DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12/09/2024 and 01/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi, US 2008/0088891 in view of Ikeda, US 2022/0131992.
Regarding claim 1, Shiraishi discloses an image forming apparatus (color laser printer 100 as the image forming apparatus, paragraph 32) comprising:
an image data acquisition device (scanner unit 103, paragraph 33);
a printer (printer engine 104, paragraph 33) configured to print an image of the image data on a sheet (printer controller 101 receives image data input from the scanner unit 103 and print controller transfers the image data to the printer engine 104, to perform printing, paragraphs 38, 85);
an input device (operation panel 102, paragraph 33) configured to receive setting information (printing process is started upon inputting of an instruction for starting printing by the operation panel 102, paragraph 80);
and a controller (printer controller 101, paragraphs 33-36) configured to:
receive a re-activation time setting (image forming apparatus receives (setting time zones in advance by i.e., user), the time zone setting comprising which day-of-week/time-of-day determined as to be where printer shall be active or operating, paragraph 12),
store the re-activation time setting (scheduled time which includes time zone setting such as day of week and time of day where printer shall be in use or operating is stored in the printer hard disk such that, it is determined based on stored use-end scheduled time, whether or not to execute the calibration process, paragraphs 36, 51),
re-activate the image forming apparatus from an inactive state according to the re-activation time setting (when the use-start scheduled time set by the user is approaching, however, it is determined that the printer is in the sleep mode, thereby, the activation of the printer is started, where, the temperature adjustment of the fixing unit is started until the temperature becomes equal to or higher than a predetermine temperature and upon completion of the adjustment, the before-use-only calibration is executed, paragraphs 89, 95).
Shiraishi fails to explicitly disclose an image data acquisition device configured to acquire image data; receive a re-activation control setting, store the re-activation control setting, and execute a maintenance control according to re-activation control setting.
However, Ikeda teaches image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 1, paragraph 26) comprising:
an image data acquisition device (scanner 18, paragraph 27) configured to acquire image data (scanner 18 scans and reads an image of a document, paragraph 43);
Ikeda further teaches a printer configured to print an image of the image data on a sheet (scanner scans and reads an image of a document and a plotter (image forming engine) performs printing on a sheet such as paper, paragraph 43);
an input device configured to receive setting information (control panel 30 receives various inputs corresponding to operation by user and displays information indicating the operational status of the image forming apparatus 1, and information indicating the setting of the image forming apparatus 1, paragraph 39);
receive a re-activation control setting, store the re-activation control setting (scheduled start time of the periodic maintenance (time t2) is received/set by user (not shown but apparent, that timing has be set by someone), and is stored in NVRAM 44 such that it is compared with threshold time to determine when to start maintenance, paragraphs 44, 50),
re-activate the image forming apparatus from an inactive state according to re-activation time setting (when it is time t1, the power supply controller 46 starts the image forming apparatus 1, paragraph 49),
and execute a maintenance control according to the re-activation control setting (time t2 is the scheduled start time of the periodic maintenance. At the time t2, the power supply controller 46 controls the image forming apparatus 1 to start the periodic maintenance, paragraph 50).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Shiraishi with Ikeda further teaches wherein the re-activation control setting includes the maintenance control and setting information on whether to execute the maintenance control (Shiraishi, based on selected time zone scheduled time (selected calibration mode) and stored cumulative count value of sheets subjected to color printing (setting information), it is determined whether or not to execute the calibration process, paragraph 12 and Ikeda, based on scheduled time of periodic maintenance, it is determined whether to start the periodic maintenance or not, paragraphs 49-50).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Shiraishi with Ikeda further teaches wherein the maintenance control includes at least one of (a) image maintenance control or (b) position alignment control (Shiraishi, calibration process encompasses image tone correction, density correction, etc., which are type of image maintenance control, paragraphs 12, 65-69, 95, and Ikeda, periodic maintenance for example can be a inkjet nozzle cleaning, which is a type of image maintenance control for images to be produced, paragraph 3).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Shiraishi with Ikeda further teaches determine whether a re-activation condition is satisfied based on the re-activation time setting and the re-activation control setting while the image forming apparatus waits for an input to execute a job (Shiraishi, it is checked for “before use-start scheduled time” while printer could be in waiting or stand-by state for an input to execute a job as shown in S601, fig. 6 and Ikeda, it is checked whether both time t1 (threshold time before scheduled start time of periodic maintenance) and time t2 (scheduled start time of the periodic maintenance) are satisfied and then the power supply controller 46 controls the image forming apparatus 1 to start the periodic maintenance, paragraphs 49-50).