DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0013] discloses: “As the color difference variation ∆E*v increases, the change in the color difference becomes larger at the regions that intersect with the elastic fibers, and therefore with regard to the appearance, the elastic fibers will not easily be seen, and the presence of the elastic fibers cannot easily be confirmed.” The examiner believes that the portion of this disclosure pertaining to the appearance is the opposite of what is intended, particular when compared to the sentence that follows it, which states: “If the color difference variation ∆E*v is 1.0 or less, the elastic fibers will be difficult to see, or the presence of the elastic fibers will not be able to be confirmed, or the elastic fibers will be extremely difficult to see or the presence thereof will be extremely difficult to confirm, and thus the required property is satisfied.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 13, the period is placed before Formula 1 instead of after it.
In claim 4, the opening parenthesis for “L*2, a*2, b*2)” is missing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the cloth.” It is unclear which sheet of cloth this limitation refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ishikawa et al. (US 2016/0067115 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Ishikawa teaches an elastic structure (a composite laminate body) (Abstract). Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 6, a first sheet material 12S and a second sheet material 12H (two sheets of cloth) are joined together in the area by an adhesive 71 (a hot-melt adhesive 71 or the like) applied intermittently in the extending direction and continuously with a predetermined width in the direction intersecting with (in the illustrated example, the direction orthogonal to) the extending direction, thereby to form sheet joined sections 70 (resin, provided in a plurality of strands arranged to be parallel in one direction) ([0116]). Resilient and elastic members 15 and 16 (a plurality of elastic fibers arranged in parallel in one direction) are fixed by the adhesive 71 to at least one of the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H at the intersections with the sheet joined sections 70 ([0119] and FIG. 6a-d). Specifically, the structure is suited to the case where at least one of the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H is made from flexible non-woven fabric such as non-woven fabric of polypropylene (PP) or its copolymer, or non-woven fabric of core-sheath fibers (PE/PP) with polyethylene (PE) as a sheath and polypropylene (PP) as a core ([0118]). Portions of the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H positioned between the sheet joined sections 70 are also contracted and swelled in mutually opposite directions to form ridges 80 ([0132] and FIG. 6b-c).
Ishikawa teaches, with respect to the resilient and elastic members 15 and 16, that preferred ranges of the fineness and extension ratio are “as described above” ([0131]; also see [0111] and [0113]). As a whole, the resilient and elastic members 15 and 16 desirably have a fineness of about 300 to 1,000 dtex, and an extension ratio of about 200 to 350% ([0131]).
The examiner notes that, in Experiment 1, Ishikawa teaches examples in accordance with the structure discussed above, wherein the structure more specifically includes a polypropylene-fiber SSS non-woven fabric with a fineness of 1.6 denier as a first sheet material and a second sheet material, and 470-dtex rubber threads as resilient and elastic members ([0143]-[0146]). As calculated by the examiner, these examples meets the claimed ratio of fineness (i.e., 470/1.6 = 294).
With respect to the claimed Formula 1 property, the claimed elongation of 150%, and the claimed color difference variation property (∆E*v), the examiner notes that the structure and materials of Ishikawa discussed above are the same as or are substantially the same as those disclosed by applicant. Thus, it is the position of the Office that the composite of Ishikawa would have the claimed properties as the same compounds necessarily have the same properties. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to expect that the claimed properties would be so provided, as the reference teaches the same materials and structure as those claimed and disclosed, and as the properties cannot be separated from the materials. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, Ishikawa meets the claimed limitations, absent an objective showing to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2016/0067115 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, as further applied below, with evidence from NIST (“Composition of RUBBER, NATURAL,” attached).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa remains as applied above.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose, in the embodiment applied above, wherein the fineness of the elastic fibers is 350 dtex or less.
However, Ishikawa teaches, with respect to the resilient and elastic members 15 and 16, that preferred ranges of the fineness and extension ratio are “as described above” ([0131]) The examiner notes that above this paragraph, Ishikawa teaches resilient and elastic members 15 with a fineness of 155 to 1880 dtex, in particular about 470 to 1240 dtex, and resilient and elastic members 16 with a fineness of 155 to 1880 dtex, in particular about 470 to 1240 dtex ([0111] and [0113]). Ishikawa also teaches that, as a whole, the resilient and elastic members 15 and 16 desirably have a fineness of about 300 to 1,000 dtex, and an extension ratio of about 200 to 350% ([0131]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the resilient and elastic members in the embodiments of Ishikawa’s Experiment 1 with a fineness of 155 to 1880 dtex, in particular about 470 to 1240 dtex, or about 300 to 1,000 dtex, because Ishikawa teaches that these are preferred ranges of the fineness of the resilient and elastic members (see the paragraphs cited above).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa teaches that there is no particular limitation on the material for the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H ([0117]). Nevertheless, they are desirably made from non-woven fabric with a thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm and a basis weight of 10 to 20 g/m2 ([0117]). In the same manner applied to claim 3 above, Ishikawa teaches a fineness range of 155 to 1880 dtex, in particular about 470 to 1240 dtex, or about 300 to 1,000 dtex for the resilient and elastic members ([0131]; also see [0111] and [0113]). In embodiments, Ishikawa teaches that the resilient and elastic members may be natural rubber ([0111] and [0113]). As evidenced by NIST, natural rubber has a density of 0.92 g/cm3 (see attachment). Therefore, as calculated by the examiner, the diameter of the resilient and elastic members would range from about 0.15 mm to about 0.51 mm (for a range of 155 to 1880 dtex).
