DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 2, 5-6, 13-14, 20 were amended, claim 1 was canceled. Claims 2-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 20 states " wherein the forming forms the first structure and with the main sidewall from a single body of material to form a base of the container." The claims are directed towards a method of forming the container. The original disclosure does not talk about formation from a single body. The disclosure does not discuss formation being injection molding or any particular process. But for example, in injection molding multiple bodies (pellets) are converted to fluid to form a product. The process of formation for the present invention is unclear, however, it is not disclosed to be made from a single body If injection molding is the method of formation, multiple bodies are used (molds, material pellets, etc). The structures being made from a single body implies sculpting or whittling a single mass down to form.
Claims 2--22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second side" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3-5, 13, 16-22 directly or indirectly depend from claim 6 and are also rejected. Further, the limitation in totality is unclear since the second side is never referenced prior. Since cylindrical items do not have traditional sides, it is presumed that the description pertains to a top vs bottom surface.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second side" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 7-12 directly or indirectly depend from claim 2 and are also rejected. Further, the limitation in totality is unclear since the second side is never referenced prior. Since cylindrical items do not have traditional sides, it is presumed that the description pertains to a top vs bottom surface.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second side" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 15 directly or indirectly depend from claim 14 and are also rejected. Further, the limitation in totality is unclear since the second side is never referenced prior. Since cylindrical items do not have traditional sides, it is presumed that the description pertains to a top vs bottom surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 13, 18-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Patel (US 20220071280 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Patel discloses a method of forming a container, comprising: establishing a first end-wall (108) connected to a first end of a main sidewall (main wall of 110); forming a first structure (structure of 118b) with a central floor (central horizontal portion as seen in figure 2), a first side (134) of the first structure being connected to a second end of the main sidewall (136), such that the main sidewall extends from the first side in a direction perpendicular to the central floor (downward vertical), the first structure including a secondary sidewall (downward extension behind 116) extending from the central floor in a second direction (from the central floor, this is in the upwards vertical direction) that opposes the first direction, the first side and second side being on opposing sides of the central floor, a first peripheral portion (116 and further outer edges) of the first structure at least partially defining a peripheral cavity (may choose space between 116 and the cover that meets this limitation), the peripheral cavity symmetrically circumscribing the secondary sidewall adjacent a periphery of the central floor; and configuring a protrusion of a cover (figure 1B, cover is structure of 116a) to be insertable into and releasably mateable with the secondary sidewall, a second peripheral portion (outer edge of 116a) of the cover at least partially closing the peripheral cavity when the protrusion is inserted into the secondary sidewall.
Examiner Note: The central floor can include the horizontal portion in totality, it is not limited to a single feature, for example the annular portion can be included in the interpretation. Regardless of bounds, the peripheral cavity can be considered adjacent (nearby) to the central floor. With an interpretation of the central floor extending until the peripheral portion (116), the central floor is directly beneath the cavity. With the definition of the central floor stopping at the annular ridge, it is still close to the cavity.
With respect to claim 3, Patel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the forming forms such that the first structure (structure of 118) closes a primary storage area (108), the primary storage area being defined in part by the main sidewall and the first end-wall.
With respect to claim 4, Patel discloses method of claim 2, wherein configuring configures such that the protrusion (figure 1b) and a first central portion (center of structure of 116a) of the cover closes a secondary storage area (area of 150) that is defined by a second central portion of the first structure.
With respect to claim 5, Patel discloses method of claim 4, wherein the forming forms such that the first structure includes an annular ridge (figure 2) defined around a periphery of the central floor, the annular ridge being between the secondary storage area and the peripheral cavity, the secondary sidewall (downwardly protruding wall after 16 figure 1B) being connected to the annular ridge, an upper surface of the annular ridge directly contacting an interior surface of the cover (see figure 8) when the protrusion is inserted into, and mated with, the secondary side wall.
With respect to claim 13, Patel discloses method of claim 2, wherein the forming forms such that the first structure includes an annular ridge (ledge at the top/overlooking the secondary sidewall) defined around a periphery of the central floor, the annular ridge being between an epicenter of the first structure and the peripheral cavity, a first end of the secondary sidewall being connected to the annular ridge, and a second end of the secondary sidewall being connected to a central portion of the first structure.
EXAMINER NOTE: The interpretation of annular ridge for claim 13 is different than the interpretation of annular ridge in claim 5.
With respect to claim 18, Patel discloses method of claim 2, wherein the configuring configures such that the protrusion (figure 1B) is a cylindrically shaped wall that is hollow.
With respect to claim 19, Patel discloses method of claim 2, wherein the establishing establishes such that the main sidewall (110) and the first end-wall (108) collectively form a base of the container, the base at least partially defining a primary storage area, and the forming forms the first structure (structure of 118) such that the first structure closes the primary storage area, the first structure being selectively removable from the base.
