DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 40 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 28, 2026. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 1-17 are not all independent or distinct as certain paragraphs of the Specification state certain structures of one Species “may be utilized” or “may be incorporated” into another Species. This is not found persuasive because the entire application contains a number of species that are patentably distinct from one another and include divergent claimed subject matter that separate the species. Additionally, Species Elections are based solely on Figures, not the various modifications disclosed in Applicant’s Specification that “may” or may not be included in the elected Species. In fact, were such structural combinations shown in the Figures, they would likely also have been identified as independent, distinct Species themselves. Applicant indicates that claims 21-39 are readable on the elected species. Accordingly, 40 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to the non-elected inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL
After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure, Claims 23, 28-29, 33, and 35-39 are also withdrawn from prosecution at this time. Claims 23 and 33 are withdrawn as the elected Species does not detail a second thread layer with a second plurality of thread lines that extend across a functional zone. Claims 28 and 29 are withdrawn as the elected Species fails to detail functional zones which delineate a toe box or heel counter and also meet the previously claimed qualification of thread lines extending tangential to the second boundary line; i.e. there are no thread lines in the toe box or heel counter that are tangential to a boundary line in that area. Claims 35-39 are withdrawn as the elected Species does not contain three boundary lines in the claimed configuration with the claimed thread extension locations.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a second boundary line comprising a perimeter boundary of a functional zone” in Claim 21 and “the plurality of thread lines comprises 10 or more thread lines extending tangential to the second boundary line” in Claim 31 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 21-22, 24-25, 27, 31-32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meschter (US 2007/0271822).
Regarding Claim 21, Meschter discloses an upper (30) for an article of footwear, the upper comprising: a thread pattern (of 44a,44c,44d) comprising: a first boundary line (i.e. biteline edge of 40/50) comprising a perimeter edge of the thread pattern; a second boundary line (31) comprising a perimeter boundary of a functional zone of the thread pattern or a perimeter edge of an opening in the thread pattern, the second boundary line comprising a curved shape (as seen in Fig.1 & 8E); and a thread layer (44a,42/44c,42/44d,42) comprising a plurality of thread lines (each of 42), wherein each of the plurality of thread lines extends between respective points (i.e. each end of 42 at the biteline edge of 40/50) on the first boundary line and extends tangential to and defines a portion of the second boundary line (as seen in Fig.8C-8H).
Regarding Claim 22, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein each of the plurality of thread lines extends in a substantially straight line between the respective points on the first boundary line when the thread pattern is in an unlasted state (as seen in Fig.8C-8H).
Regarding Claim 24, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein the second boundary line (31) comprises the perimeter edge of the opening (as seen in Fig.1 & 8E), and wherein the perimeter edge of the opening is surrounded by the plurality of thread lines such that the plurality of thread lines directly defines the entirety of the perimeter edge of the opening (lines of 42 in 44a & 44c "directly define the entirety of the perimeter edge of the opening" inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, in that they directly form part of the upper around the entirety of the perimeter edge; as seen in Fig.1,2, & 5).
Regarding Claim 25, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein the plurality of thread lines comprises: a first thread line (top 42 in 44a), and a second thread line (bottom 42 in 44a), wherein the first thread line and the second thread line overlap each other at an overlap point, and wherein the first thread line is disposed at an angle relative to the second thread line (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 27, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 25, wherein the first thread line and the second thread line are directly bonded to each other at the overlap point (para.55).
Regarding Claim 31, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein the plurality of thread lines (each of 42) comprises 10 or more thread lines extending tangential to the second boundary line (as seen in Fig.1-2,5-6, 8C-8H & 8L).
Regarding Claim 32, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein the second boundary line (31) comprises the perimeter edge of the opening, and wherein the thread pattern (of 44a,44c,44d) entirely surrounds the opening (Fig.1-2,5-6, 8C-8H & 8L).
Regarding Claim 34, Meschter discloses an upper of claim 21, wherein the thread pattern further comprises a plurality of anchor points (i.e. each doubled back end of 42 is an anchor point, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant) disposed adjacent the first boundary line (i.e. biteline edge of 40/50), and wherein a continuous thread wound around the plurality of anchor points forms the thread layer (as seen in Fig.8E-8H & 8L).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meschter (US 2007/0271822).
Regarding Claim 26, Meschter further discloses an upper of claim 25, wherein an angle of intersection at the overlap point of the first thread line and the second thread line is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (as seen in the annotated Figure above. Meschter does not explicitly teach the angle of intersection is less than or equal to 150 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have formed the angel of intersection of Meschter to be less than or equal to 150 degrees, in order to provide the upper with the desired aesthetic appearance for a user. Further, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 30 is allowed as none of the prior art, alone or in combination, discloses the threads not being embroidered/stitched to the base layer. To modify Meschter to have the claimed subject matter would be improper hindsight reasoning based on Applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732