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the composite laminate body at a location where the resin that extends in one direction intersects with the elastic fibers is 0.1 mm or higher and 2.0 mm or lower. However, Ishikawa teaches that the loop tack adhesive force of the hot-melt adhesive 71 is measured in such a manner as described “below” ([0125]). That is, the hot-melt adhesive is applied with a thickness of 50 µm to a PET plate with a thickness of 50 µm ([0125]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the adhesive in the composite elastic structure of Ishikawa with a thickness of 50 µm, or with a thickness matching that of the sheet materials it is attached to, as the loop tack adhesive force test taught by Ishikawa would reasonably have suggested that such thicknesses are effective in providing desirable loop tack adhesive force properties (also see [0124]).
Therefore, as calculated by the examiner, a thickness of the composite elastic structure can be estimated as ranging from about 0.4 mm to about 3.51 mm (i.e., 2 x 0.1 + 0.15 + 0.05 = 0.4, or 2 x 1 + 0.51 + 1 = 3.51), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mm or higher and 2.0 mm or lower.
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa teaches that portions of the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H positioned between the sheet joined sections 70 are also contracted and swelled in mutually opposite directions to form ridges 80 ([0132] and FIG. 6b-c). The sheet joined sections (70) have a width (70w) of 0.5 to 4 mm in the extending direction and spacing (70d) between the adjacent sheet joined sections (70) is 4 to 8 mm (Abstract and FIG. 6a). The examiner notes that, as shown in FIGS. 6a-c, the portion 70d between adhesive sections 70 (or between sections 71) is the portion that forms the ridges shown in FIGS. 6b-c, where the height of said ridges can be estimated as being, at most, about half of the width of 70d. As applied to claim 5 above, the thickness of the composite in a flat state (or the thickness of the flat portions of the composite corresponding to adhesive portions 71 in FIGS. 6b-c) can be estimated to range from about 0.4 mm to about 3.51 mm. Accounting for the ridges shown in FIGS. 6b-c, the maximum thickness of the composite can be estimated as being about 11.51 mm (i.e., 3.51 + 2 x (8/2) = 11.51).
Regarding claims 7-8, Ishikawa teaches that the sheet joined sections (70) have a width (70w) (the width of one strand of resin) of 0.5 to 4 mm in the extending direction and spacing (70d) (the interval between strands of resin) between the adjacent sheet joined sections (70) is 4 to 8 mm (Abstract and FIG. 6a). Ishikawa also teaches that the extension ratio of the resilient and elastic members is 200 to 350% in a state where the elastic structure is fully opened ([0045]-[0046] and [0131]). As calculated by the examiner, the width of one strand of resin would range from 1 mm to 14 mm in a condition where the composite laminate body is extended to a maximum in the direction that the elastic fibers extend (e.g., 4 x 3.5 = 14). The interval between strands of resin would range from 8 mm to 28 mm in a condition where the composite laminate body is extended to a maximum in the direction that the elastic fibers extend (e.g., 8 x 3.5 = 28).
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa teaches that the hot-melt adhesive 71 may be based on EVA, adhesive rubber (elastomer), olefin, polyester polyamide, and the like ([0122]). Specifically, the structure is suited to the case where at least one of the first sheet material 12S and the second sheet material 12H is made from flexible non-woven fabric such as non-woven fabric of polypropylene (PP) or its copolymer (for example, copolymer mixed with polyethylene or ethylene as a copolymer component) (hereinafter, also referred to as PP-based non-woven fabric), non-woven fabric of core-sheath fibers (PE/PP) with polyethylene (PE) as a sheath and polypropylene (PP) as a core ([0118]).
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa teaches that the elastic structure suited for the areas of an outer body at least at the both sides along the width direction of an inner body in an underpants-type disposable diaper ([0048], Abstract and FIGS. 6b-c).