With respect to claim 20, Patel discloses method of claim 2, wherein the forming forms the first structure (structure of 118) and with the main sidewall (110) from a single body of material to form a base of the container. Patel does not directly disclose this subject matter. However, Patel does teach of injection molding as a process for formation. It would have been obvious to have both parts on the same mold to make a singular container simultaneously while having the feed material be the same (pellets) as it would streamline the manufacturing process. Official Notice is taken that simultaneously producing parts for a singular invention was notoriously well-known in the art of injection molding at the time the invention was effectively filed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine simultaneous production of parts with this well-known technique in order to create a singular product.
With respect to claim 22, Patel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the configuring configures the protrusion such that a gap exists between a distal-most end of the protrusion and a second central end-wall of the first structure when the protrusion is inserted into and mated with the second sidewall. (can be considered the configuration of figure 2, further second central end-wall is not defined. If limited to a small area of the center portion only, there is a horizontal gap between the protrusion and end wall)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US 20220071280 A1).
With respect to claim 20, the references as applied to claim 2, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the forming forms the first structure (structure of 118) and with the main sidewall (110) from a single body of material to form a base of the container. Patel does not directly disclose this subject matter. However, Patel does teach of injection molding as a process for formation. It would have been obvious to have both parts on the same mold to make a singular container simultaneously while having the feed material be the same (pellets) as it would streamline the manufacturing process. Official Notice is taken that simultaneously producing parts for a singular invention was notoriously well-known in the art of injection molding at the time the invention was effectively filed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine simultaneous production of parts with this well-known technique in order to create a singular product.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US 20220071280 A1) in view of Patel (WO 2022049545 A1 – see attached).
With respect to claim 21, the references as applied to claim 20, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the establishing establishes such that the first end-wall is selectively removable from the main sidewall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely multiple compartment storage containers, Patel (WO 2022049545 A1) taught of a container that is separable from both sides, specifically a first structure and cover (704b side) and a first end-wall (704a). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first end-wall of Patel (US 20220071280 A1) to be removable as taught by Patel (WO 2022049545 A1) in order to allow an alternate method of accessibility to the first compartment (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are rejected to as being rejected under 112b or dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify the limitations of, “protrusion and a first central portion of the cover closes a secondary storage area that is defined by a second central portion of the first structure, when the protrusion is inserted into the secondary sidewall, and the forming forms such that the first structure includes a first annular ridge between the secondary storage area and the peripheral cavity, the secondary sidewall being connected to the first annular ridge, and the configuring configures such that the first peripheral portion spans across the first annular ridge and is suspended above the peripheral cavity once the protrusion is inserted into the secondary sidewall” in combination as claimed in claims 6 is not anticipated or made obvious over the prior art of record in the Examiner’s opinion. For example, the references as applied in the Non-Final action filed on 12/16/2025 disclose much of the claimed structure, however, fail to teach or suggest the combination of structural limitations as claimed in claims 6. Claims 7-12 depend from claim 6 and are in condition for allowance.
Claims 14-15 are rejected to as being rejected under 112b or dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify the limitations of, “wherein the configuring configures such that the first peripheral portion spans across the annular ridge and is suspended above the peripheral cavity once the protrusion is inserted into the secondary sidewall” in combination as claimed in claims 14 is not anticipated or made obvious over the prior art of record in the Examiner’s opinion. For example, the references as applied in the Non-Final action filed on 12/16/2025 disclose much of the claimed structure, however, fail to teach or suggest the combination of structural limitations as claimed in claims 14. Claims 15 depend from claim 14 and are in condition for allowance.
Claims 16-17 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 16 is rejected due to its dependency on the rejected claim 13 (above). Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the configuring configures such that a first upper edge of a second side of the cover is able to be pressed in an inward direction into the peripheral cavity, at any location along a periphery of the cover, to cause a first end of the cover to rise to assist in detaching the cover from the first structure.
Consequentially, claims 17 are rejected to due to their dependencies on previously rejected claim 13 however they also depend upon the allowable subject matter from claim 16 due to dependencies on claims 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 7/20/2026, with respect to prior 112b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 5/19/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A modified reading of Patel has been used that demonstrates a central floor that meets the claim description.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO-2022049545-A1 OR SE-2150763-A1 OR SE-2150650-A1 OR SE-545107-C2 OR SE-1651130-A1 OR US-20220071280-A1 OR US-20240174414-A1 OR US-20160368670-A1 OR US-20160214768-A1 OR US-20110006060-A1 OR US-D756790-S OR US-5029723-A OR US-4606474-A OR US-10815038-B2 OR US-5181626-A OR US-20190239562-A1 OR WO-2022263038-A1 OR WO-2014124939-A1 OR US-20060043095-A1.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735