DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority to Application No. (63/347,942) filed on the June 1, 2022.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“This continuation application claims the benefit of and priority to International Patent Application No.PCT/US2023/024034, filed May 31, 2023, which claims priority to United States Provisional Patent Application No. 63/347,942, filed June 1, 2022, and to United States Provisional Patent Application No. 63/358,035, filed July 1, 2022, each of which are incorporated by reference in their entireties herein.” Examiner suggest replacing this paragraph with “his continuation application claims the benefit of and priority to International Patent Application No.PCT/US2023/024034, filed May 31, 2023, which claims priority to United States Provisional Patent Application No. 63/347,942, filed June 1, 2022, and to United States Provisional Patent Application No. 63/358,035, filed July 1, 2022.” Examiner notes that the filing date of the PCT is the filing date for the national stage application. Therefore, any amendment that comes in with or after the filing of the national stage application in the US is not part of the original disclosure. Per MPEP 608.01(p)(I)(B) states that to be effective an incorporation by reference statement must be filing at time of filing and cannot be added after an application’s filing date to add an incorporation by reference is not effective and improper as new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 22-23 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 14, line 1, a comma “," should be added after “The device of claim 9”
Regarding Claim 22, line 1, a comma “," should be added after “The device of claim 13”
Regarding Claim 23, line 1, a comma “," should be added after “The device of claim 22”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“adhesive means” in claim 7. The instant specification defines the adhesive means as used herein refers to various adhesives which may be used to secure the devices of the present disclosure to the face of a patient. Adhesive means include, but are not limited to, tape, cloth tape, woven tape, adhesive textile, double-sided tape, single-sided tape, medical tape, hypoallergenic tape, waterproof tape, stretch tape, elastic tape, foam tape, or any other tape or adhesive sufficient to secure the present devices. Adhesive means may be used in conjunction with an opening or passage in a device to secure the device to a mouth region of a patient’s face. (para. 0047).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 15, 18, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crosbie (US 5069206 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Crosbie discloses a device for releasably securing a placed endotracheal tube (Fig. 1-6), comprising:
an elongated body (Fig. 1-6; 10) having a first end (at hinge 36 in Fig. 4) and a second end (Fig. 2; 38a-38n and 40a-40n) , the elongated body having a first arm (Fig. 4; 12) separated from a second arm (Fig. 4; 24) along an axis of elongation (The axis cuts down the middle of the body 10) of the elongated body;
the first end including a hinge member (36 is a hinge) connecting the first arm (12) of the elongated body to the second arm (24) of the elongated body (best shown in Fig. 4);
the second end (opposite of the hinge 36) including a releasable securement mechanism (Fig. 3; 38a-38n and 40a-40n) which releasably retains the first arm of the elongated body relative to the second arm of the elongated body (shown in Fig. 2 and 3);
the releasable securement mechanism including a first member (38a-38n) on the first arm of the elongated body and a second member (40a-40n) on the second arm of the elongated body, the first member and second member releasably engaging in one or more closed positions to retain the first arm of the elongated body relative to the second arm of the elongated body (Fig. 2 and 3);
a circular aperture (Fig. 1; 22) located on the elongated body at a position in-between the first and second ends (the aperture 22 and 34 is in between the hinge 36 and the release mechanism), the aperture having a central axis generally perpendicular to the axis of elongation (Fig. 6; the axis of the central of the aperture is perpendicular to the axis between the hinge and second end), and each of the first and second arms of the elongated body defining at least a portion of the circular aperture (Fig. 2 and 4);
wherein, in at least one closed position, the circular aperture is configured and dimensioned to engage with an outer surface of an endotracheal tube (Fig. 6) to secure the endotracheal tube relative to the elongated body to prevent movement of the endotracheal tube along the central axis of the aperture (Fig. 1-6; Col. 1 lines 27-30, Col. 2 lines 26-44).
Regarding Claim 2, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first member (38a-38n) and second member (40a-40n) of the releasable securement mechanism include a plurality of teeth (Fig. 2-3, 5) which engage to retain the first arm (12) of the elongated body relative to the second arm (24) of the elongated body in one or more positions (Fig. 1-6; Col. 2 lines 26-44).
Regarding Claim 3, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first member (Fig. 2; 38a-38n) of the releasable securement mechanism includes a plurality of teeth and the second member (40a-40n) of the releasable securement mechanism includes a plurality of corresponding grooves, wherein one or more teeth engage with one or more grooves to retain the first arm of the elongated body relative to the second arm of the elongated body in one or more positions (Fig. 1-6; Col. 2 lines 26-44; specifically lines 36-39).