Regarding claims 12-14, Ishikawa is applied in the same manner applied above to claim 1. Ishikawa further teaches that the sheet joined sections (70) have a width (70w) (a width per strand of the resin) of 0.5 to 4 mm in the extending direction and spacing (70d) (the interval between the resin strands) between the adjacent sheet joined sections (70) is 4 to 8 mm (Abstract and FIG. 6a). In Experiment 1, Ishikawa teaches a polypropylene-fiber SSS non-woven fabric with a fineness of 1.6 denier (1.8 dtex) as a first sheet material and a second sheet material, and 470-dtex rubber threads as resilient and elastic members ([0143]-[0146]). In the same manner as applied to claim 3 above, Ishikawa also teaches a fineness of 155 to 1880 dtex for the resilient and elastic members ([0131]; also see [0111] and [0113]). The examiner notes that this range overlaps with the claimed elastic fiber fineness values of 156 dtex, 235 dtex and 310 dtex. The claimed ratios of 104, 157 and 207 would, in each case, be met by first and second sheets having fibers with a fineness of 1.5 dtex. Ishikawa instead teaches a fineness of 1.6 denier (1.8 dtex). However, the dimensions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2016/0067115 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2007/0142801 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa remains as applied above.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermal softening point of the elastic fiber is 100°C or higher and 240°C or lower.
However, Zhou teaches a polyolefin-based elastic hot melt adhesive composition having oil resistance, creep resistance and excellent bond strength (Abstract). Zhou teaches that a “high softening point" additive refers to tackifiers and the like having softening points of 80° C. or higher, suitably 90° C. or higher, or 100° C. or higher, and up to about 150° ([0022]). A tackifier is suitably present at about 15-60% by weight of the adhesive composition, or about 25-55% by weight, or about 35-55% by weight ([0036]). Suitably, the tackifier is a high softening point tackifier having a softening point of 80° C. or higher, or 100° C. or higher ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have used, as the polyolefin adhesive of Ishikawa, a polyolefin-based elastic hot melt adhesive composition comprising 15-60% by weight of a tackifier having a softening point of 100° C. or higher (e.g., up to about 150° C.) in order to provide the composite elastic structure with an adhesive having good oil resistance, creep resistance and excellent bond strength properties (see the paragraphs cited above).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2016/0067115 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Roslansky et al. (US 6,371,950 B1).
Regarding claims 12-14, Ishikawa teaches the claimed limitations as applied above.
In addition, or in the alternative, Ishikawa is applied in the same manner applied above to claim 1, and further teaches that the sheet joined sections (70) have a width (70w) (a width per strand of the resin) of 0.5 to 4 mm in the extending direction and spacing (70d) (the interval between the resin strands) between the adjacent sheet joined sections (70) is 4 to 8 mm (Abstract and FIG. 6a). In Experiment 1, Ishikawa teaches a polypropylene-fiber SSS non-woven fabric with a fineness of 1.6 denier (1.8 dtex) as a first sheet material and a second sheet material, and 470-dtex rubber threads as resilient and elastic members ([0143]-[0146]). In the same manner as applied to claim 3 above, Ishikawa also teaches a fineness of 155 to 1880 dtex for the resilient and elastic members ([0131]; also see [0111] and [0113]). The examiner notes that this range overlaps with the claimed elastic fiber fineness values of 156 dtex, 235 dtex and 310 dtex. The claimed ratios of 104, 157 and 207 would, in each case, be met by first and second sheets having fibers with a fineness of 1.5 dtex. Ishikawa instead teaches a fineness of 1.6 denier (1.8 dtex).
However, Roslansky teaches absorbent articles that include a pouch section that includes a substantially fixed edge portion, an elasticized gathered movable edge portion, a substantially liquid impermeable pouch barrier layer, a pouch fabric layer, and a plurality of separate laterally extending pouch elastic members sandwiched between the pouch barrier layer and the pouch fabric layer (Abstract). A plurality of separate, laterally extending flange elastic members 109 are sandwiched and operably connected between the flange barrier layer 105 and the flange fabric layer 107 to provide an elasticized flange composite 111, which is substantially transversely gathered by the flange elastic members 109 and is elastically stretchable at least along the transverse direction (col. 30, lines 12-18). Desirably, the flange fabric layer 107 is arranged for placement against the wearer's skin, although the flange barrier layer 105 may optionally be appointed for placement immediately adjacent the wearer's skin (col. 30, lines 22-26). For example, fabric layers 107, 108, and 125 may comprise a 0.6 osy polypropylene spunbond fabric composed of fibers having denier of less than about 4 den (col. 33, lines 35-40). The fabric layers 107, 108, and 125 can alternatively have fibers with deniers of less than about 3 den, and optionally can include fibers having deniers of less than about 2.5 den (col. 33, lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the first sheet material and/or the second sheet material in the elastic composite of Ishikawa with fibers have deniers of less than about 2.5 den (2.8 dtex) in order to obtain an elastic composite suitable for use in the pouch section of an absorbent article (see the paragraphs cited above).
The examiner notes that when the fibers in the first sheet material and/or the second sheet material have deniers of less than about 2.5 den, the elastic structure of Ishikawa in view of Roslansky would have a ratio of fineness range overlapping with the ratios in claims 12-14.
Conclusion
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789