DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, drawn to a biopsy cap of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 9/14/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/14/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0211254 to Bharos et al. (hereinafter “Bharos”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0281920 to Furnish et al. (hereinafter “Furnish”).
For claim 1, Bharos discloses a biopsy cap (Abstract) including:
a housing (110/210) (Figs. 1/8) (para [0046] and/or [0056]);
a sleeve (124, 126, 128, 140) (Fig. 1) (para [0049]) positioned within the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1-3); and
a knob (122) (Fig. 1) (para [0049]) positioned around the sleeve (as can be seen in Fig. 1).
Bharos does not expressly disclose wherein the sleeve includes a first plurality of threads, wherein the knob includes a second plurality of threads that engage with the first plurality of threads; and wherein rotation of the knob relative to the housing and the sleeve causes a portion of the sleeve to decrease in diameter.
However, Furnish teaches wherein the sleeve includes a first plurality of threads (112) (Fig. 23) (para [0060]), wherein the knob includes a second plurality of threads (114) (Fig. 23) (para [0060]) that engage with the first plurality of threads (para [0060]); and wherein rotation of the knob relative to the housing and the sleeve causes (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) a portion of the sleeve to decrease in diameter (para [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Bharos wherein the sleeve includes a first plurality of threads, wherein the knob includes a second plurality of threads that engage with the first plurality of threads; and wherein rotation of the knob relative to the housing and the sleeve causes a portion of the sleeve to decrease in diameter, in view of the teachings of Furnish, as an additional means or a substitutionary means (from the adapter 130 of Bharos) to fit medical devices that are being inserted into and/or through the housing.
For claim 2, Bharos, as modified, further discloses wherein the rotation of the knob relative to the housing and the sleeve causes (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) the sleeve to move proximally (para [0061] of Furnish).
For claim 3, Bharos further discloses wherein a distal portion of the sleeve has a greater outer diameter than a proximal portion of the sleeve (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (also see Fig. 4).
For claim 4, Bharos further discloses wherein an outer surface of the sleeve tapers radially outward in a distal direction (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (also see Fig. 4).
For claim 5, Bharos further discloses wherein the knob has a tubular wall (as can be seen in Fig. 1) (also see Figs. 2-3, wherein the tubular wall extends circumferentially around the sleeve (as can be seen in Fig. 1) (also see Figs. 2-3.
For claim 6, Bharos further discloses wherein the sleeve includes a distal portion having a plurality of fins around a central opening (see 70a, 70b, 70c in U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0046016 to Rajarathnam et al. (hereinafter “Rajarathnam”), which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
For claim 7, Bharos further discloses wherein the rotation of the knob relative to the housing and the sleeve causes (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) the plurality of fins to move closer to one another, thereby decreasing a diameter of the central opening (para [0010] and [0083] of Rajarathnam, which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
For claim 8, Bharos further discloses wherein the plurality of fins includes at least four fins (see Fig. 9C of Rajarathnam, which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
For claim 9, Bharos further discloses wherein slits extend radially outward from the central opening, between adjacent fins of the plurality of fins (as can be seen in Fig. 9B of Rajarathnam, which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
For claim 11, Bharos further discloses a biopsy cap body (130) positioned within the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 1).
For claim 12, Bharos further discloses a gasket (1014) positioned at least partially within the biopsy cap body (as can be seen in Fig. 1).
For claim 13, Bharos further discloses wherein the gasket includes a distal flange (1012) that contacts a distal end of the sleeve (as can be seen in Fig. 1).
For claim 14, Bharos further discloses wherein the sleeve includes a plurality of longitudinally extending recesses (as can be seen in Figs. 9A-B of Rajarathnam, which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
For claim 15, Bharos further discloses wherein the sleeve includes a wall, and wherein a proximal portion of the wall is thinner than a distal portion of the wall (as can be seen in Figs. 4, 6B, and/or 8B of Rajarathnam, which is incorporated by reference into Bharos at para [0049] of Bharos).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharos in view of Furnish, and further in view of CN 110152162 to Je.
For claim 10, Bharos and Furnish do not expressly disclose wherein the housing includes a slot, wherein the knob includes a protrusion that extends through the slot, and wherein the protrusion is configured to be contacted and moved by a user.
However, Je teaches wherein the housing includes a slot (189), wherein the knob includes a protrusion (129) that extends through the slot (para [0073]-[0074]), and wherein the protrusion is configured to be contacted and moved by a user (para [0074]) (also see para [0073] and [0075]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Bharos wherein the housing includes a slot, wherein the knob includes a protrusion that extends through the slot, and wherein the protrusion is configured to be contacted and moved by a user, in view of the teachings of Je, for the obvious advantage of making it easier and/or more ergonomic for the user to move/actuate the device.
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791