (290) that is selectively movable to supply fluid to the first fluid line and receive fluid from the first fluid line (paragraph [0042] teaches “The solenoid valve 230/240 of this example further includes a movable plunger 290 that moves to change the solenoid valve 230/240 at least between the inflation configuration (FIG. 2D) and the deflation configuration (FIG. 2F),” .
Regarding Claim 17, Patton teaches a foot support system (200) for an article of footwear (100), comprising: a first fluid line (230H) included in a manifold (see annotated Fig.) or a sealing connector, wherein the first fluid line extends between a first port (204H) of the manifold or sealing connector and a second port (230B) of the manifold or sealing connector; a foot support bladder (202H) in fluid communication with the first port (fig. 2A shows the first port (204H) in fluid communication with the foot support bladder (202H)); a fluid container (230) in fluid communication with the second port (fig. 2D shows the structure (230) capable of holding fluid, and therein being considered a fluid container; fig. 2A shows the fluid container (230) in fluid communication with the second port (230B)); a first pressure sensor (260H) configured to measure fluid pressure within the first fluid line (fig. 2A shows the first pressure sensor (260H) being positioned on the first fluid line (230H), therein clearly being configured to measure the fluid pressure within this first fluid line); and a control system (250) for changing fluid pressure in the foot support bladder (paragraph [0032] teaches “this pressure sensor 260H (which may be located, for example, within the fluid-filled bladder 202H and/or along fluid line 230H) provides sensed pressure information m fluid-filled bladder 202H to the controller 250 (e.g., via electronic communication line 262H),” therein the control system clearly controls the fluid pressure in the foot support bladder), wherein the control system is configured to: (i) receive input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in the foot support bladder (paragraph [0047], “As a first step S302 in this process, the controller 250 or input 270 may receive information regarding the desired gas pressure in the fluid-filled bladder being controlled”), (ii) receive, from the first pressure sensor, fluid pressure data as measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line paragraph [0048] teaches “The controller 250 of this example system and method then takes pressure readings from the fluid-filled bladder (e.g., via pressure sensor 260U or 260F, Step S304),” wherein when the first pressure sensor (260H) is placed on the first fluid line (230H), the fluid pressure data is clearly measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line), (iii) determine an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured in the first fluid line (paragraph [0048], “Based on the pressure reading at Step S304 and the desired bladder pressure information obtained at S302, systems and methods according to at least some aspects of this invention can determine whether pressure needs to be adjusted in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F, and the flowchart of FIG. 3 provides one example process for doing so. More specifically, at Step S306, this example system and method compares the actual measured bladder pressure with the desired bladder pressure stored in memory and determines if a pressure increase is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to place the bladder pressure at the desired level (or within a predetermined range from the desired pressure level).”), and (iv) stop fluid flow through the first fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure is determined to be within a predetermined range of the target pressure (paragraph [0049] teaches “If at Step S306 it is determined that no pressure increase is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to reach the desired pressure level (answer “no”), this example system and method then determine at Step S314 whether a pressure decrease is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to place the bladder pressure at the desired level (or within a predetermined range from the desired pressure level)” and paragraph [0050] teaches “If at Step S314 it is determined that no pressure decrease is needed in the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F to reach the desired pressure level (answer “no”), then this example system and method consider that the fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F is at the desired pressure level (e.g., within a predetermined pressure range of the pressure level received at Step S302). In this event, the solenoid valve 230 or 240 being controlled then may be set to its “pressure maintain” configuration (e.g., the configuration shown in FIG. 2E) at Step S322,” therein the fluid flow is clearly stopped once the desired range is reached).