Regarding Claim 5, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 1, wherein at least one outer surface (around 10) of the device is generally arcuate (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Crosbie discloses a device for releasably securing a placed endotracheal tube (Fig. 1-6), comprising:
an elongated body (Fig. 1-6; 10) having a first end (at hinge 36 in Fig. 4) and a second end (Fig. 2; 38n and 40n), the elongated body having a first arm (Fig. 4; 12) separated from a second arm (Fig. 4; 24) along an axis of elongation (The axis cuts down the middle of the body 10) of the elongated body, the elongated body having at least one outer surface (around 10) of the device is generally arcuate (Fig. 5);
the first end including a hinge member (36 is a hinge) connecting the first arm (12) of the elongated body to the second arm (24) of the elongated body (best shown in Fig. 4); the second end (opposite of the hinge 36) including a releasable securement mechanism (Fig. 3; 38a-38n and 40a-40n) which releasably retains the first arm of the elongated body relative to the second arm of the elongated body (shown in Fig. 2 and 3);
the releasable securement mechanism including a first member (38a-38n) on the first arm of the elongated body and a second member (40a-40n) on the second arm of the elongated body, the first member and second member releasably engaging in one or more closed positions to retain the first arm of the elongated body relative to the second arm of the elongated body (Fig. 2 and 3);
a circular aperture (Fig. 1; 22) located on the elongated body at a position in-between the first and second ends (the aperture 22 and 34 is in between the hinge 36 and the release mechanism), the aperture having a central axis generally perpendicular to the axis of elongation (Fig. 6; the axis of the central of the aperture is perpendicular to the axis between the hinge and second end), and each of the first and second arms of the elongated body defining at least a portion of the circular aperture (Fig. 2 and 4);
wherein, in at least one closed position, the circular aperture is configured and dimensioned to engage with an outer surface of an endotracheal tube (Fig. 6) to secure the endotracheal tube relative to the elongated body to prevent movement of the endotracheal tube along the central axis of the aperture (Fig. 1-6; Col. 1 27-30; Col. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the at least one outer surface is arcuate (Fig. 1; 22 and 34 are arcuate) to conform to a mouth region of a patient’s face (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 26, Crosbie discloses a method of securing an endotracheal tube to a young patient in need thereof (Examiner notes: intended use; Col. 1 lines 29-20; Col. 2 lines 65-67), comprising:
placing an endotracheal tube in the patient (Fig. 6; shows the tube fits into the device 10); securing an endotracheal tube securement device according to claims (Fig. 6; 10) to the endotracheal tube at a position which maintains a desired depth of insertion of the endotracheal tube with the securement device placed against the mouth of the patient (Examiner notes: This is intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02); and
securing the endotracheal tube to the mouth of the patient using an adhesive securement means (Fig. 7-8; Col. 3 lines 3-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie, as applied to claim 1, in view of Kang (US 20080092901 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 1,
Crosbie does not specifically disclose wherein the first member and second member of the releasable securement mechanism include button closures which are eclipsed in a closed position and secured by an inserted button member.
However, Kang teaches wherein the first member and second member of the releasable securement mechanism include button (15a-15b) closures which are eclipsed in a closed position and secured by an inserted button member (Fig. 12, 15a-15b; para. 0127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device’s releasable mechanism of Crosbie to be a button closures as taught by Kang for the purpose of fixing the endotracheal tube faster and more firmly when intubation of the tube is required in emergency or anesthesia (para. 0029).
Claim(s) 6, 9-11, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie, as applied to claim 1, in view of Kaneyasu et al. (US 20180344960 A1), hereafter as Kaneyasu.
Regarding Claim 6, Kaneyasu discloses the device of claim 5,
Crosbie does not disclose specifically disclose wherein the device has an overall arcuate shape.
Although Crosbie discloses the claimed device, the device can also have an overall arcuate shape. As it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the shape of the device be mostly arcuate, for the purpose of it being adjacent to the patient lips, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a this certain shape on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
However, Kaneyasu teaches wherein the device has an overall arcuate shape (Fig. 4-6; para. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of device of Crosbie have an overall arcuate shape as taught by Kaneyasu for the purpose of eliminating the use of force by the user to overcome the biasing of the arms together when a user attempts to pry the arms open to insert the tube, and it eliminates the use of force by the user to overcome biasing of the arms apart as the user squeezes them together (para. 0029).
