DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US8474477 (“Melisz”).
Regarding claim 1, Melisz discloses a backwater valve cover comprising:
a base (12) configured to be installed above a backwater valve, the base including:
a central access opening (opening extending through rim 12b),
a first plurality of fastener holes (18a) configured to accept a first plurality of fasteners (18b), and
a second plurality of fastener holes (holes disposed on rim 12b, which receive bolts 18t) configured to accept a second plurality of fasteners (18t); and
a lid (14) configured to cover the central access opening and be fastened to the base via the second plurality of fasteners.
Regarding claim 2, Melisz discloses the base (12) being rectangular in shape and is configured to sit on a floor surface (surface of concrete floor 22), and
the lid is rectangular in shape (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Melisz discloses the first plurality of fasteners (18b), wherein:
the first plurality of fastener holes (18a) are distributed along an inner perimeter side of an outer edge (circumferential edge of base 12) of the base (12), and
the first plurality of fasteners are configured to fasten the base to the floor surface (22) such that the base is hermetically sealed against the floor surface (via sealing gasket 18c).
Regarding claim 11, Melisz discloses the second plurality of fasteners (18t) are bolts (see fig. 1) configured to pass through the lid (14) and thread into the base (12) via the second plurality of fastener holes (holes disposed on rim 12b, which receive bolts 18t).
Regarding claim 12, Melisz discloses a gasket (18c) configured to be positioned between the base (12) and the floor surface (22).
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US6276093 (“Janesky”).
Regarding claim 1, Janesky discloses a backwater valve cover comprising:
a base (16) configured to be installed above a backwater valve, the base including:
a central access opening (opening within which covered by cover 39 is disposed; see fig. 2),
a first plurality of fastener holes (17) configured to accept a first plurality of fasteners (15), and
a second plurality of fastener holes (holes through which bolts 38 extend; see fig. 2) configured to accept a second plurality of fasteners (38); and
a lid (26) configured to cover the central access opening and be fastened to the base via the second plurality of fasteners.
Regarding claim 4, Janesky discloses the base (16) includes a lip (lip against which cover 39 rests; see fig. 2) defining the central access opening (opening within which cover 39 is disposed; see fig. 2), the lip having a lip planar surface (lip against which cover 39 rests; see fig. 2) offset from an outer planar surface (upper surface, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) of the base.
Regarding claim 5, Janesky discloses the lip (lip against which cover 39 rests; see fig. 2) includes the second plurality of fastener holes (holes through which bolts 38 are fastened), the second plurality of fastener holes being distributed along an outer perimeter side of the central access opening (opening within which covered by cover 39 is disposed; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Janesky discloses the second plurality of fasteners (38), wherein the second plurality of fasteners are configured to hermetically seal (bolts 38 provide sealing of outer perimeter of flange 30a and lid 39 to base 16, while allowing passage of liquid through holes 41) the lid (39) to the base (16).
Regarding claim 7, Janesky discloses a thickness of the lid (39) is equal to the offset of the lip planar surface (lip against which cover 39 rests; see fig. 2) such that an outer surface (upper surface, relative to the orientation of fig. 2) of the lid is flush with the outer planar surface of the base (16) when the lid is fastened to the base.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB2475413 (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a backwater valve cover comprising:
a base (12) configured to be installed above a backwater valve, the base including:
a central access opening (opening defined by interior surface of bowl 24),
a first plurality of fastener holes (28) configured to accept a first plurality of fasteners (screws which engage “screw holes” 28), and
a second plurality of fastener holes (38) configured to accept a second plurality of fasteners (20); and
a lid (defined mainly by 16 and 18) configured to cover the central access opening (opening defined by interior surface of bowl 24) and be fastened to the base via the second plurality of fasteners.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the base (12) includes a lip (32) defining the central access opening (opening defined by interior surface of bowl 24), the lip having a lip planar surface (see planar surface 32 in cross-section of fig. 2) offset from an outer planar surface (26) of the base.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the lip (32) includes the second plurality of fastener holes (38), the second plurality of fastener holes being distributed along an outer perimeter side of the central access opening (opening defined by interior surface of bowl 24).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the second plurality of fasteners (20), wherein the second plurality of fasteners are configured to hermetically seal (via clamping of membrane 72 between ring 16 and base 12) the lid (defined mainly by 16 and 18) to the base (12).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a seal gap (gap between sidewalls 30 and 16b) exists between the lid (defined mainly by 16 and 18) and the base (12) when the lid is fastened to the base, the seal gap being configured to receive a sealing gasket (sealing membrane 72; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the lid (defined mainly by 16 and 18) includes a cap (18) configured to be knocked out and provide access to a backwater valve (14) covered by the backwater valve cover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the backwater valve cover, wherein the lid includes a threaded portion beneath cap, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR100645885 and US5722791 discloses a roof drain fitting having a base and a lid.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753