DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,474. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patent and instant application are directed to providing a game utilizing a positive, negative, and credit accumulator value, initiating a bonus game based on satisfaction of a condition, the outcome of the bonus game is determined based on a randomly generated value, the positive, and negative accumulator values.
While the patent is narrower in scope compared to the application due to the additional limitations in the claims, the invention of the patent is still directed to the same invention as the application, with a bonus game separate from a base game in a slot machine game having its outcome influenced by the values of positive and negative accumulators changed during the slot machine game. The broadening of scope of the application ensures that the patent would wholly anticipate the claimed invention were it considered prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Schwartz et al (US 2008/0058099).
Re claim 1, Schwartz discloses a system comprising: one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory (par. [0037]-[0038] and [0053]); the one or more processors are to: increment a positive accumulator value (fig. 1, the game offers 7 safe choices, see [0025]-[0027]), a negative accumulator value (fig. 1, 5 risky choices with associated negative impacts, see table after [0027]), and a credit accumulator value (fig. 1, credits meter is visible in the bottom-right corner) based on a plurality of updates to a game state of a virtual slot machine game (see at least [0028]-[0035] describing the flow of gameplay) presented via a first user interface (fig. 1); determine, based on the game state of the virtual slot machine game, that a condition to initiate a bonus game has been satisfied (fig. 1, 12, 14, and 16 illustrating various game states for bonus games, see also [0067] which describes other outcomes leading to bonus outcomes); responsive to determining that the condition has been satisfied, transition the first user interface to a second user interface presenting the bonus game, the bonus game different from the virtual slot machine game ([0067], p. 10, spell-out prizes invoke “bonus rounds” of game play different than the base game, such as a new playfield consisting of a grid of fifteen squares), wherein an outcome of the bonus game is determined based on a randomly generated value ([0067], the credit values are randomized), the positive accumulator value (see table under [0027], with safe selection outcomes including reduction of loss, prevention of the ending of the game), and the negative accumulator value (again see the aforementioned table, with associated negative impacts described); and adjust a credit balance based on the credit accumulator value responsive to the outcome of the bonus game satisfying a win condition ([0067], players are awarded credit values based upon the “Coin-In” level of play and the revealed elements).
Re claim 2, Schwartz discloses a presentation of the accumulator values on the second user interface (fig. 1 illustrates inner display area 24 which displays the game and the outer interface area 22 which presents an ongoing display of the accumulators, therefore remaining on screen regardless of the game presented to the player).
Re claim 3, Schwartz discloses providing the first user interface for display at a client device and receiving one or more interactions to update the game state of the virtual slot machine game from the client device (fig. 2).
Re claim 4, Schwartz discloses adjusting the credit balance further based on an arrangement of a plurality of symbols corresponding to a play of the virtual slot machine game ([0067] describing various payouts and gaming situations based on winning symbol outcomes).
Re claim 5, Schwartz discloses updating the game state of the virtual slot machine game based on an arrangement of a plurality of symbols generated for a play of the virtual slot machine game ([0067], symbol combinations can lead to monetary payouts or bonus games).
Re claim 6, Schwartz discloses adjusting the credit balance based on the game state of the virtual slot machine game prior to initiating the bonus game ([0067]).
Re claim 7, Schwartz discloses causing presentation of the accumulator values via the first user interface (fig. 1, 22).
Re claim 9, Schwartz discloses detecting the condition to initiate the bonus game responsive to receiving a request to initiate the bonus game from the client device ([0067]).
Re claim 10, Schwartz discloses determining the outcome of the bonus game based on a comparison of at least two randomly generated values, the positive and negative accumulator values ([0067], the symbols and credit values are randomly generated, with the effects of the accumulators having been discussed above).
Re claims 11-17 and 19-20, see the above rejections, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz in view of Marks et al (US 2004/0058727).
Re claims 8 and 18, while Schwartz has disclosed a bonus game, there is no disclosure of a condition to initiate the bonus game responsive to a determination that a predetermined number of plays of the virtual slot machine game have been conducted since the bonus game was last executed.
Marks teaches a game wherein players may accumulate points in a “bonus meter” accruing towards an eventual participation in a bonus game ([0051]). As such, eventually, the bonus game will be initiated upon a predetermined number of plays of the game being conducted.
It would have been obvious to implement the guaranteed bonus game participation of Marks with the game of Schwartz in order to ensure that all players eventually get to participate in the bonus game regardless of luck, increasing the enjoyment and retention rate of players.
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715