Regarding Claim 9, Crosbie discloses a device for releasably securing a placed endotracheal tube, comprising:
an elongated body (Fig. 1-6; 10) having a first end (at hinge 36 in Fig. 4) and a second end (Fig. 2; 38a-38n and 40a-40n), the elongated body having a first arm (Fig. 4; 12) separated from a second arm (Fig. 4; 24) along an axis of elongation (The axis cuts down the middle of the body 10) of the elongated body;
a circular aperture (Fig. 1; 22) located on the elongated body at a position in-between the first and second ends (the aperture 22 and 34 is in between the hinge 36 and the release mechanism), the aperture having a central axis generally perpendicular to the axis of elongation (Fig. 6; the axis of the central of the aperture is perpendicular to the axis between the hinge and second end), and each of the first and second arms of the elongated body defining at least a portion of the circular aperture (Fig. 2 and 4);
wherein the first arm and second arm are securable to engage the circular aperture (Fig. 2 and 4; the circular opening are formed by the arms) with an outer surface of an endotracheal tube to secure the endotracheal tube relative to the elongated body (Col. 2 lines 39-44)
Crosbie does not specifically discloses the first and second ends each including a passage for securing the device to a patient.
However, Crosbie teaches wherein the first (14) and second ends (26) include passages for means to secure the device to the face of a patient (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passages of Crosbie to allow for adhesive means to be used to attached the device to the patient face to be at the first and second ends as the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to having passages (apertures/holes) on the specific first and second ends which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the passages to be at the two ends and that would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Modified Crosbie does not wherein the aperture includes one or more retention features for engaging with the endotracheal tube to prevent movement of the endotracheal tube along the central axis of the aperture.
However, Kaneyasu teaches wherein the aperture includes one or more retention (Fig. 4-6; 63, 73) features for engaging with the endotracheal tube to prevent movement of the endotracheal tube along the central axis of the aperture (para. 0030-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the aperture of Modified Crosbie to include the one or more retention features for engaging with the endotracheal tube to prevent movement of the endotracheal tube along the central axis of the aperture as taught by Kaneyasu for the purpose of gripping the endotracheal tube when the device is in the closed position (para. 0030).
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the one or more retention features include ridges on an inner surface of the aperture (Fig. 4-6; 63-73; para. 0030; Kaneyasu).
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Crosbie discloses device of claim 10, wherein the ridges (Fig. 4-6; 63-73; para. 0030; Kaneyasu) are aligned substantially parallel with the central axis (Fig. 4-6; the ridges are “substantially” parallel at least on two axes).
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Crosbie discloses device of claim 9, wherein the one or more retention features(Fig. 4-6; 63, 73; para. 0030-0031; Kaneyasu).
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include one or more raised features.
However, Kaneyasu teaches that the retention features are raised (para.0030-0031; Fig. 4-6; 63, 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the retention features of Modified Crosbie to include the one or more raised features as taught by Kaneyasu for the purpose of further gripping the endotracheal tube when the device is in the closed position (para. 0030).
Regarding Claim 16, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 15, Crosbie does not disclose specifically disclose wherein the device has an overall arcuate shape.
Although Crosbie discloses the claimed device, the device can also have an overall arcuate shape. As it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the shape of the device be mostly arcuate, for the purpose of it being adjacent to the patient lips, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a this certain shape on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
However, Kaneyasu teaches wherein the device has an overall arcuate shape (Fig. 4-6; para. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of device of Crosbie have an overall arcuate shape as taught by Kaneyasu for the purpose of eliminating the use of force by the user to overcome the biasing of the arms together when a user attempts to pry the arms open to insert the tube, and it eliminates the use of force by the user to overcome biasing of the arms apart as the user squeezes them together (para. 0029).
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 16, wherein at least one outer surface (around 10) of the device is generally arcuate (Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie, as applied to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 1,
Crosbie does not disclose wherein the first and second ends include passages for adhesive means (tape 102, 103; Examiner notes: Crosbie teaches adhesive shown best Fig. 6; 102; Col. 3 lines 27-29, however does not teach the adhesive is attached and first and second ends of the device) to secure the device to the face of a patient.
