Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Webb (4166607).
Regarding claim 1, Webb discloses a connecting flange 17 for a control valve for reducing torsion (in bellows 25 by eliminating rod rotation) , the control valve being capable of adjusting a process fluid flow of a process plant, the connecting flange comprising: a hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 17 configured to connect a control rod 14,15 of the control valve to a coupling structure 12 attachable to a valve housing 2 of the control valve, wherein the substantially hollow-cylinder-like connecting body includes at least one anti-rotation means (holes for 18) which is configured to fix (rotationally) the connecting flange to the coupling structure in a circumferential direction.
As to claim 2, the at least one anti-rotation means is formed as at least one recess (holes for 18).
As to claim 3, the recess (edges of hexagonal hole are seen as recesses) is formed as a notch (top recess for heads of 18)) extending in an axial direction of the connecting flange 17; a depth of the recess is smaller than a thickness of the hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 17.
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Luo et al (CN 103939625 A).
As to claim 1, Luo (Fig 9,10) discloses a connecting flange 8 for a control valve for reducing torsion (at valve seat interface by eliminating rotary motion), the control valve having ability to adjust a process fluid flow of a process plant, the connecting flange comprising: a hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8 configured to connect a control rod 4 of the control valve to a coupling structure 2 attachable to a valve housing 11 of the control valve or a housing cover (2,11) of the control valve, wherein the substantially hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8 includes at least one anti-rotation means (outer radial protrusions of 8) which is configured to fix the connecting flange to the coupling structure 2 or the housing cover housing cover (2,11) in a circumferential direction.
As to claim 4, Luo (Fig 9,10) discloses a connecting flange 8 for a control valve for reducing torsion (at valve seat interface by eliminating rotary motion), the control valve being having ability to adjust a process fluid flow of a process plant, the connecting flange comprising: a hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8 configured to connect a control rod 4 of the control valve to a coupling structure 2 attachable to a valve housing of the control valve or a housing cover 2,11 of the control valve, wherein the hollow-cylinder-like connecting body includes at least one anti-rotation means (outer radial protrusions of 8), the at least one anti-rotation means being formed by an outer shape of the hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8, wherein the outer shape has a cross-section which deviates from a circular cross-section.
As to claim 5, the outer shape of the at least one anti-rotation means (outer radial protrusions of 8) is matched to a shape of a connecting flange receptacle (complementary receiving space in 2) of the coupling structure 2 or of the housing cover 2,11.
As to claim 6, the outer shape of the substantially hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8 has a cross-section that is: irregular (due to protrusions).
As to claim 7, Luo (Fig 9,10) discloses a connecting flange 8 for a control valve for reducing torsion (at valve seat interface by eliminating rotary motion), the control valve being capable of adjusting a process fluid flow of a process plant, the connecting flange 8 comprising: a hollow-cylinder-like connecting body 8 configured to connect a control rod 4 of the control valve to a coupling structure 2 attachable to a valve housing of the control valve or a housing cover 2,11 of the control valve, wherein the hollow-cylinder-like connecting body includes at least one anti-rotation means (hexagonal inner hole of 8) configured to fix the control rod 4 to the connecting flange in a circumferential direction.
As to claim 13, Luo discloses a housing cover 2,11 for a control valve capable of adjusting a process fluid flow of a process plant, the housing cover 2,11 comprising: a through-opening for configured for a control rod 4; and a connecting flange receptacle shape (space for 8 in 2) with a cross-section which deviates from a circular cross-section configured to receive and/or fix a connecting flange 8 according to claim 1 to prevent rotation.
As to claim 14, Luo (Fig 9,10) discloses a coupling structure 2 for a control valve capable of adjusting a process fluid flow of a process plant, the coupling structure comprises: a through-opening for a control rod 4; and a connecting flange receptacle (space for 8 in 2) which has a shape with a cross-section which deviates from a circular cross-section configured to receive and/or fix a connecting flange 8 according to claim 1 to prevent rotation.
As to claim 15, the coupling structure 2 further comprises a base body (radially outer portion of 2) and a receiving part (radially inner portion of 2) , the receiving part comprising: (a) the connecting flange receptacle (space for 8), the base body and the receiving part being formed in such a way that the receiving part is at least anti-rotatably (being integrally fixed) arrangeable in a receiving recess ( interior part) delimited by the base body.
As to claim 16, Luo (Fig 9,10) discloses a control valve capable of a process fluid flow of a process plant, the control valve comprising: a valve housing 1 with an inlet opening 18, an outlet opening 19, and a passage opening (valve seat) arranged between the inlet opening and the outlet opening; a housing cover 2 arranged opposite the passage opening with a through-opening for a control rod 4; and a connecting flange 8 according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al (CN 103939625 A) in view of Cheng (CN 105952915 A).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Luo discloses valve rod 4 having hexagonal shape in a hexagonal opening of flange as anti- rotation means but fails to disclose rod having a an axial recess receiving a key of flange as anti-rotation means. Cheng, teaches rod 2 having a an axial recess 4 receiving a key 5 of flange as anti-rotation means.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Luo with rod having a an axial recess receiving a key of flange as taught by as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute anti-rotation means yielding predictable results of rotationally fixing the rod to flange.
As to claim 12, Luo as modified fails to disclose rod having a second opposite groove opening for a second flange key. However, Official Notice is taken that a second opposite groove opening for a second flange key, for the purpose of increased anti-rotation ability are widely known and notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ a second opposite groove opening for a second flange key in the device of Luo as modified for the purpose of increased anti-rotation ability as is widely known and notoriously old in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-10, 17-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753