DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
1. Oath and declaration filed on 12/9/2024 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 2/18/2025 have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anhut et al (2022/0043246 A1) in view of Cayer et al (2023/0408837 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anhut et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) a light sheet generating assembly ( a microscope 1 and laser light source 2, paragraph 0070) for generating a light sheet (9) (paragraph 0073) having an extended depth of field (EDOF) over an EDOF range from a light beam, the light beam having a propagation axis and a light intensity distribution transverse to the propagation axis, the light sheet generating assembly comprising:- a depth of field extender (paragraph 0011) configured to alter an electrical field of the light beam to redistribute the light intensity of the light beam along a first transverse (paragraph 0017 and paragraph 0036) axis orthogonal to the propagation axis according to an inner intensity peak; and outer intensity features having an intensity below an outer intensity threshold over said EDOF range.
Anhut et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except a line generator configured to redistribute the light intensity of the light beam along a second transverse axis orthogonal to the first transverse axis and to the propagation axis into a line.
Cayer et al discloses a line generator (40) (paragraph 0100) configured to redistribute the light intensity of the light beam along a second transverse axis orthogonal to the first transverse axis and to the propagation axis into a line (light sheet 94 a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to adding a line generator configured to redistribute the light intensity of the light beam along a second transverse axis orthogonal to the first transverse axis and to the propagation axis into a line in to the Anhut et al a light sheet generating assembly for the purpose a low speckle laser line and coherence characterized as taught by Cayer et al (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 2, Anhut et al discloses the depth of field extender (paragraph 0011) comprises a phase-altering component configured to alter a phase of the electrical field of the light beam and/or an intensity-altering component configured to alter an amplitude of the electrical field of the light beam.
Regarding claim 3, Anhut et al discloses wherein the depth of field extender comprises an optical surface having a unidimensional surface profile along the first transversal axis providing said redistribution of the light intensity of the light beam along the first transverse axis (see in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Anhut et al discloses wherein the unidimensional surface profile is a cylindrical (see in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Anhut et al discloses wherein the unidimensional surface profile has no inflexion points (see in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses discloses wherein the inner intensity peak has a constant width over the EDOF range(see in figures .
Regarding claim 13, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses wherein the line generator is configured to redistribute the light intensity of the light beam along the second transverse axis according to a flat uniform profile, a super gaussian profile or a cosine correction profile.
Regarding claim 14, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses wherein the line generator is positioned after the depth of field extender.
Regarding claim 15, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses wherein the line generator is positioned ahead of the depth of field extender.
Regarding claim 16, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses wherein the depth of field extender and the line generator form opposite surfaces of a monolithic optical component.
Regarding claim 17, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses in combination with a laser light source generating the light beam.
Regarding claim 18, combination of Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses wherein the laser light source comprises a laser diode.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anhut et al (2022/0043246 A1) in view of Cayer et al (2023/0408837 A1) further in view of Berto(2006/0196059 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 11 depends on claim 1, Anhut et al in view of Cayer et al discloses all of the invention except wherein the line generator comprises a refractive optical element and diffractive optical element.
Berto discloses the line generator(33) (paragraph 0045) comprises a refractive optical element (paragraph 0040) and diffractive optical element (paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide of teaching a refractive optical element and diffractive optical element in to the Anhut et al discloses a light sheet generating assembly for the purpose of device graphically showing in schedule and beam projection as taught by Berto.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 7-9 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the inner intensity peak has a width over the EDOF range which is scaled to a secondary parameter and wherein the secondary parameter is a point spread function dimension of a camera receiving the light sheet thereon and wherein the outer intensity threshold is between about 30% and about 50% of a maximum intensity of the inner intensity peak and wherein the line generator is a low-speckle laser line generator comprising: - a beam divider configured to divide the light beam into incoherent multiple sub-beams propagating in a same propagation plane; and - a sub-beam converter generating a plurality of laser light sheets, each laser light sheet being associated with a corresponding one of the sub-beams, each laser light sheet extending within the propagation plane, the laser light sheets intersecting a projection plane to define laser line elements overlapping at least partially to form said low-speckle laser line, the laser line elements having respective speckle patterns which are at least partially uncorrelated.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/28/2026