However, Crosbie teaches wherein the first (14) and second ends (26) include passages for means to secure the device to the face of a patient (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passages of Crosbie to allow for adhesive means to be used to attached the device to the patient face to be at the first and second ends as the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to having passages (apertures/holes) on the specific first and second ends which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the passages to be at the two ends and that would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 7, wherein the passages have a central axis generally parallel (modified passages 14, 26) with the central axis of the aperture (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie and Kaneyasu, as applied to claim 10, in view Phillips et al. (US 10500361 B2).
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Crosbie discloses device of claim 10, wherein the ridges (Fig. 4-6; 63, 73; para. 0030-0031; Kaneyasu) are aligned substantially perpendicular (Examiner notes: can be “substantially perpendicular”).
Modified Crosbie does not specifically teach that the ridges are perpendicular to the central axis to define ridges concentric with the aperture.
However, Phillips teaches that the ridges are perpendicular to the central axis to define ridges concentric with the aperture (Fig. 16C; the ridges are concentric; Col. 7 lines 37-40, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ridges of Modified Crosbie to include the ridges are perpendicular to the central axis to define ridges concentric with the aperture as taught by Phillips for the purpose of further grasping the endotracheal tube (Col. 2, Ln 33; Crosbie)
Claim(s) 14 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie and Kaneyasu, as applied to claim 9, in view Jockel et al. (US 20200222651 A1), hereafter as Jockel.
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 9, one or more retention features (Fig. 4-6; 63, 73; para. 0030-003; Kaneyasu)
Modified Crosbie does not disclose that the retention features include a rubberized or non-slip coating.
However, Jockel teaches the retention features include a rubberized or non-slip coating (para. 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the retention features of Modified Crosbie to include a rubberized or non-slip coating as taught by Jockel for the purpose of frictionally and/or physically engage the endotracheal the reduce slippage (para. 0089).
Regarding Claim 19, Crosbie discloses the device of claim 15,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein the angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is from about 30 degrees to about 1 degree.
However, Jockel teaches wherein the angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface (best shown in Fig. 1; 32; para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface as taught by Jockel for the purpose of to fit on a region of the patient's face adjacent to and along one lip of the patient.
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include the angle is between 30 degrees to about 1 degree, however, Jockel teaches that it can be curved to be adjacent to the patient lip.
Since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative shape dimensions of the claimed device to have an angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface to be between 30 and 1 degrees, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. [MPEP 2144.04, I. Aesthetic Design Changes].
It would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Modified Crosbie to have the angle be between 30 and 1 degree. Applicant places no criticality on one particular size of the enclosure (para. 0062 of applicant' s specification indicate the claimed range however no significance to one size over another is present). Modifying Crosbie to have the claimed dimensions would not have adverse effects on the performance of the device and thus the changing dimensions would not destroy the device. The courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding Claim 20, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 15,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein the axis of elongation is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm.
However, Jockel teaches wherein the axis of elongation is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm (para. 0073; Examiner notes: the length could be between 30mm-55mm which is about 3cm-5.5 cm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include the axis of elongation is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm as taught by Jockel for the purpose of fitting on a region of the patient's face adjacent to and along one lip of the patient (para. 0073).
Regarding Claim 21, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 20,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein the axis of elongation is from about 5 cm to about 7 cm.
However, Jockel teaches wherein the axis of elongation is from about 5 cm to about 7 cm (para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include the axis of elongation is from about 5 cm to about 7 cm as taught by Jockel for the purpose of fitting on a region of the patient's face adjacent to and along one lip of the patient and fitting on either an adult or child as desired (para. 0073).
Regarding Claim 22, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 13,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein a curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is generally circular and ranges from about 0.04 rad/mm to about 0.001 rad/mm.
However, Jockel teaches a curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface (Fig. 1; 32; para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface as taught by Jockel for the purpose of to fit on a region of the patient's face adjacent to and along one lip of the patient.
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include that the outer surface ranges from about 0.04 rad/mm to about 0.001 rad/mm, however, Jockel teaches that it can be curved to be adjacent to the patient lip.
Since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative shape dimensions of the claimed device to have outer surface that ranges from about 0.04 rad/mm to about 0.001 rad/mm, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. [MPEP 2144.04, I. Aesthetic Design Changes].