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 7, is a method version of claim 1, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 8, is a method version of claim 2, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, is a method version of claim 5, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, is a method version of claim 6, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi, US 2008/0088891 in view of Ikeda, US 2022/0131992 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Miyadera et al., US 2011/0026082.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Shiraishi with Ikeda further teaches set a timer for a control setting that executes the maintenance control during the re-activation, execute the maintenance control when the timer is set during the re-activation (Shiraishi, when the use-start scheduled time set by the user is approaching, the before-use-only calibration is executed during the reactivation of printer from sleep mode, paragraphs 89, 95 and Ikeda, it is checked whether timer t1 and t2 are satisfied and then the power supply controller 46 controls the image forming apparatus 1 to start the periodic maintenance during start (re-activation) of the image forming apparatus 1, paragraphs 49-50), and clear the timer after the maintenance control is executed (Shiraishi, after calibration process, the printer is caused to shift to the standby state, paragraph 95 and Ikeda, at a time t4, the periodic maintenance ends, and the power supply controller 46 automatically turns off the image forming apparatus 1 (timer is cleared), paragraph 52).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Shiraishi with Ikeda fails to explicitly teach set a control flag for a control setting that executes control process during re-activation, execute the control process when the control flag is set during the re-activation, and clear the control flag after the control process is executed.
However, Miyadera teaches set a control flag for a control setting that executes control process during re-activation, execute the control process when the control flag is set during the re-activation, and clear the control flag after the control process is executed (control process such as toner adhesion amount control and color matching control, etc. are deferred executed until a time immediately before the start of a subsequent printing job, at a time of power being turned on, at a time of returning from sleep, where flags for each control process are set and flags are cleared when each corresponding control process has been executed, paragraphs 197-201).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable with Miyadera because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers executing re-activation or power-on processes.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi and Ikeda to incorporate the teachings of Miyadera for the benefit of being able to effectively execute control processes in appropriate timing according to the contents and settings that are set in an MFP as taught by Miyadera at paragraph 20.
Regarding claim 9, is a method version of claim 3, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi, US 2008/0088891 in view of Ikeda, US 2022/0131992 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Hirasawa, US 2017/0180570.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Shiraishi with Ikeda further teaches detect an error, the error preventing the maintenance control from being executed is detected while the timer is set (Ikeda, if any error occurs in the device while the screen G5 is displayed, where apparatus has started the periodic maintenance, then the error screen G10 is displayed stating “Error occurred. Error code: Scxxx-xx”, basically preventing the maintenance control from being executed and correspondingly screen G15 is shown stating that “The apparatus is shutting down. Please wait for a while”, paragraphs 143-147).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers and executing processes based on time settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda for the benefit of allowing reception of a print instruction at the same time as activation of a waiting timer for reducing a waiting time (unprintable time) of a user after automatic maintenance as taught by Ikeda at paragraph 4.
Shiraishi with Ikeda fails to explicitly teach detect an error during re-activation, the error is detected while control flag is set, clear the control flag, and re-activate image forming apparatus upon clearing the control flag.
However, Hirasawa teaches detect an error during re-activation, the error is detected while control flag is set, clear the control flag, and re-activate image forming apparatus upon clearing the control flag (in response to the sleep recovery process of MFP being started, it is checked whether an error has occurred for example CPU 21 determines if second-type all-error icon such as whether one of the second-type IP error flag, the second-type proxy error flag, and the second-type relay error flag are set and if yes, the CPU 21 clears a flag of a specific second-type error causing the second-type error and then performs a retry process by going to the retry point B so as to reattempt to establish rest of the re-activation of the MFP and its connections, paragraphs 161-164).
Shiraishi and Ikeda are combinable with Hirasawa because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printers executing re-activation or power-on processes.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shiraishi and Ikeda to incorporate the teachings of Hirasawa for the benefit of having an MFP being able to effectively use the print related services in a more user-friendly manner as taught by Hirasawa at paragraph 11.
Regarding claim 10, is a method version of claim 4, reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hikichi, US 2022/0236679
Ohashi et al., US 2019/0289155
Kobayashi et al., US 2014/0176975
Ohara, US 2004/0227970
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/BENNY Q TIEU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682