DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8181377 to Lofgren et al. (Lofgren).
Regarding claim 1, Lofgren teaches a display device (2) with the capacity to display two- or three-dimensional objects comprising: a first case section (first mounting member 4) and a second case section (second mounting member 6); and a first liner (a first elastomeric film 18 is mounted to first film-mounting surface 10 and extends across first opening 12) coupled to the first case section (4) and a second liner (a second elastomeric film 20 is mounted to second film-mounting surface 14 and extends across second opening 16) coupled to the first case section (6); wherein the first liner (18) and the second liner (20) are configured to suspend the item (display object D; figure 5; column 5, lines 11-16) between the first case section (4) and the second case section (6).
Regarding claim 4, Lofgren teaches the first liner (first elastomeric film 18) or the second liner (second elastomeric film 20) is elastically deformable (column 5, line 11-19; figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lofgren teaches the first liner (18) is configured to flex away from the second liner (20) when the item is located between the first liner and the second liner (column 5, line 11-19; figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Lofgren teaches the first liner (18) and the second liner (20) are configured to prevent movement of the item located there between along the first liner and the second liner (column 5, line 11-19; figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Lofgren teaches the first liner and the second liner are configured to compress the item there between (column 6, line 38-43 and column 7, line 42 to column 8,line 15).
Regarding claim 8, Lofgren teaches the first liner (18) is configured to deform and engage an edge of the item (column 5, line 11-19; figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Lofgren teaches the first case section (4) has a frame surface (first film-mounting surfaces 10) that faces a frame surface (second film-mounting surfaces 14) of the second case section (6); and wherein the first liner (18) is coupled to the frame surface (10) of the first case section (4) and the second liner (20) is coupled to the frame surface (14) of the second case section (6). (column 7, lines 21-31)
Regarding claim 10, Lofgren teaches the first liner (18) is coupled to the first case section such that the first liner is tensioned.
Regarding claim 14, Lofgren teaches a jacket (chassis 8, figures 1-4; chassis 8'', figure 7B; chassis 8’’’, figure 8B removably coupled to and surrounding the first case section and the second case section.
Regarding claim 15, Lofgren teaches the jacket (chassis 8, 8’’ and 8’’’) prevents movement of the first case section (4) relative to the second case section (6).
Claims 1-11, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4491225 Baillod.
Regarding claim 1, Baillod teaches a shock cushioning package for displaying an item (part 12) comprising: a first case section (clear upper shell 2) and a second case section (clear lower shell 11); and a first liner (clear elastic membrane 3) coupled to the first case section (2) and a second liner (clear elastic membrane 4) coupled to the first case section (11); wherein the first liner (3) and the second liner (4) are configured to suspend the item (12) between the first case section (2) and the second case section (11).
Regarding claim 2, Baillod teaches each of the first case section (2) and the second case section (11) includes a viewing pane (outer surface); and wherein the first liner and the second liner are configured to suspend the item between the viewing panes.
Regarding claim 3, Baillod teaches each of the first case section (2) and the second case section (11) includes a viewing pane (see annotated figure above); and wherein a first cavity is defined between the viewing pane of the first case section and the first liner and a second cavity is defined between the viewing pane of the second case section and the second liner.
Regarding claim 4, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) or the second liner (4) is elastically deformable (column 8, lines 44-55).
Regarding claim 5, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) is configured to flex away from the second liner (4) when the item (12) is located between the first liner (3) and the second liner (4).
Regarding claim 6, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) and the second liner (4) are configured to prevent movement of the item (12) located there between along the first liner and the second liner (column 7, line 1-8).
Regarding claim 7, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) and the second liner (4) are configured to compress the item (12) there between (abstract; claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) is configured to deform and engage an edge of the item (12). (abstract; claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Baillod teaches the first case section (2) has a frame surface (13) that faces a frame surface (13) of the second case section (11); and wherein the first liner (3) is coupled to the frame surface (13) of the first case section (2) and the second liner (4) is coupled to the frame surface (13) of the second case section (11). (See Figure 3)
Regarding claim 10, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) is coupled to the first case section (2) such that the first liner is tensioned (abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Baillod teaches a coupling device coupled to one of the first case section or the second case section and for coupling to the one of the first case section or the second case section to the other of the first case section and the second case section (column 6, line 3-16, column 7, lines 37-51 and column 10, line 26-42).
Regarding claim 16, Baillod teaches a shock cushioning package for displaying an item (part 12) comprising: a first case section (upper shell 2) and a second case section (lower shell 11); a first liner (clear elastic membrane 3) coupled to the first case section (upper shell 2) such that a first cavity (figure 2) is defined between the first liner (3) and the first case section (2); a second liner (clear elastic membranes 4) coupled to the second case section (clear lower shell 11) such that a second cavity (figure 2) is defined between the second liner (4) and the second case section (11); wherein the first liner (3) and the second liner (4) are configured to sandwich the item there between and suspend the item between the first cavity and the second cavity (column 8, line 15-23).