It would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Modified Crosbie to have the outer surface to be generally circular and ranges from about 0.04 rad/mm to about 0.001 rad/mm. Applicant places no criticality on one particular size of the enclosure (para. 0063 of applicant' s specification indicate the claimed range however no significance to one size over another is present). Modifying Crosbie to have the claimed dimensions would not have adverse effects on the performance of the device and thus the changing dimensions would not destroy the device. The courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable o3f being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding Claim 23, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 22,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein the curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is from about 0.02 rad/mm to about 0.005 rad/mm.
However, Jockel teaches a curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface (Fig. 1; 32; para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include angular curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface as taught by Jockel for the purpose of to fit on a region of the patient's face adjacent to and along one lip of the patient.
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include the curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is from about 0.02 rad/mm to about 0.005 rad/mm, however, Jockel teaches that it can be curved to be adjacent to the patient lip.
Since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative shape dimensions of the claimed device to have the curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is from about 0.02 rad/mm to about 0.005 rad/mm, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. [MPEP 2144.04, I. Aesthetic Design Changes].
It would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Modified Crosbie to have the outer surface to be the curvature of the generally arcuate outer surface is from about 0.02 rad/mm to about 0.005 rad/mm. Applicant places no criticality on one particular size of the enclosure (para. 0063 of applicant' s specification indicate the claimed range however no significance to one size over another is present). Modifying Crosbie to have the claimed dimensions would not have adverse effects on the performance of the device and thus the changing dimensions would not destroy the device. The courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable o3f being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding Claim 24, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 22,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein a chord of the generally circular curvature is from about 2 cm to about 8 cm.
However, Jockel teaches wherein the length of the device is from about 50mm to about 60 cm (para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include the chord of the generally circular curvature is from about 2 cm to about 8 cm as taught by Jockel for the purpose of it being able to fit adjacent to a patient lip.
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include a chord of the generally circular curvature is from about 2 cm to about 8 cm, however, Jockel teaches that it can be curved to be adjacent to the patient lip and that the distance can be 5-7cm which the chord would small than that distance.
Since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative shape dimensions of the claimed device to have a chord of the generally circular curvature is from about 2 cm to about 8 cm, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. [MPEP 2144.04, I. Aesthetic Design Changes].
It would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Modified Crosbie to have the outer surface to be a chord of the generally circular curvature is from about 2 cm to about 8 cm. Applicant places no criticality on one particular size of the enclosure (para. 0063 of applicant' s specification indicate the claimed range however no significance to one size over another is present). Modifying Crosbie to have the claimed dimensions would not have adverse effects on the performance of the device and thus the changing dimensions would not destroy the device. The courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable o3f being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding Claim 25, Modified Crosbie discloses the device of claim 24,
Modified Crosbie does not disclose wherein an arc length of the generally circular curvature is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm.
However, Jockel teaches wherein the axis of elongation is from about 5 cm to about 6 cm (para. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Modified Crosbie to include wherein an arc length of the generally circular curvature is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm as taught by Jockel for the purpose of it being able to fit adjacent to a patient lip.
Modified Crosbie does not specifically include wherein an arc length of the generally circular curvature is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm, however, Jockel teaches that it can be curved to be adjacent to the patient lip and that the distance can be 50-60mm which the chord would small than that distance.
Since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative shape dimensions of the claimed device to have an arc length of the generally circular curvature is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. [MPEP 2144.04, I. Aesthetic Design Changes].
It would have been obvious as to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Modified Crosbie to have an arc length of the generally circular curvature is from about 3 cm to about 10 cm. Applicant places no criticality on one particular size of the enclosure (para. 0032 of applicant' s specification indicate the claimed range however no significance to one size over another is present). Modifying Crosbie to have the claimed dimensions would not have adverse effects on the performance of the device and thus the changing dimensions would not destroy the device. The courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable o3f being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie, as applied to claim 26, in view of Potter et al. (US 4867154 A), hereafter as Potter.
Regarding Claim 27, Crosbie discloses the method of claim 26,
Crosbie does not specifically disclose wherein the adhesive securement means is cloth tape, but teaches adhesive (Fig. 6; 102; Col. 3 lines 27-29).
Potter teaches wherein the adhesive securement means is cloth tape (Fig. 1; 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tape of Corsbie to be cloth tape as taught by Potter for the purpose of being comfortable to the patient’s face and is a tape that is commonly used in the art and its able to be removed and placed as desired (Col. 4 27-43).
Conclusion
MAAP A. ELLABIB
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/M.A.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785