DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,955,520. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Application No: 18/974,118
Patent No: 11,955,520
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords, comprising: a keyword identifier host processor configured to identify one or more words within a received data stream; a co-processor comprising an artificial neural network configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor; and an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords, comprising: a keyword identifier host processor configured to identify one or more words within a received data stream; a co-processor comprising an artificial neural network configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor; and an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,504,507. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the patented claim 1 of the patent issued to the same Applicant.
It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 1 are to be found in patented claim 1 (as the application claim 1 fully encompasses patented claim 1). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from of the patented claims.
Application No: 18/974,118
Patent No: 10,504,507
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords, comprising: a keyword identifier host processor configured to identify one or more words within a received data stream; a co-processor comprising an artificial neural network configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor; and an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords, comprising: a keyword identifier host processor operable as a stand-alone host processor and configured to identify one or more words within a received audio stream; a neuromorphic co-processor including an artificial neural network that is configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor; and a communications interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,632. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the patented claim 1 of the patent issued to the same Applicant.
It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 1 are to be found in patented claim 1 (as the application claim 1 fully encompasses patented claim 1). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from of the patented claims.
Application No: 18/974,118
Patent No: 12,165,632
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords, comprising: a keyword identifier host processor configured to identify one or more words within a received data stream; a co-processor comprising an artificial neural network configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor; and an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
1. An integrated circuit for detecting keywords or sound, comprising: a host processor configured to receive a data stream and compute frequency component signals for the data stream; a co-processor configured to identify one or more desired keywords or sound within the computed frequency component signals; wherein at least one of the host processor and co-processor is configured to remain in a low-power, always-on state that is continuously ready to detect the desired keyword or sound; the co-processor comprising an enhancement network with cloud-updateable synaptic weights; and an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Holdren et al., (US 2016/0111090 A1).
As per claim 1, Holdren et al., teach an integrated circuit for detecting keywords (0019), comprising:
a keyword identifier host processor configured to identify one or more words within a received data stream (0014, 0032, 0036, 0054);
a co-processor comprising an artificial neural network configured to identify one or more desired keywords among the one or more words received from the host processor (0037- 0039); and
an interface between the host processor and the co-processor configured to transmit information therebetween (0020, 0023, 0032-0033, 0035).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
The following is pertinent prior art of record.
Liu et al., (US 2015/0162002 A1) teach examples which disclose a low power integrated circuit to receive and digitize an audio stream. Further, the examples provide the low power integrated circuit to compare the digitized audio stream to a keyword and store the digitized audio stream in a memory. Additionally, the examples also disclose upon recognition of the keyword in the digitized audio stream, the low power integrated circuit transmits a signal to a processor to increase power and analyze the digitized audio stream.
Chen et al., (US 2017/0286827 A1) teach an apparatus and method for a neuromorphic processor design in which neuron timing information is duplicated on a neuromorphic core. For example, one embodiment of an apparatus comprises: a first neurosynaptic core comprising a plurality of neurons and a synapse array comprising a plurality of synapses to communicatively couple the plurality of neurons, each synapse connecting two neurons having a weight associated therewith, wherein a first neuron is to generate an output spike based on the weights of synapses over which inputs are received from the other neurons; a second neurosynaptic core also comprising a plurality of neurons and having at least one counter to maintain a count value indicative of spike timing for a second neuron, wherein a spike output of the second neuron in the second neurosynaptic core is communicatively coupled over a first synapse to the first neuron in the first neurosynaptic core; and a duplicate counter maintained within the first neurosynaptic core and synchronized with the counter from the second neurosynaptic core, the first neuron to use a first value from the duplicate counter to adjust the weight of the first synapse coupling the second neuron to the first neuron.
Lindahl (US 2015/0106085 A1) teaches a system and method for parallel speech recognition processing of multiple audio signals produced by multiple microphones in a handheld portable electronic device. In one embodiment, a primary processor transitions to a power-saving mode while an auxiliary processor remains active. The auxiliary processor then monitors the speech of a user of the device to detect a wake-up command by speech recognition processing the audio signals in parallel. When the auxiliary processor detects the command it then signals the primary processor to transition to active mode. The auxiliary processor may also identify to the primary processor which microphone resulted in the command being recognized with the highest confidence.
/VIJAY B CHAWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658