Regarding claim 18, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) is configured to flex away from the second liner (4) when the item (12) is sandwiched between the first liner (3) and the second liner (4). (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 20, Baillod teaches the first liner (3) and the second liner (4) are configured to compress the item (12) there between.
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20060070286 to Bell,
Regarding claim 1, Bell teaches a two faced picture, document and/or other artwork frames comprising: a first case section (top half 1) and a second case section (lower half 2); and a first liner (pane 4) coupled to the first case section (1) and a second liner (pane 3) coupled to the first case section (2); wherein the first liner (4) and the second liner (3) are configured to suspend the item (picture) between the first case section (1) and the second case section (2).
Regarding claim 11, Bell teaches a coupling device (latch 7) coupled to one of the first case section or the second case section and for coupling to the one of the first case section or the second case section to the other of the first case section and the second case section (figures 3-4)
Regarding claim 13, Bell teaches a hinge (hinge 6) that pivotably couples the first case section (1) to the second case section (2).
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-13, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20060042995 to McGrath et al. (McGrath).
Regarding claim 1, McGrath teaches a suspension package (2) comprising: a first case section (first cover 4) and a second case section (second cover 8); and a first liner (first mounting ring 14 with a first suspension film 22) coupled to the first case section (4) and a second liner (second mounting ring 18 with a second suspension film 24) coupled to the first case section (8); wherein the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to suspend the item (article, not show, ¶0001) between the first case section (4) and the second case section (8).
Regarding claim 2, McGrath teaches each of the first case section (4) and the second case section (8) includes a viewing pane (outer surface); and wherein the first liner and the second liner are configured to suspend the item between the viewing panes (first cover 4 and second cover 8 are clear; ¶0035).
Regarding claim 3, McGrath teaches each of the first case section (4) and the second case section (8) includes a viewing pane (outer surface); and wherein a first cavity (first product-receiving well 6; figure 2) is defined between the viewing pane (outer surface) of the first case section (4) and the first liner (22) and a second cavity (second product-receiving well 10; figure 2) is defined between the viewing pane of the second case section (8) and the second liner (24).
Regarding claim 6, McGrath teaches the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to prevent movement of the item (not shown) located there between along the first liner and the second liner (¶0038).
Regarding claim 7, McGrath teaches the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to compress the item (not show) there between (¶0038).
Regarding claim 9, McGrath teaches the first case section (4) has a frame surface (upper peripheral surface 28) that faces a frame surface (8) of the second case section (upper peripheral surface 32); and wherein the first liner (14 and 22) is coupled to the frame surface (28) of the first case section (4) and the second liner (18 and 24) is coupled to the frame surface (32) of the second case section (8). (See Figure 3)
Regarding claim 10, McGrath teaches the first liner (14 and 22) is coupled to the first case section (18 and 24) such that the first liner is tensioned (¶0054).
Regarding claim 11, McGrath teaches a coupling device (the first locking member (e.g., protruding element 3) coupled to one of the first case section (4) or the second case section (8) and for coupling to the one of the first case section (4) or the second case section (8) to the other of the first case section (4) and the second case section (8; ¶0036).
Regarding claim 12, McGrath teaches the coupling device is a magnet (¶0031). The lock can be magnets.
Regarding claim 13, McGrath teaches a hinge (living hinge 12) that pivotably couples the first case section (4) to the second case section (8).
Regarding claim 16, McGrath teaches a suspension package (2) comprising: a first case section (first cover 4) and a second case section (second cover 8); a first liner (first mounting ring 14 with a first suspension film 22) coupled to the first case section (4) such that a first cavity (6) is defined between the first liner (14 and 22) and the first case section (4); a second liner (second mounting ring 18 with a second suspension film 24) coupled to the second case section (8) such that a second cavity (10) is defined between the second liner (18 and 22) and the second case section (8); wherein the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to sandwich the item (article, not show, ¶0001) there between and suspend the item between the first cavity and the second cavity (10).
Regarding claim 17, McGrath teaches the first case section (4) and the second case section (8)are pivotably coupled to each other about an axis ((living hinge 12).
Regarding claim 19, McGrath teaches the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to prevent movement of the item (not shown) located there between along the first liner and the second liner (¶0038).
Regarding claim 20, McGrath teaches the first liner (14 and 22) and the second liner (18 and 24) are configured to compress the item (not show) there between (¶0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following US Patents are cited to show display frame and/or holders: 20030196362, 6513658, 6438878, 6295750, 5762200, 5405000.
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631