Regarding Claim 18, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein when the input data indicates a desire to decrease the fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, the control system is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the foot support bladder to an external environment (paragraph [0041] teaches “FIG. 2F illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in a “deflation configuration” in which gas is released from the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and gas outlet port 230C/240C),” therein fluid clearly travels from the foot support bladder (202H) towards the second portion (230B) during deflation); and when the input data indicates a desire to increase the fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, the control system is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the fluid container to the foot support bladder (paragraph [0041], “FIG. 2D illustrates the solenoid valve 230/240 in an “inflation configuration” in which gas is supplied to the connected fluid-filled bladder 202H/202F (through gas inlet/outlet port 230B/240B and fluid lines 230H/240F)” and paragraph [0042] teaches “the solenoid valve 230/240 includes a gas intake port 230A/240A that is in fluid communication with a gas source, such as the gas outlet port 210B of the compressor 210 and/or the gas outlet port 220H/220F of solenoid valve 220 (e.g., via fluid lines 222H/222F),” therein the control system clearly moves fluid in a direction from the second footwear component (230) towards the foot support bladder (202H)).
Regarding Claim 19, Patton teaches all of the limitations of the foot support system of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above. Patton further teaches wherein the adjusted fluid pressure estimates fluid pressure in the foot support bladder (202H) (fig. 2A shows the pressure sensor (260H) positioned on the fluid line (230H), therein the adjusted fluid pressure would clearly be an estimate of the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, as the pressure sensor is not actually in the first footwear component).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12193540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are minor.
Instant App '922
Patent '540
1
A foot support system for an article of footwear, comprising: a first footwear component comprising a foot support bladder or a fluid container; a first fluid line that extends between a first port of a manifold or a sealing connector and a second port of the manifold or sealing connector, wherein the first port is in fluid communication with the first footwear component, and wherein the second port is in fluid communication with a second footwear component or with an external environment; a first pressure sensor configured to measure fluid pressure within the first fluid line; and a control system for changing fluid pressure in the first footwear component, wherein the control system is configured to: (i) receive input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in the first footwear component, (ii) receive, from the first pressure sensor, fluid pressure data as measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line, (iii) determine an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured in the first fluid line, and (iv) stop fluid flow through the first fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure is determined to be within a predetermined range of the target pressure.
1
A method of changing fluid pressure in a component of an article of footwear, comprising: receiving input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in a first footwear component, wherein the first footwear component is a foot support bladder or a fluid container; moving fluid through a continuous fluid line that extends between a first port of a manifold or a sealing connector and a second port of the manifold or sealing connector, wherein the first port is in fluid communication with the first footwear component, and wherein the second port is in fluid communication with a second footwear component or an external environment; measuring fluid pressure in the continuous fluid line using a first pressure sensor as the fluiis moving through the continuous fluid line; determining an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor during the measuring step, wherein the adjusted fluid pressure corrects for flow rate dependent offset between the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor during the measuring step and actual fluid pressure in the first footwear component; and stopping fluid flow through the continuous fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure determined in the determining step is within a predetermined range of the target pressure.
2
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the foot support bladder and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment.
2
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the foot support bladder and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment.
3
The foot support system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to move fluid in a direction from the foot support bladder to the second port when a decrease in fluid pressure in the foot support bladder is desired.
3
The method according to claim 2, wherein fluid moves in a direction from the foot support bladder to the second port to decrease fluid pressure in the foot support bladder.
4
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the foot support bladder and the second port is in fluid communication with the second footwear component.
4
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the foot support bladder and the second port is in fluid communication with the second footwear component.
5
The foot support system according to claim 4, wherein the control system is configured to move fluid in a direction from the second footwear component to the foot support bladder when an increase in fluid pressure in the foot support bladder is desired.
5
A method of changing fluid pressure in a component of an article of footwear, comprising: receiving input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in a first footwear component, wherein the first footwear component is a foot support bladder; moving fluid through a continuous fluid line that extends between a first port of a manifold or a sealing connector and a second port of the manifold or sealing connector, wherein the first port is in fluid communication with the foot support bladder, wherein the second port is in fluid communication with a second footwear component, and wherein the fluid moves moving through the continuous fluid line from the second footwear component to the foot support bladder to decreases fluid pressure in the second footwear component and increases fluid pressure in the foot support bladder; measuring fluid pressure in the continuous fluid line using a first pressure sensor as fluid is flowing through the continuous fluid line from the second footwear component to the foot support bladder; determining an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor during the measuring step; and stopping fluid flow through the continuous fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure determined in the determining step is within a predetermined range of the target pressure.
6
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the fluid container and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment.
7
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the fluid container and the second port is in fluid communication with the external environment.
7
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the fluid container and the second port is in fluid communication with the second footwear component.
9
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first footwear component is the fluid container and the second port is in fluid communication with the second footwear component.
9
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the adjusted fluid pressure estimates fluid pressure in the first footwear component.
12
The method according to claim 1, wherein the adjusted fluid pressure estimates fluid pressure in the first footwear component.
10
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the adjusted fluid pressure corrects for flow rate dependent offset between the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor in the first fluid line and actual fluid pressure in the first footwear component.
1
...wherein the adjusted fluid pressure corrects for flow rate dependent offset between the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor during the measuring step and actual fluid pressure in the first footwear component…
11
The foot support system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to receive input data indicating a desire to increase or decrease the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, and wherein the first footwear component comprises a foot support bladder.
14
The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of receiving input data includes receiving data indicating a desired increase or decrease in the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, wherein the first footwear component comprises a foot support bladder.
12
The foot support system according to claim 11, wherein the control system includes an input button, wherein user interaction with the input button provides input data that indicates the desire to increase or decrease the fluid pressure in the first footwear component.
15
The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of receiving input data includes interacting with an input button mounted on the article of footwear to indicate a desired increase or decrease in the fluid pressure in the first footwear component.
15
The foot support system according to claim 1, further comprising a valve stem that is selectively movable to supply fluid to the first fluid line and receive fluid from the first fluid line.
19
The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of moving the fluid includes rotating a valve stem to a first rotational position to allow fluid to move through the continuous fluid line between the first port and the second port and change the fluid pressure of the first footwear component toward the target pressure.
17
A foot support system for an article of footwear, comprising: a first fluid line included in a manifold or a sealing connector, wherein the first fluid line extends between a first port of the manifold or sealing connector and a second port of the manifold or sealing connector; a foot support bladder in fluid communication with the first port; a fluid container in fluid communication with the second port; a first pressure sensor configured to measure fluid pressure within the first fluid line; and a control system for changing fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, wherein the control system is configured to: (i) receive input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, (ii) receive, from the first pressure sensor, fluid pressure data as measured in the first fluid line as fluid moves through the first fluid line, (iii) determine an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured in the first fluid line, and (iv) stop fluid flow through the first fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure is determined to be within a predetermined range of the target pressure.
17
A method of changing fluid pressure in a component of an article of footwear, comprising: receiving input data indicating a target pressure for fluid pressure in a first footwear component, wherein the first footwear component is a foot support bladder or a fluid container; moving fluid through a continuous fluid line that extends between a first port of a manifold or a sealing connector and a second port of the manifold or sealing connector, wherein the first port is in fluid communication with the first footwear component, wherein the second port is in fluid communication with a second footwear component, and wherein when the input data indicates a desired increase in the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, the step of moving the fluid includes moving the fluid through the continuous fluid line from the second footwear component to the first footwear component to decrease fluid pressure in the second footwear component and increase fluid pressure in the first footwear component; measuring fluid pressure in the continuous fluid line using a first pressure sensor as the fluid is flowing through the continuous fluid line from the second footwear component to the first footwear component; determining an adjusted fluid pressure based on the fluid pressure measured by the first pressure sensor during the measuring step; and stopping fluid flow through the continuous fluid line when the adjusted fluid pressure determined in the determining step is within a predetermined range of the target pressure.
18
The foot support system according to claim 17, wherein when the input data indicates a desire to decrease the fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, the control system is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the foot support bladder to an external environment; and when the input data indicates a desire to increase the fluid pressure in the foot support bladder, the control system is configured to move fluid through the first fluid line from the fluid container to the foot support bladder.
18
The method according to claim 1, wherein when the input data indicates a desired increase in the fluid pressure in the first footwear component, the step of moving the fluid includes moving the fluid through the continuous fluid line from the external environment to the first footwear component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732